Customer Reviews for

Beachcombers

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Summer Read

Beachcombers is the story of three sisters who come back home to Nantucket for the summer. Lily - the youngest sister - emails Abbie - the oldest sister - to come home because she is concerned about Emma who is going through a nasty breakup as well as their father, Jim'...
Beachcombers is the story of three sisters who come back home to Nantucket for the summer. Lily - the youngest sister - emails Abbie - the oldest sister - to come home because she is concerned about Emma who is going through a nasty breakup as well as their father, Jim's financial issues. Jim rents out the girl's childhood playhouse to Marina who is recovering from a divorce. Their mother had formed the Beachcombers Club with them when they were children, teaching them to look for something more in the sand and in life. After she had died when the girls were young, Abbie tries to take over the role as mother as best she can. As adults, each of the women are in need of hope and healing, and the beautiful setting of Nantucket seems to be just the ticket. On their arrival back to Nantucket, the girls seem to fall back into their appointed roles as sisters. Nancy Thayer does an excellent job describing beautiful Nantucket - I could almost feel the sand between my toes. Lily drove me nuts! She enjoyed her role as a society reporter just a tad too much which made her come across as shallow to me. One of my favorite characters was Millicent Bracebridge, an elderly woman Emma was hired to read to every day. She was very wise and full of grand advice. I wouldn't mind spending an afternoon reading Agatha Christie to her, one of her favorites. I loved every minute I spent reading this novel. Each chapter is told from one of the women's perspectives but the story flows very nicely. I enjoyed the dynamics between the four women and the people they encounter over the summer. There were enough twists and turns to keep me reading. This book is a great summer read - not too demanding but quite enjoyable.

posted by retromom on July 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Discount code,with BN! Amazing ! Get website: BnKing.tk

Discount code,with BN! Amazing ! Get website: BnKing.tk

posted by Joskn on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read

    Beachcombers is the story of three sisters who come back home to Nantucket for the summer. Lily - the youngest sister - emails Abbie - the oldest sister - to come home because she is concerned about Emma who is going through a nasty breakup as well as their father, Jim's financial issues. Jim rents out the girl's childhood playhouse to Marina who is recovering from a divorce. Their mother had formed the Beachcombers Club with them when they were children, teaching them to look for something more in the sand and in life. After she had died when the girls were young, Abbie tries to take over the role as mother as best she can. As adults, each of the women are in need of hope and healing, and the beautiful setting of Nantucket seems to be just the ticket. On their arrival back to Nantucket, the girls seem to fall back into their appointed roles as sisters. Nancy Thayer does an excellent job describing beautiful Nantucket - I could almost feel the sand between my toes. Lily drove me nuts! She enjoyed her role as a society reporter just a tad too much which made her come across as shallow to me. One of my favorite characters was Millicent Bracebridge, an elderly woman Emma was hired to read to every day. She was very wise and full of grand advice. I wouldn't mind spending an afternoon reading Agatha Christie to her, one of her favorites. I loved every minute I spent reading this novel. Each chapter is told from one of the women's perspectives but the story flows very nicely. I enjoyed the dynamics between the four women and the people they encounter over the summer. There were enough twists and turns to keep me reading. This book is a great summer read - not too demanding but quite enjoyable.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Love!!!!!!!

    Great book! Couldn't put it down! Can't wait to read other books by Nancy!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Recommend for a light end of summer read.

    Love the author, liked the book. Could have done w/out Lily always whining, but overall a good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Great summer read!

    Loved this book! Enjoyed following each character's story, thought it was original and well writen.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Too Unrealistic

    All four of the romances in this book developed way to fast and were unrealistic to me, making the storyline a bit corny. Since when does a man propose to a woman who isn't even his girlfriend yet, or who they haven't dated?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    warm family drama

    In Nantucket Lily Fox sends urgent emails to her globetrotting older sister Abbie to come home as the family is in crisis. Their widower father is in financial trouble and is seeing a sexy woman Marina Warren whose husband dumped her for her friend. Their middle sister Emma has come home from Boston hysterical having lost her job and fiancé Duncan. Lily insists depressed Emma is emaciated lying in bed all day crying.

    Abbie comes home to be there for her family during the crisis as they all had been years ago when their mom died. Sibling rivalry remains heated, but each seeks some contentment. The oldest opens a jobs finding service; the middle sister struggles to find equilibrium; while the youngest is a society reporter. Even Marina seeks proof she remains in middle age a worthy female.

    The four women take turn narrating the warm family drama. Each of the females brings baggage as they have issues with one another while musing on their pasts. Although there is some redundancy as expected by the sibling narrations, the four feisty females find their respective summer groove as Nantucket Beachcombers.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Great Book

    I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    recommend

    sweet story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Too predictable.

    These girls waste no time jumping in bed with a man. I almost gave up on this one as the storyline is so slow to develop. I could have written the ending myself.

    The author comments about growing up in Wichita, KS and that Kansas was a dry state. I also grew up in Kansas. What are you talking about Ms. Thayer?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    heart spaces

    a good look into thd heart. a eminder to not assume, nor think you know what someone elase is thinkinv amd going through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    Great Book

    Enjoyed reading this while sitting at the beach in Texas. Keeps you interested in what will happen to the girls next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    End to summer read

    I picked this book up at my local B&N store, perusing the new releases and looking for a good "end to summer read". This satisfied my desires.

    With so much happening before we fully know the cast of characters, and each character carrying their own "suitcase" with them, the author did a fantastic job developing the plot and helping readers fully understand each of the characters. It was a quick read, one that I could not put down, and I would recommend this to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Quick Summer Read

    Liked the plot and setting of this book. Three sisters all gather back in their childhood home on Nantucket when they learn their widowed father has a new love interest. They all have their own problems and complexities that are tested during the summer months. The characters were well-developed and you felt like you were right at the beach with them. My biggest issue with Thayer is her dialogue! 20 and 30 somethings do not talk the way she makes her characters do! The conversations are sometimes so trite and contrived that it sometimes just made me laugh. A good read for the beach or the pool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another enjoyable Nantucket read

    I have enjoyed Nancy Thayer's books for several years. But, I feel that after the "Hot Flash
    Club Books", which were enjoyable, but, in my view, a different style from her other books, I feel her writing has declined a little. By this I mean that the plot was so predictable - each sister, and the woman renting the cottage, met and quickly fell in love with someone, which just doesn't happen in real life. But that's also what made the book an enjoyable read, and hard to put down because it was interesting enough that I wanted to see what was going to happen next. There were some surprises, so overall I am happy with the book and will continue to follow her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Summer Read

    A very enjoyable beach read. The author does a graet job pulling you into the story and brining out the personality of all her characters. I definately recommend reading if you want a light summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nantucket summer

    Thayer once again takes us to a summer on Nantucket Island, this time embroiled in the lives of the three Fox sisters. Youngest sister Lily emails oldest sister Abbie to come home to help navigate the trials of middle sister Emma, who has lost her job and fiance in one swoop. The three girls fall somewhat predictably into their old family roles once they are together under one roof. The baby of the family, Lily, seems especially stymied by the presence of her older sisters. There is a fourth voice in the novel as well. Marina has just divorced and in re-evaluating her life, has rented the Fox "playhouse" for six months. The girls seems disturbed by their father's interest in this renter and the possibilty of his living his own life. The stories work together well, and there is some interesting Nantucket history included too. All in all, this was a good read to kick off summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5