Customer Reviews for

The Bear and the Dragon

Average Rating 4
( 330 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2003

    Bear and Dragon Review

    Very well written with lots of action and suspense. Clancy seems to do a much better job in describing really technical matters in this book than he does in the others. I am not sure how likely a Russia vs China war scenario would be in this era but I'm sure some hostilities from the past still remain. Great read but the excessive profanity and racial slurs were unnecesary. Ryan has become more of a whiner now the he's POTUS (Pres of the United States). Would like to have had more scenes involving Clark and Chavez.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2001

    DOES IT AGAIN

    Tom Clancy teams up with Jack Ryan again, to make a good story. Adventure, thriller, good characters and a fast-moving plot make a good novel. Read it and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    Clanceys saga clincher, didn't live upto par

    Bear and the Dragon was a book that was a tad to lengthy but also used way to much profanity. I love clancey books, but it seems half of the book has changed into cussing political views. The end of the book was amazing and suspenseful. The last 200 pages i couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2002

    Good not Great

    I'm fairly new to the Clancy scene, having only read three of his books, but I feel I can safely say this was a good book. It was a slow starter, but once I got into it I was hooked. The story could have developed a bit quicker, and yet I feel the ending came a bit too suddenly with little in the way of a resolution. All in all I enjoyed 'The Bear and The Dragon' and would not hesitate recommending it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    Clancy: Grand master of the Geopolitical chess game?

    The Bear And The Dragon by Tom Clancy Published by Michael Joseph, hardback, 1028 pages. This was in fact the first Tom Clancy novel I read and I came back to it lately and re-read it. For the most part, I enjoyed it. This huge tapestry of a novel that begins with seemingly independent plots comes together in a well-woven story. It is so complex that it seems like several novels in one; part murder mystery, part spy/techno-thriller. It is a massive economic, military and geopolitical overview of a not so unbelievable near future. This relatively new work of Clancy¿s spans the world in a race to prevent global conflict. The tale revolves around three centers: the USA, Russia and China. It begins in present-day Moscow, after the breakup of the USSR. Sergey Nikolay'ch Golovko, the Chairman of the SVR (the former KGB), is on his way to work when a second car - identical to his - draws alongside. Suddenly a man grasping a hand-held rocket-launcher emerges from the back of a nearby garbage truck. Before Golovko or his driver can react, the man fires his weapon at the other car, killing its occupants instantly. Uncertainty arises: was Golovko the intended victim? This incident sets the scene for the rest of the novel. It was a compelling and exciting way to begin the story as it draws you in further. Meanwhile, Jack Ryan has been elected as the President of the United States. But he faces problems wherever he turns: the Asian economy is in a downwards spiral and there are many domestic concerns he has to address. Now he has the attempted assassination to deal with - something hidden and more sinister than ever suspected begins to emerge as the cause behind it. Then, Russia has a run of good luck. Two discoveries in Siberia are made: one is an enormous oil field, larger than even Alaska; the other is an immense gold mine. Together, these new resources have the potential to drastically revive the dilapidated Russian economy, but China is jealous. Also, the US has gained a highly classified source of information inside the Chinese politburo. Now China begins to emerge as the `bad guy¿ of the plot. An amazingly outrageous plan comes to light from this source: China is scheming to invade Siberia for the resources found by Russia. As Ryan feared, the volatile situation inevitably erupts into conflict. The cast is enormous and sometimes difficult to keep up with, so a glossary of the characters would perhaps be in order to know who is who. Personality-wise the characters have value, and motivate empathy. Clancy has a very anthropocentric way of going about his writing and portrays some human limitations that even his heroes Jack Ryan and John Clark cannot overcome. As the characters are directed through the course of the plot, he provides insights into their backgrounds and personalities. One thing I did not like, however, was the fact that some characters seemed to be built up and their qualities filled in, but then suddenly nothing more is said; they are cut off without a word more. An example of this is the Italian member of Rainbow Six, the elite commando force. He is slowly introduced as a character but then disappears abruptly. This book spans so many characters that there are almost no foremost individuals. However, as far as can be perceived, the main character is Jack (John Patrick) Ryan, President of the United States. He has sincerely felt points of view and it does seem as if you are looking over the shoulder of one of the world¿s leaders. Clancy has attempted to portray weakness intertwined with strength in him, but somehow it just misses the mark. I tired of his incessant regret in becoming the President and especially of the pages devoted to him filching clandestine cigarettes from his secretary. Another major character is John Clark; this is the leader of Rainbow Six. He almost seems like the dark side of the President¿ Ryan is the man in the sun

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    Good Book

    Another good Clancey book. Keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    A Balanced Review.

