BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beat Sugar Addiction Now!: The Cutting-Edge Program That Cures Your Type of Sugar Addiction and Puts You on the Road to Feeling Great - and Losing Weight!

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beat Sugar Addiction Now!

Whenever I read one of Dr. Teitelbaum's books, I feel like I'm taking a college course. I get out my note-book and pencils, sit at my office desk in a comfortable chair, and dig in. My sense is that Dr. Teitelbaum would rather teach people to learn how to manage their h...
Whenever I read one of Dr. Teitelbaum's books, I feel like I'm taking a college course. I get out my note-book and pencils, sit at my office desk in a comfortable chair, and dig in. My sense is that Dr. Teitelbaum would rather teach people to learn how to manage their health rather than simply give instructions on what to do. This empowers one to make the best health care choices possible. He uses this same principle in "Beat Sugar Addiction Now!". This is a workbook developed to help the reader learn how to identify if they have a sugar addiction, what the implications are on health and how to learn to defeat the addiction and be a better manager of health.

I cringed each time Dr. Teitelbaum used the word addiction, thinking, "Really? It's just sugar". But, as I continued to read, I realized that it was driving home a point for me, that even though it's only sugar, it is a real and potentially harmful addiction. So, ok, now I'm a believer.

The workbook is set up to identify 4 types of sugar addiction. There is a simple quiz for each of the 4 types so that the reader can use the chapters that are personally relevant. Dr. Teitelbaum suggests that a person could have more than one type of sugar addiction. I took all 4 quizzes and it only takes a few seconds to complete the quizzes and complete the analysis. There is an overview of what each type of addict would look like and some chapters with the suggested remedies and lifestyle changes. There are also chapters dedicated to specific sugar related health issues:

Anxiety
Chronic Fatigue Syndrome & Fibromyalgia
Depression
Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome
Heart Disease
Hypothyroidism
Irritable Bowel Syndrome/Spastic Colon
Migraines and Tension Headaches
Obesity
Sinusitis

As with all of Dr. Teitelbaum's books, this is not a one time read, this is an owner's manual that you should keep handy to refer to often.

posted by mact2 on August 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beat Sugar Addition Now!

Waste of my money! Just trying to navigate it and see it is horrific and it cannot be read online. I am sorry I purchased this (just did 30 minutes ago). I it is the first book that definitely makes me want my money back!!!

posted by missionlady on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beat Sugar Addiction Now!

    Whenever I read one of Dr. Teitelbaum's books, I feel like I'm taking a college course. I get out my note-book and pencils, sit at my office desk in a comfortable chair, and dig in. My sense is that Dr. Teitelbaum would rather teach people to learn how to manage their health rather than simply give instructions on what to do. This empowers one to make the best health care choices possible. He uses this same principle in "Beat Sugar Addiction Now!". This is a workbook developed to help the reader learn how to identify if they have a sugar addiction, what the implications are on health and how to learn to defeat the addiction and be a better manager of health.

    I cringed each time Dr. Teitelbaum used the word addiction, thinking, "Really? It's just sugar". But, as I continued to read, I realized that it was driving home a point for me, that even though it's only sugar, it is a real and potentially harmful addiction. So, ok, now I'm a believer.

    The workbook is set up to identify 4 types of sugar addiction. There is a simple quiz for each of the 4 types so that the reader can use the chapters that are personally relevant. Dr. Teitelbaum suggests that a person could have more than one type of sugar addiction. I took all 4 quizzes and it only takes a few seconds to complete the quizzes and complete the analysis. There is an overview of what each type of addict would look like and some chapters with the suggested remedies and lifestyle changes. There are also chapters dedicated to specific sugar related health issues:

    Anxiety
    Chronic Fatigue Syndrome & Fibromyalgia
    Depression
    Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome
    Heart Disease
    Hypothyroidism
    Irritable Bowel Syndrome/Spastic Colon
    Migraines and Tension Headaches
    Obesity
    Sinusitis

    As with all of Dr. Teitelbaum's books, this is not a one time read, this is an owner's manual that you should keep handy to refer to often.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    Headache cure

    I checked out this book because my friend told me that there were some good ideas for dealing with headaches and I have been suffering from migraines for years. I didn't really have very much hope because I have been to two different doctors and neither one was able to help me at all. Then I heard about this sugar addiction book. I know that I am overweight and eat a lot of sweets but I didn't really think about that having anything to do with my migraines.


