Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Child

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Child

Life is full of struggles that one must overcome. In Torey Hayden¿s autobiography Beautiful Child, not only does the reader see the struggles of being a Special Education teacher, but also gets a look into the strong bond that a teacher and student develop. Through her ...
Life is full of struggles that one must overcome. In Torey Hayden¿s autobiography Beautiful Child, not only does the reader see the struggles of being a Special Education teacher, but also gets a look into the strong bond that a teacher and student develop. Through her unique style of writing Hayden creates a story that keeps the reader both wanting to keep going and cheering her on as she struggles to help her students. Throughout the book, Hayden manages a classroom in which no day goes without there being a fight. Hayden¿s class is composed of six-year-old twins with fetal alcohol syndrome, a nine-year-old with Tourette¿s syndrome, another nine-year-old who has behavior problems that have caused him to come face to face with expulsion twice and then Venus who has become almost permanently silenced by her abusing stepfather. Through Venus, Hayden opens people¿s eyes, especially mine, to the sad reality that some children actually do go through when they go home. Venus¿s silence gives Hayden a new challenge: getting her to open up. It is through Venus that the bond and the will of a teacher to help her student are truly visible. It is through all her students though, that Hayden reveals 'to people like me who don¿t know anything about special education classes' how chaotic and hard it can be to run a class in which students do not choose to misbehave but can¿t control themselves. Hayden¿s descriptions of her classes give even some of my noisiest classes a sense of calmness. Hayden has a very special style of writing that not only keeps the reader interested but also lets her feelings soak through the pages. Hayden also gives the reader a reality check and shows how in some cases school is a better place for children especially those who have parents that are just waiting to abuse them mentally or physically.

posted by Anonymous on March 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing ending.

Well written and interesting. The author spends most of the book discussing the episodes she had with Venus and her classmates. You find yourself becoming invested in the welfare of this poor child. I had a problem with the ending of the book. Once it is discovered what...
Well written and interesting. The author spends most of the book discussing the episodes she had with Venus and her classmates. You find yourself becoming invested in the welfare of this poor child. I had a problem with the ending of the book. Once it is discovered what has caused Venus' condition, you are given a minimal amount of information as to what happens to her. There is little information as to Venus' future welfare. I found it frustrating and a let-down.

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Beautiful Child

    Life is full of struggles that one must overcome. In Torey Hayden¿s autobiography Beautiful Child, not only does the reader see the struggles of being a Special Education teacher, but also gets a look into the strong bond that a teacher and student develop. Through her unique style of writing Hayden creates a story that keeps the reader both wanting to keep going and cheering her on as she struggles to help her students. Throughout the book, Hayden manages a classroom in which no day goes without there being a fight. Hayden¿s class is composed of six-year-old twins with fetal alcohol syndrome, a nine-year-old with Tourette¿s syndrome, another nine-year-old who has behavior problems that have caused him to come face to face with expulsion twice and then Venus who has become almost permanently silenced by her abusing stepfather. Through Venus, Hayden opens people¿s eyes, especially mine, to the sad reality that some children actually do go through when they go home. Venus¿s silence gives Hayden a new challenge: getting her to open up. It is through Venus that the bond and the will of a teacher to help her student are truly visible. It is through all her students though, that Hayden reveals 'to people like me who don¿t know anything about special education classes' how chaotic and hard it can be to run a class in which students do not choose to misbehave but can¿t control themselves. Hayden¿s descriptions of her classes give even some of my noisiest classes a sense of calmness. Hayden has a very special style of writing that not only keeps the reader interested but also lets her feelings soak through the pages. Hayden also gives the reader a reality check and shows how in some cases school is a better place for children especially those who have parents that are just waiting to abuse them mentally or physically.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing read...

    As an educator, I love everything I have read about Torey Hayden and her experiences in the special education classroom. She portrays it as it is without reservations, including her feelings and what actually happens. Most education books are dry and do not explain real life scenarios. Torey Hayden tells her personal stories, showing that life in the classroom is not cut and dry and you have to deal with many unexpected consequences of working with such a special population. This story shows how she was finally able to reach a little girl who never said a word, and how Torey was able to unravel the entire story and find the underlying cause. I suggest reading all of her books over and over again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    A great, heartlifting and heartbreaking novel!

    Wow! This novel was the best I have read in a VERY long time. It's so heartbreaking at some points, then charming and happy the next. . . an emmotional roller coaster, for sure! I hated and loved this book all at once. I usually never come close to tears with books, the last I did so was in third grade with 'Where the Red Fern Grows', but with this novel, at the end (not to give anything away) I nearly broke into tears! A great novel indeed, I would think that it must be one of Torey Hayden's best! Nothing can compare to the greatness or memorability of 'Beautiful Child'. READ IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    Beautiful Child

    This book is really great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    Disappointing ending.

    Well written and interesting. The author spends most of the book discussing the episodes she had with Venus and her classmates. You find yourself becoming invested in the welfare of this poor child. I had a problem with the ending of the book. Once it is discovered what has caused Venus' condition, you are given a minimal amount of information as to what happens to her. There is little information as to Venus' future welfare. I found it frustrating and a let-down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    wonderful

    the book is very good and hard to put down and my mom loves Torey L. Hayden work and her books are well worth buying all of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    wonderful

    This is a wonderful book. I found it very hard to put the book down. I really enjoyed all the details of her experiences and the emotions. It was described so well. I will definately be reading more of her books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    Beautiful Child

    This is a very good book that tells what some of the effects of abuse are on young children. Torey Hayden's books are awesome. I couln't put this book down. The other books by her are equally engaging, and I think a lot of people would love them. I mean, I do and I am only 13. (A Child Called It and the rest of that trilogy by David Pelzer are also very good)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Wonderful

    I am a Mom as well as a social worker and teacher. This book was easy to read and brought to mind children I have worked with. Great job Torey!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    Excellent!

    This was a great - very real book. It was hard to put down - I couldn't wait to see how things turned out. This is the first book I have read by this author, and I will definitely read more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    Slightly Different Voice - Same Wonderful Storytelling

    Torey Hayden again tells the story of one of her special education classrooms. Again she is able to nearly hypnotize the reader, rendering them unable to put down the book. Again she knows how to use the perfect mixture of humor and pain to create a story told from truth. The only difference between this book and her others is the fact that there has been a large time gap between the writing of them. Torey has changed is some way concerning the way she writes, which makes the whole reading experience a little more exciting and special. Read this book - you won't regret doing so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    Beautiful Story

    Because she had gone for so long without publishing a new book, I had almost given up that Torey Hayden would be writing another book. BEAUTIFUL CHILD was worth waiting for. Full of little wisdoms and consolations, it follows the course of a school year & the tribulations of a gifted teacher. The title character of BEAUTIFUL CHILD is a little girl who refuses to talk & the surprising way she finally speaks is redeeming and uplifting . Hayden has a special gift for the dialogue of young children so that there is not a false note in the story. The reader is drawn into the classroom because he cares about the participants. I just wish there were more Torey Haydens, both as teachers and as writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    absolute great book

    i thought it was gonna be something so stupid. Its a great book, its very real and i enjoyed it very much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2