Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Bastard

Average Rating 4.5
( 461 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(273)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn¿t sure h

I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn’t sure how I would like yet another Twilight fanfic turned novel.  I’m not sure why, especially since I loved Fifty.  I guess my issue is that I didn’t want to see the parallels and comparisons with Twilight, I wan...
I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn’t sure how I would like yet another Twilight fanfic turned novel.  I’m not sure why, especially since I loved Fifty.  I guess my issue is that I didn’t want to see the parallels and comparisons with Twilight, I wanted something that was able to stand on it’s own. I got that and more with this book!  Everything about Beautiful Bastard is a win for me.  The cover is edgy, smart, sexy and screams read me (does anyone else see Adam Levine when they look at the cover?).  Once I started reading, I was captivated with and enthralled by Bennett & Chloe’s story!   Their chemistry leapt off the page, and had me desperately wanting more with every page that I turned.

From the minute that Chloe meets Bennett, sparks fly.  Their attraction is instant but becomes buried in their overwhelming dislike and hatred for the other.  She has worked at Ryan Media Group for six years, but nine months ago Bennett arrived, and things haven’t been the same since.  Having to work for him directly, she soon finds out that under the amazingly sexy surface, he is arrogant, condescending and questions every decision she makes.  What I found extremely refreshing about Chloe’s character is her strength and attitude.  She is not meek or mild-mannered, she does not stand idly by while Bennett railroads her and she gives, just as good as she gets.    She is a smart & savvy businesswoman who knows exactly what she wants, even if she won’t admit to herself that it’s Bennett.

Bennett doesn’t want to want Chloe.  However, his attraction to her begins to overpower every other feeling he has.  When he tries to fight it, he becomes an even bigger ***hole, which only makes it worse.  Their lust is fueled by their hate and pretty soon it implodes in the conference room after work.  After the explosive sex, they agree that it was a one time shot. How wrong they were!

From cover to cover this book was fantastic.  While I loved the characters strong personalities, banter, arguments and altercations; the best parts of the book were when they brought down their walls and showed each other their weaknesses and vulnerabilities.  It was then that their relationship started to develop and take off.  Behind all that hatred was a love that needed to breathe and grow.  After starting off a little sluggish, by the end of the book I was left wanting tons more of Chloe & Bennett.  They are fabulous together and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for them.

posted by Hesperia_Loves_Books on February 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

This book and review are intended for a mature audience. This is

This book and review are intended for a mature audience. This is not a Young Adult title. Mom, you've been warned.




Rating: 3




The Low Down: Girl getting her MBA interns as assistant to gorgeous a*hole. Hate/love and hot n heavy sex ensues. Will both parties be re...
This book and review are intended for a mature audience. This is not a Young Adult title. Mom, you've been warned.




Rating: 3




The Low Down: Girl getting her MBA interns as assistant to gorgeous a*hole. Hate/love and hot n heavy sex ensues. Will both parties be redeemed or crash and burn?




Much like people didn’t pick up (sorry, I have to mention it) Fifty Shades of Grey to read about the life of a soon-to-graduate college student, I imagine many aren't reading this for its tips on getting an MBA. I don’t know what happened in the last year or so, but it looks like all that red wine we’re drinking isn’t going to waste. Real grown-up ladies are wanting to read something with, uh, a little more sumthin’ sumthin’, if you know what I am saying. If you don’t know what I am saying, then what I am saying is graphic sex. Red wine = red blood?




Call me a purist, but whatever graphic-ness is involved, I still want my book to be written well. It’s hard enough (stop it) to read all of the silly verbs and adjectives in erotica without rolling my eyes; I don’t want a total hot mess of a book on top of that (uh sorry). I would go to great lengths (ignore that) to keep from reading something that ultimately left me high and dry (seriously?) in the story line department.




