Customer Reviews for

The Beach House

Average Rating 4
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended for a quick suspenseful read!!

This is a murder mystery set in East Hampton, Long Island, New York, an area of beach front mansions owned by multi-millionaires. Jack Mullen, the lead character and a law student at a high- powered law firm in New York City, grew up on the lower end of this super rich ...
This is a murder mystery set in East Hampton, Long Island, New York, an area of beach front mansions owned by multi-millionaires. Jack Mullen, the lead character and a law student at a high- powered law firm in New York City, grew up on the lower end of this super rich community, working in his dad¿s small construction company. Ironically, he was dating Dana, the daughter of one of the biggest privately held companies in the world. The action starts at huge party at her dad¿s estate. Jack¿s brother, Peter, who coincidentally was there as a valet parking cars, was discovered dead on the beach from drowning. The police and other officials declared it as an accident, but Jack knew his brother would never swim in heavy storm surf and he hated cold water. His grandfather said, ¿Jack, they say Peter went swimming and drowned. It¿s the single biggest piece of crap I¿ve ever heard.¿ He started to really pursue his brother¿s death but because the family was a very important client of the firm, he was dismissed from his job. Jack went back home to live with his grandfather. Here he reconnected with some old high school buddies, a hair dresser, a fisherman, the county medical examiner, a land scraper, and an EMS volunteer. Together they vowed to discover the truth behind his brother¿s death. A mystery surrounded unexplained money and rumors of sexual encounters with the rich ladies of the town. Together this group dug for facts that the officials had covered up. The doctor proved that Peter had not died of drowning because the lung tissue was not consistent of drowning. He had been ¿ dumped in the water after he stopped breathing. ¿ They had a series of death threats and warnings ¿ Jack was beaten by hired thugs, Johnny was thrown over board to drown, and Doctor Jane had a terrifying middle of the night visit- before they devised a scheme to lure the killers into a vacant mansion to expose them. This is a book that shows the corruption and power that money can buy the evilness of people and loyalty of friends. The book kept me interested from beginning to end with the description of the super rich and there huge mansion all wrapped around a murder mystery.

posted by ALLIE16 on November 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Beach House

I normally race to pick up a James Patterson book. On this particular book I only read approx 60 pages and was sooo bored that I put it down. Characters were not enjoyable like they usually are - couldn't bear to waste my time on a book this boring. Too many good one...
I normally race to pick up a James Patterson book. On this particular book I only read approx 60 pages and was sooo bored that I put it down. Characters were not enjoyable like they usually are - couldn't bear to waste my time on a book this boring. Too many good ones to read!

I love James Patterson and will put the blame on his co writer Peter DeJonge and will be sure not to pick up any of the books with this co author. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

posted by LC112648LC on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    Highly recommended for a quick suspenseful read!!

    This is a murder mystery set in East Hampton, Long Island, New York, an area of beach front mansions owned by multi-millionaires. Jack Mullen, the lead character and a law student at a high- powered law firm in New York City, grew up on the lower end of this super rich community, working in his dad¿s small construction company. Ironically, he was dating Dana, the daughter of one of the biggest privately held companies in the world. The action starts at huge party at her dad¿s estate. Jack¿s brother, Peter, who coincidentally was there as a valet parking cars, was discovered dead on the beach from drowning. The police and other officials declared it as an accident, but Jack knew his brother would never swim in heavy storm surf and he hated cold water. His grandfather said, ¿Jack, they say Peter went swimming and drowned. It¿s the single biggest piece of crap I¿ve ever heard.¿ He started to really pursue his brother¿s death but because the family was a very important client of the firm, he was dismissed from his job. Jack went back home to live with his grandfather. Here he reconnected with some old high school buddies, a hair dresser, a fisherman, the county medical examiner, a land scraper, and an EMS volunteer. Together they vowed to discover the truth behind his brother¿s death. A mystery surrounded unexplained money and rumors of sexual encounters with the rich ladies of the town. Together this group dug for facts that the officials had covered up. The doctor proved that Peter had not died of drowning because the lung tissue was not consistent of drowning. He had been ¿ dumped in the water after he stopped breathing. ¿ They had a series of death threats and warnings ¿ Jack was beaten by hired thugs, Johnny was thrown over board to drown, and Doctor Jane had a terrifying middle of the night visit- before they devised a scheme to lure the killers into a vacant mansion to expose them. This is a book that shows the corruption and power that money can buy the evilness of people and loyalty of friends. The book kept me interested from beginning to end with the description of the super rich and there huge mansion all wrapped around a murder mystery.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Beach House

    I normally race to pick up a James Patterson book. On this particular book I only read approx 60 pages and was sooo bored that I put it down. Characters were not enjoyable like they usually are - couldn't bear to waste my time on a book this boring. Too many good ones to read!

    I love James Patterson and will put the blame on his co writer Peter DeJonge and will be sure not to pick up any of the books with this co author. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Sure the Pages Turn, but...

