Customer Reviews for

Bear Necessities

Average Rating 4.5
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I LOVED it!

This story is great! The main charcters are so stinking adorable, I keep comming back to reread it and I don't usually reread books I just purchased! (How could you not love a werebear called BUNNY?) The story is cute, the sex is HOT. The bad guy is icky. It's one of th...
This story is great! The main charcters are so stinking adorable, I keep comming back to reread it and I don't usually reread books I just purchased! (How could you not love a werebear called BUNNY?) The story is cute, the sex is HOT. The bad guy is icky. It's one of those books where you root for the main leads the entire time and you can not help but read it with a smile plastered on your face. This is part of a series, and there are a few refrences to future books, so there are some minor plot holes that pertain to the overarching storyline that this particular book does not satisfy, but you could easily overlook those elements if you want a fun stand alone read.

posted by sksweet14 on March 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Ok read

Overall, the book wass a good read. However, the author left a lot of unanswered questions. I hope that they are answered in the next book or two.

posted by 476243 on October 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Very Entertaining, Wonderful Characters

    Dana Marie Bell is one of those authors who I either love her work or plain dislike it. I read the Halle Puma series and truly enjoyed all the books. The Halle Shifters series, beginning with Bear Necessities appears to be just as good. Ms. Bell has a talent for creating colorful and engaging characters that you can't help but care about. Her leading men are simply irresistible: sexy, strong, flawed but redeemable. Her leading ladies are strong willed and more than a match for their men. The plots are simple but very entertaining.

    The story of Alex "Bunny" and Tabbie is a lot of fun. The characters' chemistry is obvious from the beginning. Being both shifters, they recognize their mates right away and do not fight the relationship. That in itself was very refreshing to me, since reading about fated pairs fighting the inevitable can get old, especially when one of the pair is simpy playing the martyr. Let's face it, if something is fated, it's going to happen, and fighting it will only make more problems in the long run. This is something that Bunny himself points out early in the story. Bunny is perhaps one of my favorite of her leading men. He is hilarious and lovable as only a bear can be. The scene when he first picks her up for a date and sees the condoms had me laughing so hard my husband asked me to read it to him. He ended up laughing too. You can read that scene is the excerpt found on the author's website. "Optimistic" indeed! The "action" in this story comes from the plot itself. There is danger for the characters and they have to rise above their own issues to survive. Of course they rely on each other to do so and that is very sweet to watch.

    The secondary characters in the book are just as interesting as the leads, which makes me anxious to read their stories whenever they come out. I particularly liked the pairing of Cyn and Julian as well as Ryan and Glory. I am not too excited about the character of Chloe and her clueless human mate. She is just not that interesting, and the fact that she keeps getting in the way of other people's matings just gets on my nerves. The story also brings back many characters from the Halle Puma series, which was nice to see. Regardless, the series as a whole has tremenduous potential and is more than worth keeping an eye on.

    This series is what I would consider light reading. The story moves fast and there are many erotic and sensual scenes, which while fun to read they take space from the storyline and take away some of the potential seriousness and depth of the plot. The bottom line: Bear Necessities is a very entertaining read with characters that stay with you. Perfect escapism when you want something light to read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    I LOVED it!

    This story is great! The main charcters are so stinking adorable, I keep comming back to reread it and I don't usually reread books I just purchased! (How could you not love a werebear called BUNNY?) The story is cute, the sex is HOT. The bad guy is icky. It's one of those books where you root for the main leads the entire time and you can not help but read it with a smile plastered on your face. This is part of a series, and there are a few refrences to future books, so there are some minor plot holes that pertain to the overarching storyline that this particular book does not satisfy, but you could easily overlook those elements if you want a fun stand alone read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended read the series

    Dana Marie Bell shifter series is a must read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Love it

    But it's only 173 pgs :-(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Luvtoread

    The puma and now the bear series are really a lot of fun to read. I would recommend these books to any paranormal shifter readers. I can't wait for the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Great Story!! Made me want to read more immediately. I am so anx

    Great Story!! Made me want to read more immediately. I am so anxious for the follow up stories. The Bears are so sexy and cuddley, I mean what more could you ask for. Love the womens too, they are strong but normal. The conversations are funny and you can picture this town and it's residents...I just adored it and waiting on more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters and was sorry to see it e

    Very good book. I loved the characters and was sorry to see it end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Love it!!

    First time reading this author and I loved this book! It made me laugh and the story was great as was the hot romance between the characters. Can't wait to check out more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    great book funny and fast action had to buy the whole set after reading it.

    it is truly one of my faves

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    This book rocks!

    Love the series and the author. Romance, enough steam, and great story! Can't wait for the next installment!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    Loved It!

    This is one of my favorites. I can't wait for the next one to come out. The move over puma's the bears are in town!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    All I Can Say is WOW

    One of her sexiest couples yet!!! I couldn't put it down and can't wait for the next book to come out and see what is in store for the Halle Pride, the Poconos Pack and especially the new bears in town!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!  I picked it up because I am a fan of bear sh

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!  I picked it up because I am a fan of bear shifters and the cover was hot.  I’d not read anything by this author and didn’t know what to expect.  This book was sexy fun and at times laugh out loud funny.  I am running out to get the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    highly recommended

    I enjoyed this very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    Good read. Great characters. I wanted to go back and start at th

    Good read. Great characters. I wanted to go back and start at the beginning of the Puma series and get to know everyone from the start. I look forward to reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    If you like shifters I highly recommend that you check out the H

    If you like shifters I highly recommend that you check out the Halle Pumas and Shifters series. I didn't realize until I read Bear Necessities that the Halle Pumas is the first in the series to be read, so I'm going back to read them before reading the second book in the Halle Shifters. So, if you haven't guessed, I do HIGHLY recommend this series.

    Bear Necessities is about a bear shifter called "Bunny" and his destined mate a wolf shifter named "Tabby". The story is what I would call a romantic paranormal suspense and kept me on my toes throughout the whole story. I couldn't put this book down and read it in about a day and a half.

    This is the type of story I love to read. Strong hero and heroine with a bit of past to deal with that discover that the only way to really grow and move past the past is to be with their mate. To build trust in that relationship. You watch the characters grow as they learn to deal with their pasts, as they try to discover who is behind some bad occurrences that have happened in the the town of Halle ran by the Halle Puma shifters. The book has HAWT romance, humor, shifters, emotional growth, suspense, and the need of a shifter male to protect his mate.

    This is one I consider a must read if you enjoy shifter stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Loved it

    This is my favorite of this series so far. I love the relationship and interaction between the two main characters. It's also fun to get to revisit some of the chracters from the Halle's Pumas series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    Must Read

    I recommend any and all books by Dana Marie Bell to everyone looking for a good mix of drama, love, passion, and action!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This is definitely worth reading. Great plot, great characters. A truly worth while story; one I could not put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Loved it !

    This book was great. Good writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8