Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2736 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1605)

4 Star

(597)

3 Star

(279)

2 Star

(132)

1 Star

(123)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

113 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

Delicious Reading: Beautiful Creatures

Words, alone, cannot effectively express the LOVE I feel for this book. For this one, I definitely need more than words. Maybe words, mixed with a myriad of blissfully, excited facial expressions, with lots and lots of exaggerated hand movements thrown in, may paint a c...
Words, alone, cannot effectively express the LOVE I feel for this book. For this one, I definitely need more than words. Maybe words, mixed with a myriad of blissfully, excited facial expressions, with lots and lots of exaggerated hand movements thrown in, may paint a clearer picture. But, then again, I'm not so sure that would even suffice in capturing the intense feelings I harbor for this book.

Beautiful Creatures is a must read for 2009! Possibly for 2010 and 2011, too! It is one of those books you want to snuggle on the couch with and read its entire contents, start to finish (yes, all 567 pages) in one sitting. It's almost as if the pages themselves have been laced with some sort of happy drug, which successfully pulls you out of this world and transports you straight into the beautifully written pages this novel holds. I'm constantly searching for books like Beautiful Creatures--novels that are so yummy and delicious that you have to restrain yourself from devouring, at once-- and I'm so happy I just happened to stumble across this masterfully written, epic novel. Lucky me!

The two main characters, Lena and Ethan, seem like real people. Almost as if, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, plucked two unsuspecting teenagers from a nearby high school and inserted them into this wonderfully captivating story. What's so fascinating about these two characters is the fact that they're so real, yet so different from anyone else, at the same time. (Pure genius, I tell you!)

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even with the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

And, in a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

The authors successfully weave this magical (in every sense of the word) story about Ethan, your typical high school boy, who wants nothing more than to leave his small home town of Gatlin, and an anything BUT normal girl, Lena, who craves the normalcy that so many take for granted--Ethan included.

Along with the sweet love story, which slowly buds from friendship and beyond, there is a little bit of everything: high school drama, heart ache, acceptance, dysfunctional families (coming from both sides), a little bit of history (for all of those history buffs out there), and mystery at every turn and twist in this blissfully original plot that leaves you salivating and constantly wanting MORE, MORE, MORE!

There is no doubt in my mind that readers will snatch this book up, instantaneously, and completely devour this delicious read. Actually, I encourage this behavior because it is just that good!

Beautiful Creatures is ultimately addictive--hence the drugs--so I strongly recommend [imagine me screaming from the roof tops] for you to pick up your copy...NOW!

Not tomorrow. RIGHT. NOW!

In the mean time, I'll be here, sitting on my couch, drooling over Beautiful Creatures, anxiously awaiting the next installment of this five part series.

www.kim-franklin.blogspot.com

posted by Kim-Franklin on December 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

149 out of 250 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

I'm usually a fan of YA paranormal. And I love nothing more than a big, fat book that lasts for more than a few hours.

Unfortunately, Beautiful Creatures just didn't resonate with me. It took an incredibly long time for anything to happen. The first 100-200 pages wer...
I'm usually a fan of YA paranormal. And I love nothing more than a big, fat book that lasts for more than a few hours.

Unfortunately, Beautiful Creatures just didn't resonate with me. It took an incredibly long time for anything to happen. The first 100-200 pages were all backstory and useless. Why would a book need to be 600 pages when more than 100 pages were pointless? It felt like very poor editing.

And then the narrator is a fifteen year old boy with the perception and observations of a twenty-something young lady. It felt very, very off, which was disappointing. I would have loved to see a strong male lead, rather than what a girl wishes a boy sounds like.

All in all it wasn't a bad book. Just not anywhere near the level it should be based on the hype.

posted by Jamagan on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Woww...this book was anything but beautiful

    I read a lot so i of course picked this book up and thought it would be interesting based on the back of it. It was really good throughout the book and I loved how she was either going to go light or dark, but I didn't get the end. Did she turn light or dark? it seems like she was half and half...but that doesn't make sense. It was pretty much a pointless 500 pages. The town was stupid, the north and south references were boring, and the magical library was the cheesiest thing ever. I would not recommend this book to anyone. It wasn't worth my time.

