Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 613 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(427)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE PUT THIS IN E-BOOK FORMAT!!!!!!!

I have all the other books on my Nook. I'd like to keep my series in the same format! PLEASE!!! I am actually re-reading the series to get ready for the new one. I love this series. There is always something going on and it's never boring. If you love the supernatural a...
I have all the other books on my Nook. I'd like to keep my series in the same format! PLEASE!!! I am actually re-reading the series to get ready for the new one. I love this series. There is always something going on and it's never boring. If you love the supernatural and love stories make sure to read this series!

posted by BubblesCO on April 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Where's the rest of the book?

I enjoyed the other books, but this one didn't do anything for me. I stayed up until 2 am to finish reading it , and at the end all I could think was, "I stayed up for this?!!!!!". I have nothing against endings that aren't "happily ever after", but there was no sense o...
I enjoyed the other books, but this one didn't do anything for me. I stayed up until 2 am to finish reading it , and at the end all I could think was, "I stayed up for this?!!!!!". I have nothing against endings that aren't "happily ever after", but there was no sense of closure. Where's the rest of the book?

posted by 1435046 on November 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read, still prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie ems...i t

    Great read, still prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie ems...i think) Just my opinion.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Love, family, sacrifice, redemption, trust, black, white, grey,

    Love, family, sacrifice, redemption, trust, black, white, grey, good, evil, lies, friendship, truth, loss, hope, these are just a few of the words that were left spinning in my head after I finished reading Beautiful Chaos, another perfect continuation of the Caster Chronicles series.

    Except for the necessities (like class, workstudy, & sleep) I never put this book down. I was thoroughly engrossed in the story from page one and I didn’t want to stop reading until it was completely finished. Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl have completely out did themselves again with this third installment. The bar was once again risen higher with more action, revelations, and unfortunately, sorrow.

    One thing I really enjoyed about this book is the switch in main-character focus. Although the entire series in one way or another revolves around Lena and the trouble her prophecy causes, Beautiful Chaos let her take a backseat in order to allow Ethan, his time to shine. Ethan’s progression as been nothing short of amazing. I truly believe that he is the heart and soul of the entire series and the steady rock that supports many of the characters. He is truly the story’s parfit gentil knight, true, chivalrousness, and well-mannered. Time after time, Ethan risks his own well-being to protect the ones he loves. Although he was recognized as the Wayward in the last novel, he learns in Beautiful Chaos that he has a destiny even greater than ever imagined. Beautiful Chaos is all about his own discovery, learning who he truly is, and what he’s not only capable of, but also expected to do in the grand scheme of things.

    Ethan isn’t the only shining character in Beautiful Chaos, other’s such as Amma, Link, and John Breed breakthrough as well. Amma, the closest motherly-figure Ethan has ever had, begins to struggles with inner and outer demons (literally), this time around. Throughout the book she holds a secret that pertains to a terrible future event, which she desperately tries to change, although she deep down knows must occur. This journey leads her into the darkest places she’s ever been not only physically but emotionally.

    Link whose entire world was turned upside down in book two has his own inner demons to deal with, as well. Between an extremist-religious mother, a certain new student/ex-Siren who wont admit her true feelings for him, and a new-way of living, Link’s got it rough. However, multiple times throughout the book he proves that even though his body and spirit has changed, he’s still the same brave, lovable, and downright dorkable boy he was before, just with a few extra quirks.

    I have to admit, after book two, I was not a fan of John Breed. Not only did he mess with *my* Link, he also was discovered to be working with very dark forces. Although I don’t want to give too much a way, I will say that he makes an appearance in Beautiful Chaos. We learn a lot about his past including who and what he truly is and what he’s capable of. He ends up finding his own path in this book and because it appears he has chosen to follow it; I’ve softened up towards him.

    Overall I give this book a 4.5/5 rating. If you haven’t checked out the first book I definitely recommend you do. You wont be dissapointed! This world is beautifully constructed with a plethora of fun, unique, and deep characters that you’ll instantly fall in love with. The warm and subtle wonders of Gatlin will leap right off the page leaving you with an instant feeling of being “at home”.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Loved

    I LOVE this series. Way Way Way better than the movie!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Love this book!!

    Great book! New book coming out, called Beautiful Redemption. Comes out in October.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Good

    I like this one better then he second because they were fighting together unril the end. Another great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Not disappointed.

    Sometimes in series, the story begins to get stale after the first or second book. But this one was just as good as the other two, kept me turning pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Sab

    I did leave fr a hi

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    What they do for love

    Its coming together. Got to love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved beautiful chaos!! I read so much and so quickly because somehow the story always kept me interested:) great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Loved it

    Can't wait to read the next one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This was a good read. The characters went for a crazy ride and it was hard for me to put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Lol Lol


    Definetly the best

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Llllll

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    I love this series...

    The first two books, really easy read...story line fun, characters interesting, and just fun books to read in general. This third installment a little slow at first...but it's just starting to get good, so I don't want to put it down. I'm a sci-fi, fiction reader and like to be taken to a different place when I read, these books do that for me!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Beautiful Chaos

    In this chapter of the series everything and everyone is falling apart. The 18th moon is coming and with it the end of the world. Only Ethan can stop it if he can only figure out how. Lots of clues are given to him but they are very cryptic and it takes till the end of the book for him to put all the pieces together. The ending is one that leave you in such a state that your only wish is that there is another chapter to this series and thank heavens there is!!! This book is not quite as good as the previous one but definitely worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I think this was my favorite in the series, at least so far.

