Customer Reviews for

A Bear Named Trouble

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    bear named trouble revew

    I want to talk about a book I read, it was called A Bear Named Trouble by Marion Dane Bauer. This book takes place in Alaska and it¿s about 120 pages long. It is about a young boy named Jonathan that really likes to be in the Alaska zoo. He is almost always there watching his favorite animal, Mamma Goose, a white goose. He also likes watching animals in the wild. One day he sees a cub bear whose mom died, this book shows the kids and the cub¿s side of the story, that same bear accidentally killed Mamma goose in the zoo. For what the bear had done Jonathan¿s dad named it Trouble. The young cub fights his way finding food and his mother, wail Jonathan thinks on revenge towards Trouble. I would say my favorite part in the whole book was when Jonathan watched the cub accidentally killed mamma Goose. This was my favorite part because it had so many details and it turned the whole story around, from Jonathan being scared of Trouble to him being angry at it. He was looking at mamma Goose when Trouble came in the zoo and swiped the goose with its sharp claws striking it with a very powerful arm. Jonathan felt terrible and scared, and he though that Trouble knew exactly what he was doing, although he didn¿t. This made me think the zookeepers would kill Trouble. The power of the claws nailed into the goose¿s body and made it bleed, mamma Goose fell to the ground quietly and sadly died. The blood of the goose dripped off Trouble¿s sharp claws, Jonathan was horrified and wanted that bear to go away. Trouble didn¿t know what he was doing and just took off running. Jonathan ran off him self to his house and told his dad about mamma Goose. His dad told him that he was just dreaming but there was prove. Jonathan¿s dad told him to stay home wail he took care of it. After this the rest of the book was mostly about people trying to catch/kill Trouble. This part of the book will be the one I will always remember because of all the things that happened that turned the whole book around. From reading this book I know how it feels like to be out in the middle of the street alone with no one to help you and almost nothing to eat, and with a broken jaw. I feel like this because in the story the cub trouble was out in the middle of the humans scared and hungry with a broken jaw. I liked how the author described trouble and Jonathan and how they both faced their problems. This book is perfect for people that like realistic short animal stories. The reading level of this book is right for me, and I¿m not much of a reader. This book is not the kind of book I would read for pleasure, although it¿s not one of my favorite I still like it. I really recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2015

    This was a really good book.  A must read for 4th and 5th grade

    This was a really good book.  A must read for 4th and 5th grade students.  The suspense builds beautifully and keeps the reader engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Ok

    The book is ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    A Bear Named Trouble

    My fourth grade teacher read this to my class and I three years ago and everyone in my class absolutley LOVED this book. I highly reccomend it to children and adults of ALL ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Good

    I read this in third grade 2 years ago I still havn't forgotten it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    A Bear Named Trouble I read the book called A Bear Named Trouble by Marion Dane Bauter. It was realistic fiction, it has 120 pages, and it took place in Alaska Zoo. I would like to recommend A Bear Named Trouble. I recommended it because it¿s an easy read and I like to read about animals. I also would like to recommend it because it describes the details very well. The main character¿s name is Jonathan, He loves animals so much sometimes he pretends he is one. Jonathan has a sister that also has also loves animal. The story is about a boy named Jonathan. Jonathan¿s dad works at Alaska Zoo so Jonathan goes there a lot to play with Mama Goose, his favorite animal. Eventually Jonathan runs into a young brown bear. After that Jonathan tracks the bear to the Alaska Zoo, and then when the bear walks by Mama Goose she starts making a lot of noise¿ then the bear lifts one of his tremendous paws and swipes at the noisy goose¿ sadly Mama Goose dies. After the bear kills the goose, he has to escape before being killed by the fish and game group. My favorite part is when they described the agony the bear was in when in broke its jaw when it got kicked. It said how the bear felt its jaw shatter and how it only wanted to eat soft food. This is my favorite part because I think it describes the dangers to a bear in the wild.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    Kid's review

