Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Bastard

Average Rating 4.5
( 459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(273)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn¿t sure h

I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn’t sure how I would like yet another Twilight fanfic turned novel.  I’m not sure why, especially since I loved Fifty.  I guess my issue is that I didn’t want to see the parallels and comparisons with Twilight, I wan...
I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn’t sure how I would like yet another Twilight fanfic turned novel.  I’m not sure why, especially since I loved Fifty.  I guess my issue is that I didn’t want to see the parallels and comparisons with Twilight, I wanted something that was able to stand on it’s own. I got that and more with this book!  Everything about Beautiful Bastard is a win for me.  The cover is edgy, smart, sexy and screams read me (does anyone else see Adam Levine when they look at the cover?).  Once I started reading, I was captivated with and enthralled by Bennett & Chloe’s story!   Their chemistry leapt off the page, and had me desperately wanting more with every page that I turned.

From the minute that Chloe meets Bennett, sparks fly.  Their attraction is instant but becomes buried in their overwhelming dislike and hatred for the other.  She has worked at Ryan Media Group for six years, but nine months ago Bennett arrived, and things haven’t been the same since.  Having to work for him directly, she soon finds out that under the amazingly sexy surface, he is arrogant, condescending and questions every decision she makes.  What I found extremely refreshing about Chloe’s character is her strength and attitude.  She is not meek or mild-mannered, she does not stand idly by while Bennett railroads her and she gives, just as good as she gets.    She is a smart & savvy businesswoman who knows exactly what she wants, even if she won’t admit to herself that it’s Bennett.

Bennett doesn’t want to want Chloe.  However, his attraction to her begins to overpower every other feeling he has.  When he tries to fight it, he becomes an even bigger ***hole, which only makes it worse.  Their lust is fueled by their hate and pretty soon it implodes in the conference room after work.  After the explosive sex, they agree that it was a one time shot. How wrong they were!

From cover to cover this book was fantastic.  While I loved the characters strong personalities, banter, arguments and altercations; the best parts of the book were when they brought down their walls and showed each other their weaknesses and vulnerabilities.  It was then that their relationship started to develop and take off.  Behind all that hatred was a love that needed to breathe and grow.  After starting off a little sluggish, by the end of the book I was left wanting tons more of Chloe & Bennett.  They are fabulous together and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for them.

posted by Hesperia_Loves_Books on February 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

This book and review are intended for a mature audience. This is

This book and review are intended for a mature audience. This is not a Young Adult title. Mom, you've been warned.




Rating: 3




The Low Down: Girl getting her MBA interns as assistant to gorgeous a*hole. Hate/love and hot n heavy sex ensues. Will both parties be re...
This book and review are intended for a mature audience. This is not a Young Adult title. Mom, you've been warned.




Rating: 3




The Low Down: Girl getting her MBA interns as assistant to gorgeous a*hole. Hate/love and hot n heavy sex ensues. Will both parties be redeemed or crash and burn?




Much like people didn’t pick up (sorry, I have to mention it) Fifty Shades of Grey to read about the life of a soon-to-graduate college student, I imagine many aren't reading this for its tips on getting an MBA. I don’t know what happened in the last year or so, but it looks like all that red wine we’re drinking isn’t going to waste. Real grown-up ladies are wanting to read something with, uh, a little more sumthin’ sumthin’, if you know what I am saying. If you don’t know what I am saying, then what I am saying is graphic sex. Red wine = red blood?




Call me a purist, but whatever graphic-ness is involved, I still want my book to be written well. It’s hard enough (stop it) to read all of the silly verbs and adjectives in erotica without rolling my eyes; I don’t want a total hot mess of a book on top of that (uh sorry). I would go to great lengths (ignore that) to keep from reading something that ultimately left me high and dry (seriously?) in the story line department.




Beautiful Bastard plants its Prada loafers right in the middle of the proverbial road. Those of you who picked it up more for the action won’t be disappointed (get it in eBook form so you can bookmark those pages that you enjoy most). For those of you who, like me, prefer a little more heft, you may want to get your favorite romance and write your own scenes (You're a naughty minx, Miss Bennet!). For those of you who have no desire to rewrite literature,  I will say that the story takes over in the second half of the book. The sex parts don’t peter out (ignore that, too), but it’s clear that the authors wanted to make this a real story.




In all honesty, I don't know how to properly review a book of this nature. How seriously does the writing matter if your blood is pumping and heart rate is accelerating? I can only treat it like any other book that I review, I guess. Some people may just call this porn, but there is a difference between porn and erotica. My definition would be that erotica is much better written and is concerned with the story as well as the sex. Some may say that any graphic sex makes it porn. To-MAY-to, to-MAH-to.




