Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2753 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1613)

4 Star

(606)

3 Star

(278)

2 Star

(132)

1 Star

(124)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

113 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

Delicious Reading: Beautiful Creatures

Words, alone, cannot effectively express the LOVE I feel for this book. For this one, I definitely need more than words. Maybe words, mixed with a myriad of blissfully, excited facial expressions, with lots and lots of exaggerated hand movements thrown in, may paint a c...
Words, alone, cannot effectively express the LOVE I feel for this book. For this one, I definitely need more than words. Maybe words, mixed with a myriad of blissfully, excited facial expressions, with lots and lots of exaggerated hand movements thrown in, may paint a clearer picture. But, then again, I'm not so sure that would even suffice in capturing the intense feelings I harbor for this book.

Beautiful Creatures is a must read for 2009! Possibly for 2010 and 2011, too! It is one of those books you want to snuggle on the couch with and read its entire contents, start to finish (yes, all 567 pages) in one sitting. It's almost as if the pages themselves have been laced with some sort of happy drug, which successfully pulls you out of this world and transports you straight into the beautifully written pages this novel holds. I'm constantly searching for books like Beautiful Creatures--novels that are so yummy and delicious that you have to restrain yourself from devouring, at once-- and I'm so happy I just happened to stumble across this masterfully written, epic novel. Lucky me!

The two main characters, Lena and Ethan, seem like real people. Almost as if, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, plucked two unsuspecting teenagers from a nearby high school and inserted them into this wonderfully captivating story. What's so fascinating about these two characters is the fact that they're so real, yet so different from anyone else, at the same time. (Pure genius, I tell you!)

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even with the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

And, in a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

The authors successfully weave this magical (in every sense of the word) story about Ethan, your typical high school boy, who wants nothing more than to leave his small home town of Gatlin, and an anything BUT normal girl, Lena, who craves the normalcy that so many take for granted--Ethan included.

Along with the sweet love story, which slowly buds from friendship and beyond, there is a little bit of everything: high school drama, heart ache, acceptance, dysfunctional families (coming from both sides), a little bit of history (for all of those history buffs out there), and mystery at every turn and twist in this blissfully original plot that leaves you salivating and constantly wanting MORE, MORE, MORE!

There is no doubt in my mind that readers will snatch this book up, instantaneously, and completely devour this delicious read. Actually, I encourage this behavior because it is just that good!

Beautiful Creatures is ultimately addictive--hence the drugs--so I strongly recommend [imagine me screaming from the roof tops] for you to pick up your copy...NOW!

Not tomorrow. RIGHT. NOW!

In the mean time, I'll be here, sitting on my couch, drooling over Beautiful Creatures, anxiously awaiting the next installment of this five part series.

www.kim-franklin.blogspot.com

posted by Kim-Franklin on December 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

149 out of 251 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

I'm usually a fan of YA paranormal. And I love nothing more than a big, fat book that lasts for more than a few hours.

Unfortunately, Beautiful Creatures just didn't resonate with me. It took an incredibly long time for anything to happen. The first 100-200 pages wer...
I'm usually a fan of YA paranormal. And I love nothing more than a big, fat book that lasts for more than a few hours.

Unfortunately, Beautiful Creatures just didn't resonate with me. It took an incredibly long time for anything to happen. The first 100-200 pages were all backstory and useless. Why would a book need to be 600 pages when more than 100 pages were pointless? It felt like very poor editing.

And then the narrator is a fifteen year old boy with the perception and observations of a twenty-something young lady. It felt very, very off, which was disappointing. I would have loved to see a strong male lead, rather than what a girl wishes a boy sounds like.

All in all it wasn't a bad book. Just not anywhere near the level it should be based on the hype.

posted by Jamagan on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2759 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 138
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    Not my favorite

    I'm usually a fan of YA paranormal. And I love nothing more than a big, fat book that lasts for more than a few hours.

    Unfortunately, Beautiful Creatures just didn't resonate with me. It took an incredibly long time for anything to happen. The first 100-200 pages were all backstory and useless. Why would a book need to be 600 pages when more than 100 pages were pointless? It felt like very poor editing.

    And then the narrator is a fifteen year old boy with the perception and observations of a twenty-something young lady. It felt very, very off, which was disappointing. I would have loved to see a strong male lead, rather than what a girl wishes a boy sounds like.

    All in all it wasn't a bad book. Just not anywhere near the level it should be based on the hype.

