Customer Reviews for

The Beach House: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Quick Read - inspiring

I read this book in about a week, I was intrigued by the main character who resembled my mother-in-law and the concept of having to rent out rooms in one's house (what a great idea for a lonely widow). The story line was a bit outlandish at points with everything/everyo...
I read this book in about a week, I was intrigued by the main character who resembled my mother-in-law and the concept of having to rent out rooms in one's house (what a great idea for a lonely widow). The story line was a bit outlandish at points with everything/everyone coming together-seemed a little orchestrated. I would say this is an easy read with an unusual story line that pays off in the end. The Characters are enjoyable but could've been more detailed if this book wasn't soo short and a quick read...I'm sure it wasn't meant to be an epic novel; however, it would become a nice movie. I enjoyed the reader's style of writing for this type of book.

posted by PBWriter36 on June 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good Summery Read

This is one of those stories that must be read in the summer (on the beach if you can swing it). It fits the season, its not too in depth, characters are intersting. The setting is by far the best part of the book, the island and the house draw you in. I liked the ma...
This is one of those stories that must be read in the summer (on the beach if you can swing it). It fits the season, its not too in depth, characters are intersting. The setting is by far the best part of the book, the island and the house draw you in. I liked the main character the best. Lots of different storylines going on at the beginning, but you can see how they all tie in at the end. No one is left hanging, the author does a good job of finishing each characters situation. Some surprises at the end, the romance connections between the characters are a little predictable, but overall its a good summer read!

posted by bookwormmamaNE on June 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and Quick Read - inspiring

    I read this book in about a week, I was intrigued by the main character who resembled my mother-in-law and the concept of having to rent out rooms in one's house (what a great idea for a lonely widow). The story line was a bit outlandish at points with everything/everyone coming together-seemed a little orchestrated. I would say this is an easy read with an unusual story line that pays off in the end. The Characters are enjoyable but could've been more detailed if this book wasn't soo short and a quick read...I'm sure it wasn't meant to be an epic novel; however, it would become a nice movie. I enjoyed the reader's style of writing for this type of book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Have a cup of tea?

    This book was a lovely read. Perhaps it fits with the time of year? Perhaps it fit with my mood? Who knows? I can only say that I loved this book and have already leant it out to someone to read. The characters are searching without looking, seeking without realizing... and perhaps that theme speaks to me. From the main character, Nan, who has spent a lifetime in a home preserving memories of a life that turns out to be not what she expected... To a little lost 13 year old girl whose life is turned upside down by her parents divorce... All the characters touched my heart. I hope you will read and enjoy as much as I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    Great Light Read

    The beginning was a slow start, but once you get into its a great novel. The characters are heart-warming, and the twists in the plot gives the story an added depth. Overall this novel is a great story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Enjoyable read.

    Very enjoyable reading. For me, slow to start, but picked up once characters were established. Plot line was interesting although somewhat fanciful. Enjoyed the characters, especially Nan and Del (who I could relate to). Overall a most enjoyable read and would recommend for bookclubs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Beach by Jane Green

    I love Jane Green's books. I was glad I paid full price to read this book. I usually only trade but was tired of waiting for a trade. This story pulled me in and wrapped me up in the character lives. I thought I knew what would happen or guess the ending like most books but the ending was plesantly surprising and I loved it. Easy read and I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Character Development

    I ma not a Jane Green fan but this book was a really good beach read. The characters are so different and all of their problems surface as they live in this bed and breakfast. Nan grows on you too. Worth the effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Great read...

    Enjoyed it very much and have moved on to other books by the author.....fast read and some times thought provoking............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    fun and lite

    Lite reading and fun - great for the middle of the night insomnia times or rainy days by the fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Light & Airy Summer Read

    The Beach House is a fun and light summer read, and I did find it to be an enjoyable summer quickie. The characters are very likeable and I found myself to be very satisfied by the happy endings they were rewarded with. The plot was a little prediactable and many of the events/connections had a suspicious feeling of unbelievable convenience, but I find that very forgivable in this kind of guilty pleasure book. Overall, it will not change you life, but you will most likely enjoy the time spent reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT

    What a sublimely fun read! How great to know that no matter the age that feelings and attitude are what bring you a great life. This author weaves the pattern of her characters beautifully, and we find ourselves hoping for the best for them all. This was a one sitting read and such a great way pass the time in the park! I will pass this one on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Engaging Characters, lovely story. I couldn't put it down!

    This was a perfect summer reading book. It was light and sweet and I absolutely loved the characters! The story was affirming and, well...just lovely!

    I plan on reading more of Jane Green

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Interesting

    I'm a fan of Jane Green. This isn't my favorite of her books, but still is an interesting story and characters are developed well. I wouldn't mind visiting the beach house myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good read

    good beach read. lots of drama but fluffy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    Good Book

    Fun to read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book but not Green's best

    Beach house is a great beach read but is not Green's best. She did a really great job weaving many different story lines together but the book ended up being rather anticlimactic. Definitely not as good as Jemima J.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Lost Myself / Found Myself

    The Beach House is about lost and found. Not about things lost and then found but of people who had, out of shame and insecurities, lost that side of them that made them, them. Through circumstances, strangers vacation at a newly opened beach house on Nantucket and develops friendships making them comfortable in divulging inner secrets and in divulging these inner secrets they come to terms with the journey they took into unhappiness. They come to realize the unhappiness they experience comes from the need to please others and selfishness and not finding comfort in their own skin. They learn to be true to thy self and discover happiness. Then a visitor arrives throwing everyone off balance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Relaxing, feel-good beach read!

    Like reading a Lifetime movie or soap opera. It is a relaxing read--perfect for the beach or resort poolside. You don't have to spend too many brain cells concentrating on a complicated plot however, there is a great twist about 2/3 through that makes you want to keep reading to see what happens. It's very easy to picture the scenes of life on Nantucket in your mind's eye. This story will leave you smiling and content which is perfect for a vacation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    Alls Well that Blends Well

    I loved this book. It's about relationships on many levels. There are relationships between couples both married and unmarried, relationships between children and parents and even a relationship between Nantucket and the people who eventually embrace the island for a temporary respite from what life throws at them. Some of the relationships are mirrored throughout the story. This is the first book that I've read by this author. The storyline was very entertaining and I'm looking forward both to my visit to Nantucket and reading my next book by Jane Green.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Easy, fun read

    I read this book in a weekend at the lake and really enjoyed it. I love Nantucket and loved the references to different spots on the island. Not a book of great substance, but isn't that why we read them on the beach?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    Just finished this book over a weekend at the lake. It takes a little to get into at first, but once you get all the characters straight it ends up being a fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3