The tried-and-true romance tale formula is used, you know where the two main characters hate each other at first? It works here just fine, too. The bottom line: this is a book that isn’t too big for its La Perlas; you get what you came for.




Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren was published February 12, 2013 by Gallery Books. A free copy of this book was given to Ink and Page in return for an honest review. Big thanks to NetGalley, Gallery Books and the Mses. Christina and Lauren.




Genre: Adult Fiction Contemporary Romance Erotica
Ages: Adult
You Might Want to Know: In case it's not clear, there is graphic sex; profanity

posted by InkandPage on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 459 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Pretty Awful

    The characters are not likable. There is no redeeming quality to their personalities. Poor depiction of fan fiction. Fast steamy read if you're bored.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    bad choice

    don't waste your time one this one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Including the entire cast from Twilight really irritated me--may

    Including the entire cast from Twilight really irritated me--maybe more than it should have. The description of the book left me really excited to read--and I was very disappointed. The rest of her books are spectacular--especially the full length Stranger and Player. But this one fell very, very short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Don't waste your time!!!!, This was one of the worst written bo

    Don't waste your time!!!!, This was one of the worst written books I have ever read. Seriously? Who allows this kind of nonsense to get published? Oh right, they are " writers" from the fan fiction
    world! Please spare me the insults. I am sorry but fan fictions writers should stay just that, fan fiction. It is obvious this story lacks an actual plot. The book is loaded with angry, pissed off sex, not sure where anyone can go from that. If somehow these 2 " writers" get to publish another book, I can tell you that the story line is short, they have more sex, more anger, and then hmmmmm fall in love and live happily ever after. Don't waste your money, it's not worth it. Some of these editorial reviews must be fiction themselves!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Saucy! This book took a couple chapters to get into, but then I

    Saucy!

    This book took a couple chapters to get into, but then I was hooked!  I definitely recommend reading it.  This book made me want a Bennett Ryan of my own and it also made me want to go out and buy some nicer underwear....hahaha.  If you want a book that gets you all hot and bothered then pick this one up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    So badly written not even worth trying to get to the steamy parts

    Unfortunately, ever since the twilight fanfiction that is 50 shades of grey blew up, people are starting to think all fanfiction writers are gold mines. This is so not the case. This book is so badly written I couldn't even finish it. If I would have known it came from a fanfiction i never would have bought it. I mourn the loss of the time i wasted trying to read what little i did read. If you must try this book go to a library, but remember i warned you. you can't get that time back. Seriously, I think I would have rather had my wisdom teeth removed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    The reason I am giving it a 3 star is only because I was still a

    The reason I am giving it a 3 star is only because I was still able to get a little "aaww how sweet" spot for  the characters.  I did like where the author was at least trying to get and you do see this come out in "Beautiful Stranger" which is much much better!!!! The I guess "hot" moments of him ripping her panties off become to much like "I got it, ok?!" when it happens the first time or even the second it hot but when it is happening eeevverry single time it becomes old, nothing intended.  I really really recommend her second book, Beautiful Stranger.  Since I did like where she was trying to get I gave it a skeptical shot  at it and I was not let down, she was able to get a lot better at it and did not disappoint.  Hope this helps!  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Very entertaining

    Fantastic! A sexy, fun, and halarious romp between two strong willed and intelligent main characters. He is sexy as hell until he opens his mouth and she is drop dead gorgous with sass and attitude that cuts through glass. He is hating on her because he is sexually attracted to obsessive degree which is the first in his work place. Of course being a man he blames her and treats her like crap. No need to pity the young woman because she is more than up to the task of dealing with him and easily gives him verbal smack downs. This is such a fun and intense romp, can't reccomend highly enough. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Good read

    The only thing I don't like is how a woman can let someone do something to her so quickly and personal with someone she doesn't even seem to like. So what if he's good looking.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Do you ever read a book simply because of it¿s title? I do. I am

