Customer Reviews for

Beach Trip

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    I kept waiting for something to happen

    but it never really did. It took me over 2 weeks to read a book that if good, would have taken me only a couple of days max. It just sort of rambled on without any point or purpose. And I'm still not sure what the "secret that threatens to change their bond, and their lives, forever" is..... If it's what I think she meant it to be, it sort of came and went without any real fanfare.
    VERY disappointing. I won't be seeking out anymore by this author anytime soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Beach Trip is too long and unsatisfying.

    This is one beach trip that is just too long and unsatisfying. I had high hopes for this book about Southern women but was disappointed. Only one of the four female characters is remotely likable and the story just goes on way too long. The author does a nice job of telling the story of the four friends as college girls to 40+-year-olds reunited for a beach trip on a NC island by going back and forth between present time and the early 80s, however, some of the descriptions go on for just way too long. There is lots of foreshadowing and I pretty much figured out each woman's secret before the author revealed it, so most of it was fairly predictable and typical "chick lit" stuff. But I will say the story got better towards the end and the ending was a surprise twist that was interesting and unexpected. I just wish it had not taken so long to get there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    I like good beach reading - this was not it. The book is a tota

    I like good beach reading - this was not it. The book is a total waste of time with shallow and cheap characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK. READ IT IN ONE DAY.

    It did drag at times but a really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Great easy chick lit read!

    Really enjoyed this novel. The past was very well interwoven with the presnt. Their "secrets" weren't secret from the reader, and I had figured out the ending pretty early in the book, but I still loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Finn

    U here danel

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Daniela

    Finn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    great read

    I didn't want to put this book down. It was a great and easy read. Really enjoy it and the characters. Very well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    good read

    great summer book...thought it was well written, will read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Grab this book for your next beach trip!

    Beach Trip by Cathy Holton


    When we first meet Lola, Mel, Sara and Annie in the first chapter, it is the very early 80's in a small prestigious Southern College in North Carolina, but we aren't going to stay there.oh my no! We have a long and winding road to go on and the author, Cathy Holton, takes pleasure in leading the way.

    In the next chapter it's 23 years later and we meet up with the 'girls' now women at the peak of their lives and they are going to meet up at the beach for a week long reunion of sorts. We learn how each of the woman have grown and how some have changed and that, well, some really have not changed all that much. The week becomes very cathartic, as past secrets that they all have been holding for these two decades are finally revealed. In addition, this is the crux of this novel.how we all have secrets. Secrets that even our very best friends do not know about, secrets that we don't even want to admit to ourselves. Secrets that finally come out and bite us on the butt.



    We have some very hilarious moments (Mel's revenge on Mr. A Lincoln at the club and free dinner during Casino night for one) as well as some very emotionally scarring ones.
    Ms Holton deftly swings from decade to decade, without getting the reader confused or pulling them out of the story, as so many authors have the habit of doing. She weaves the traditional tale of 'best friends against the world' with unique and strong characters.

    I am not going to spoil anything for you, but let me say that this book does have several big revelations at the end. This is a book that you read the first time straight through with no stopping because you just know something important is going to happen. You want to read it again almost immediately, so you can fit the pieces of their lives together and see why they all chose the actions they did as well as have a clearer picture of the consequences of those actions.

    A great, fast paced, well plotted read, with realistic characters and great secondary characters. It is a great story and Ms Holton is a great storyteller. Beach Trip is well worth your hard-earned book-buying dollar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Another Winner for Holton

    I agree that this is a departure from her two earlier books, however, the strong characters will endear this book as one not to miss! We all have secrets and friendships will endure when nothing else does! Great summer read! If you like Dorothea Benton Frank and Haywood Smith, you're going to love Cathy Holton!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    Wonderful summer read!

    This is different from Cathy's other two books about the Kudzu debutantes not quite as funny and quirky BUT it was equally great! I loved the characters and the storyline. Both were very well developed. I would definitely recommend this book. It is well-paced and engrossing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    Substance Outshines Frothy Title

    The strength in this novel was the characters' ability to stretch and rearrange the truth. Meet Mel, Sara, Annie and Lola, women in their 40's who plan a reunion at Lola's luxurious North Carolina beach house. They are graduates of a prominent liberal arts college in the 1980's which sets the tone that readers will be privy to the lives of educated, complex women.

    Holton moves us back and forth from the 1980's to the present 2005. These are southern women with diverse backgrounds: Mel is wealthy, beautiful and can commit to friendship, not marriage. She is a succesful mystery writer who comes off as a harsh critic of her friends and their life decisions. Sara is beautiful, an attorney with solid parents, but appears to be consumed by guilt. Annie, the weakest character, had a discretion during their "carefree" college days which she cannot seem to absolve herself. And Lola, beautiful Lola, with the traditional southern mother who only cared about tradition who foists her daugther into a troubled adulthood.

    In an attempt to reconcile their lives, they spend days together unraveling their past and connecting it to the present. Holton's flashback to the womens' southern upbringing gave me the strongest insight to interpret the present. Holton showed off her solid southern writing when she wrote of the past. I believe the plot was weaker during the day to day activities of the reunion. There is a great, satisfying twist at the end, and I was assured that Holton's theme of strong women was justified. The title, "Beach Trip" suggest a chick lit superficial story. It is not. The title should have been more representative of the comedic and literary talents of this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    Holton's Best book by Far!

    Cathy Holton fans who are expecting yet another romp with kudzu debutantes are in for a surprise. While the four women who reunite after 23 years are bright and witty, they replace their kudzu predecessors' Machiavellian scheming with true heart and reflection. Holton offers more to fans of classics as she writes of college days studying literature and offers more to other writers as she recounts book tours and meeting with editors. Her women offer depth and honesty. They think, they examine their marriages, their parents and their empty nests. This novel is not one to get lost amongst the sand filled towels and beach buckets. It is a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy this engaging character study of middle age women in crisis

    In the 1980s, Mel, Sara, Annie and Lola met at Bedford University in Mount Clemmons, North Carolina. They became friends, but after graduating from the liberal arts school went their separate ways. Mel became a mystery novelist living in New York; Sara is a part-time Atlanta attorney; Annie has become a Nashville businesswoman; and Lola married rich. Each is forty-five years old and they are meeting for the first time in over two decades on Whale Head Island in North Carolina's Outer Banks at the exclusive Wild Dunes resort, owned by Lola's husband.----------

    As they enter middle age, each of the women has pressing relationship issues that weigh heavily on them. Lola depends on drugs to cope with her manipulative spouse. Annie recognizes how terrific and caring her husband is and their kids are, but still obsesses over a tryst with a married professor at Mount Clemmons. Sara worries about her ailing son while detesting her marriage and envying Mel's Manhattan lifestyle. Mel is a bit jealous of the others being still married as she has tried and failed twice yet also understands herself as the truism of her last novel "I'll Sleep When You're Dead" describes her husbands in her mind.-----------

    Although midlife crisis group encounters have been the theme of many novels including one by Cathy Holton (see REVENGE OF THE KUDZU DEBUTANTES), Mel with her Manhattan kick butt armor brings freshness to the mix. As the week passes, the four friends change from sipping tea to drinking tequila as they share their angst, guilt, and failures leading to a subtle strengthening bond. Fans will enjoy this engaging character study of middle age women in crisis who at the end of their BEACH TRIP learn they can do more than endure and survive, they can thrive.--------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2