Customer Reviews for

The Beatrice Letters (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A well writen story, to be read over and over

This book is perfect for a Serise of Unfortunate Events fans. You can chalenege yourself with cracking codes. This book is beautiful in every single way. But beware if you think this book is going to be revealing the story around beatrice and lemony think again just whe...
This book is perfect for a Serise of Unfortunate Events fans. You can chalenege yourself with cracking codes. This book is beautiful in every single way. But beware if you think this book is going to be revealing the story around beatrice and lemony think again just when you think you figured it out a killer twist comes up.Filled with letter and such this book is great for a time filler and mind thriller.

posted by 1527592 on June 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Homosexuality in Beatrice's Letters?

I was laughing out loud while reading Lemony Snickett's Beatrice's Letters, when I happened upon this quote:

"I will love you if you don't marry me. I will love you if you marry someone else-Your co-star, perhaps, or Y., or even O., or anyone Z. through A., even R.-...
I was laughing out loud while reading Lemony Snickett's Beatrice's Letters, when I happened upon this quote:

"I will love you if you don't marry me. I will love you if you marry someone else-Your co-star, perhaps, or Y., or even O., or anyone Z. through A., even R.-although sadly I believe it will be quite some time before two women can be allowed to marry--"

I don't know about you, but I don't think children should be indoctrinated about homosexuality behind their parents' backs. Interestingly enough, this quote is embedded in the longest letter contained in the book ... a letter that most parents would probably never even read. I was reading the book cover to cover intending to order the book for my fourth grade classroom. I will not be ordering the book.

Lemony Snicket is a great children's author who should stick to what he knows best - making children laugh. He should not insert his personal philosophy in books intended for children. For those of us who believe that homosexuality is morally wrong, we don't need Snicket telling our children otherwise.

posted by knfurniss on February 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    This Is What Is Needed

    Let me start this by saying...

    Anyone who read the series should know that every word Snicket wrote was an illusion to the civil issues of the time. This included same-sex marriage. Expect it.

    The point of the letters was to clarify what was left unsaid in the books. One thing that was left *not* unsaid was the fact that Mrs. Beatrice Baudelaire, the orphans mom, was a lesbian. I don't know why anyone would find that alarming; if you read the books, you would get that.

    It is important that if you are going to let a child read a book, let them read it. When you read all the way through a series and come to the crux of it all, there are going to be some things you might not have noticed.

    Furthermore, Snicket was an author; he never claimed to be a children's author. In fact, if you read past his birth name on Wikipedia, you would see his firsts books are ADULT books.

    I let my children read this despite what others thought. I'm not saying I take either side on the same-sex relationship case, but for me, excluding information from my children to make them think and feel a certain way about something is just as morally wrong as that issue may be.

    In all, this book exemplifies the traits set in the series; morality, trust, independence, and the trust in your own instincts.

    I enjoyed it, and my children did. Enough said.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    Lemony Snicket BOOK REVIEW

    Lemony Snicket's books are Outstanding.All Books Have no happy begining,Ends or middle! The happiest thing in the stories are that there parents died.Highly recommend For people who Need a Shocker!Plus that extra Books Like the on above Is always liked to a book somehow!Lemony Snicket is a GREAT Children's book writer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    code discoverd!

    my friend and i have recentley discoverd a code hiddin in this book.if you have read THE END you should be familair with this name BEATRICE.the message was that beatrice sank.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!

    When it came in the mail,I was so excited!I ripped the package open immediatly.When I opened it up it was diffrent from any other book I've seen!The book has a file folder with a poster,and the acual book Beatrices Letters!I started reading it about 5 mins later.I found out some shocking secrets about Beatrice and Lemony!Maybe you can tell but,I'm in love with the serise of unfortunate events!I have read almost every one except for 3,4,11,and the very last book 13.I would give this book a 5 star rating.Overall it's cover is the best cover I've seen yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    i love lemony snicket!!!

    i love his books! even if the baudelaires don't exist...i still love his fantastic books! i finished all the books...book 1-13! kool! but i still have some questions that still remains in me that make me clueless about the children's life... and their parents and lemony snicket.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    The BEST books!