    149 out of 251 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Delicious Reading: Beautiful Creatures

    Words, alone, cannot effectively express the LOVE I feel for this book. For this one, I definitely need more than words. Maybe words, mixed with a myriad of blissfully, excited facial expressions, with lots and lots of exaggerated hand movements thrown in, may paint a clearer picture. But, then again, I'm not so sure that would even suffice in capturing the intense feelings I harbor for this book.

    Beautiful Creatures is a must read for 2009! Possibly for 2010 and 2011, too! It is one of those books you want to snuggle on the couch with and read its entire contents, start to finish (yes, all 567 pages) in one sitting. It's almost as if the pages themselves have been laced with some sort of happy drug, which successfully pulls you out of this world and transports you straight into the beautifully written pages this novel holds. I'm constantly searching for books like Beautiful Creatures--novels that are so yummy and delicious that you have to restrain yourself from devouring, at once-- and I'm so happy I just happened to stumble across this masterfully written, epic novel. Lucky me!

    The two main characters, Lena and Ethan, seem like real people. Almost as if, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, plucked two unsuspecting teenagers from a nearby high school and inserted them into this wonderfully captivating story. What's so fascinating about these two characters is the fact that they're so real, yet so different from anyone else, at the same time. (Pure genius, I tell you!)

    Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even with the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

    Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

    And, in a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

    The authors successfully weave this magical (in every sense of the word) story about Ethan, your typical high school boy, who wants nothing more than to leave his small home town of Gatlin, and an anything BUT normal girl, Lena, who craves the normalcy that so many take for granted--Ethan included.

    Along with the sweet love story, which slowly buds from friendship and beyond, there is a little bit of everything: high school drama, heart ache, acceptance, dysfunctional families (coming from both sides), a little bit of history (for all of those history buffs out there), and mystery at every turn and twist in this blissfully original plot that leaves you salivating and constantly wanting MORE, MORE, MORE!

    There is no doubt in my mind that readers will snatch this book up, instantaneously, and completely devour this delicious read. Actually, I encourage this behavior because it is just that good!

    Beautiful Creatures is ultimately addictive--hence the drugs--so I strongly recommend [imagine me screaming from the roof tops] for you to pick up your copy...NOW!

    Not tomorrow. RIGHT. NOW!

    In the mean time, I'll be here, sitting on my couch, drooling over Beautiful Creatures, anxiously awaiting the next installment of this five part series.

    www.kim-franklin.blogspot.com

    113 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A really good book. A change from all the horrible authors out there.

    I am a really picky reader. I read about 4 books a month...if not more..but it's always really hard for me to pick a good book. Especially now, when there are so many awful authors out there trying to be the next Stephanie Meyer...which is exactly what they are doing. To give you an example, some of my favorite authors are Patricia Briggs, Karen Chance, Cassandra Clare, J.K. Rowling and Stephanie Meyer. My mom actually picked out Beautiful Creatures for me, and because she has the same taste of book as me, I listened and read it. It was great. Now, it's not as good as the Twilight, Harry Potter, or Mortal Instrument books. I would classify it with the Witch series by Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguie. However, this book is better than the Witch Series, that's just where I would classify it around. The characters are funny and you instantly love them, such as Amma and Marion. It's an adorable love story but it also has a mix of southern ism and supernatural stuff. It's a really good book. If you like the kinds of books I do you should love it.

    97 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enchanting, Magical, Romantic..

    The instant I began this book I was caught up in it. Ethan, a high school basketball player who hangs out with the popular group, begins having dreams with him and another mysterious girl he has never met before. He doesn't know what they mean, all he knows is that they are always in danger. One day the girl of his dreams(literally), Lena, moves into town. From that point stranger events happen, including tales of magic, curses, witches, and love. A wonderful novel and a must read. You will get lost in the magical word of "Beautiful Creatures"

    56 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My daughter insisted I read this book!

    I'm so glad she did! I'm not a YA, far from it, and I'm so not a Harry Potter fan, BUT, I'll have to admit I really enjoyed this lovely book. The engaging plot haunts your every thought. It's a huge book but you won't notice the pages flying by. It's fast moving, no time for boredom to set in. Ethan and Lena's relationship is genuine and real and the "magic", in more ways than one, strengthens their bond. It's not mushy, shallow, cliche or over done, thank goodness! Love overcomes prejudice, Southern living and a taste of magic all blend together to create an enjoyable read, and you don't have to be a young adult to enjoy it. Some other books I love and recommend to all ages...