    Most Clancy fans agree this is not his best work. It is a litte slow, but it still isn't bad, all considered. I found the story to be quite gripping after a certain point, and I did not mind the 'preaching' Clancy did in 'The Bear and the Dragon.' Yes, he put forth political opinions and ranted about the deterioration of personal freedom and such, but so what? A writer who does not put forth some kind of philosophy in his or her stories is only half a writer. Not his best, but still a must read for all clancy fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2001

    Classic Clancy

    Classic Clancy, wordy, long, detailed descriptions but thats all part of the package. If you like Clancy's writing style you'll like this book. As good as some of his others. Interesting plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    Great Read

    Page turner. Couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    Bear and the Dragon

    Apparently every Clancy novel is getting more elaborate and therefore the word count increases. While I thought that the characterizations weren't that deep in The Bear & The Dragon, Clancy spends a lot of time on the main plot, which is concerning China's desire to rule the world and the strategy they may use to accomplish this. Also, Clancy spends a lot of time on subplots and everything considered the story is well executed. I didn't like the excessive use of foul language which is absolutely unnecessary and it spoiled the book to some degree. Anyway, reading this Clancy is an experience. Another new thriller that features a possible China world domination scenario, but is faster paced than Clancy, and it is a very informative book, although it's plenty of entertaining, is the loaded action thriller THE CONSULTANT by Alec Donzi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2000

    A good read if you have the time and patience

    I needed a book to take along with me on the trip to Turkey so I fell for the hype and shelled out the bucks to get Clancy's latest book. Jack Ryan is still President when China finds itself going bankrupt and turns its attentions and army (Lebensraum) north toward the oil and gold riches of Siberia. As a techno-thriller it lives up to the genre. As is Clancy's signature and draw, it is full of techno-speak on high-tech weaponry and technology (stealth, ICBMs, GBUs, etc.). Clancy belabors the development of the numerous subplots within story although it adds to the meatiness of the book and the fabric of the characters. If you can wade through the first 800 pages, the last hundred presents an interesting and exciting if not thrilling climax. Like most of his previous books, the hardcover edition is pricey ($30). Best to probably wait for the paperback to come out. Although I am usually tolerant of editorial errors, there are a errors in this book that should have been caught and corrected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2000

    Clancy does it again

    The book is a Clancy classic. He is a good writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    Book was O.K.

    The book was interesting, yet tedious at parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2000

    Bear and the Dragon

    I have to admit that I have had always a hard time finishing Clancy's books, although I love reading them, but there's just so much detail and it goes on forever. This book covers a very interesting subject and that kept me going, because this time, the characters weren't that interesting. And it is a very long book. I'm sure it was a lot of work to write this novel and I respect that, but sometimes it seems as if an editor should have just ripped out this section and that paragraph. Anyway, if you have some time to spare then this book might be a great way to enjoy a good read. In comparison I just read a brand new 400-page thriller by a new author which covers a similar topic of nuclear terrorism, and it's fast-paced and I read it in less than 2 days, which is the highly recommended new high-profile megathriller 'The Consultant' by Alec Donzi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2000

    Great Story, Poor Editing

    Once again Clancy tells a provocative story. Hovering at 1000 pages, the novel does not grind or slow down. It is, however, filled with spelling-context errors and other 'editor' errors. These distract the reader's attention from the flow of the story and break the magic cast by Clancy's abiity to place the reader into the storyline. If it's a 'person-power' problem for the publisher, then please send the book to me for proof reading. I promise to actually read the book and not to use spell-check as my only tool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2000

    The Action is worth the first 700 pages

    Tom Clancy's fans will be used to the format. The slow detailed build up, where we meet many characters. We have to remember who we met before in a previous book. Suddenly the action breaks loose around the 700th page, and from then we have to stay up all night to finish it. As some people have said, the book may have been shorter if he had stuck to the story. The characters do take several pages to think about what they are doing.. The book develops out of Clancy's objection to the PRC's approach to population control, and also his desire to explain how modern weapons systems work. It is the latter that makes Clancy' series of novels so valuable. Despite Clancy's reputation for accuracy, it might be pointed out that he doesn't seem to be as familiar with Russian airlines/airlifters as he is with weapons. he gets confused between the IL-76 and the IL-86. Over all, despite the number of pages, it is certainly worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    Very Detailed, Truly Get to know the characters

    Clancy has written a very long and quite well organized novel, although one really must hang on as he skips around to different settings. I am sure that no movie can be made of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2000

    Pure Clancy

    At over a thousand pages long this is definately not a book you are going to read in an evening. I thought that the book could move along at a quicker pace, especially in the first half, but I truly enjoyed having President Ryan back in the picture. It's a shame we cant have somebody like him running in this election. If you like the other books with Jack Ryan, you wont be dissapointed in this one. Hold on till the end, it's worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2000

    Clancy does it again!

    Although a bit slow setting up the action, Tom Clancy does it again in establishing a realistic, exciting storyline. His Jack Ryan and John Clark/Kelly characters, with the ensemble casting as great as ever, remain true to their previous characterisations and actions, while showing the growth true to life. I appreciate Clancy's abilities in establishing the characters' motivations--especially those of the relatively alien (He calls them the Klingons) Chinese politboro. To me, this is what makes Clancy head and shoulders above the other writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2000

    Slow start, but a good finish

    I really wish that Jack Ryan would stop whining about being president in this book. Why is Rainbow included in the assualt on the nuclear missle field. I thought they were an anti-terrorist group that deals with hostage situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5