Beautiful Bastard plants its Prada loafers right in the middle of the proverbial road. Those of you who picked it up more for the action won’t be disappointed (get it in eBook form so you can bookmark those pages that you enjoy most). For those of you who, like me, prefer a little more heft, you may want to get your favorite romance and write your own scenes (You're a naughty minx, Miss Bennet!). For those of you who have no desire to rewrite literature,  I will say that the story takes over in the second half of the book. The sex parts don’t peter out (ignore that, too), but it’s clear that the authors wanted to make this a real story.




In all honesty, I don't know how to properly review a book of this nature. How seriously does the writing matter if your blood is pumping and heart rate is accelerating? I can only treat it like any other book that I review, I guess. Some people may just call this porn, but there is a difference between porn and erotica. My definition would be that erotica is much better written and is concerned with the story as well as the sex. Some may say that any graphic sex makes it porn. To-MAY-to, to-MAH-to.




The tried-and-true romance tale formula is used, you know where the two main characters hate each other at first? It works here just fine, too. The bottom line: this is a book that isn’t too big for its La Perlas; you get what you came for.




Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren was published February 12, 2013 by Gallery Books. A free copy of this book was given to Ink and Page in return for an honest review. Big thanks to NetGalley, Gallery Books and the Mses. Christina and Lauren.




Genre: Adult Fiction Contemporary Romance Erotica
Ages: Adult
You Might Want to Know: In case it's not clear, there is graphic sex; profanity

posted by InkandPage on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    We all know those people- gorgeous, powerful, and a complete jer

    We all know those people- gorgeous, powerful, and a complete jerk. The people that set you on edge by simply breathing your oxygen. Now imagine that you are an intern, working on your MBA and that person is your boss. Your future pretty much hinges on that person that makes your life hell. Now you know how Chloe Mills feels. 

    Chloe has one additional problem with her boss, Bennett Ryan- unbelievable chemistry. 

    Because of their mutual dislike and unbelievable chemistry sparks fly from the very beginning of the book. I loved Chloe and Bennett's verbal sparring, sexual chemistry and their eventual realization that there might be more going on than just physical chemistry.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This one is brimming with steam. If you are offended by lots of

    This one is brimming with steam. If you are offended by lots of sex in risque places between characters who hate each other, then skip this one. It is about halfway through the book when feelings finally come into play, but they are there. This is an easy book to read. I like how it is in alternating POV so we can see what both of them are thinking, because they don't actually talk unless it is to argue. Even though they hated each other, I had to keep reading to find out when/how things would change. (And I admit, I read the earlier version when it was posted online, so I pretty much knew how things were going to work out anyway.) So, while it bothered me that Chloe was hooking up with her hot boss who was a complete jerk to her, I had to keep reading and was satisfied by how things worked out. There is going to be a sequel with one of the secondary characters and I will be reading that one as well. I can't help it.*I received a copy from NetGalley for my honest review

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Great read

    Love how Chloe gives as good as she gets and puts Bennett in his place

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Gallery books and Edelweiss.)
    Chloe works for Bennet Ryan, a man who she has nick-named ‘Beautiful B*stard’, because he’s gorgeous, but he’s nasty.

    When Bennet makes a pass at her, Chloe finds that her body likes him a whole lot more than her brain, and they begin an erotic relationship.

    Bennet realises he wants more though when his mother sets Chloe up on a date.
    Can these two ever have a real relationship though, or is this a sex-only thing?


    The beginning of this novel read like a porn movie. Within the first 4% of the book, Chloe and Ben were going at it with very little lead up at all, and although their encounter was hot, it just felt a little lacking.

    Chloe and Ben were both interesting characters, but I didn’t think that Ben was all that bad to be honest. Although he was supposed to be nasty, I didn’t feel like we really got all that many nasty moments, and he had nothing on Christian Grey.
    Chloe had her moments, and at times I felt like she was being quite nasty to Ben!

    Once we got further into the book, and the two started to have more non-sexual interactions, and it seemed like their feelings towards each other were changing, the story improved. I may be being a total girl, but sex without emotions just doesn’t really do it for me.

