BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Beast in Him (Pride Stories Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it so much I ordered another Shelly Laurenston book!

I read this book on a whim, since I didn't know the author. What a great book! The plot was very fast paced but did not lose the reader. The characters developed very well throughout the book. I really enjoy reading a book where the woman is not passive to the Alpha...
I read this book on a whim, since I didn't know the author. What a great book! The plot was very fast paced but did not lose the reader. The characters developed very well throughout the book. I really enjoy reading a book where the woman is not passive to the Alpha male and can hold her own. This was shown not only in the main female character (Jessica) but also with the other women in the story. I enjoyed reading about both packs and how they grew together. Smitty was a wonderful Alpha male without being overbearing. This book was so good that I immediately went on line and ordered two more of the Pride stories. I can't wait until they arrive. I hope all the rest of her characters are as well written as this book!

posted by BeachBabyAtHeart on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Why

Why is a book written in 2008 $9.49 Would likr to read but cant afford to

posted by Anonymous on March 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 263 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed it so much I ordered another Shelly Laurenston book!

    I read this book on a whim, since I didn't know the author. What a great book! The plot was very fast paced but did not lose the reader. The characters developed very well throughout the book. I really enjoy reading a book where the woman is not passive to the Alpha male and can hold her own. This was shown not only in the main female character (Jessica) but also with the other women in the story. I enjoyed reading about both packs and how they grew together. Smitty was a wonderful Alpha male without being overbearing. This book was so good that I immediately went on line and ordered two more of the Pride stories. I can't wait until they arrive. I hope all the rest of her characters are as well written as this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    If you read this and you enjoy it, then I recommened you buy all the books in the series so you can get a real feel for the family. I just love the whole series. Lions, tigers, and bears on my!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Pride Stories Series 2

    Yes I think i'm addicted! I love this wild bunch! I can hear the southern drawl... I even laugh and giggle while i'm reading. I just can't put the book down!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    A very enjoyable read!

    I have truly enjoyed getting to know these characters in the Pride Stories Series. I don't believe I have laughed as much with the characters and author as I have with Shelly Laurenston. The Beast in Him is the story of Bobby Ray and Jessica Ann, two people who has known each other since childhood, but due to life went there own ways...Bobby Ray encounters Jessica Ann on a job and he's on a mission to make her remember how much she used to love him, since he has not ever stopped loving her. The high jinks, chocolate, laughter, and the pursuit of love is most enjoyable in Shelly Laurenston style.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In Smithtown, Tennessee, werewolf Bobby Ray Smith always protects wild dog Jessie Ann Ward from his sister and her pack. As he is about to join the navy, he wants to kiss Jessie Ann, but controls himself as he knows that once started he will not be able to stop and neither has sexual protection. Jessie Ann is mortified when he seemingly rejects her. Sixteen years later in New York former SEALs Smitty and his partner were-lion Mace Llewellyn run a security firm. They are currently providing protection to a wild dog pack of computer geeks, Kuznetson Security Systems. The CEO and alpha dog turns out to be Jessie Ann. She pretends she does not remember much about Smitty, who is upset by her action and subsequent behavior towards him. Smitty and Jessie go for coffee where he tells her she is afraid because she wants him. Jessie says she hates him. Jessie sees Walt Wilson, a cousin to the notorious Smith clan. He means trouble for her pack as his teenage daughter Kristin and her mother Maylin are part of the group. He never cared about them before so she knows he wants something besides Kristin. As she hides how much she loves Smitty from him, he works on keeping her safe and making her his, but fears wildly marking her as a wolf is so much bigger than a dog. --- The sequel to THE MANE EVENT affirms that in the Laurenston world, the various breeds of shapeshifters come across as genuine. The lead couple is a nice pairing as both are likable protagonists who have a misinterpreted history, a confusing present, and a potential future as soulmates. Although the climax is too soft, fans will enjoy this lighthearted amusing paranormal second chance at love. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Why

    Why is a book written in 2008 $9.49
    Would likr to read but cant afford to

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    love this series

    the books are hot and funny, loved them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    Somewhat disappointed

    This book was not the easiest read - if anything, it was confusing as could be. While it started off well, the book rapidly deteriorated into disjointed scenes. The author was so busy throwing in so many different characters that the book came off choppy and poorly plotted, and I was left wondering why the hero of the story even kept pursing the heroine. Parts that were supposed to be humorous left me wondering if the scene was supposed to be funny or not. While others might enjoy this author's work, I can't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Fantastic

    I loved it. Keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Eren titan to bliss

    *his titan runs through looking every where for bliss to save her but is nowhere in sight and runs off*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Cf

    Im locked out of krt

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Bambi

    Wait he is on were like fliyng around when we stop

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Piper

    I took care of tht

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Good read

    Read it n love it. Highly recommend it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    A MUST read

    Well written, sexy and humorous. The stories always entertain, and while they string together perfectly, they also stand alone easily. This is the one author that I recommend to ALL of my friends (and some strangers!). The Pride series, the Mangus Pack series and the Gathering are terrific! I re-read them often, and have both paper and Nook versions. My only complaint? That Ms. Laurenston cannot write as fast as I read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Great Read!!

    I simply love this series. While the book sometimes feels disjointed I enjoyed this book immensely. It had serious offset by hilarious parts. GREAT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Not bad

    I have read the first 2 of this series and enjoy the humor of the stories, The characters are basically really good "people". I just have problems when characters claim to love each other so much, yet the language between them is written so filthy. These shifters are mostly alcoholic sex fiends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Disappointed

    This book sounded really good and i was excited to read it. I stopped reading at around page 80 because of the relationship between the two main characters was very high school. Im sure it got better because the reviews were so good but i could not push myself to read more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The story is good, but I wish I had borrowed it from the library

    The story is good, but I wish I had borrowed it from the library instead of actually bought the book. I loved the main character Jessica, but not so much with the lead male and his sister. The author just made the lead male, Bobby Ray, annoying for me for about 3/5 of the book, and she didn't do much for me in regards to Bobby Ray's sister.
    Another issue was the authors writing at certain parts of the book. Throughout the book she goes back and forth between the POV of the two main characters. In one chapter she switches to Smitty's sister's POV, but she does not let the readers know right off it's her so you get confused thinking it switched to Jessica's POV. So it took a couple of read throughs to realize when the author mentions the sister's name that it's not part of a list of characters. I saw a few issues similar to this where the author confused me with her list of characters. Also, by the time I got the opportunity to read the book I forgot Smitty was supposed to be Bobby Ray Smith so for a while I was wondering his relevancy during a large portion of the first chapter since she just introduces him as Smitty rather than have a slight connection at the beginning to let readers know he was in fact Bobby Ray. You have the prologue dedicated to him as Bobby Ray, and then all of a sudden you see Smitty so you spend the time thinking it's a new character. Another issue I had with her was the physical description of Jessica. So from my understanding with the book she's African American, but they only mention that once. It's a little confusing considering the cover of the book. And why only mention it once? What's the point if you bring it up once and then never again? It made me think it was more of a typo since it was so random. Maybe it's because I didn't read the first in the series? Either way I loved Jessica and I thought she was awesome. One of the better lead characters I've read in a paranormal romance.
    Overall the story is good, but these minor things are one of my pet peeves and I cannot considering buying another one of her books. I'll try and rent them from the library, but if it's not something I'm willing to reread then it's not worth the money. I'll just go to the library instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    11/10/12

    11/10/12 I liked this book a lot. On to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 263 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14