Customer Reviews for

Beach House No. 9 (Beach House No. 9 Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    Very enjoyable read. You can relate to the characters and probl

    Very enjoyable read. You can relate to the characters and problems they face. Look forward to the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really love Christie Ridgway and was trilled to read the first

    I really love Christie Ridgway and was trilled to read the first book in her Beach House Series, Beach House No. 9. This book is about Griffin and Jane. Griffin is a war photographer who is suppose to be writing his memoir, instead, he is playing pirate and party playboy at Beach House No. 9. Jane is a very prim and proper professional. She's been hired to get Griffin back on track, having no idea what she's coming into. I loved how buttoned up she is but that she wears such girly shoes and feminine sexy underwear. I love how she seems like a puzzle that Griffin just needs to figure out and it thows him off his game time and time again.

    It was interesting to have a hero with PTSD who wasn't a soldier. Griffin is suffering, he is haunting by the memories of what he had seen and experienced while embedded in the war zone and having Jane in his life, forcing him to finish his memoir, is making him to face up to some of those nightmares.

    There was also a side story of Griffin's sister and her three kids and they are hysterical. I even loved the old neighbor next door who keeps crabbin at Griffin, and being a photographer who also was embedded with soldiers during war time, he understands what Griffin has been through and tries to help him through the PTSD

    I loved everything about this book and look forward to many more amazing stories from Christie Ridgway.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Autumn

    Hey(;

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    On the whole, I really enjoyed this book (and the prequel novell

    On the whole, I really enjoyed this book (and the prequel novella Beach House Beginnings) and am looking forward to the rest of the series. I absolutely adored Jane and every single pair of her shoes. (At first I didn't get why we were suddenly given a detailed description of her shoes as she walked towards Griffin's beach house. But soon it all. became. clear. The shoes. An awesome part of the story all on their own, thanks to Griffin.) I loved Griffin's sister and all four of her "minions". Cantankerous Rex from next door was a riot, and I enjoyed his back-and-forth banter with Griffin as well as his more serious side. Skye, the manager of the properties, is a bit harder to get a real handle on since we don't see all that much of her, but I am definitely looking forward to reading her story in book three. I liked the idea of a non-combatant suffering from PTSD, as Griffin does. His character was absolutely wonderful, and I was pulling for him the entire book to realize what he needed to do to get his life back.

    But...there were some parts that didn't quite do it for me. First, Griffin's brother-in-law's midlife crisis that caused the minions to move next door to their uncle for the summer? Yeah, it was a head scratcher. Even once it was explained it seemed like an extreme overreaction. That side story ended up being resolved nicely, but the reasons behind it in the first place just seemed bizarre. Secondly--and for the HEA of the story more importantly--I'm not sure I buy into Griffin's turnaround at the end. It's not that I don't think he and Jane should be together--I totally do--but after everything he'd been going through it felt like it was all "fixed" much too easily. In my mind he obviously still has a whole lot of work to do to make it to a place where he can be with Jane. For him, the book ended too soon.

    However, I still ended up giving this book four stars. In spite of those two issues, I really enjoyed the story and can't wait to read the next two. Now, how can I sign up for my own bungalow?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Nice little get away

    It was a good read. A little more races than I planned judging by the cover though. I liked the other characters they pulled in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Enjoyable read

    This story kept my interest from the beginning to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    Loved this book and all of the characters. There were some seri

    Loved this book and all of the characters. There were some serious moments where I wanted to reach for a tissue but then the situation would turn around and I couldn't help laughing out loud! Loved the humor of this author. Will definitely read the next in the series and other books by Christie Ridgway, a new favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Average modern romance combo

    Except focus was off beach vet book and writers block somehow isnt as fresh idea as it once was unless this was one of her first books would appreciate org. date of publishing and page count quick reads can mean less thsn novella length do not see a series in this one needs english coast several generations of lovers in a stone cottage with a walled garden overlooking a smugglers bay plus above

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Griffin Lowell spent a year in the depths of the war, chroniclin

    Griffin Lowell spent a year in the depths of the war, chronicling the camaraderie of the troops and the side effects of being shot at every day. He felt the same emotions as the troops, until tragedy struck, and he vowed to never feel again. Back in the states, he is ignoring calls from his publicist and he refuses to write a single word of his memoir. Enter Jane Pearson, book doctor. She is sent to Griffin’s doorstep to get his writing career back on track, when really her career needs to be straightened out too. Two stubborn souls hiding their past hurts, may find they are each other’s answer to survival.

    This is a heart-warming romance set in the modern-day. The characters are extremely relatable due to their actions and responses to their inner fears. Ridgeway gives readers an inside-look into all perspectives, by switching points-of view every few pages. The funny banter will leave readers laughing, while the steamy chemistry will leave readers over-heated. However the ending was rushed and somewhat disappointing and the minor characters’ romantic troubles could be a bit distracting. Overall this is a fast and fun read, and it provided a nice layout for the next books in the series.

    Notes:
    This review was originally written for My Sister's Books.
    This review was originally posted on Ariesgrl Book Reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Farewell

    She walked in.. "So No Fun. Awhhhh. " Dx

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Jamie to josh

    Heyy

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Nona

    Um josh u told me to come here. I am the Job applaction girl that u told me to come meet u at beaches resut 11

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed these books and seeing the characters overcoming there fears.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Posted on Romancing the Books blog / Reviewed by Molly / Review

    Posted on Romancing the Books blog / Reviewed by Molly / Review copy provided by Netgalley / So, I wanted to read this series really bad. I loved the sound of the beach, the romance, characters that would become friends. But, sadly this was not quite what I was expecting.

