Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Bastard

Average Rating 4.5
( 449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(270)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn¿t sure h

I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn’t sure how I would like yet another Twilight fanfic turned novel.  I’m not sure why, especially since I loved Fifty.  I guess my issue is that I didn’t want to see the parallels and comparisons with Twilight, I wan...
I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn’t sure how I would like yet another Twilight fanfic turned novel.  I’m not sure why, especially since I loved Fifty.  I guess my issue is that I didn’t want to see the parallels and comparisons with Twilight, I wanted something that was able to stand on it’s own. I got that and more with this book!  Everything about Beautiful Bastard is a win for me.  The cover is edgy, smart, sexy and screams read me (does anyone else see Adam Levine when they look at the cover?).  Once I started reading, I was captivated with and enthralled by Bennett & Chloe’s story!   Their chemistry leapt off the page, and had me desperately wanting more with every page that I turned.

From the minute that Chloe meets Bennett, sparks fly.  Their attraction is instant but becomes buried in their overwhelming dislike and hatred for the other.  She has worked at Ryan Media Group for six years, but nine months ago Bennett arrived, and things haven’t been the same since.  Having to work for him directly, she soon finds out that under the amazingly sexy surface, he is arrogant, condescending and questions every decision she makes.  What I found extremely refreshing about Chloe’s character is her strength and attitude.  She is not meek or mild-mannered, she does not stand idly by while Bennett railroads her and she gives, just as good as she gets.    She is a smart & savvy businesswoman who knows exactly what she wants, even if she won’t admit to herself that it’s Bennett.

Bennett doesn’t want to want Chloe.  However, his attraction to her begins to overpower every other feeling he has.  When he tries to fight it, he becomes an even bigger ***hole, which only makes it worse.  Their lust is fueled by their hate and pretty soon it implodes in the conference room after work.  After the explosive sex, they agree that it was a one time shot. How wrong they were!

From cover to cover this book was fantastic.  While I loved the characters strong personalities, banter, arguments and altercations; the best parts of the book were when they brought down their walls and showed each other their weaknesses and vulnerabilities.  It was then that their relationship started to develop and take off.  Behind all that hatred was a love that needed to breathe and grow.  After starting off a little sluggish, by the end of the book I was left wanting tons more of Chloe & Bennett.  They are fabulous together and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for them.

posted by Hesperia_Loves_Books on February 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

This book and review are intended for a mature audience. This is

This book and review are intended for a mature audience. This is not a Young Adult title. Mom, you've been warned.




Rating: 3




The Low Down: Girl getting her MBA interns as assistant to gorgeous a*hole. Hate/love and hot n heavy sex ensues. Will both parties be re...
This book and review are intended for a mature audience. This is not a Young Adult title. Mom, you've been warned.




Rating: 3




The Low Down: Girl getting her MBA interns as assistant to gorgeous a*hole. Hate/love and hot n heavy sex ensues. Will both parties be redeemed or crash and burn?




Much like people didn’t pick up (sorry, I have to mention it) Fifty Shades of Grey to read about the life of a soon-to-graduate college student, I imagine many aren't reading this for its tips on getting an MBA. I don’t know what happened in the last year or so, but it looks like all that red wine we’re drinking isn’t going to waste. Real grown-up ladies are wanting to read something with, uh, a little more sumthin’ sumthin’, if you know what I am saying. If you don’t know what I am saying, then what I am saying is graphic sex. Red wine = red blood?




Call me a purist, but whatever graphic-ness is involved, I still want my book to be written well. It’s hard enough (stop it) to read all of the silly verbs and adjectives in erotica without rolling my eyes; I don’t want a total hot mess of a book on top of that (uh sorry). I would go to great lengths (ignore that) to keep from reading something that ultimately left me high and dry (seriously?) in the story line department.




Beautiful Bastard plants its Prada loafers right in the middle of the proverbial road. Those of you who picked it up more for the action won’t be disappointed (get it in eBook form so you can bookmark those pages that you enjoy most). For those of you who, like me, prefer a little more heft, you may want to get your favorite romance and write your own scenes (You're a naughty minx, Miss Bennet!). For those of you who have no desire to rewrite literature,  I will say that the story takes over in the second half of the book. The sex parts don’t peter out (ignore that, too), but it’s clear that the authors wanted to make this a real story.




