Customer Reviews for

Bead & Button

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Finally! I can carry have my projects with me & not destroy the magazine.

I have a color nook and everything looked exactly like my print copy of the magazine. The color reproduction is great and being able to enlarge the diagrams with a swipe of my finger is fantastic! I love having a choice to navigate from the contents or thumbnails. I...
I have a color nook and everything looked exactly like my print copy of the magazine. The color reproduction is great and being able to enlarge the diagrams with a swipe of my finger is fantastic! I love having a choice to navigate from the contents or thumbnails. I actually preferred the thumbnails as they are larger than those in the contents.

posted by 6425103 on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Print version can't be beat, nook version is bare bones

Long time beader and reader of this magazine. I was excited to see a nook version. But disappointed in what it ended up being. Unfortunately the nook version didn't include any of the diagrams that go along with the instructions that make the instructions easier to foll...
Long time beader and reader of this magazine. I was excited to see a nook version. But disappointed in what it ended up being. Unfortunately the nook version didn't include any of the diagrams that go along with the instructions that make the instructions easier to follow.

posted by 6510803 on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Finally! I can carry have my projects with me & not destroy the magazine.

    I have a color nook and everything looked exactly like my print copy of the magazine. The color reproduction is great and being able to enlarge the diagrams with a swipe of my finger is fantastic! I love having a choice to navigate from the contents or thumbnails. I actually preferred the thumbnails as they are larger than those in the contents.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Couldn't open it using eReader for Mac. What a waste of time!

    I spend a good hour browsing through the titles of magazines offered under the 14 day free trial, found two I was interested in, but luckily noticed they were "special issues" put out by the magazine publisher, not regular subscription issues. Tried online chat and then had to make a phone call to find out that they are not covered by the 14 day trial offer - then they shouldn't show up when you click the "shop now" button under the 14 day free trial, now, should they? Good thing I checked or I would have bought two books when I thought I was getting a 14 day free trial.

    Anyway, returned to the drawing board. Spent more time searching for a magazine to try for 14 days. Finally selected Bead and Button by Kalmbach Publishing. Had to reset my password in order to sign in to my account, then update my credit card info even though I was just doing a free trial offer, then finally made the purchase. Tried for another 15 minutes to figure out how to open it with no luck. Returned to online chat user support only to learn that "this magazine is not compatible with eReaders on computers. It would apparently work, so I am told with certain other listed devices...none of which I own, of course. So then I got to figure out how to cancel my subscription to avoid getting charged in 14 days for something I can't even read. Barnes and Noble, if you're trying to win new customers, this is NOT the way to do it.

    I'm outta here.
    Kathy
    Phoenix, AZ

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Love it love it love it!!!!!!!

    This is the greatest thing since sliced bread!!! I just had to go thru and get organized. I have so many bead magazines I just didn't want to throw away. This is the perfect solution!! I don't know how it could get such mixed reviews. I'm looking at it on an iPad and it's fantastic. I was hesitant with the reviews so just bought a single issue, now I can't wait until the new issue comes out so I can get the full year. I sure hope more magazines will follow!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Great Information for Beaders of All Levels!

    I am a beginner beader and while other beading magazines have left me crazy intimidated, this one has not. It's not because everything featured is simple, but because this magazine has a good mix of beginner to advanced projects and they have sections that explain certain techniques thoroughly. They layout on the nook tablet is really nice too, I have had no issues seeing instructions or articles. I had the free trial but I am now a paid suscriber!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Not what I do

    This is a very nice magazine, just not the type of jewelry I make.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    WoW!!!

    Finally available in digital format! Nice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Very Nice

    Very nice magazine for making jewelry at home. Beautiful bead works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Good instructions, weird designs

    I was not impressed by any of the designs in the edition I tried. The instructions were good, but it definitely wasn't worth the time or money...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2