Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction

Average Rating 4.5
( 298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I will recommend this book.

David Sheff did not miss a single experience of having a drug addicted child. He seconds guesses himself constantly, reads about it, asks questions, researches new and old treatment, loses sleep, deprives himself of other loved ones, sets aside his life over and over a...
David Sheff did not miss a single experience of having a drug addicted child. He seconds guesses himself constantly, reads about it, asks questions, researches new and old treatment, loses sleep, deprives himself of other loved ones, sets aside his life over and over again, is depressed, makes himself physically sick and the sinking feeling he would get when the phone rings and the feelings of hopelessness in getting help. He cannot turn to God. As a parent of a drug addicted son myself, Mr. Sheff didn't miss a beat. My son passed away 2 years ago and my family and I lived the life Mr. Sheff lived. I will always wonder if I could have done more or what did I miss from the very beginning. I had this book for over a year before I could bring myself to read it and I will give it to people going through this terrible experience.

posted by Linda58 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Well written!!!

I couldn't put it down, its was sad throughout the book but very well written.

posted by mkgiannos on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well written!!!

    I couldn't put it down, its was sad throughout the book but very well written.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Father vs. Writer

    Disappointment although I know the writer is an intelligent man this book that should have been so personal lacked feeling for me as a parent. He also skipped over many details about his sons' addiction. There were times that I did cry but those occasions were far and few between and most of the time it read like a text book. I have had addiction in my family and the book just left me lacking feeling

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Boy was an exhausting story about a father and his dru

    Beautiful Boy was an exhausting story about a father and his drug-addicted son. The book itself was well-written, packed full with tons of information about meth, and included the different angles of which experts try to combat this “disease”. The book has an interesting viewpoint from the father, which sheds light on the effects drugs may have on the user and the loved ones around him. Although the reader can get a clear sense of David’s anguish and may benefit from the immense amounts of information, the story is lacking. Like David’s internal struggle between his son and his family, the story finds conflict between plot and facts. Often we see whole chapters dedicated to the explanation of methamphetamines. This tends to break up the story line, and often resulted in a disinterest in the book as a whole. Furthermore, I found the story to be exasperating, as it often repeats the same issues: Nic goes missing, David is upset, Nic is found, Nic goes to rehab. Repeat. Then the story tapers off at the end. It didn’t need to have a perfect ending, but it should at least feel conclusive. In the end, I recommend this book to someone who might be having similar issues, and would like to find information and solace in one convenient book. Or I recommend reading this along with Tweak, a book by Nic Sheff. It would be an interesting experience to have both viewpoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Spoilers May Be Present (Have not decided yet): Beautiful Boy i

    Spoilers May Be Present (Have not decided yet):
    Beautiful Boy is a book about a man' s son who becomes addicted to meth (I guess you could consider that a spoiler). 
    The author starts the beginning of the book with Nic arriving home from college, showing him playing with his younger Siblings. This 
    is chosen as the start of the book because it shows Nic as more than just a drug addict, but a real person. David, the author, continues the story by 
    taking about Nic's childhood to show him as a good kid, just like anybody else's. Early on in the story David talks about his son's depression caused by the his divorce. This depression leads Nic to try drugs, always seeking the high to make himself feel better. The rest of the story consists of Nic going in and out of rehab.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Interesting stuff

    An interesting and enlightening read. Makes you think a lot about what it means to be afflicted by a drug addiction and the damage they cause to all concerned.

    I would recommend although the memoir did drag a little in places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Tweak Struck Harder

    I read this as a counterpart to Nick Sheff's book Tweak. After reading such a hard-hitting memoir, Beautiful Boy just didn't have much impact. It does offer another perspective, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    It is ok.

    This was a ok book. Started off pretty good but got boring after the middle. Maybe others will like better then I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    Insightful and awakening

    I found this book to be very helpful in my quest to understand a close family member's drug addiction. While each story is unique, each story and each experience also has commonalities, and knowing about these things we share - feelings, experiences - helps deal with the situation with more knowledge and with the feeling that you are not alone. I didn't find the author to be a very good writer, the first 1/4 of the book was over the top schmultzy and he spent too much time establishing the boy as the perfect, intelligent child. Perhaps all parents feel that way about their children but from the outside this section was contrived and not convincing. Once he got into the drug use, rehab and the parent's struggle, I found it to be a very compelling read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    I thought this was OK ... average

    I read both Tweak and Beautiful Boy. I like the sons book better, of course he was the one having all the fun. Beautiful boy is an ok book. Not sure that I would recommend it when there are so many others out there to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Too much for not enough

    I wouldn't know from experience, but I would assume that it's a difficult task writing about your son's addition to meth. I was interested to read this book because it seemed like it would be honest. I was correct, but it was a little too honest in that this author told every little tiny detail of every single little event of his son's life.

    Some passages in this book are beautiful, like the image of him and his son surfing on the Pacific Ocean. The waves push them further and further away until he has lost sight of his son, a beautiful metaphor for the book. But the sheer volume of stories and experiences and information really slow the book down as I approached the middle and end, where the book drags on in a Groundhog Day-esque fashion. It was exhausting finishing this book, and I think if Mr. Sheff had pared away some of the fluff it would have been a more positive experience. He tells the story beautifully, with heart and honesty, but he put a little too much irrelevant info to make me want to pay attention to every paragraph.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Beautiful Boy

    I liked the book but felt like the author was venting all his problems. I thought he discussed his own problems too much. He really worked hard with his son, but it was good he had such excellent health insurance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Too much medical info

    I was really interested in the story between the man and his son but all the medical talk got in the way. There would be 2 pages of the story followed by 5-6 pages of medical research information. Too much! I felt obligated to finish it though only to find out what happened with the relationship. Very boring and slow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Slow read

    The book is good overall, but it's really slow going. Maybe that just ties in with the journey of addiction. It also seems like the author tries to hard to insert pop culture to keep the readers interested. It's almost over-done at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2