Customer Reviews for

The Beast of Noor

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Carrie Spellman for TeensReadToo.com

    Miles and Hanna Ferrell live in the country in Ennes Isle, just outside of Shalm Wood. Miles wants nothing more in life than to go to Othlore and be trained in magic. He's been studying with the Falconer, but he feels like his teacher is holding him back more than he's helping. If only the Falconer would teach Miles a few spells... Hanna just desperately wants to feel normal and safe. But between her different colored eyes, the legend surrounding her family, and especially since the return of the Shriker, it doesn't look like normal or safe are in Hanna's future. <BR/><BR/>Stranded in a cave to escape a surprise storm, Grandpa tells them again the legend of the Shriker. He tells them how the Shriker used to be a brave and faithful dog, until he ways betrayed by his own master and cursed by death himself. Now, as the Shriker, he hunts human prey every full moon. The master who betrayed him, Rory Sheen, happens to be an ancestor of Miles and Hanna. Now that he's back the brother and sister won't be safe in the village, and no one is safe in the woods once the sun goes down. <BR/><BR/>When Miles tries to take matters into his own hands, things get more than a little out of control. Suddenly it's up to Hanna to save him. Hanna was always the quiet one. The one who stood back and let Miles handle things. The one who asked for the happy tales by the fire, because the others scared her too much. Now, she's right in the middle of the scariest one of all, and if she ever wants to see her brother again she'll need to find a lot of inner strength, and quickly. <BR/><BR/>This is a great, creepy, interesting tale. I don't know how comfortable I would be hearing it at a fire on a dark night. Granted, I'm a big wimp, but that's only part of the point. It's scary enough for those who are looking for that, but it's also a great story, which is what good legends are. There's a fair amount of fantasy, a little magic, personal discovery, even a sweet little love story woven in. There's a little bit of something for everyone. Perfect for a stormy, foggy night, curled up with hot chocolate, warm and safe in your house.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    The beast of noor

    I havent read the book on my nook (lol that rhymes) yet, but im just gonna tell u that this book is AMAZING!!! This is such a great deal!!! If u cant find it cheaper anywhere else BUY THIS!!! (Unless u can get it at a library for free)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Great

    Omg read this book a couple months ago cant wait to read it again.
    I suggest to anyone who enjoys mystery and suspense.
    C:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Best book I have ever read

    I recommend it to all readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Outstanding book.

    I did enjoy reading this book because I enjoy action, and suspense. I especially liked it when Miles became the Shriker because he was slaying mighty creatures and there was a lot of blood, and he got sliced by the claws of the creatures, If you don't like action, and bloody fighting, you may not enjoy reading The Beast of Noor. Legend says that a beast named the Shriker roams Shalem woods, and when a girl named Polly is found, devoured in the woods, the people of Noor dismiss it as a wolf attack. Little do they know, the Shriker really does roam the woods on the night of the full moon. I would recommend this book to a person who enjoys action, suspense, and moments where you can't wait to hear what is coming next. If you don't enjoy reading about sequences of battle, and suspense, and don't like waiting for more action to come, this book may not be for you. This book is easy to read, and doesn't use huge, complicated words like other books do. The only words that may confuse you at first, are the unique names used, which are listed near the last few pages of the book, with their meanings. Enjoy reading the book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    Recomended to everyone!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    EVERYONE LOOK HERE

    I loved this book! It always kept you on your toes. If you are wondering whether or not to get this book I highly suggest it.
    I wish someone would have refered me to it but instead I found it and now i'm telling this to all of you. R

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    I loved

    I loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No

    I have read so many better books. I didn't enjoy is as much as it looked. It was a bit weird who the wolf turned out to be. Sorry... I recomend this book to only bored people. Sorry I just didn't like it. This book was all over the place.
    Another part I didn't like, was the fact that it started out very very slow.
    *young money*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Lol

    This book is scary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Anonymous

    The Beast Of Noor is a brilliant book. I would recommend it to anybody!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    I love this book

    I read this book 5 years ago ( my hard back) and i loved it i recently found it on nook and cant wait to read it again i recomend to anyone and everyone!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    cool

    i loved the story line of this book and the legend that goes with the shriker but some of the actions of the characters are lame

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!'

    loved the story and the characters:D this book is one u could read over and over again!! the ending was great!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    The time of my life

    Yes, I loved the book. When I first read the book, it popped out at me. It was really interesting at first then it got better and better. I thought I was really there. That's was what took me inside the book. The words are so descriptive that they showed a movie in my mind showing the book from page one to the end of the book. My favorite part in the book is when Miles stole a spell from the book of eOwy from the Folconor's little hut and traveled to the land of Sylefs. Miles got the power to shape shift from the Queen Shaladeen. Miles and Hanna trapped the Shreiker and remembered the curse riddle an it said, ¿Quench the thirst and be free.¿ He gave the shreiker the water and killed the curse for ever. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves horror or mystic, and if you do get The Beast of Noor, it will be the time of your life!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    a reviewer

    Miles and Hanna Ferrell live in the country in Ennes Isle, just outside of Shalm Wood. Miles wants nothing more in life than to go to Othlore and be trained in magic. He's been studying with the Falconer, but he feels like his teacher is holding him back more than he's helping. If only the Falconer would teach Miles a few spells... Hanna just desperately wants to feel normal and safe. But between her different colored eyes, the legend surrounding her family, and especially since the return of the Shriker, it doesn't look like normal or safe are in Hanna's future. Stranded in a cave to escape a surprise storm, Grandpa tells them again the legend of the Shriker. He tells them how the Shriker used to be a brave and faithful dog, until he ways betrayed by his own master and cursed by death himself. Now, as the Shriker, he hunts human prey every full moon. The master who betrayed him, Rory Sheen, happens to be an ancestor of Miles and Hanna. Now that he's back the brother and sister won't be safe in the village, and no one is safe in the woods once the sun goes down. When Miles tries to take matters into his own hands, things get more than a little out of control. Suddenly it's up to Hanna to save him. Hanna was always the quiet one. The one who stood back and let Miles handle things. The one who asked for the happy tales by the fire, because the others scared her too much. Now, she's right in the middle of the scariest one of all, and if she ever wants to see her brother again she'll need to find a lot of inner strength, and quickly. This is a great, creepy, interesting tale. I don't know how comfortable I would be hearing it at a fire on a dark night. Granted, I'm a big wimp, but that's only part of the point. It's scary enough for those who are looking for that, but it's also a great story, which is what good legends are. There's a fair amount of fantasy, a little magic, personal discovery, even a sweet little love story woven in. There's a little bit of something for everyone. Perfect for a stormy, foggy night, curled up with hot chocolate, warm and safe in your house. **Reviewed by: Carrie Spellman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2