In all honesty, I don't know how to properly review a book of this nature. How seriously does the writing matter if your blood is pumping and heart rate is accelerating? I can only treat it like any other book that I review, I guess. Some people may just call this porn, but there is a difference between porn and erotica. My definition would be that erotica is much better written and is concerned with the story as well as the sex. Some may say that any graphic sex makes it porn. To-MAY-to, to-MAH-to.




The tried-and-true romance tale formula is used, you know where the two main characters hate each other at first? It works here just fine, too. The bottom line: this is a book that isn’t too big for its La Perlas; you get what you came for.




Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren was published February 12, 2013 by Gallery Books. A free copy of this book was given to Ink and Page in return for an honest review. Big thanks to NetGalley, Gallery Books and the Mses. Christina and Lauren.




Genre: Adult Fiction Contemporary Romance Erotica
Ages: Adult
You Might Want to Know: In case it's not clear, there is graphic sex; profanity

posted by InkandPage on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn¿t sure h

    I was a little apprehensive to start this book.  I wasn’t sure how I would like yet another Twilight fanfic turned novel.  I’m not sure why, especially since I loved Fifty.  I guess my issue is that I didn’t want to see the parallels and comparisons with Twilight, I wanted something that was able to stand on it’s own. I got that and more with this book!  Everything about Beautiful Bastard is a win for me.  The cover is edgy, smart, sexy and screams read me (does anyone else see Adam Levine when they look at the cover?).  Once I started reading, I was captivated with and enthralled by Bennett & Chloe’s story!   Their chemistry leapt off the page, and had me desperately wanting more with every page that I turned.

    From the minute that Chloe meets Bennett, sparks fly.  Their attraction is instant but becomes buried in their overwhelming dislike and hatred for the other.  She has worked at Ryan Media Group for six years, but nine months ago Bennett arrived, and things haven’t been the same since.  Having to work for him directly, she soon finds out that under the amazingly sexy surface, he is arrogant, condescending and questions every decision she makes.  What I found extremely refreshing about Chloe’s character is her strength and attitude.  She is not meek or mild-mannered, she does not stand idly by while Bennett railroads her and she gives, just as good as she gets.    She is a smart & savvy businesswoman who knows exactly what she wants, even if she won’t admit to herself that it’s Bennett.

    Bennett doesn’t want to want Chloe.  However, his attraction to her begins to overpower every other feeling he has.  When he tries to fight it, he becomes an even bigger ***hole, which only makes it worse.  Their lust is fueled by their hate and pretty soon it implodes in the conference room after work.  After the explosive sex, they agree that it was a one time shot. How wrong they were!

    From cover to cover this book was fantastic.  While I loved the characters strong personalities, banter, arguments and altercations; the best parts of the book were when they brought down their walls and showed each other their weaknesses and vulnerabilities.  It was then that their relationship started to develop and take off.  Behind all that hatred was a love that needed to breathe and grow.  After starting off a little sluggish, by the end of the book I was left wanting tons more of Chloe & Bennett.  They are fabulous together and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for them.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    LOVE LOVE LOVE ChristinaLauren and their writing is so amazing!

    LOVE LOVE LOVE ChristinaLauren and their writing is so amazing!  So happy for them both and hope EVERYONE reads this book.  You will never look at lingerie the same way again, ladies!

    xoxo, Deeds ;)

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Wow!

    My new fave book!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Flipping Amazing 

    Flipping Amazing 

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Thank you JackiesBookWorld for runing the ending for anyone read

    Thank you JackiesBookWorld for runing the ending for anyone reading the reviews. You probably shouldn't have put how it ends in your review. That is just not right! Haven't read this yet and not sure if I will, so I won't rate it poorly, but I wanted to comment of Jackies review.....


    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Who doesn't love a good office romance laced with random sexual

    Who doesn't love a good office romance laced with random sexual romps, tension that could melt a stick of butter and a heavy dose of snark? 'Beautiful Bastard' by Christina Lauren is all that and more.

    4.5 stars goes out to this novel. 

    Here's the thing: yes, it's a re-written 'Twilight' fanfiction that basically help start the smutty trend within that fandom. Everyone's opinions are of their own, but I was generally excited to see what Christina and Lauren were going to do with changing 'The Office' from fic to published fiction. IT'S ALL ABOUT THE EDITING. 'Beautiful Bastard' provides fans of 'The Office' fan fiction a revised set of characters, backgrounds and settings while delivering the same level of delicious smut and sexually fueled snark that we've come to love from the original fan fiction. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Saucy! This book took a couple chapters to get into, but then I

    Saucy!

