Customer Reviews for

The Bear and the Dragon

Average Rating 4
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    The Bear abd the Dragon

    Not up to his usual standard

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Recommended - If you like Tom Clancey, Jack Ryan novels

    Typical Tom Clancey novel. All the Jack Ryan series players are in this one. Not as exciting as other Jack Ryan novels. Still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    The Bear and the Dragon

    In the Bear and the Dragon a desperate China launches an invasion into Siberia to sieze gold and oil recently discovered by the Russians. The first three fourths of the book deals with American and Chinese relations and rising tensions, an investigation of a possible assassination attempt on the SVR Chairman, and Clark training Russian Special Forces, then the actual war begins. The book would have been considerably better had the actual conflict with Russian and China started a little earlier on and had much of the stuff before that been cut, it really wasn't necessary for this book to exceed 1000 pages. John Clark and Rainbow should have had a bigger role rather than drinking and training with Russian Special Forces, though Rainbow did have a little mission to go on near the end. This is far from Clancy's best work, coming in around average, but the fast pacing, the military action being some of Clancy's best since The Sum Of All Fears, and the very suspenseful climax make up for the faults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    Story Line Good, Prose Bad

    I finished reading this book today and felt compelled to 'voice' my opinion on one of these sites for the first time ever. Like most of the other reviewers in this section, I felt Tom Clancy did his usual first rate job of creating multiple story lines and eventually spinning them into a great tale. I have read all of the Jack Ryan thrillers, and Red Storm Rising, and enjoyed the stories enough to keep coming back for more. However, with the past few books, I have found myself increasingly annoyed with Clancy's idiosyncrasies; with this book in particular it was the profanity and racial slurs that appear almost cover to cover. I got the sense that Jack Ryan filled his Cabinet with the most racist bunch of people he could find. This is not in keeping with the ¿Boy Scout-esque¿ character of Clancy¿s alter ego. I got very annoyed with almost all of the non-Chinese characters using the term ¿chink¿ to describe their adversaries. I wonder how this book would have been received if that word were replaced with the equally repulsive ¿N¿ word. I also found Ryan¿s actions following the climax of the story to be unbelievable in the story, and quite unprofessional when applied to the real-world. I would only recommend this book if you have read all the others and want to keep a sense of closure on the Jack Ryan storyline. If you are of Asian ancestry, particularly Chinese, I don¿t see how you could read this book without becoming personally offended. Then again, you don¿t have to be of Asian descent, since I am not, but have been so offended as to feel that I have to express myself in this manner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2002

    Mike Bowman

    I've always loved Tom Clany's books but this one didnt keep me interested i read the prologue-chapter 1 and became disinterested i was hopeing it would get better but it didnt so i put it down. unusual for Tom Clancy books i still believe it was a good book but it just wasnt a book for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Not his best!!!

    I found this book long. I like Tom Clancy books however I had to force myself to finish this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    NOT HIS BEST, BUT DECENT

    Clancy returns after his dud 'Rainbow Six.' While the book offers an interesting politcal/military scenario, it doesn't unfold terribly well. To the fellow reviewer discussing the lack of plausibility involving foreign ministries using on-line connections for secure computers--as a former intelligence officer I can tell you it can and does happen. However, the book seems focused on China bashing, overlooking the not-so democratic things that Russia involves itself in. I would say the most improbable sequence of the book is the cameo by Rainbow Six at the end. It was useless and an operation like that seemed more suited for Army Special Ops. Still worth a gander if you've got the time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2002

    Another good one by Clancy.

    Intriguing and electrifying. Profound story of what can go on behind the curtains. Suspenseful, detailed, revealing in Clancy's unique style.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2001

    Reads more like a movie script

    This book was not nearly as 'involved' as his other works. Although the book itself is the same size as its predecessors, I get the feeling that the manuscript was much shorter, and the typeface was puffed up to compensate. Clancy doesn't go into the usual depth with his characters this go around (except for Jack Ryan, who seems to spend a lot of time thinking in this novel), and there don't seem to be as many subplots as there were in his prior works. The ending sequence especially struck me as something I'd expect in a Hollywood movie, not in one of Clancy's novels. On it's own, the book was OK, but Clancy's earlier works were much, much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2001

    Such a broad difference.

    It amazes me how widely the opinions vary about this book. One reader gives a 5star. Another doesn't give a zerostar only because such thing doesn't exist. It's not really helpful for people like me that are in doubt of whether or not to read The Bear and The Dragon. What to do, what to do.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    mucho macho

    Thought Clancy has gone out of his way to insult his female readers. Gratuitous sexual descriptions, raunchy phrases inserted for no particular reason...the last sentence of the book was a prime example and turned me off. Last Clancy book for me; i wonder what he feels he has to prove.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Should have been better.

    Definetly not his best. This story in this book has been building since I believe Debt of Honor. Unfortunately, it fell a little short. The characters have developed little if not at all and the ending was too predictable. Personally, I felt there was little tension. On a good note, the military clashes and use of new technology on the battlefield was very riveting. In the future, I would like to see an entirely new storyline based in our own real time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    Potential. But not a winner!

