Customer Reviews for

The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club (Jo Mackenzie Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

What an absolute treat!

As an avid knitter, I tend to buy any novels that take place around knitting and unfortunately, not all of them are good. However, this was a true pleasure to read. I saved it for that perfect day when I could sit all day with a cup of coffee and this book and it did ...
As an avid knitter, I tend to buy any novels that take place around knitting and unfortunately, not all of them are good. However, this was a true pleasure to read. I saved it for that perfect day when I could sit all day with a cup of coffee and this book and it did not disappoint. I thoroughly loved this story and it's wonderfully colorful characters. I couldn't put it down and hated for it to end. I got teary eyed at some parts and laughed out loud at others. The main character could be any of us, struggling with life as a single mom and trying to keep it together. I look forward to any other books this very talented and gifted author writes.

posted by 1566692 on July 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hooked in by the Cover

I bought this book thinking it would be a great knitting mystery. I have not enjoyed it because of the writing style. It is definitely written with English slang and was very hard to follow. I don't even think I will finish it. I am sticking with Debbie MaComber and Mag...
I bought this book thinking it would be a great knitting mystery. I have not enjoyed it because of the writing style. It is definitely written with English slang and was very hard to follow. I don't even think I will finish it. I am sticking with Debbie MaComber and Maggie Sefton.

posted by Knitting-Reader on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    What an absolute treat!

    As an avid knitter, I tend to buy any novels that take place around knitting and unfortunately, not all of them are good. However, this was a true pleasure to read. I saved it for that perfect day when I could sit all day with a cup of coffee and this book and it did not disappoint. I thoroughly loved this story and it's wonderfully colorful characters. I couldn't put it down and hated for it to end. I got teary eyed at some parts and laughed out loud at others. The main character could be any of us, struggling with life as a single mom and trying to keep it together. I look forward to any other books this very talented and gifted author writes.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    A Great Getaway

    This is the second book I read about knitting. The first one was a disaster. But this one, I just wanted do dive in and live there. This book made me laugh so hard. One the days I need to get away. This was the most perfect way to do it.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun read, perfect for the beach this summer

    I tend to be a bit guarded when referred titles that come from the new sub-genre of chick lit/knitting fiction; a number have the feeling that the plot has been recycled just so someone could add a main character who knits/learns to knit and then knitting/yarn/yarn shop/SnB saves the day. Hurrah. "The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club" (aka TBSKSAYC) gives the genre a whole new look. First off, Jo is written as a very confident woman and knitter who is able to turn a tragedy into a workable real-life solution; she comes across as someone you might want to know in real life, so kudos to Gil McNeil. The supporting characters are also wonderfully rendered, particularly Jo's two boys, who reminded me very much of my brothers when they were kindergarten-age, and Jo's wacky BBC-broadcaster/best friend Ellen. Secondly, I am very grateful to the publishers for not "translating" the Britishisms into Americanisms for the US publication; much of what gives the book it's "real" feeling is the language and the entire story would have deflated if the sense of place was lost. Even though the plot of TBSKSAYC does revolve somewhat around Jo's life as the new owner of a yarn shop, no previous knitting experience is required to enjoy the book; what makes the story sparkle are Jo's descriptions of her life, either dealing with the moving company, trying to get two rambunctious boys to eat all their veg, or dealing with the paparazzi when a glamorous movie star patronizes the shop (sometimes all three at once). TBSKSAYC is a perfect read for summer vacation, whether lying about on a beach somewhere or just wishing that you were. Jo's story is endearing and you'll find yourself rooting for her when she goes toe-to-toe with PTA mom Annabel Morgan or Jo's snooty in-laws.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    A Wonderful Read Whether a Knitter or Not

    What a great read! You really can enjoy the people in the book and feel they are the type of people who probably exist somewhere in a small town by the sea. Can't wait to read the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed it very much

    A good book to curl up to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Loved it..

    A great read, well developed characters...not the standard and mindless chic lit. Just a sweet story of rebuilding with a regular life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Excellant

    Great story, interesting family interactions. Loved the way she handled the changes in her life. I would read anything she writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2015

    I have read 1,2,and 3 of the beach series and loved them all.Hop

    I have read 1,2,and 3 of the beach series and loved them all.Hoping Gil McNeil contines with book 4. You just fall in with all the wonderful people in this small seaside town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    A good light read with some depth too. So enjoyable!

    Loved it and the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    A must if you like smart, independent women.

    Gil McNeil has joined my 'Favorite Authors' list. "The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club" is funny, believable and highly entertaining. Jo Mackenzie finds herself newly widowed with two small sons and more debt than she knew about. Her best option is to move to a small sea-side English village and buy her Grandmother's wool shop. Her struggles to make a go of the shop, make a new life for her boys and deal with her own ambivelent feelings resonate with anyone who has experienced life's unexpected curves.
    'Beach Street' is perfect for book clubs and Ms Mcneil has a winner in Jo Mackenzie. There are two more books in the series so far, each as delightful as the first. I hope she continues to allow us into her world of Broadgate Bay, mad dogs and English women.
    Also recommended are the sequels: 'Needles and Pearls' and 'Knit One Pearl One'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    highly recommended

    excellant read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Very funny

    IF you love dry British humor, you will love this. A fine and funny story about starting over and dealing with sons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Warm, funny and real

    Low key womens life, ##@@&& language, mo vie stars, bad husbans, kids,, cakes and knitting, and venice and a bad dog. Jolly good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    loved it

    easy read..and there's a sequel..nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    GREAT BOOK

    Loved this book, Delightful reading, I will order all her books,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Super Read

    Loved this story and all the characters. Super easy read and well worth it. Looking forward to the next one to caught up on everyone.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    A lovely read

    Quick and easy! This is one of the better knitting-centered fiction titles I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    A good read

    While this book doesn't require a lot of thinking, the plot is enjoyable. The knitting shop sounds like a fun place to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3