Customer Reviews for

The Beast (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Series #21)

Average Rating 3.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

great book

The Rina and Peter series is, by far, in my opinion, the best series available. 'Beast' will not disappoint the reader. Although, it might not be the best in the series, it is still a good novel. Trust me, it will keep your interest, and isn't boring.

posted by FromM on August 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not her best

Story drags...way too much time spent on teenage angst. I am truly not interested in reading a detective novel only to spend a bunch of time dredging through silly teenage stuff. I have always liked this series but this one was lacking in storyline and never realy goes...
Story drags...way too much time spent on teenage angst. I am truly not interested in reading a detective novel only to spend a bunch of time dredging through silly teenage stuff. I have always liked this series but this one was lacking in storyline and never realy goes anywhere. Seems like Ms. Kellerman just couldn't think of much of a story this time around.

posted by 764511 on August 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    great book

    The Rina and Peter series is, by far, in my opinion, the best series available. 'Beast' will not disappoint the reader.
    Although, it might not be the best in the series, it is still a good novel.
    Trust me, it will keep your interest, and isn't boring.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Not her best

    Story drags...way too much time spent on teenage angst. I am truly not interested in reading a detective novel only to spend a bunch of time dredging through silly teenage stuff. I have always liked this series but this one was lacking in storyline and never realy goes anywhere. Seems like Ms. Kellerman just couldn't think of much of a story this time around.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    Enjoyed spending time with the Deckers again.  Like most people,

    Enjoyed spending time with the Deckers again.  Like most people, they have been through a lot in the last twenty years and might be starting to think about making some changes.  But first Decker has a case to solve with the help of his team and Chris Donatti

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Series needs to be decently buried sfter the last three books it is like fish and guests rip

    The series has been going downhill and really hit bottom when you read books out of sequence it is often not apparent but this time borrowed from library systems within two months ms marge

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    a wrap-up of the series?

    Looks like all the major characters, especially a character I really like, Marge Dunn, are planning to move out of LA for quieter pastures in different places. I was disappointed, though, in the side story (continued characters from past novels) of the teenage-going-on-forty piano prodigy and his relationship with the emotionally unstable teen Yasmin. All the characters in this part of the story are unbelievable, in the literal sense of the word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    The best read of the summer - actually best read so far this yea

    The best read of the summer - actually best read so far this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Definitely recommend it!!!!

    Story is so good and keeps you wondering what happened. Can't imagine
    having such a pet??!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Good read

    I really enjoy this series and its characters. This particular book felt a bit formulaic and the pacing was a little off -- the ending seemed very abrupt -- but there was some character growth that left me wodering what might happen in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    good buy

    Typical Faye Kellerman book--GREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Recommend

    I hadn't read one of this series in quite awhile and was pleasantly surprised how good the books were. I have not read all 21 in the series and I might eventually but found they are better in small doses. I am not sure how good the story line will be with Decker out of lA.
    Again, overall it was a good story and was entertained reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Beast is a bore

    So-so read. Too much time wasted on Gabe and Yasmine'syouthful angst

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Marking time

    Mediocre plot, but as always the characters feel like old friends. An enjoyable read for all Kellerman fans. - Ron Restorff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Holly

    Walks in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Ashley

    Gtgtb sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Dog

    Pants

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Lil

    What thw hell hppenwd here?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    A man

    I slowly penatrate fawn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Evie

    Correct. Bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    A man

    IM NOT A GODMODDER, I DONT KNOW WHAT A DOME IS, YOU MOTHER F<_>UCKER!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Elise

    BYE BYE WE NO TALK TO AZZ HOLES WHO RA?PE R FRIENDS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4