    These are the best books you have ever held in your hands! I am an author'I don't mean to brag'and Lemony is my hero! Your exalincy , if you are reading this, you are the BEST author of all times! I have read all your books! They are amazing!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    I LOVE LEMONEY SNICKET!!!!!

    I think everybody should read The beatrice letters and guess what lemoney snicket is the father of the bauldlaires!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    A SIGHT TO BEHOLD

    FYI, you people do know that A Series of Unfortunate Events are based on FICTIONAL occurances, right? The orphans never existed. they are named after a French poet named Charles Baudelaire. they have no real real-world counterparts.and there are no real islanders because if you bothered to look at their names, you would notice they were all named after historic or literary characters (i.e Ishmael- Moby Dick by Herman Melville) Just to clear this misconception up. ok? now this book, if you love the series as much as i do, is a great companion to search the secrets of the FICTIONAL story. it is interesting to get involved in FICTION which is why this series is a huge hit. people want to escape their bland world by reading something remotely interesting, that point which is completely surpassed by this series. Mystery, intrigue, and FICTIONAL characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    CONFUSED but SATISFIED!

    I have read all thirteen of the books, seen Lemony Snicket in person, and NEARLY got my book signed...but he decided not to sign our books which made me VERY angry. Anyways, I loved this collection, though I tried to overthink it,looking for nonexistant codes. So Beatrice is there mother, but WHAAAAT is the VFD? Who is their father? And are the Baudelaires' parents REALLY dead?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Looks Awesome!!!

    I havent read this book yet but I am getting it today. Oddly my name is also Beatrice which everyone finds quite funny but I do not. I am hoping this book will be good bcuz all the other one have been so im lookin forward to it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    I LOVE LEMONY

    Lemony Snicket has done it again! He is a genius. I have been reading his books since I was in 3rd grade and i am in 6th grade now. I have reread the series so many times. I have already finished The end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    this is a great book

    i want more this book is outrageous!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    Great Book!

    This book got you ready for 'The End' because it adds mystery, so you want to know more. Excellent book would definately recommend to all of my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Lemony Snicket Book REader

    awesome 13 books i read all 13 all over again just for pleasure. I came across something that is obvious to read but if you skim you wont find it out... in all books there is clues for snicket writing to his members by writing books. now the hint I figured out is that sorry guys i am running out of room so ill tell you in another review ok guys bye and

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    how life-like and good the series of unfortunate events is

    this life-like book is not only exciting it gives children a veiw of how smart they can be and how fortunate they are.i love these books right now at the date of october 28th 2006 im on the 9th book.i am a great reader but even for kids that are starting from today to tomorrow on the book number 1 they could be on the 9th book by tomorrow since it sucks in your imanganation.sincerly kelly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    amazing

    all of these books are amazing.some people think these books are for losers but i think they are great.lemony snicket's research really paid off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    Interesting

    Wow i just finished reading The End and i didn't know Beatrice was the Baudelaires mother! Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    A reviewer

    I am Lemony Snicket's biggest fan. He is the greatest author EVER. I think that you should read every book that he has written. I am really shocked that it came out around my birthday. I actually read all the 12 books in 3rd grade. I'm so glad that this is coming out because I think that everyone was curious who Beatrice was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    I DON'T KNOW WHAT THESE 6TH GRADERS ARE TALKING ABOUT!

    I Feel that reading the series and soon Beatrice's Letters has been a lot of joy in my life. I know see why Lemony Snicket devoted so much of his time to research the horrid events of the Bauderlaires. This series is so so so worth reading! Please read them, you will never stop thinking about it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Very Fun Dialouge

    The Beatrice Letters is really an amazing book. It lets you delve deeper into the life of Lemony Snicket and Beatrice Beaudelaire. The book is basically a giant folder which contains the letters written between Beatrice and Lemony Snicket. If you enjoyed the Unfortunate Series of Events, you will definitely enjoy this book. It answers some questions, and introduces more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2