Customer Reviews for

The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club (Jo Mackenzie Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

What an absolute treat!

As an avid knitter, I tend to buy any novels that take place around knitting and unfortunately, not all of them are good. However, this was a true pleasure to read. I saved it for that perfect day when I could sit all day with a cup of coffee and this book and it did ...
As an avid knitter, I tend to buy any novels that take place around knitting and unfortunately, not all of them are good. However, this was a true pleasure to read. I saved it for that perfect day when I could sit all day with a cup of coffee and this book and it did not disappoint. I thoroughly loved this story and it's wonderfully colorful characters. I couldn't put it down and hated for it to end. I got teary eyed at some parts and laughed out loud at others. The main character could be any of us, struggling with life as a single mom and trying to keep it together. I look forward to any other books this very talented and gifted author writes.

posted by 1566692 on July 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hooked in by the Cover

I bought this book thinking it would be a great knitting mystery. I have not enjoyed it because of the writing style. It is definitely written with English slang and was very hard to follow. I don't even think I will finish it. I am sticking with Debbie MaComber and Mag...
I bought this book thinking it would be a great knitting mystery. I have not enjoyed it because of the writing style. It is definitely written with English slang and was very hard to follow. I don't even think I will finish it. I am sticking with Debbie MaComber and Maggie Sefton.

posted by Knitting-Reader on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    A good light read with some depth too. So enjoyable!

    Loved it and the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Very good story line with knitting thrown in to keep up the interest and updated. Wanted to go right into the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    A fun read

    A fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Lovely read

    Wonderful story that pulled me in and didn't let me go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Good read

    Fun book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Great Summer Read!

    I think you'll like this well-written book with a lovely story line and likable characters. It really is a feel good novel you should add to your summer reading list. I would read other books by Gil McNeil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Absolutely loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book - so much so that when I finished it I ordered the next in the series. Maybe because I am English and a single parent but I could so relate - it made me smile most of the time and laugh out loud a lot of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a good read. The characters were entertaining and relat

    This was a good read. The characters were entertaining and relatable. I do plan on reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Good story

    Had its ups and downs but a quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    A must if you like smart, independent women.

    Gil McNeil has joined my 'Favorite Authors' list. "The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club" is funny, believable and highly entertaining. Jo Mackenzie finds herself newly widowed with two small sons and more debt than she knew about. Her best option is to move to a small sea-side English village and buy her Grandmother's wool shop. Her struggles to make a go of the shop, make a new life for her boys and deal with her own ambivelent feelings resonate with anyone who has experienced life's unexpected curves.
    'Beach Street' is perfect for book clubs and Ms Mcneil has a winner in Jo Mackenzie. There are two more books in the series so far, each as delightful as the first. I hope she continues to allow us into her world of Broadgate Bay, mad dogs and English women.
    Also recommended are the sequels: 'Needles and Pearls' and 'Knit One Pearl One'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    So boring

    Dont bother with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good read

    Enjoyed this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good if you are starting over ONLY

    This was the most boring book I have ever read. It wouldbe much better as a short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    highly recommended

    excellant read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    The cover caught my eye!

    But the book was definitely worth a read. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Very funny

    IF you love dry British humor, you will love this. A fine and funny story about starting over and dealing with sons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Nice story!

    It is a pretty good story, but could have been better written. Too much dialoge with the children. The title was misleading. Just a nice no-brainer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Wish I'd sampled first.

    Author threw in some swear words to be hip, tried to be humorous, but failed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Warm, funny and real

    Low key womens life, ##@@&& language, mo vie stars, bad husbans, kids,, cakes and knitting, and venice and a bad dog. Jolly good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    loved it

    easy read..and there's a sequel..nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7