    I think this story is classified as erotica. I don’t read much erotica to be honest, but I think this was pretty toned down compared to some other books, again, it wasn’t as saucy as ‘Fifty Shades’.

    What I didn’t expect though, is that more than half of the book was from Bennet’s point of view. There was nothing wrong with this, but there was no way to differential which chapters were from Bennet’s point of view, or Chloe’s point of view until you started reading, so it was a little confusing when the perspectives switched.

    The ending was happy, as expected with a romance, and there was no pregnancy scare. Thank goodness.

    Overall; a not too-erotic erotic novel, and the second half was better than the first half.
    7.5 out of 10.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I thought I wasn't going to like this book very much. But the mo

    I thought I wasn't going to like this book very much. But the more I read it, the more entertained I was. It was a fast read for me, and I like how both Chloe and Bennett are real people and have their own flaws and insecurities. The pace of the novel is pretty fast so I finished this novel within two days. I recommend this book to romance fans and those curious in the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoyed this book even though the characters are quite obnoxio

    I enjoyed this book even though the characters are quite obnoxious at times. I mean honestly, who mouths off to their bosses that way especially on her terms of employment? The erotic scenes were good so those a fan of the genre may enjoy this book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Chloe Mills is an intern for Bennett Ryan and is awesome at what

    Chloe Mills is an intern for Bennett Ryan and is awesome at what she does. She's been working there for years and is about to finish up her MBA. Somehow she manages to deal with her "beautiful bastard" of a boss, Bennett Ryan. I'm pretty sure he would make anyone break down and cry due to his abrasive personality, but Chloe manages. Whenever he makes a rude comment, she gives one right back at him. This happens through the majority of the book, so if you're not interested in a boss being a jerk, you should pass on this one. I'm thinking CLauren was trying to make the two snipe at one another so much to reflect how alike Chloe and Bennett really are. It gets a bit tiring in my opinion, but I did enjoy the book.

    It doesn't take long before they start having sex everywhere, in the office, in an elevator, in the stairs, you name it they'll probably do it there. Both are like what the heck am I doing, this is wrong but it feels so right. I was wondering how it would end, if they'd continue with the fling, or if they'd manage to make things work. You slowly start seeing Bennett change from a dick, to caring about what happens to Chloe. His main concern is people thinking she's sleeping her way to the top, that would ruin her just beginning career. That doesn't really enter his mind at the start though. I did enjoy the book, and plan on reading the next few in the near future. If you're looking for a naughty read that has a boss/intern relationship this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    A great read!

    I highly enjoyed this book. Will definitely read more from author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Beautiful B

    I was in a reading slump but Mr Ryan got me hooked. Love this book. Such a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Honestly, I thought this book would be boring or too old for me.

    Honestly, I thought this book would be boring or too old for me. I started reading it one night at 1 in the morning hoping to fall asleep and I got addicted. I read until my eyes was so heavy I couldn't see straight. I loved this book. The characters were funny and you can actually relate to them unlike other books. Being able to go along with the book and actually get a beginning, middle, and end in one book was something I really enjoyed. Well worth the time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Fun and exciting

    The book was great! I could not put my nook down. I only wish there was more to the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Good read

    Pretty good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Good read

    I couldn't put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Hot ,sexy, fun. 4+ stars

    Fantastic fun read. Have read this twice already. interesting plot, red hot lovemaking. Would definitely recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    I loved this book! Steamy & fun!  If you liked the 50 Shades

    I loved this book! Steamy & fun!  If you liked the 50 Shades series you will like this one. In my opinion it's much better written than 50 Shades.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Good

    I like the story it was short and sweet. Couldn't put it down great for a take a long book for vacation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Couldn't put it down!

    This was my first "romance" novel, and I really enjoyed it. The intimacy parts were one thing, but the relationship that grew between Chloe and Bennett was what I was following until the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Fun 4.5 stars

    Fun, sexy, well written....loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Enjoyed this book. 

    Enjoyed this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6