Customer Reviews for

Beachcomber

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sooo Good!

I LOVED this book! It had just enough love and mystery for my liking. Best Karen robards book so far!

posted by newby on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

First let me say I own & have thoroughly enjoyed nearly every book Karen Robards has written so I couldn't wait to start this one. I saved it for vacation & expected to fly through it in one day. Five days later I finally struggled to the end. The plot is ridiculous ...
First let me say I own & have thoroughly enjoyed nearly every book Karen Robards has written so I couldn't wait to start this one. I saved it for vacation & expected to fly through it in one day. Five days later I finally struggled to the end. The plot is ridiculous & I couldn't dredge up any interest in any of the characters. I guess every author is entitled to a clunker but this one surprised me, it was THAT boring.

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Excellent!!

    Not sure what all the fuss is about with the ending but I thought it was a great read that I couldn't put down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sooo Good!

    I LOVED this book! It had just enough love and mystery for my liking. Best Karen robards book so far!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed this book! It's a great summer read for all who enjoy romantic suspense thrillers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    L.O.S.T.

    It didn't start off as well as her other books. You have Christy Petrino who is an honest attorney. The FBI guys Luke and Gary. Her shady fiance Michael De Palma,A hitman who doesn't plan very well. And Marvin the cat. I thought the cat was great. Every time I put the book down I still got lost.The ending did bite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

    First let me say I own & have thoroughly enjoyed nearly every book Karen Robards has written so I couldn't wait to start this one. I saved it for vacation & expected to fly through it in one day. Five days later I finally struggled to the end. The plot is ridiculous & I couldn't dredge up any interest in any of the characters. I guess every author is entitled to a clunker but this one surprised me, it was THAT boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Great read

    I really liked & never suspected the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Karen Robards, Beachcomber

    this is a really good book. It really makes you think about your surroundings and who might be watching you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    I loved it!

    This was the first of Karen Robards book I've read and I loved it. But that's because I don't know Ocracoke Island so I didn't know that it wasn't realistic, but the story was great, and I became new fan of Karen Robards and read her other books and loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    Horrible

    I was very disappointed in this book. Definitely not Ms. Robard's best work. I did not feel the chemistry between the characters and the ending felt unfinished. I had a hard time finishing the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Disappointing

    As a writer myself, I understand the need to fictionalize real places to suit the needs of your story, but it is clear that Ms. Robards has never been to Ocracoke Island, let alone researched it. If she had, she would realize that there are no streams, cliffs, or forests there. It is also a very tiny island, about 14 miles long and 4 miles wide so the 4-5 hour walk into town is unrealistic. The story itself is OK, with so-so characters but I couldn't get past the glaring mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    Great book, new Karen Robard fan

    I really liked this book. Loved Karen's writing and stayed interested through and through. I do agree with one of the other reviewers though, about one thing though... the ending could have been much better. that kinda dissapointed me cause it was so good and built up real nice, and then the end wasn't quite as 'grouseome' 'detailed' 'powerful' as i expected to be. But I cant wait to read other books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    A new Karen Robards fan

    I picked up Whispers at Midnight, never reading anything yet by Karen Robards. I loved every thing about her style of writing. So I also bought Beachcomber, when it was released. This author has done it again. The book was a great read. I am now in the process of locating anything I can get my hands on, by Karen Robards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    good read! A big fan of karen robards

    I did enjoy this book! I read it in one day. However, I did think that the ending was not a good as it could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2003

    Another great book

    Christy Petrino thought she had it all, a wonderful career as a lawyer, a great boss who was also her fiancé. But she had her eyes opened by a relative, her job is mob controlled and so is her fiancé. She dumps the fiancé but the mob won¿t let her go unless she does this one favor for them. Christy goes to Ocracoke Island to deliver a package but she then stumbles onto a murder. She is helped by her neighbor Luke Randolph. Luke befriends Christy and they start to grow close. But Luke is keeping a big secret that could tear them apart. Christy keeps having terrible things happen to her and she things that the mob isn¿t done with her. But there is something more sinister out to get Christy. The suspense is terrifying and the relationship between Luke and Christy is intense. This is another Karen Robards must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting romantic suspense

    Though the tie-in to the Jersey mob is in her blood and further connected through her mom¿s relationship with Uncle Vince, corporate attorney Christy Petrino always adhered to the law, having nothing to do with criminal activities of friends, family, or sponsors. As the fiancée to her boss Michael DePalma, her personal life looked as settled and contented as her profession. However, that illusion is ends when she suddenly knows too much to live. <P>Hiding in the North Carolina Outer Banks, Christy¿s collapsing life falls further apart when she stumbles on a dying woman on the beach and sees the shadow of the murderer. She flees only to catch Luke Rand on her beach property. A FBI agent, Luke wonders how his surveillance of Christy could go so wrong as he tries to learn what she knows about her boss Michael. That same night Luke rescues Christy from an attack from the shadowy figure she saw earlier. Marked by a serial killer, the mob and the FBI, Christy¿s first day in the Outer Banks makes Atlantic City seem safe. <P>This romantic suspense novel opens at a very fast-pace, continues throughout with plenty of action and never lets up until the final moment. This leaves readers breathless trying to keep up. Christy and Luke are a delightful lead couple struggling with attraction vs. commitment (to a job that is). Though the diverse subplots (serial killer and mob) take adjustment to keep track of since the female protagonist is caught in the crosshairs of both, fans of Karen Robards will value this terse thriller. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2