    The book I read is A Bear Named Trouble by Marion Dane Bauer. The setting takes place in Alaska in the present. The genre is realistic fiction and it has not a lot of pages. A boy named Jonathan lived with his father in Alaska. His father worked in a zoo. He loved a goose named Mama Goose because it was a beautiful goose. His sister loved birds too and he was going to adopt the goose, but keep her in the zoo. Jonathan likes to play a game where he gets into an animal¿s body and he pretends to be that animal. Trouble is a bear who got abandoned by his mother because a big male came. While Trouble was wandering around he came into a dead baby moose whose mother was still protecting him. The mother kicked Trouble in the jaw and broke his jaw. Then Trouble wandered into the city and could only eat soft food. Jonathan meets Trouble when Trouble runs into his porch. Then Trouble sees Jonathan and they stare at each other. The rest of the book is about how Jonathan gets used to Trouble. My favorite part of the book is when Jonathan says that his dad is going to bring him to school. But he doesn¿t he goes to the zoo. I wish I could do that but not go to the zoo. I would stay home and play video games. I might watch T.V all day and might eat food too. I would recommend this to my brother because he might like it. I thought it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    A Bear Named Trouble A kids book review A Bear Named Trouble by Marion Dane Bauer. Is not one of my favorite books. If you like stories about animals and tells you how they live. This book is realistic fiction. This story is about a boy named John that is 11 years old. He goes to Alaska to visit his dad. Who is the zookeeper for the Alaskan zoo. John always goes to the zoo and feeds corn and grains to his favorite animal in the zoo. The white goose. John loves this goose so much. John also loves other animals, he likes animals so much that he even slips inside of them. As in he imagines he is inside there body living the way they do. Then a bear comes into the picture. And I think you know his name. it¿s trouble! Because that is what he does causes trouble. John is a boy that is kind of shy. He has some friends at school, but he doesn¿t have them come over. And he keeps them away from his life at the zoo. John¿s dad is sort of a strict man. He likes to be the boss of everything. He is kind of mean to John, but sill loves him very much. And trouble is what they would call a brownie in Alaska. Which means a black bear. He is only a little cub, but he is still very powerful. One of my favorite parts is when the bear is investigating the woods near the zoo. There was a mother moose with her baby. The bear (trouble) bumped into her. So the mother moose thought trouble was trying to hurt here baby cub. So the frightened moose, butted: as in kick him in the face with the two back legs. Butted him in the jaw. Even though it wasn¿t that forceful It was still powerful enough to break the lower jaw. Trouble ran and ran into the forest. Far far away, but stopping every single forty-fifty seconds. To paw at the agonizing pain! I really liked this part of the book because the author put so much detail into it. That I could really picture him running threw the forest and feel the pain of the burning jaw dripping with blood. I would recommend this book to someone that likes reading books about animals and how they live. This story is very good, but it just wasn¿t that good for me, but how do I know that this book may not be good for you. So I think you should just try and pick up this book. You might like it. Because this story is a story about an animal¿s life and how they live. So if you are a person that likes stories about animals and how they live then this story is good for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    A Bear Named Trouble I would recommend A Bear Named Trouble by Marion Dane Bauer. The genre is realistic fiction. The setting takes place at The Alaska Zoo. This book is about a young boy who is 10 years old named Jonathan and he loves animals. He believes sometimes that he is in the animal¿s body. His father is a zookeeper at The Alaska Zoo and Jonathan has a little sister named Rhonda she was born with spinal bifida. It is harder for here to do things. Also her and her mom stayed in Minnesota. Jonathan and his father moved from Minnesota because he got his job at the zoo. His mother had to finish up her teaching so Rhonda stayed with her and Jonathan stayed with his dad. Mama Goose is Jonathan¿s favorite animal at the zoo he said he is going to adopt Mama Goose and give it to Rhonda. One night Jonathan heard something bang on the deck he thought maybe his dad had slipped on the deck. So he ran down stairs and went out on the deck he saw a big tall thing that was brown, but not his dad. He heard a big moan, it was bear! He did not know what to do and the bear was so close to him. Jonathan was afraid that the bear would knock him out with his paw but he didn¿t. The bear just walked away. A couple nights later the bear killed mama goose. Jonathan was so upset so he called the bear Trouble. My favorite part was when Jonathan met the bear. I like this part because he helps the bear and feeds him bread. Also he sees that the bear is nice and did not hurt him when they met face to face. I would recommend this book 4 star because it talked a lot about animals and I like animals. Also I liked that there was a bear in it and it causes a lot of trouble and I liked that part.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    A Bear Named Trouble

    A Bear Named Trouble is a realistic fiction book written by Marion Dane Bauer. The main character is a boy named Jonathan who lives in Alaska with his dad. His mom and sister are in Minnesota. Jonathan LOVES animals, and he can even imagine himself inside them! He lives right next to the Alaska Zoo, where he visits every day. However, one day, a brown bear cub comes to Jonathan¿s house. Jonathan lures the bear over to his house, but the bear breaks into the zoo and kills Jonathan¿s favorite zoo animal. Jonathan and his dad set out to capture the bear, which Jonathan¿s dad has named Trouble. One of my favorite scenes takes place when Jonathan is waiting for the school bus and sees someone from Fish and Game carrying a camera and a gun. Jonathan wants his father to know about this, so he skips school and goes into the zoo. His father tells him that they want to tranquilize and capture Trouble and not kill him, but if Trouble escapes, they will have to kill him. Jonathan does not want Trouble to be killed, so he decides to lure Trouble towards his captors. I like this scene because it is very well composed, and Jonathan has a lot of emotional conflict over whether or not he wants Trouble killed. I rated this book 5 stars because it was very well written. It showed some scenes from Jonathan¿s point of view and some from Trouble¿s, which I thought was very interesting. I liked the basic concept of the story 'I wish I could see myself inside animals!' and the plot. The ending was very well written 'although I¿m not going to give it away!'. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes stories about animals.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1