Customer Reviews for

Beach House Memories

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First I have to say that Mary Alice NEVER disappoints when she w

    First I have to say that Mary Alice NEVER disappoints when she writes a book, she is truly one of my favorite authors! She can draw you into a story like no other!
    So many of us have waited so long to hear more of the story that started with "The Beach House" and "Swimming Lessons" and "Beach House Memories" was so worth the wait!!
    It is set in 1974 and it tells Lovie's story of that fateful year when she fell in love with Russell Bennett! Mary Alice's descriptive prose and beautiful writing makes you feel like you are right there experiencing everything that Lovie experiences. She is truly a gifted writer!! Get yourself a copy of "Beach House Memories" and be prepared to be totally entertained and moved by this story!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    About 10 years I bought a paperback “The Beach House &ldqu

    About 10 years I bought a paperback “The Beach House “to take to the beach. I didn’t know the author but I liked the cover. As I read the first few pages I fell in love with the writing of Mary Alice Monroe and a few pages more I fell in love with the book. It grabbed my heart and wouldn’t let go. I’ve reread it many times and have had to replace that original copy because it was worn out and remains one of my very favorite books.
    What a thrill I had last year when I discovered Mary Alice was writing a prequel to The Beach House. Lucky me, I won a hardcover copy from First Reads! I was not disappointed. It took me right back to the beauty of Isle of Palms, the warmth of Primrose cottage, the strength of Lovie Rutledge “The Turtle Lady” and the wondrous story of the loggerhead turtles. I loved this book!!!
    This is really Lovie’s story as she is dying of cancer and in her last hours she thinks back to that memorable summer of 1974. I won’t tell you more of the story but I will tell you that this “Southern Fiction” will draw you in, maybe remind you of your childhood, a love you might have had or give you hope that things can be better or just something to dream about. You will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Necko

    Necko enterd. He purre appily.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Memories of the Turtle Lady and my own 1970's Southern wife life

    If Mary Alice Monroe writes it, I read it!!
    This really got under my skin and into my heart. In 1972, I married and in 1991, we divorced. In between, I was that good Southern wife who believed in the act of putting on a good face in public because divorce was NOT an option in either family. I was never hit, but you can be affected in unseeable ways---ways that make that good public face easier to show. But, bruises are bruises---and I am sure we both bruised one another along the way. Luckily, we are now good friends again and our children came out the other side as successful adults. We will all carry the memories...and, hopefully, apply the lessons learned to void the mistakes made.
    This book showed me the other path I could have chosen if a special someone had shown up. Would I have??? Could I have??? I will never know, will I?
    Lovie's generous and gentle heart and spirit may have been bound up by tradition and appearances in 1974. But...that did not prevent her from rescuing other mothers...the mama sea turtles and thir precious progeny had the chance to live fully because of Lovie's efforts. Closed doors led to opened "sea" windows.
    I discussed the turtle lady books with my oldest child last summer. One day, I received a message from her on my phone which had no words, just a photo...of the lights out message for beach homes...to help the baby turtles head toward the ocean instead of "Ocean Drive"...our mama-daughter talk led to a wordless mama-daughter bonding as my child let me know she knew what mattered to me had taken on meaning for her as well.....all because of words in a book written by Mary Alice Monroe. Thank you, Mary Alice Monroe for giving this "dry land" mama the feeling that the wordless message from my daughter gave me. I lift my flipper in a salute to you...with love from a reader who has never seen a sea turtle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    You won't be sorry!!!

    This is one of those books that will stay with me. You readers know what I'm talking about. I live near the beach and I only wish I could describe what that's like...the sunrises, the sunsets, the sea oates and yes, the sea turtles and nesting season...as eloquently as Mary Alice Monroe does. When I finished this book, I felt like I had lost a friend. I don' t want to let this family go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    The Life I Lived Especially if you are a Southern woma

    The Life I Lived Especially if you are a Southern woman, and/or interested in the Charleston area, I think you will enjoy this work by Mary Alice Monroe. She tells a story of one woman’s life, looking back through the years at how her life unfolded. The author certainly understands the culture of the South, and in particular, Charleston, at least at the time about which she wrote. I can’t speak for today. This book has to now be included in my list of favorite books, as well as Monroe one of my favorite authors. I am looking forward to reading more work by this author. I would recommend this book to more mature women, as those who are younger may not fully appreciate all its fullness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Mary Alice Monroe has become one of my favorite authors.  I love

    Mary Alice Monroe has become one of my favorite authors.  I love the stories taking place in the Low Country.  This story has to be one of the best love stories I have read in quite some time.  Set in 1974, Olivia Rutledge reminisces  back to that wonderful, yet tragic summer.  This is a book not to miss.  Simply a wonderful and moving read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    H

    Well stop being a fricken asshol€ you goto ur daddy and start cryin!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Soul

    I appreciate everything you've done for me, Black, but I need to be with my friend Wolfkit

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Violet

    Here

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    A black cat

    A black ca wachs from the qindow. His dark blue eyes gleams and he jumps in breaking the window. The cat rips up the two-leg and bites its thriat out and slices its throat up. "Liste up Kittypets. If you want to live make no attempts to exscape whatsoevf and make you way ovr to the fox."

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Tigerlily

    Hello?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Spottedkit

    Meoe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Shinekit

    Paws at the fleshy hand play fully

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Snowkit

    Are there more than one Snowkit here?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Frostfur

    *Stops* yes i do the human stuck me im a cage again. Nnow if ya dont mind id love to get away from here.*takes of out the door to erin humter result ome*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Sheca will mate with tom (kittypet)

    At firestrike res one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Um...

    Um................................................................................................
    .....................................................................

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Goldenkit

    Im here! But gtgtb. Sorry! ~ goldenkit

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    ...

    ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3