    42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Woww...this book was anything but beautiful

    I read a lot so i of course picked this book up and thought it would be interesting based on the back of it. It was really good throughout the book and I loved how she was either going to go light or dark, but I didn't get the end. Did she turn light or dark? it seems like she was half and half...but that doesn't make sense. It was pretty much a pointless 500 pages. The town was stupid, the north and south references were boring, and the magical library was the cheesiest thing ever. I would not recommend this book to anyone. It wasn't worth my time.

    25 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Please, not even hesitate...read it now!!!!!!

    OMG this in an amazing book, such an incredible and well-developed story, what a charming place, perfect characters, and above all, so original point of view about this famed topic. I can just congratulate the authors who made a wonderful job, put you just in this little town of Gattlin, with the beautiful manner of speaking of the South, the customs and traditions, the food, oh the food!!! Ethan the main character and the narrator, is adorable, so real and cute and deep but with the correct form for a 16 years old boy, and Lena, charming and sweet, but perfectly recreated as a 15 years old girl....lovely! and you must know you gonna end up loving the secondary characters too, cuz their strong and well-defined and have their own light, amazing ah?? I first read it cuz i heard it will be a movi based on this book, and gosh it´s gonna be a wonderful movie, can´t wait!!!!
    Buy it, read it, and love it!!
    If not, you can always complian to me!!

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a fan of YA paranormal and I enjoyed this book. The writing

    I'm a fan of YA paranormal and I enjoyed this book. The writing was excellent, the characters likeable. will read again.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Props for prose, but not for storyline

    I read the good reviews and liked nothing better than a fat book to last me a while, so I bought Beautiful Creatures. The summaries and reviews detailed things I liked to read about - YA paranormal romance - so it seemed perfectly good to try. However, after about 200 pages I was still waiting for something to happen - something that I actually cared about. This book was way too slow to get to the point. There doesn't seem to be much potential for chemistry at ALL. It annoyed me how much Lena tried to keep the kid, whatever his name is, away, and how the gathering the main guy character went to was really wacky. I mean, the writing itself is good - nothing too cheesy, more or less nicely descriptive, and I totally got the whole Southern feel. But I didn't get a feel for the story, and I didn't care. The whole point of a book is to make the reader care. I might return to this book when it's the last book on Earth to read, but not before then. I don't want to know what happens at the end...because nothing probably does. I would never recommend this to anyone except the sort of people who like to read dictionaries and whatnot. In essence, it's boring from cover to cover.

    20 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Creatures Book Review

    I love to read anything dealing with mythology, and Beautiful Creatures delivered. It gives you mystery, love, humor and heartache. The fact that it written from a Male POV is one of the highlights of the book. It gives us a break from the usual Female POV that 95% of books are written in. I enjoyed learning a new world which is Casters. Its not your normal witch and spells, which is great. The connection between Lena and Ethan was well written. One question I still have is what is Ethan? and now that we know that Macon's life was bargain for Ethan, Does that mean Ethan will become a Incubus like Macon? The only reason I didn't give it the 5 stars was I sort of didn't care for the parts that talked about the battles between the South and the North. This was not my strongest subject in school. So I will tell you I am very excited to read the next book in the series Beautiful Darkness.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Ethan Wate lives at the epicenter of nowhere in Gatlin, South Carolina. Only two kinds of people live in Gatlin, "the stupid and the stuck," and Ethan doesn't consider himself in either of those categories.

    He isn't sure what he wants to do with the rest of his life, but he knows he wants out of town. It doesn't matter to him what college he goes to as long as it is 1,000 miles away from Gatlin. As summer comes to an end, Ethan prepares himself for another typical school year.

    Only one thing out of the ordinary has been happening over the last several months - a recurring dream that leaves Ethan gasping for breath, soaking wet from sweat, and questioning his sanity. Always the same, a girl calling his name for help. The girl slipping through his fingers and tumbling down to the ground. A great sense of loss and the lingering scent of lemons and rosemary.

    When Lena Duchannes moves into Gatlin's oldest and most infamous plantation, she causes quite a stir in town. She causes a stir in Ethan, as well. When he sees her and realizes she is the girl from his dreams, he is drawn to her both out of need and curiosity.

    Mystery surrounds Lena as she attempts to make a place for herself in the community while also maintaining her individuality. Ethan's eyes are opened to a complicated world of danger and magic as he attempts to figure out his role in Lena's complicated world.

    BEAUTIFUL CREATURES is a masterfully written tale that weaves together a story of love, the importance of family loyalty, and the difficulties of choosing between good and evil. Garcia and Stohl create a world where readers can lose themselves and be content.

