Customer Reviews for

The Bean Trees: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 318 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

The Bean Trees

I admit, I am no great fan of modern American literature. Apart from Ernest Hemingway, Philip Roth, and Raymond Carver, I hardly touch the stuff. I prefer a foreign setting, not to mention a different genre. And with that bias, I approached Barbara Kingsolver at long la...
I admit, I am no great fan of modern American literature. Apart from Ernest Hemingway, Philip Roth, and Raymond Carver, I hardly touch the stuff. I prefer a foreign setting, not to mention a different genre. And with that bias, I approached Barbara Kingsolver at long last, and found The Bean Trees to be remarkably compelling. The story of Taylor Greer, on a journey across the country, heading nowhere in particular, simply seeking to escape her dreary life. Only to be handed a life she could not have expected when a baby is thrust into her car and left in her care. Kingsolver has created characters who seem quite far from me, lives and experiences distinct from my own. Yet somehow she manages to make me care about these people. She can weave a tale around a superficially simplistic setting, a deceptively banal event - and inject it with such meaning, such feeling. Cheers to you, Ms. Kingsolver. I look forward to reading more of your works.

posted by GeorgeEllington on November 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

A Waste of Time

Unfortunately, this book was required reading for my freshman year English class. At that time, I was interested in classics, and books with great lessons and symbols for everyday life. After reading and enjoying many books with boring names I was actually excited to re...
Unfortunately, this book was required reading for my freshman year English class. At that time, I was interested in classics, and books with great lessons and symbols for everyday life. After reading and enjoying many books with boring names I was actually excited to read The Bean Trees. Having read To Kill a Mockingbird multiple times, I was looking for another great book. When I rented The Bean Trees from the library, I started reading immediately, looking for symbols and lessons comprable to To Kill a Mockingbird. What I got was a pointless story where the greatest conflicts include choosing to have an affair with a man, and getting papers for a little girl. The only lessons this book teaches you are that euthanasia should be used, abortion should be used, and that Child Services is evil. Seriously, if you are an average Conservative, do not read this book, unless you are unfortunate enough to be assigned it.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    An interesting story

    The bean trees was a very interesting story to read to hear about the girls life story and where all she travled in her life trying to get out of the state she is in Kentucky. She ends up with a child that a women just left in her car which was somehthing that was put on her shoulders as to moving away from things and getting away of any stress. I would recomined this book to those who are wanting to move out of state and search for a new life.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Entertaining

    Lacked character development but overall an easy, entertaining read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Thundefang

    e.e Just Tell Me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Good reading

    Not Moby Dick or Les Mis but nonetheless a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Annonymous

    Good read-interesting friendships

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Clever quirky main character Taylor who had been showed a baby g

    Clever quirky main character Taylor who had been showed a baby girl in her car and was an instant mom... Very interesting story line but somewhat from a hill billy times. Could not really pinpoint the year that it was written about, yet was still interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Some was good

    I loved this book but my mom was breathing down my neck to finsh the book i could have enjoyed it more if my mom was on me like that

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    The Bean Trees

    I felt the book was alright for it's intended aim, but it wasn't exactly the best book I've ever read. The book has a great message behind it, and does a great job with expressing the growth of the characters over time, but it's just not all that exciting. Not that it failed at excitement or anything, I don't think it was ever meant to have much, but excitement is a must have for me in any book I read. Without it, there isn't much to read for in my eyes.

    For the books intentended goals, without question, it delievers. But the books aims aren't the desires of every reader in the world. Sure, many will love the book, but if you're the adrenaline type, it's probably not for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    It was alright..

    I wouldn't say that this was the most amazing book to read, but it wasn't too bad. Definitely an easy read novel, something you might like to read on a rainy day. In my opinion the story just takes too long to get to the point.. It's not as exciting as the books i normally enjoy reading. The story goes on about how a young woman travels out of the state of Kentucky and gets left with a child who hardly speaks, on her journey she learns the true meanings of life and finds love. Again, not the best, but definitely not the worst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Average

    An okay book. Good message but could get boring at times. The narrator was witty, but most of her journeys seemed pointless. Not a great book, but deffinately not a horrible one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    college student

    I did enjoy The Bean Trees, although I only gave the novel three stars. I found the book as a very simple read. Kingsolver did hit it right on the money with early to mid twenty female readers. the storyline was quite attractive and pleasent, but I expected and enjoy a little more of a challenge. It is defenatally a book for a young single mother or a young highschool female. I did enjoy the read, because it was cute and I didn't have to think about the storyline much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    this book is ok

    this book is ok but goes on and on when it seems to me like it should just end. nothing really bad happens except at the beginning so its like a happy book that just keeps going on and on and you keep hoping something will happen and nothing does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Needs more excitement

    It didn't keep my attention. The discription of everything taking place was very good but the story itself needed more drama or adventure. I guess what I did't like is how each event took forever untill it was brough together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    A Journey for a Better Life

    I highly reccomend The Bean Trees for people who are looking to improve there outlook on life. This story made me realize how important it is to be positive in your everyday life. Kingsoler takes the reader through the life of a young woman and shows how she is at a stage in her life where she has to make changes in order for her to happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    The Bean Trees Review

    I would have enjoyed the story better if there was a more captivating plot, like there was a hidden twist at the end that you didnt expect. This book is really just a story I didnt really see a way that by reading this story you could better yourself. The story I guess was rather entertaining it just seemed to really just poke along not keeping my intertest but becaus I wanted to see if there was an intresting ended I read the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2001

    Unexpected lovely story

    Barbara Kingsolver has a wonderful writing style. Her protagonist is one of the most lovable characters ever created and the rest of the women are not far behind. This is a book about women for women and the male characters pale into insignificance. Marietta Greer decides to get away from her roots in Kentucky. She buys an old car and heads to wherever the road takes her. While in Oklahoma an Indian woman pushes a small child into her car and says she¿ll be better off with her. Marietta, who has changed her name to Taylor by the end of her journey has spent the best part of her life avoiding pregnancy back in Kentucky but she accepts the little girl and takes her to Tucson. It is there she meets the people who make the bones of this story. I didn¿t expect to like this story but found I could not put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    Well-written, but not one of Knigsolver's best...

    Although I love Barbara Kingsolver, I thought this novel was a little lackluster. As always, Kingsolver develops her characters well; readers can really get to know the characters. I just thought the plot, though realistic, tended to get a little dull. I read this one after reading The Poisonwood Bible, and to me, The Bean Trees just does not hold a candle to PB.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    A summary of 'The Bean Trees'

    The book 'The Bean Trees' is a very good book. At first I didn't really understand the book and the way the author made everything jump around and how each chapter didn't relate to each other but then in the middle it finally made sense and the book got more interesting. I really liked how the author made the book sound so real and not the exact opposite of the way life is today. It made me want to read and read and not stop reading because it seemed so real. The book had a very good ending but I wish it would have told me more. The ending made the beginning make sense. I would reccomend this book to someone who likes to read and not someone who finds reading a total waste of time because this is a very good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2