    This book took a couple chapters to get into, but then I was hooked!  I definitely recommend reading it.  This book made me want a Bennett Ryan of my own and it also made me want to go out and buy some nicer underwear....hahaha.  If you want a book that gets you all hot and bothered then pick this one up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Very entertaining

    Fantastic! A sexy, fun, and halarious romp between two strong willed and intelligent main characters. He is sexy as hell until he opens his mouth and she is drop dead gorgous with sass and attitude that cuts through glass. He is hating on her because he is sexually attracted to obsessive degree which is the first in his work place. Of course being a man he blames her and treats her like crap. No need to pity the young woman because she is more than up to the task of dealing with him and easily gives him verbal smack downs. This is such a fun and intense romp, can't reccomend highly enough. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Highly Recommed

    Hilarious book...want to read more about Bennett and Chloe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is beyond HOT!! I knew it would be awesome, but I didn

    This book is beyond HOT!! I knew it would be awesome, but I didn't know how freaking awesome it would be!! The sexy times between these two made me blush more than once and I LOVED every minute of it! Great job! Can't wait for Beautiful Stranger and I'd LOVE to know where I can get a Bennett Ryan of my own!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Love it!

    Absolutely loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Great book

    I could not put this book down. 202 pages is not enough pages. I wsh there was a second book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    Beautiful Bastard Christina Lauren Beautiful bastard is a book t

    Beautiful Bastard
    Christina Lauren
    Beautiful bastard is a book that left me vibrating at the end, with pent up passion, and an intimate reminder of love long past. It is a truly erotic book with love tryst that would make any woman melt with passion. This is a book that leaves one feeling longing, and hungry for the episodic love scenes that come nearly by the chapter. The passion of the two main characters is infectious and entirely unbelievable. It would make a woman wish she was young enough, or flexible enough to complete the erotic passionate love scenes herself. A blushingly erotic love story, that any woman should have in her collection, just to remind her that passion is out there, and sometimes it can overwhelm you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    i read this as it was in the works as a fanfic and it is wonderf

    i read this as it was in the works as a fanfic and it is wonderful!! i can't wait to re-read this bc i was really disappointed when it was taken off the fanfic site. But i am very happy for Christina and Lauren on their success with their story!! Best wishes and i look forward to the next book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    Such a hot read!!!!

    Such a hot read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    This book really drew me in, I was in a reading slump when this

    This book really drew me in, I was in a reading slump when this book was recommended to me. I realized I actually had it already in my
    Nook just hadn't read it yet. From the first chapter I was in love with Bennett, he was the ultimate alpha male, always brooding yet sweet
    under all the gruff.  Chloe was great, I thought she was a strong heroine.  She was funny and didn't take garbage from Bennett. 

    The characters developed nicely together.  The love story evolved at a nice pace.  Their sexcapades all over the office were intriguing
     and well written.  There was conflict and heartbreak.  

    It was an one of those "I can't put it down" books for me and I was so happy to begin reading the rest of the series.

    That was kind of where I ran into a problem because it seems I read a bit of different version of the book.  I am assuming it was
     an older version because the rest of the books follow along with the version I didn't read.  Names were different, and the ending was
     a bit different too still and HEA but they got to it in a different way.  It wasn't so bad just kind of weird because I wanted to read the other
     books and I had to figure out who was who as far as the friends and family around Chloe and Bennett related to the story I read.  Its kind
     of funny because I really loved the story I read, I skimmed through the other version and I thought the one I read was better. Anyway it worked
     out and I am reading book 2 Max and Sarah's book and loving it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    AWESOME!!!!!

    This is a short read, but it really is awesome.
    I have read and re-read it several times, BECAUSE it is that good, even though it is short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Chloe and Bennett

    All I can say is holy crow and WOW...I need to go cool off. This was the best story and a great story line. I love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Love it!

    After reading a book that had absolutley NO sex in it when it was promised that there was sex, this book was EXACTLY what i needed and desired! Thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    This was laugh out loud hilarious.  The story pulled me in from

    This was laugh out loud hilarious.  The story pulled me in from the beginning and kept me hooked until the end.  Chloe's introduction
    to her boss, "He was the most self-righteous, pompous pr**k I'd ever met."  But he was also - "Beautiful Bastard... tall, gorgeous, and
    entirely evil."  This made for a thoroughly enjoyable story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14