    This is indeed a page turner.In fact, it seems to have been designed to be started and digested all before you have to apply the second coat of sunblock. Patterson and DeJong jump from scene-to-scene, as if they were preparing a story summary from which a movie script could be written (as I'm sure one is). They never stop in one spot long enough to build depth in any character or scene. Jack, the narrator, is fairly likable and convincing, and his grandfather Mack is a surprisingly realistic character in a novel filled with cutouts. However, I found myself repeatedly stopping to remember who was who (especially surprising since I read the book in one day). Of course the ending is implausible (along with a good portion of the plot)-- that's why we read so called 'beach novels' isn't it? To escape from reality. Despite this fact, however, the authors leave too many plot holes gaping wide open and ends untied ('unlaced' may be more to the point) for the book to be very enjoyable. But, if you're looking for a quick, uncomplicated read for a weekend getaway, 'The Beach House' surely fits the bill.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    A long way from Along Came a Spider

    If you're in the mood for a great thriller this summer, consider some of Patterson's earlier works (Along Came a Spider) rather than his Patterson's latest offering. The characters are shallow, the writting poor and paper-thin plot quite predictable. Perhaps part of the problem is Mr. Patterson churns out at least two books a year (summer and holiday). Maybe next year Mr. Patterson will concentrate on quality rather than quantity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Exciting wwith good twists and likeable characters

    This is a good story that will keep you reading to see if you've figured it out or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Patterson is a fraud.

    I don't know whom to blame for the terrible writing plot and writing. Patterson or DeJonge. Patterson's novels remind me of those "Starving Artist" commercials on TV sold out of hotel conference rooms over a weekend. Those are assembly line landscape paintings where one guy paints the clouds, another paints mountains or streams, etc. Garbage, just like assembly line novels "written" by Patterson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    Boring towards the end

    I thought the book started out great and that the characters were well developed. Towards the end I just couldn¿t believe that Jack¿s character would have solved his brother's murder this way. I think you can tell the parts where James Patterson written and where the other author takes over. This is not one of my favorite James Patterson Books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Margaret

    Thank you. And shes able to stay at my house if she wants. She knows where it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Recommended

    I enjoyed this book, It was a nice little read. Without delving into the story and ruining it for the next guy. It's about a brother and neighborhood buddies, that avenge the murder of his brother and there friend. The ending is quite unique, although non plausible.
    If I have a complaint, I'd say the length of the book was too short, around 200 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Excellent.

    Starts out slow but keep reading. Dont miss the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Rainpaw

    I see StarClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Nightmare

    *she silently stalks a quail then pounces and silences the huge bird with a bite to the neck and covers it with leaves then she pads into a clearing watching a squirell nibble on acorns and listens to a hawk above she stands still blending into the shadows behing her until the hawk swoops down after the squirell then after the hawk pierced the squireel with its talins and killed it she pounced onto the hawk her muscles rippling and snapped its neck with a stomp of her strong paw and covers leave over that. She continues hunting and catches three mice. She watches a shrew and a water vole fight over a sunflower seed before silencing them both. She hunts for forty five minutes until satisfied by the amount of her catch. In all she caught the quail hawk squirell five mice a crow shrew watervole two fish and a frog and takes several trips to carry them back*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Nightflower

    Catches the rabbit she scents voles then stalks and kills those too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    I thought the book was great like all the other patterson books this was excellent and even thought im 13 i know a good patterson book when i read one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jack Mullen is a law student and the grandson of Mack, a feisty,

    Jack Mullen is a law student and the grandson of Mack, a feisty, strong-spirited Irishman. Jack is a very successful law student and has landed an internship at a prestigious law firm. As he keeps facing roadblocks with his pro bono, death row case, he learns the tragic news of his brother’s death. In his hometown, everyone knows everyone, yet Jack can’t figure out why no one is taking Peter’s death seriously. Peter’s body was found badly bruised and obviously beaten, yet the police brush it off as a drowning. It is up to Jack, his friends and Mack, to find out the truth and seek justice. Yet the truth may cause more innocent lives to be lost.

    The Beach House is a thrilling, fast-paced ride through the politics of the rich and famous versus justice and truth. Massive cover-ups, with shocking twists and turns, will leave readers emotionally exhausted. “Taking justice in your own hands” is an old saying taken quite literally by the Mullen crew in this book. The short chapters and the Hamptons setting, make this a fast read, perfect for a day at the beach. Though the subject matter is recommended for mature audiences only. Fans of James Patterson and fans of the mystery/suspense genre will want to mark this book as a must-read.

    Notes:
    This review was originally written for My Sister's Books.
    This review was originally posted on Ariesgrl Book Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Beach house

    Another great read by james patterson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Crystal

    Heyo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Wonderful book! Great suspense and action! Good summer reading

    Wonderful book! Great suspense and action! Good summer reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Muddie II

    A dusty, woden sign is embedded in th ground. The muddy btown cat yanks it out and dusts it off. "For rent, 449$/ month", it reads. The cat pulls out a wallet and a pair of sunglasses, and puts them on. He puls a few hundred dollar bills out of his wallet and flings it on the ground, lighting a cigar in his paw. "What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas. Real cool, Muddie II. Play it REAL cool, Muddie II."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Trad

    Ive got the lucky one and captin america. Pulling out two movies and smiling.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14