    I have sometimes been able to control my migraines by taking prescription medications, but I wasn't really happy with having to take heavy duty medicines.


    This book not only gave strategies for dealing with the sugar connection but also recommended a lot of natural remedies that I am more comfortable with.


    I have found that the most effective treatment mentioned in this book was using magnesium. That sounds weird, but for me it has made a huge difference. It is a shot that I have to get from a doctor, but it isn't a narcotic medication so I feel a lot better about it, and it works well.


    I have been having less migraines since cutting out a lot of the sugar in my diet, and I have also used the strategies from this book to make them go away or at least get less painful when I do have them. I would recommend this to people suffering from migraines or to people trying to lose weight, because I have ended up losing weight as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Good for Vegans too

    I am a vegan and this will be especially hard for me as the book recommends things like fish and eggs. But I know that what I need to focus on is lentils and beans and making sure that I eat complex carbs and complete protein combinations at every meal. I bet one of the reasons that I have the health problems I do and crave sugar so much is that I am lazy and don't always eat balanced meals with complete protein combinations. Especially in the morning, I tend to start my day with fruit and starches and that just sets me up. I always wondered why I was hungry again so soon after eating something heavy like pancakes in the morning. Now I know. I will be making a big effort to prep food at night to set myself up for a better breakfast.


    This book also stresses simply walking outside. I have no excuse not to pop the baby in his stroller and enjoy the sunshine, especially when I know it will benefit both of us. This book is careful never to accuse anyone or point the finger at people or call them lazy or greedy, but I will point it at myself and say it's time to do something different.


    This book gives me the info I need and the motivation to do something about it. I am excited to enter a new phase of my life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Sugar kills

    This book has me convinced! We are a nation of sugar addicts and no wonder. Have you read the ingredients on anything lately? Why is it necessary to pack sugar into every darn things we eat, from peanut butter to bread to salad dressing?

    This book really affected the way I think about food, and then I went shopping, read some labels and got mad! And don't think that health food stores are any different! I was in Whole Foods and pretty much everything has "naturally milled cane sugar" or "organic evaporated cane juice". Give me a break! It's sugar-plain and simple.

    Yes, I know that in a perfect world I would cook everything myself from scratch using only whole foods and natural ingredients, but I live in a world where I don't have a lot of time and sometimes I need to be able to eat something processed. So why is it necessary to put sugar in things like frozen burritos??

    I also used to think that all the artificial sweeteners were worse for you than sugar, but now it looks like that's not so. I am now interested in natural sugar substitutes like stevia and maltitol and will be trying them out in the future.

    I am quite sure that if my best friend had not literally placed this book in my hand I would not have read it. I was so sure that my diet was fine, but my eyes have really been opened.

    I am ready to make a change, even if that means I have to spend my days off cooking to prepare food for the rest of the week. I guess I'll just have to start freezing portions of home cooked food and making those instant meals myself! I'll show 'em. And I will not be including sugar in what I cook!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    The Book Is Awesome!!

    I have read many books on health & nutrition. By far, this book is an awesome information guide! Sugar is in most of the fast and processed foods we consume everyday and usually disguised under many ingredient names the consumer may not recognize.

    The book gives you a picture of 4 Types of Sugar Addictions and the reasons associated with them. A workbook section is included for the reader. In addition, the book explores many health conditions that can be exacerbated by sugar addiction.

    Finally, Dr. Jacob T. Teitelbaum and Chrystle Fiedler give the reader proactive solutions for managing these sugar addictions and associated health issues with a holistic protocol and resources to find a medical practitioner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Beat Sugar Addition Now!