    25 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible - where are these stars comming from?

    This book was really bad. There was no real story, meaning, characterization. Nada. I finished it ONLY because everyone was saying it was so good and I wanted to find something good about it but again...nada. I do not recommend this book. I have read many, many, many books in my life time and have been disappointed before but this one puts the icing on the cake. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME.

    13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Surely this was a rough draft.....

    The story reads like an 8th grade creative writing assignment, albeit written by an imaginative author, utterly lacking in anything that would imply it ought to be published in anything other than a school paper.
    Now a major motion picture, this might be better to see than read...special effects, a distracting soundtrack, and substantial deviation from the story as written could make it just the thing to experience while fading in and out of an influenza induced fever.
    Save your money & time...I suspect Beautiful Creatures will be best enjoyed on Netflix, not your nook.

    *one star given as a 'participated* award.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    boringly feminine

    i read a few reviews before getting the free sample, and the person who said that the main character was feminine was correct. this book is not worth the money. it doesnt have that certain catch to it that would make you want to read it

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    I didn't make it past page 10. The entire book is narrated, and

    I didn't make it past page 10. The entire book is narrated, and I prefer books that are told in the first person. 

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    I got this book at the library last summer because one of my friends recommended it to me. I realize now that my friend is mental, and has a terrible taste in books. This book was EXTREMELY SLOW!!! The first 200 pages were absolutely pointless. To be fair, the end was slightly better then the rest of the book. I had to drag myself through this book. I don't talk to my friend anymore... just kidding :) . I just zone out whenever she starts talking about books she likes. :D

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    B&n

    I didnt read this yet but trying to get an honest review has been impossable. B&n really needs to get rid of obvious trolls. Enable it so valid b&n account only to review.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    I did not like it at all

    I did not like it at all it SUCKED

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Not to be rude

    This book wasnt exactly a page turner the book was a little crazy. It was hard to keep up. Its plot was everywhere but nowhere at the same time. I recommend waiting for the movie. I needed things to read and it took me a month to read 75% of the book. But i liked the main plot. The writing was a little bland. Just giving my opion.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Awful book

    Frankly i dont understand why anyone would read it or even like it or how they could get passed pg100 as its boring. If you like slow books that drag by and you have to drag yourself to get to pg100 this book's for you.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Boring, dry, and terrible overall

    This book bored me out of my mind. There was nothing exciting nor appealing to happen in this book. The love theme is complete crap. Ethans character sounds more like a teenage girl of his age written by an adult author trying to be a poetic spirit. Kudos to the authors to briing forth a male narrative which is uncommon in YA fiction these days. I hated Lena and the whole premise of Castor and whatever crap. I was bored out of my mind throughout the story and all that happened was predictable. The climax itself was bland and full of "action crap" . Do not read this book. Unless you are one of the millions of readers that evidently need a love theme to pull themselves through a terribly written book. Which is sad.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    TO NUMBER THIRTEEN OR ' NAME IS ANNIKA'

    MY NAME IS ANNIKA TOO! SPELLED EXACTALLY LIKE THAT TOO
    HEY CAN YOU BE ONE OF MY NOOK FRIENDS?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Beyond boring

    I've tried several times to read this book but its way to slow and mentions things that doesn't even have to do with the plot. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone. I hate twilight but I think this one has to be the worst book yet.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    I actually didn't enjoy it.

    I felt that it became way too complicated way too fast and was over-all rather depressing. I wouldn't recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Do not waste ur time

    For two such educated women they sure do suck at writing. And i think i have an idea why. The acknowledgements admit to "getting help" from one of their teenaged daughters. Horrible disappointment this book was.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Um

    WORST BOOK EVER!! I MEAN TALK ABOUT THOMAS THE TRAIN!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Missed the target

    The story could have been good, but left me lost . Aimed in a good direction but missed by a mile. The charachters lacked character, insight, they never showed groweth. Gerrrrr, the book that was almost worth reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I always read the book before the movie

    Twilight to The Notebook. I always read the book before the movie. I saw the book around but never read it, until i saw the movie trailer, the book had no voice. The movie is soooo good, eatch the movie, don't read the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!ahhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!

    BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Crap

    Sucks

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7