Customer Reviews for

The Bear and the Dragon

Average Rating 4
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2003

    Bear and Dragon Review

    Very well written with lots of action and suspense. Clancy seems to do a much better job in describing really technical matters in this book than he does in the others. I am not sure how likely a Russia vs China war scenario would be in this era but I'm sure some hostilities from the past still remain. Great read but the excessive profanity and racial slurs were unnecesary. Ryan has become more of a whiner now the he's POTUS (Pres of the United States). Would like to have had more scenes involving Clark and Chavez.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    genius

    Had me till the last sentence

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Books

    The bear and the dragon is a top notch book. It's exciting, action filled and thrilling. If you read it at night. You feel as if you can't lay down. I recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2001

    Clancy does it again!!!!

    Again Clancy has had me on the edge of my seat with Bear and the Dragon. Co-operation between super powers, the joining of Russia and USA in preventing all and all out war. Sub plots twisted and turned in all directions, leading to the finale, where again Clancy as a conductor of an orchestra pulled the instruments of the book into an explosive ending, which left me breathless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2001

    DOES IT AGAIN

    Tom Clancy teams up with Jack Ryan again, to make a good story. Adventure, thriller, good characters and a fast-moving plot make a good novel. Read it and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2001

    Amazing Story

    What can I say? This book is a magnificent piece of literature. The first 100 pages were a little hard to take in, Clancy could have set up the plot a little more quickly. Once the story started to take off it was hard to stop reading. I am a college student presently and Clancy's books could be substitute for any political science course that i have taken to date. I=

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    Great wartime novel with a political buildup

    This book is probably the second best next to Clancy's Red Storm Rising. The political buildup is the basis of a great story that will keep you on the edge of your seat wanting more and more of the twists and turns thrown into this novel. With the spy plane crash in China during 2001 this is a great book to read as a what-if.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2001

    Fantastic Thriller with Tom Clancy's usual Twist and Turns!!

    I've read this book twice now and as usual Tom Clancy has a gift for intrigue and suspence!! His technical knowledge for the plot is astonishing! His descriptions of the scenes really give you the ability to see in detail what he is talking about!! I couldn't put it down until the last page! I can only hope that the next 'Jack Ryan' episode is just as thrilling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2000

    Complexity of the Global Community Unveiled

    The plot and subplots interrelate well with the themes of a changing political and economic world structure. Mr. Clancy keeps the pace fast and the plot moving along in a way that draws the reader with him. I have read all of his books and liked them --this is the best and fits nicely together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Ivorystep

    Licked his ear

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Grizzlystar

    Laid down and stopped licking her then he said the clan might die im worried.grizzlystar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    This book is great

    This book is fricken awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    The Bear abd the Dragon

    Not up to his usual standard

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Good, but....

    It follows the line the I like of Clancy's, has way too much foul language that it is distracting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Recommended - If you like Tom Clancey, Jack Ryan novels

    Typical Tom Clancey novel. All the Jack Ryan series players are in this one. Not as exciting as other Jack Ryan novels. Still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great Book

    I finally have all of the Unabridged Jack Ryan books on CDs. I LIKE them
    all except Rainbow Six which I think someone else wrote it for Tom Clancy.
    I also wish that Red Rabbit was available in the Unabridged MP3 Format.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Great Book from Tom Clancy hard to put it up as all of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    Major Disappointment

    While I usually enjoy (not love, but enjoy) Tom Clancy's novels, TB&D is by far the worst I have read. I can go on for hours why I don't like it, but I'll try to keep it to the basics.

    First of all, the books drips with racism. There is a fine line between being politically incorrect and being offensive, and this book leaps over it. Chinese people are constantly referred to with harsh racial terms ("slant eyed" among others), their culture and behavior is attacked and smeared, not only by all the Americans and Russians, but in the general writing. Chinese leadership is portrayed as near comically incompetant and arrogant.

    The plot is terrible. The whole premise is unrealistic. Why would China, arguably Russia's most valuable military and economic parter, invade their ally out of the clear blue? The plot drags on and on, with unneccessary subplots and ramblings, the "war" doesnt even start untill the last 200 or so pages in the 1000+ page book, and there is absolutely no suspense or danger to the Americans. They blow the Chinese away with less than half a dozen casualties with artillery and jets. The whole cause of the war is rediculous. Chinese officers shoot dead an innocent Vatican ambassador trying to stop an innocent family from having a forced abortion (In front of a CNN news team!!). Being ever-so-good christians, the entire world is outraged and China's economy suffers. The Politburo hatches a brilliant plan to invade Russia and seize it's oil. Clancy also intrigues us with detailed troop movements and logistics, but starts and finishes the final battle in a single sentence! There is also a commando raid by Rainbow and Spetsnaz forces on a nuke facility (which is rendered unguarded by a single airstrike) which results in the launch of an ICBM at Washington DC. The invincible Americans suffer 0 losses in this raid while the Spetsnaze are virtually wiped out by themselves as they use hand grenades to take out missile silos. A conveniently present US navy ship shoots the nuke down with it's last anti-missile weapon. The ending in China is laughably implausable.

    Ruined Characters. People that have been present in almost every Clancy novel before have been reduced to children in this book. Ryan is an unlikable racist crybaby who constantly moans and whines about how much he hates being president (after being in office for a full term!) and is impulsive. Stilted dialogue, and constantly repeated lame one-liners are abundant. Everyone on the American side is a noble angel, while all the Chinese are devious and eeevil. Women are faitrhful wives, the Russians love Americans, the American public are all Regan Conservatives, and the Chinese youth take their anger out on their own government when the Americans bomb their country.

    Bad writing. There are tons of typos and repeated themes/conversations)

    Innacurate. From what I've heard, much of his descriptions of China and it's culture are WRONG. The Chinese military (The PLA) is hopelessly underestimated. They are portrayed as third world level dummys that are basically cannon fodder for the good guys. I know this was written 10 years ago, but in recent years, the PLA had been upgrading like mad with modern tanks, jets, ships, and weapons, they could surely put up a far stronger fight than portrayed.

    Politics. Clancy constantly crams his political views down your throat, and characters are puppets for his POV.

    Overall, this is just a low point in

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    A Classic Clancy

    One of the best Clancy's.President Ryan really commands respect here,a great read,amidst some racial sentiments that some readers might find offensive.A really gripping novel,kinda draggy at times, but that's Clancy for you, the war scenes are real and yes, Prez Ryan may not be the main character but he really stands out as a charismatic leader.The ending however, is left to be desired.It maybe thick but its worth every word you read.If you wanna read a book, make sure it's a Clancy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    great book

    Tom Clancy is a great writer. he writes many books full of action and adventure. most of his books are written in mostly first person. this book, the bear and the dragon, is a political thriller about the struggle with china. at first you cant stop reading, but after a few hundred pages you start to slow down a bit. but evenly the action starts to flow again. i would give this book a 8 out of ten for all of its action and some of its slower parts. i would recommend this book for older age group because of some contiversal issues and sexual themes. i hope this review has inspired you to read this wonder full book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17