    Waste of my money! Just trying to navigate it and see it is horrific and it cannot be read online. I am sorry I purchased this (just did 30 minutes ago). I it is the first book that definitely makes me want my money back!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Good book, really helps with health issues

    I always thought that yeast infections were just things that women get, but this book helped me realize that I have been suffering from systematic candidiasis (a less girly sounding description of a full body long term yeast infection) and that I needed to change what I was doing. (And I am a man.)


    I don't eat a lot of dessert type sweets but I do tend to eat a lot of bread because I mostly eat sub sandwiches and a lot of hot dogs and hamburgers on buns.


    It was hard to believe, but I found out that what I thought was pollen allergies was actually tied into this fungus issue and that every time I ate bread it made it worse.


    One of the things that I really liked about this was the way everything was explained clearly and that he backed it all up with science. It helped me understand why I was getting sick and exactly what was going on in my body.


    This book showed me that sugar isn't just soda and candy, but also spaghetti and bread and even things like french fries. I was surprised to find out how hard it was to cut down on this stuff. I figured that it was a bit extreme to call it sugar addiction, but it's true, and I am feeling so much better after just a month of watching what I eat and paying attention to how it makes me feel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Great Book

    Teitelbaum and Fiedler have created a book that clearly illustrates the connections between many types of sugar addiction. What is especially fascinating is the way that the overgrowth of yeast/candida keeps cropping up in just about all of the problems that this book discusses.


    It is clear that all kinds of yeast infections are rampant in this country, and it is arguably clear that this is a result of not only a terrible national diet, but also due to our chronic misuse of antibiotics.


    Judging from the massive influx of commercials for probiotics that have taken control of a large part of daytime television, people are starting to wake up to the truth about yeast and about the importance of healthy well balanced intestinal flora.


    However, most of those commercials simply suggest that we take probotics and then go right back to living the same way we have been. This book shows us that this is not an option-that there is no point in trying to eliminate the yeast if one plans on simply eating foods that feed it and cause it to multiply. Yes, this is like a horror movie-some combination of invasion of the body snatchers and something else. This book presents quizzes that can be completed by readers to find out if they have problems with yeast overgrowth. It also clearly explains how these bad bacteria take over your body and what you can do to boost good bacteria and let it do its work. The action plans are clear and leave the reader with a sense of ownership when it comes to self treatment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Do not buy nook book version

    NOOK BOOK DOES NOT WORK!!!! DO NOT BUY IF YOU HAVE NOOK APP!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    NOT a review on the book!

    Mad and upset!!! Why is the Kindle addition cheaper than the Nook addition of the book??????????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Unable to modify font size

    Unlike my other e-books, the font size cannot be increased on this e-book (I'm using the tablet) and the print is very small.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Backed by science

    In reading Beat Sugar Addiction Now! What sticks out most is that these authors know what they are talking about and they have been there! It makes me feel like I can succeed where I have failed before because they have walked this path before me. Maybe that sounds a little dramatic but that is the feeling I'm left with as I finish up the book and get ready to embark on my adventure.

    I think the hardest part may be remembering to look for hidden sugar and to change my habits. Usually if I see something I want to eat or drink I just get it and that's that. Now I will have to think about what it will be doing to my body and stop myself before I eat it or drink it. Plus, I have to remember that some foods have a lot of sugar even if they are not dessert-like some salad dressings or some breads and food like that. I think there will be a lot of label reading in my future.

    I am really looking forward to losing weight and feeling more relaxed and healthier in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Easy to use, full of info

    This book is so easy to use, I felt like I had all the information I needed to begin treating myself within one day of buying it. There is a ton of useful information in here, but is written so clearly and concisely that I never felt like I was swimming in a murky fog, which is what I have often experienced when reading other books about common medical problems.

    While I greatly enjoy reading personal case histories and at first was a bit dismayed not to see them here, I have come to feel that this helps the book most directly affect the reader and his or her own unique situation.

    I like the way the authors present a lot of information and several choices and strategies for dealing with carious health problems, but leave the treatment in the hands of the sugar addict. Taking control of your own situation is important for any kind of addict in recovery and sugar addiction is no different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2