Customer Reviews for

Beat the Band

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Amazing

    Sequel to Swim the Fly. Although the storyline isnt as good as the book before, it still very good and is a bit funnier. Very good book. Hopefully Mr. Calame will write a third book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Win a free ipad

    Kiss your hand post this in three different books and look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    If you want to read a book that will make you laugh out loud in

    If you want to read a book that will make you laugh out loud in a quiet library, then Beat the Band is the book for you.  It is filled with all of the raunchy humor you would get in those late night movies like Scary Movie and Revenge of the Nerds, and the cliff hangers between chapters just want to make you read the book more and more.   There is great character development between all of the characters, and I believe, the plot is pretty good for a raunchy book.
    Basically, Beat the Band is about this kid’s sophomore year in high school.  His name is Cooper, and he wants this year to be amazing; unlike any other year before.  The main part of the story has to do with playing in a battle of the bands at the school and dealing with a group project that is required for Health.  This would have been a lot easier for Coop, but he was paired up with Helen Harriwick, a school “loser.”  Now Cooper has to deal with the pressure of getting the band to be successful and finishing the Health assignment with Helen.
    Don Calame, the author of Beat the Band, had a very good writing style.  The way he wrote this book, actually, made me feel like I was there listening to the conversations, and I was unable to look away from the book.  The way he made the characters was absolutely brilliant.  He made the characters act exactly as they should; a bunch of teenage boys who crack jokes about flatulence and what goes on “in bed.”  This book really appeals to an audience of teenagers.
    The character development was pretty good.  Even though this was a sequel, there was still a lot that you could learn from the characters.  Calame goes a lot deeper into Cooper’s character as well.  Could there be a softer, less shallow side to him?  You would have to read the book to find out.
    If you have ever read enough books or watched enough movies, you would know that this book could be a bit predictable, and that is normal, but the story in between is the best part about this book.  This book is a laugh out loud riot.  You can relate to this book on so many levels. From social issues to the birds and the bees, this book has it all: comedy, drama, and (romance?)  If you are not a fan of reading, this could be the book for you because when you are into the book, it won’t even feel like you’re reading at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    This cravked me up

    Mr. Calame plz right some more. Ill die if i cant read more of coop matt and sean. And you cant forget heavanly Hellen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    BEAT THE BAND-! A very funny and entertaining read. Calame did it again, next please!

    In SWIM THE FLY we followed the story around the three friends Matt, Sean and Coop. We’ve got them back in BEAT THE BAND, now told from Coop’s point of view. Dirty mind Coop is talking so double notice the parental advice on the back of the book!

    I was looking forward to hear Coop’s voice after Matt kind of found his happy end in SWIM THE FLY. BEAT THE BAND shows that his mind is exactly as dirty and wicked as I remembered from SWIM THE FLY. It’s great to finally have a character like Coop in the YA scene, because I like the way he thinks.
    He goes through a major change of personality and his way of thinking which wasn’t very surprising and was to be expected, but still fascinating to see. Helen seems to bring out the best in him and somehow disable the connection from his pants to his brain. So in the course of the story he actually starts thinking with his upper body brain.

    Music makes up a big part of the story since the boys decide to win the battle of bands. There’s also a string of action circling around Coop’s family or more his currently unemployed father.
    Other than his funny jokes and winning the band contest, the blooming relationship between Coop and social outcast Helen is of high interest. Helen is a very convenient character and because she’s such a strong young girl it’s not difficult to like her. With the two of them we’ve got two strong contrasted characters with a lot of delicious tension between them.
    The story also circles around sex and I felt that Don Calame totally represented the youth view of a boy on the topic.

    BEAT THE BAND follows a similar scheme as SWIM THE FLY. And I must say it is exactly as badass as the first book in the series. What I like better about BEAT THE BAND is that Calame lays a larger focus on the major love story.

    THE VERDICT

    This book has a nice mix of topics to offer, with a protagonist searching for love, a group of boys following a common goal and many pranks, high-school intrigues and issues of all kinds. There are a lot of new funny actions that make BEAT THE BAND a funny delight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for Teens Read Too

    Gold Star Award Winner! In the author note for BEAT THE BAND, Don Calame states, "It was hard saying good-bye to the characters in SWIM THE FLY. And then I realized I didn't have to. I just needed to find a way to get them back into trouble again." This reader is extremely pleased that Calame missed his characters enough to give them another chance in BEAT THE BAND. I found them even more engaging and entertaining this second time around. It is sophomore year, and Cooper Redmond has a new goal in life. He has decided that during his second year in high school he needs to find a way to hit all the bases, and he's not referring to athletic feats on the baseball diamond. Cooper has his sights set on Prudence, the leader of the hottest group of popular girls in the school. When Mrs. Turris announces the semester-long health project, Cooper sees it as his chance to shine. He is sure the odds are in his favor and he'll score Prudence, or at least one of her minions, as a project partner. When the Fates intervene and give him hated Helen Harriwick as a partner instead, his whole plan begins to crumble. And if having a disastrous partner is not bad enough, the subject of their partnership project is contraception. It's truly the end of the world for Cooper. Cooper thinks he may have the answer to all his problems when he hears the announcement about the upcoming Battle of the Bands. He and his buddies, Matt and Sean, have experimented some with the rock band idea. Maybe they could dust off their instruments and, with a little practice, wow everyone with their musical talent enough to get people thinking of Cooper as a cool dude and not as some loser stuck with "Hot Dog" Helen. What follows is a story hilarious and raunchy enough to hook every guy reader, and gross out most girls brave enough to crack the cover. Calame is right on target with the thoughts and antics of 10th grade boys. His gritty locker room banter combined with offbeat characters like Cooper's dad and his crazy schemes work to create a super sequel to SWIM THE FLY. This one has me waiting eagerly for what Calame has to offer next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1