    Clancy has written, and still writes, some classics. On this one he has fallen short by a couple of football fileds! It takes a quite bit of time\patience before things start coming together and at times over exagerates the plot(s). He wastes countless pages on overbuilding scenerios and sexual situations. All in all, the book is may be worth the money spent, but it will take some time. Some people may put it down, and not return to it. It's definately just a 'one reader'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2000

    The decline of the Clancy Empire!

    Since the day I picked up 'Hunt For Red October', in 1984, I have been an ardent Tom Clancy fan. I have eagerly awaited each new book, purchased the hard back, and enjoyed some of the most thrilling tales ever told in print. So, what happened with 'The Bear and the Dragon'? It took 900 pages of repetition to set up all that was to happen, and then it was as if he decided the book was going to be too long and rushed through the ending. There were some very interesting parts of the book, but on the whole it was a disappointment. Mr. Clancy will no longer automatically get my money just because he comes out with a new novel. When the next one is published, I will wait for reader reviews to see if he comes back to his former glory. I surely hope so, because when he is right no one is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2000

    Pull Out Half the Pages & the Story Will Remain Intact

    President Ryan has his work cut out for him when he finds out China is moving ahead with a plan that, if successful, will change the world forever. The reader has his work cut out for him to stay focused as Clancy gives us page after page of details that sometimes reads more like a tech manual than a novel. The plot is cumbersome and takes a while to play out in this long-winded tale of war and espionage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2000

    Bear and the Dragon

    My favorite Clancy novel is 'Clear and Present Danger.' His new book 'The Bear and the Dragon' doesn't come close. In fact I didn't like the excessive foul language throughout the book. The story is still interesting, but it goes on forever. If Clancy would have used more contemporary locations for this thriller and not the traditional surroundings, it would have been a much better book. I'm sure this book is going to make a good movie, if they cut out the bad language. Based on a recommendation on this page I just read through another brand new thriller in this genre and I highly recommend it as it is fast paced, loaded with action, excellent plot, info and research and plausible scenarios, which is the explosive megathriller 'THE CONSULTANT' by Alec Donzi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Good, but not great Clancy

    I have read all of Clancy's works, and I have enjoyed all of them. I liked this one, too. However, he just seemed to take entirely too long to develop this story, and then he blasted through the ending much too quickly. There is so much unnecessary detail throughout this book that it becomes tedious at times. Clancy preaches his political and philosophical beliefs to us through Jack Ryan, with little regard for the plot of the story. This being said, the general premise of the story is very entertaining. I remain a Clancy fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2000

    Clancy returns to an R Rated book

    Wow - another techno thriller that I could not put down. The content and structure, for the most part, was great and sure listed some very likely screnarios with all the techno info that Mr. Clancy is famous for. Unfortunately this will probably be the last Clancy book I read. Similar in nature to Without Remorse, Mr Clancy, with this book, is setting a new tone for this and coming books where gratuitous profanity and sex have a much higher profile than ever before. I wish that Mr Clancy would take a queue from Mr Cussler, who wanted readers of all ages and sensibilities to be able to read his books, and took his books to that level by taking out the gratuitous profanity and sex with great success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2000

    Good read but far from vintage Clancy

    While still in the process of reading Bear, I was dismayed to find so many negative reviews. Unfortunatly, with the book completed, I now have to agree. I own every Clancy book the day it comes out and with the exception of R6, every one has been an excellant read that grabs you on page one and carrys throughout the book. The problems with Bear are: the grammer/editing errors are embarassing and while I do not have virginal eyes/ears, the excessive lockerroom+sex talk really is distracting and cheapening.A commom theme throughout the book; the bad guys are unbelievabley bad while the good guys go about performing these incredible James Bond/Mission Impossable type stunts and nothing of serious consecuence every goes wrong! This is a big departure from the normal edge of reality plot TC usually provides. I can live with the above but the end of the book was the real problem for me. Plot wise; for the first time ever in any TC book, I felt the scenerio was unrealistic and Ryan's actions are out of charactor and downright irresponsable. It truely felt like TC woke up one morning and decided to wrap up a 1000 page novel in 50 pages. This is still an above average read. As normal there is very real insight to a possable future scenerio and there is a lot of non-fiction in the mix. I enjoyed the book and would reccommend it. It's just not up to TC's normal very high standard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2000

    Clancy waxing philosophical

    Nobody does techno-thrillers like Clancy. I've always loved his plausible scenarios, well-researched technical data, and the intimate way he lets you peek over the shoulders of the world's leaders. But 'The Bear and the Dragon' shows how Clancy's writing has evolved since 'Hunt for Red October.' I don't mind that it takes ages for the action to get going - it's what keeps me glued to my chair for hours on end. I don't mind that he's pontificating politically. It is good to get a break from the often left-leaning liberal media. But churning through the philosophical writ in 'The Bear and the Dragon' is like eating a whole bag of potato chips by yourself - tastes good at first, but you're queasy at the end from the same bland thing. You crave the sweet flavor of an author who gives a more lively, colorful, even gut-grabbing human portrait of events and ideas. But nobody's perfect. Tolstoy may have managed a cast of thousands in 'War and Peace,' but Clancy has nonetheless carved his own niche in American literature for all time to come, one that is rightly his and well-deserved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3