    Ms. Ridgway captured me in the beginning with Jane and her witty charm. She hooked me with the sexy Griffin and his tortured self. Then the story started to drag on for me with Jane and Griffin’s issues. Towards the end, however, it did pick back up and kept my interest. But, in the middle, I had a bit of issue staying focused on the story.

    Jane’s character is well developed as she struggles with getting Griffin to meet his deadline. Griffin’s character is one you want to be mad at , yet be happy for. He was suffering from PTSD and so many times I wanted to tell him to wake up! But, I also was happy for him when he started to realize what Jane was all about and his feelings for her.

    Ms. Ridgway does do a good job at working in the romance. When Jane and Griffin felt the pull of attraction, so did I! I wanted to be right there where Jane was.

    Despite the slow middle, I would recommend this story to anyone looking for a good romance story. It’s sultry, summery and sparking with passion! I am looking forward to reading the next two books in this series and visiting Crescent Cove again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    Great story with great characters, and great set up for future books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Jane has just gotten out of a relationship with an author who af

    Jane has just gotten out of a relationship with an author who after the break-up has put Jane's professional reputation at stake. She is determined to make her next project a success by helping her new client's book the best it can be. However, she has her work cut out for her because Griffin Lowell is in no frame of mind to tackle his memoirs.

    A journalist who spent a year in Afghanistan reporting on war events, Griffin is fighting the demons that have haunted him ever since he returned from his assignment overseas. The last thing he wants to do is bring those memories and emotions to the page, especially after meeting his partner in this endeavor - Jane. Little does he know that Jane will not give up that easily and that with her quirky taste in shoes and sexy full mouth she will break through his walls until he confronts the events that took place in Afghanistan.

    I so enjoyed this story, especially the main characters. I found Jane to be a perfect match for Griffin. With her stubbornness and caring ways she was the only one who could really draw out Griffin from behind the walls he had erected since returning. I loved Griffin! A handsome man with dark edges who closed himself from friends and family emotionally, Griffin won my heart from the start. I loved his sarcastic remarks, his caring side and his passion.

    Christie Ridgway did a wonderful job of developing the main characters throughout the story so that I could easily connect to them and cheer them on. I appreciated the fact that although their attraction was immediate and mutual, they developed a friendship based on honest expectations and time spent together before making their declarations of love. Through flirtatious banter and emotional dialogue, Griffin and Jane's connection came across the page in a believable manner. I enjoyed their bickering, their honest exchanges of personal information and their explosive chemistry.

    I also enjoyed the secondary characters. In addition to Griffin and Jane's story the author included a side story about Griffin's sister, Tess, and her husband. I usually don't enjoy having another couple's story included within the main one, but Ridgway did a great job of bringing both stories to the page in a way that never made me feel overwhelmed, which I appreciated since there were a lot of characters to keep track of in addition to all the details and emotions that were present in both stories.

    A touching and sexy romantic read with a beautiful setting, complex characters and emotions galore, Beach House No. 9, is the first book in the Beach House No. 9 series.

    I received this title from Harlequin through NetGalley in exchange of my honest opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    Beach House #9 is a powerful story of how PTSD affects a war cor

    Beach House #9 is a powerful story of how PTSD affects a war correspondant returned from Afghanistan.  The problems he faces and his difficulties in coming to  grips with them left  this reader very moved.
    Jane Pearson is a wonderful character.  A very intense and wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love Beach House No. 9 by Christine Ridgway! Jane is a 'Book D

    I love Beach House No. 9 by Christine Ridgway! Jane is a 'Book Doctor' hired by Griffin's agent to help him finish a memoir he is writing. She arrives in Crescent Cove expecting to find a brooding loner, but instead finds herself at Party Central in Griffin's cottage.

    Griffin is a journalist who spent a year embedded in Afganistan. He is supposed to be writing a memoir, but is stalling, denying that he shows signs of PSTD, and really isn't sure if he wants to write it after all. But he is on a deadline, and the agent really wants his book.

    Jane arrives and Griffin's first thought is 'librarian', 'governess' when he sees her. Little does he know there is much more to Jane than meets the eye, and in more ways than one!

    As Jane pushes Griffin to finish his book, they begin to develop a relationship that is supposed to be a temporary thing, but can it lead to more? There are all kinds of issues...Griffin never being one to settle with anyone, his (denied) PSTD...Jane was raised by an emotionless father and no one has ever put her first or thought of her feelings...that is until Griffin.

    The side story of Tess (Griffin's sister) and David (her husband) was a great addition to the story, and I LOVE the old guy, neighbour, war vet Rex. He and Griffin have a very unique relationship that is a fantastic part of the book!

    As I said I loved Beach House No. 9. Christie managed to take me right to Crescent Cove, I felt like I was right there...in fact the day I finished this I had to head to the ocean and get my salt air fix!! The characters were all realistic...there was romance, seriousness, sweetness, humor and fun in Beach House No. 9. Highly recommend if you're looking for a great romance book!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Sweet

    Loved it....loved how he finally listened to his heart.....thank u for a great story....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Not good

    It was hard to get thru this story The feelings between Jane and Griffin were lacking The sub plots with Tess and David, and Skye and Gage were much more interesting Have loved her other work but thuis one was not good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2