    Readers will beg for a sequel when they reach the last page.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Twilight meets Southern Roots

    This book opens up both a Southern Culture and a new twist on teen romance. Unlike Twilight, it's written from the boy's perspective. Being the first in the series, it shows some promise with creative and unique characters. The writing is so visual that you have no problems placing yourselves among the teens. If you liked Twilight get ready to enjoy Beautiful Creatures. I look forward to more work from Kami and Margaret. To hear more from the authors join the Beautiful Creatures Facebook account.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I expected...but still good

    I started this book thinking it was going to be about ghosts or something since the synopsis talks about graves and curses, but I was wrong. This is a book about witches or Casters as they are called in Beautiful Creatures. The story was long but I never felt like it was slow. Some questions are never really addressed in the book but I think that they leave enough room for a second book which I would defiantly read. Overall a very good book.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible - where are these stars comming from?

    This book was really bad. There was no real story, meaning, characterization. Nada. I finished it ONLY because everyone was saying it was so good and I wanted to find something good about it but again...nada. I do not recommend this book. I have read many, many, many books in my life time and have been disappointed before but this one puts the icing on the cake. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME.

    13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Read

    I found this book by chance when searching online for books to read. I bought and it must have sat on my desk for over 2 weeks. I don't know why, I just didn't have an desire to pick it up and read it. When I did eventually, I was completely and utterly blown away. This story is unlike anything that I've ever read before and I felt that it kept me on edge throughout the whole pace of the book. I enjoyed how Lena came into the book right away within the first 20 pages, because it didn't get boring. I loved how the authors portrayed Amma's and Macon's characters. I felt everyone should have a person like Amma (minus the voo-doo like stuff) with them growing up. Ethan was probably my favorite character, because he grew so much throughtout the story as a person. He went from just trying to fit in and go with the flow till he could escape Gatlin, to deciding to stand out and support a person he barely knew, not caring what everyeone else thought of him. This book's ending made it seem like a sequel was coming in the future, and I hope it does. I'm a fan of these writers and I hope that they write more books together. They work great as a team. This story was so well crafted and written, that it felt real. I would reccomend this book to anyone who wants a wonderful, long (which is great) book to read. It's a page turned, and will have you on your the edge of your seat throughout the story.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book, still prefer Fallen Angel more though

    Great book, still prefer Fallen Angel more though

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Happy

    Loved it! They r going to make this into a movie! So excited! - Selena Gomez

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Greatest Book

    This book was great i couldn"t put it down...can"t wait for the next one!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Tragic, Romantic, Historical Masterpiece that I could not put down.

    For awhile now I had seen this book in the stores and online, and I tried to read it once in the store, but got caught up in another book. However, I finally checked it out of the library, and now I wish I had bought it for my own.

    The story is gripping and thrilling tale of Ethan Wate (set mostly in his point of view) who falls in love with a girl who...not wanting to put any spoilers in, let's just say...has a secret.

    Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl took a quite common plot, boy and girl are different but they fall in love anyway, but they have to face certain obstucles to be together, the authors took that and made it into something that, for me, told me a lot about myself.

    Perhaps it's just me, but Ethan is very relatable as a person and that is why I believe the authors did such a wonderful job on developing the characters and making them into something real. Because I found Ethan so relatable I cared more about him and Lena and that was how I got sucked into the book.

    Also, there are a lot of Historical aspects of this books that many people will enjoy. If you're not a fan of history, I'm not saying don't buy it, because the history is...not scarce, but you don't have to be a historian to figure out what their talking about, but it is a pretty big aspect of the book.

    The things that did it for me, and made me love this book, was Lena and Ethan's relationship. The story takes you from A. When they met and through all the twist and turns, the awkwardness, the ups and down of relationships until point B. When they fall in love and it's developed quite nicely and realisticly. Not like in many stories when they just fall in love like that.

    Overall I think people will really enjoy this book, I certainly did. The story makes you wonder about a lot of things and question the world around you, kind of like history does.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Waiting for a second book...

    This was an okay book. I liked that the point of view was from a male character. Many of the YA books I have read are usually from a female point of view.
    The story takes place in a small southern town that is deep into its southern history and traditions pre civil war. Ethan the main character complains that nothing happens there and longs to leave that town. He starts having very realistic dreams about a girl he doesn't know. Then a new student arrives at the school named Lena. He finds out that she is the one he has been dreaming of and that she is far from normal.
    The book does leave you with a lot of questions at the end, which leads me to believe that there will be a second in the series (at least I hope so).

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2759 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 138