BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Beautiful Blue Death (Charles Lenox Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hooked

I am hooked on this series, and have been since reading this first book. I'm a big fan of anything set in the Victorian era, and found lots of great detail in this book. Characters are believable, likable, and hold interest.

I would recommend this author to fans ...
I am hooked on this series, and have been since reading this first book. I'm a big fan of anything set in the Victorian era, and found lots of great detail in this book. Characters are believable, likable, and hold interest.

I would recommend this author to fans of CS Harris - many similarities

posted by gussie05 on November 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great read, looking forward to the rest

I enjoyed this book and I’m looking forward to reading the rest in the series. Charles Lenox is endearing, engaging and entertaining. He seems to have it all – but he has his flaws, too. There’s nothing worse than a protagonist who’s nothing but perfect, and Lenox is ju...
I enjoyed this book and I’m looking forward to reading the rest in the series. Charles Lenox is endearing, engaging and entertaining. He seems to have it all – but he has his flaws, too. There’s nothing worse than a protagonist who’s nothing but perfect, and Lenox is just the right amount of imperfect. The only thing better than the characters was the description and setting. I feel like I just got back from a trip to Victorian London! Which is exactly what I look for in my books – a fun escape. I didn’t try to figure out who done it – if I had, I would have been a little disappointed by the few times Lenox “made a call” or “asked a question” but the reader didn’t get to hear the answer (that’s always a pet peeve of mine). But this was so well written, and the description so engaging, that I was too busy being drawn along with the characters, the mystery and the social drama to be concerned about the clues. I would recommend this to anyone interested in a fun, engaging read that includes a little mystery.

posted by JaneGorman on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Great read, looking forward to the rest

    I enjoyed this book and I’m looking forward to reading the rest in the series. Charles Lenox is endearing, engaging and entertaining. He seems to have it all – but he has his flaws, too. There’s nothing worse than a protagonist who’s nothing but perfect, and Lenox is just the right amount of imperfect. The only thing better than the characters was the description and setting. I feel like I just got back from a trip to Victorian London! Which is exactly what I look for in my books – a fun escape. I didn’t try to figure out who done it – if I had, I would have been a little disappointed by the few times Lenox “made a call” or “asked a question” but the reader didn’t get to hear the answer (that’s always a pet peeve of mine). But this was so well written, and the description so engaging, that I was too busy being drawn along with the characters, the mystery and the social drama to be concerned about the clues. I would recommend this to anyone interested in a fun, engaging read that includes a little mystery.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Boo

    Thanjs to harriet klausner revealing every detail of a book, here is another book bn lost a sale to. Bn, please put a stop to this vain, rude person for ruining EVERY book she 'reviews'. After her so called reviews, there is no need to buy the book as she tells every plot point. If anyone else is sick of harriet klausner, call bn with title of book. They will delete her posts and hopefully with enough complaints, they will ban her!

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hooked

    I am hooked on this series, and have been since reading this first book. I'm a big fan of anything set in the Victorian era, and found lots of great detail in this book. Characters are believable, likable, and hold interest.

    I would recommend this author to fans of CS Harris - many similarities

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    Dear NOVEMBER 7th, a little advise, DO NOT READ Harriet Klausner's reviews. It works for me, because I would rather read the book. I read a lot of good book reviews, but when it comes to H.K. SKIP, SKIP, SKIP

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay

    I read quite a few rave reviews from my fellow reviewers so I decided to check it out and I was very disappointed. I love mysteries and I especially love historical novels. But I felt that the plot was not exciting and I didn't especially like Charles Lenox. In any mystery, I need twists in the plot and misdirection. Finch tried misdirection but he did it in boring way. All in all I really didn't like the novel and I had to make myself finish it. Maybe the rest of the series is better...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Enjoyable

    Very enjoyable reading. Reminded me of a mix of sherlock holmes, jack aubrey, and nick charles for some reason. I had recently finished the dragon tattoo books and found this a nice change.
    I enjoy period pieces and will be reading another soon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Very Good - the 1st of a (so far) 4 book series

    I bought this because I like Anne Perry's books and thought I would like this as well. And I do. Am on the 4th book of the series and like each book better than the last. (by the way, after a lifetime of book reading, I've come to enjoy reading on the Nook better - who knew?)

    The main characters are appealing and interesting and I've come to care about them a lot. Although I do not expect to see these books on the short list for the Booker or Nobel prizes, they are well-written and very enjoyable. Luckily for me the next on is coming out next month! Alas I have to wait until next March for the latest installment in the Maise Dobbs series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Not my cup of tea

    I'm a fan of mystery stories set in 1800s so I picked this book up after many recommendations. I wasn't entirely disappointed but I am sad I hadn't saved my money and merely borrowed the book. It wasn't that the story was bad-it was intriguing enough for me to finish the book. However, the last two chapters seemed entirely pointless and I found myself skimming paragraphs. I understand these chapters were to set up character development but after reading the entire book I still lacked any care about the main character, his female friend, and his family. I found their personalities very plain and couldn't make myself care one way or another about them. The read wasn't a complete waste of time but I wouldn't read it again or recommend it to someone looking for a keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amateur Dective finds keller!

    This book is about a wealthy Victorian gentleman who is an amateur detective, Mr. Charles Lenox and his neighbor who is his childhood friend, Lady Jane Grey, she apprises Lenox of the death of her former maid, Prudence, apparently by suicide and requests his assistance in solving her death. The cast of characters were interesting and the plot was well thought out. I enjoyed the writing but when the mystery was solved the book kept going and going.

    I would read another of his books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Period Story

    I'm a Sir Arthur Conan Doyle fan and love mysteries set in Britain and this time period,

    Charles Finch's style and storytelling are so satisfying. I looked forward to the time I set aside to read this book.

    Moving on to September Society now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very enjoyable read

    I am a big fan of mysteries set in Victorian England. A Beautiful Blue Death was very enjoyable and was definitely worth reading. The characters and setting were quite good. I especially enjoyed the interaction between the two brothers. I hope there will be a follow-up to this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Loved this book! Great mystery and great setting! Who knew Victo

    Loved this book! Great mystery and great setting! Who knew Victorian England was so interesting? Loved the Lennox and Lady Jane character and was taken by the end of the book. I have now requested Tea Time at my office much to the chagrin of everyone in it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    This book is as dry as all of the toast the main character consu

    This book is as dry as all of the toast the main character consume in this book. Honestly how much toast can a character eat and why does the author think this should be such an important part of the story. I was expecting a fun Victorian murder mystery but almost ended up being bored to death about details like toast. Not enough character development (unless you like boring characters who only think of their next tea or mindless conversation that has nothing to do with the plot) and the story drags.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Ugh

    Well written, but destroyed by the ridiculous premise that aristocracy of that time and place would have the smallest interest in the death of a former servant. Ridiculous! I seriously doubt the information would have gotten to this woman at all. Please, if you're going to write historical novels, don't color them to modern sensibilities. Women of that time were not free to do whatever they pleased, and servants were not treasured and lived, except possibly for very long term retainers, which this one certainly was not.

    I am so tired of all the Anne Perry followers out there, rewriting history to please themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Very good, I love the victrian setting, characters are interesti

    Very good, I love the victrian setting, characters are interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Kept me interested

    Different and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    On to book #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Uko Tawashi

    She kicked Cheese. "Go jump of a cliff." She said. "That langage isnt appropriate." She growled.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Silena

    But if i do leave know tht.....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7