    I think this was my favorite in the series, at least so far. We got past the second-book-separation (you know, in the second book when the moan couple inevitably breaks up) and I felt a lot more attached to there characters this time around.

    What I liked:
    - Maybe this can just be attributed to the fact that its the third book, and I'd had close to 1000 pages to get to know them before I even started, but I felt a lot more attached to the characters than I did with the first two books. I was honestly rooting for them all, which I definitely hadn't book in Beautiful Creatures and Beautiful Darkness. Even the bad-characters-turned-good, which has the potential to be a really annoying plot device, worked for me.

    - I liked the cliffhanger. It's the kind of thing that probably bothered some people, but I was okay with since there is another book. (I'm trying to avoid spoilers here, sorry I'm being vague) Although it could be ruined by the explanation come Beautiful Redemption, we'll have to see.

    - Not overly romancy. I'm not saying there was no mushy stuff--because there was a bit-- but it was a good balance of romance and paranormal for a book marketed as "paranormal romance" I think it filled its quota for both.

    What I didn't like:
    - This is clearly just related to the authors' styles, but its a bit slowed paced for my taste. It took more about a week or so to read, which is around twice as long as most book take me, and its only 100 pages longer than most books I read. There were some parts where I wished they'd just get on with it (like when they went to the Snow Ball. Gimme a break, after what had happened at the previous dance I think it would have been safe to go without that in this book) And at the end, as we approached the cliffhanger, the scene dragged on for 20 pages, and at that point I just wanted to finish the damn thing.

    - Jealous Lena. No. Just no. She kept getting jealous of Liv, which was ridiculous. What, Ethan's not allowed to have friends who are girls? Don't be controlling. And how could Lena actually think Ethan could ever date anyone else? They have a psyching connection for cryin' out loud! If he left her she could just former him while he was on dates by popping in for a Kelt like "Hey, remember me."

    Anyway, overall it was good. I liked the plot, I liked the characters. It hink this is a good series--not the best ever, but good. Right now I'm thinking its too bad that I have the first three in paperback, so I'll have to wait for Beautiful Redemption to come out in paperback in October.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Considering the high note that Beautiful Darkness left me on, I

    Considering the high note that Beautiful Darkness left me on, I have been dying for the past couple of years to begin reading the sequel Beautiful Chaos. I knew that Ethan and Lena’s journey would only lead to something far more exciting and something that would (of course) leave my breath taken away just like in the past two novels. If you’ve read the last two Caster Chronicles novels (and if you haven’t then what are you doing here? Go read the last two novels, this will be filled with spoilers) then you know that Lena (last chance) and Ethan Wate have been through just about everything together and after her going on a slightly emo rage in the last novel, the young couple now prepares to face the aftermath of Abraham Ravenwood’s return and the cataclysmic events that he threatens to bring.

    Beautiful Chaos starts after the events that took place in Beautiful Darkness, where Ethan and Lena are finally back together and things seem to be going back to normal… except for the part where everything in the small town of Gatlin seems to be going straight to hell. The weather has been reaching an all-time high, locusts are filling the sky and a “tornado” almost destroys all of Gatlin; It’s all because of Lena’s strange claiming that has left her as both a Light and Dark Caster. When the antagonist Abraham Ravenwood comes visiting Ethan in hopes of finding out the location of John Breed, it becomes clear that Abraham will go to extreme lengths to get what he wants. Upon discovering that there is something called the Wheel of Fate and that it plans to sacrifice somebody, Ethan fights to find out just who it is that has been prophesized to be killed and why it is that he keeps hearing a sullen song about eighteen moons that seems to always be one step ahead of him.

    The first thing that I noticed about Beautiful Chaos was that it started at a bit of a slow pace, but it also helped in reminding readers of all the things that happened in the last novel. That was helpful for me, considering that I read the last novel a couple of years ago and was drawing a blank when it came to what happened in the past novel.  The one thing that I liked about the beginning of Beautiful Chaos was that it gave off a dark feel that made the tone of the novel shift with the locusts filling the sky, Ethan seeming to have some major sensory issues and characters finally expressing their real emotions (I saw this mostly in Ridley).

    One thing that fans of the series will love so far is that Ethan gets these flashbacks of Sarafine back when she was claimed as a Dark Caster in her teenage years and shows how she evolved from a girl named Izabel to how she tried fighting the Darkness within her only to give up when Abraham Ravenwood appeared and began teaching her how to use her powers. We get to see her thoughts of Lena before she went totally insane and we see her right before she killed Lena’s father John Eades. I don’t want to give too much away, but Lena does indeed see her mother in this novel again and the two face off in a scene that (I think) is one of the most memorable in the series.

    The novel managed to keep up a pretty good pacing, it reached its high points when  it absolutely needed to and when things did get a bit slow, it was still exciting. I know that fans of the series will die when they read the end of the novel, not only because of the memorable scene mentioned above but because it ends on an absolute cliff-hanger that had me staring wide eyed. I’m so excited to read the next novel (especially so I can find out if what I think happened at the end of the novel didn’t actually happen).

    I would recommend the Caster Chronicles to fans of fantasy, those of us who want a story that you will not want to put down and readers who love epic YA romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Bangin

    These books are bangin af.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Chaos

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Breezi

    Anyone wanna tlk? Im 14

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6