    Do you ever read a book simply because of it’s title? I do. I am one of those horrible people who, on occasion, judge a book by it’s cover . . . or title. Have I been burned by this practice? Absolutely. Especially considering I have this compulsion that once I start a book, I must finish it, at least eventually (and probably the reason I am reading approximately four books at any given time).
    I love the Author(s) Christina Lauren. They are a pair of best friends who write novels together and make quite the team. Besties: take note, this is my dream.
    Anyway, I found this book to be quite a pleasant surprise. It was in no way epic or life changing, but a good read. Think of it as a soft version of Fifty Shades of Grey, except I didn’t want to slap the main character by the end.
    The main character, Chloe is a super brilliant mid-twenties, girl. She is working at a top tier company while attending a top tier business school. She also sleeps with her boss. She does not sleep her way to the top but rather goes quite far out of her way to prove that she deserves her position. 
    What I like about her character is that she is very confident. She dresses to make herself feel powerful and feminine, as opposed to dressing to impress her male colleagues. This is not the story about a supposedly strong, independent, cinderella-esque woman who is somehow rescued by a billionaire. She is a strong women who embraces her feminine side and works hard to make her way through the business world. In other words, a character I can relate to . . . minus the whole sleeping with the boss thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Disappointed.

    I didnot even finish this book. It was so bad, from the first chapter to, well, whenever I gave up. I mean, really? An intern that is so indispensible that the company president is telling the CEO to be nice to her? Not believable. Not even a little bit. Stupidest book I have ever bought. I want my d@mn money back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Highly Recommed

    Hilarious book...want to read more about Bennett and Chloe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is beyond HOT!! I knew it would be awesome, but I didn

    This book is beyond HOT!! I knew it would be awesome, but I didn't know how freaking awesome it would be!! The sexy times between these two made me blush more than once and I LOVED every minute of it! Great job! Can't wait for Beautiful Stranger and I'd LOVE to know where I can get a Bennett Ryan of my own!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Love it!

    Absolutely loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    I just dnt know

    Book was mainly sex so if u wanna read straight sex this is the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Great book

    I could not put this book down. 202 pages is not enough pages. I wsh there was a second book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    Beautiful Bastard Christina Lauren Beautiful bastard is a book t

    Beautiful Bastard
    Christina Lauren
    Beautiful bastard is a book that left me vibrating at the end, with pent up passion, and an intimate reminder of love long past. It is a truly erotic book with love tryst that would make any woman melt with passion. This is a book that leaves one feeling longing, and hungry for the episodic love scenes that come nearly by the chapter. The passion of the two main characters is infectious and entirely unbelievable. It would make a woman wish she was young enough, or flexible enough to complete the erotic passionate love scenes herself. A blushingly erotic love story, that any woman should have in her collection, just to remind her that passion is out there, and sometimes it can overwhelm you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Gallery books and Edelweiss.)
    Chloe works for Bennet Ryan, a man who she has nick-named ‘Beautiful B*stard’, because he’s gorgeous, but he’s nasty.

    When Bennet makes a pass at her, Chloe finds that her body likes him a whole lot more than her brain, and they begin an erotic relationship.

    Bennet realises he wants more though when his mother sets Chloe up on a date.
    Can these two ever have a real relationship though, or is this a sex-only thing?


    The beginning of this novel read like a porn movie. Within the first 4% of the book, Chloe and Ben were going at it with very little lead up at all, and although their encounter was hot, it just felt a little lacking.

    Chloe and Ben were both interesting characters, but I didn’t think that Ben was all that bad to be honest. Although he was supposed to be nasty, I didn’t feel like we really got all that many nasty moments, and he had nothing on Christian Grey.
    Chloe had her moments, and at times I felt like she was being quite nasty to Ben!

    Once we got further into the book, and the two started to have more non-sexual interactions, and it seemed like their feelings towards each other were changing, the story improved. I may be being a total girl, but sex without emotions just doesn’t really do it for me.

    I think this story is classified as erotica. I don’t read much erotica to be honest, but I think this was pretty toned down compared to some other books, again, it wasn’t as saucy as ‘Fifty Shades’.

    What I didn’t expect though, is that more than half of the book was from Bennet’s point of view. There was nothing wrong with this, but there was no way to differential which chapters were from Bennet’s point of view, or Chloe’s point of view until you started reading, so it was a little confusing when the perspectives switched.

    The ending was happy, as expected with a romance, and there was no pregnancy scare. Thank goodness.

    Overall; a not too-erotic erotic novel, and the second half was better than the first half.
    7.5 out of 10.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    i read this as it was in the works as a fanfic and it is wonderf

    i read this as it was in the works as a fanfic and it is wonderful!! i can't wait to re-read this bc i was really disappointed when it was taken off the fanfic site. But i am very happy for Christina and Lauren on their success with their story!! Best wishes and i look forward to the next book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Wow...

    I love this duo! I couldn't put this book down until I was done... then I could't wait to find out what was next!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 459 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23