BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2752 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1612)

4 Star

(606)

3 Star

(278)

2 Star

(132)

1 Star

(124)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

113 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

Delicious Reading: Beautiful Creatures

Words, alone, cannot effectively express the LOVE I feel for this book. For this one, I definitely need more than words. Maybe words, mixed with a myriad of blissfully, excited facial expressions, with lots and lots of exaggerated hand movements thrown in, may paint a c...
Words, alone, cannot effectively express the LOVE I feel for this book. For this one, I definitely need more than words. Maybe words, mixed with a myriad of blissfully, excited facial expressions, with lots and lots of exaggerated hand movements thrown in, may paint a clearer picture. But, then again, I'm not so sure that would even suffice in capturing the intense feelings I harbor for this book.

Beautiful Creatures is a must read for 2009! Possibly for 2010 and 2011, too! It is one of those books you want to snuggle on the couch with and read its entire contents, start to finish (yes, all 567 pages) in one sitting. It's almost as if the pages themselves have been laced with some sort of happy drug, which successfully pulls you out of this world and transports you straight into the beautifully written pages this novel holds. I'm constantly searching for books like Beautiful Creatures--novels that are so yummy and delicious that you have to restrain yourself from devouring, at once-- and I'm so happy I just happened to stumble across this masterfully written, epic novel. Lucky me!

The two main characters, Lena and Ethan, seem like real people. Almost as if, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, plucked two unsuspecting teenagers from a nearby high school and inserted them into this wonderfully captivating story. What's so fascinating about these two characters is the fact that they're so real, yet so different from anyone else, at the same time. (Pure genius, I tell you!)

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even with the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

And, in a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

The authors successfully weave this magical (in every sense of the word) story about Ethan, your typical high school boy, who wants nothing more than to leave his small home town of Gatlin, and an anything BUT normal girl, Lena, who craves the normalcy that so many take for granted--Ethan included.

Along with the sweet love story, which slowly buds from friendship and beyond, there is a little bit of everything: high school drama, heart ache, acceptance, dysfunctional families (coming from both sides), a little bit of history (for all of those history buffs out there), and mystery at every turn and twist in this blissfully original plot that leaves you salivating and constantly wanting MORE, MORE, MORE!

There is no doubt in my mind that readers will snatch this book up, instantaneously, and completely devour this delicious read. Actually, I encourage this behavior because it is just that good!

Beautiful Creatures is ultimately addictive--hence the drugs--so I strongly recommend [imagine me screaming from the roof tops] for you to pick up your copy...NOW!

Not tomorrow. RIGHT. NOW!

In the mean time, I'll be here, sitting on my couch, drooling over Beautiful Creatures, anxiously awaiting the next installment of this five part series.

www.kim-franklin.blogspot.com

posted by Kim-Franklin on December 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

149 out of 251 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

I'm usually a fan of YA paranormal. And I love nothing more than a big, fat book that lasts for more than a few hours.

Unfortunately, Beautiful Creatures just didn't resonate with me. It took an incredibly long time for anything to happen. The first 100-200 pages wer...
I'm usually a fan of YA paranormal. And I love nothing more than a big, fat book that lasts for more than a few hours.

Unfortunately, Beautiful Creatures just didn't resonate with me. It took an incredibly long time for anything to happen. The first 100-200 pages were all backstory and useless. Why would a book need to be 600 pages when more than 100 pages were pointless? It felt like very poor editing.

And then the narrator is a fifteen year old boy with the perception and observations of a twenty-something young lady. It felt very, very off, which was disappointing. I would have loved to see a strong male lead, rather than what a girl wishes a boy sounds like.

All in all it wasn't a bad book. Just not anywhere near the level it should be based on the hype.

posted by Jamagan on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Mhm

    Ok so i beleive that about 200 pages dont need to be in the book. I couldnt even finish it. I got to about page 500 and quit. 600 pages in all. I dont like the main character, overall a 2 star review. Also i read this like 2 yrs before the movie came out so my review is not biased like some of these.on here who watched the movie and then read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    V

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Eh

    It just fell flat. Ill give her the 2 stars for a good idea, but thats it. It was long, characters were annoying, and twists were very predictible. Maybe the movie is better, but after reading this hoping it will get better ill just wait for the movie to come to hbo lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Wah wah

    Weak, Predictable and slow. I was hoping for more plot twists and complex characters. Interesting enough to keep hoping it will get more interesting. After a while the thought-chatter got old and it was really the only action going on. 150 pages less, dialogue trimmed down, timeline sped up and this book might have hooked me in for the rest of the series. Alas! Moving on to a better series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    I didnot this book at all:

    I didnot this book at all:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Couldn't get through it.

    Seems like the same idea as every book out these days but with poor writing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    I didn't hate it, but I didn't love it, either...

    Let's hope the movie is slighty better than the book.

    To the ladies who wrote this book: we get it. Seriously. This is Gaitlin, blah blah, where nothing new and exciting ever happens and all that rot.

    Stop repeating it; it's rather pathetic that *that* was the miserable and underlyinflg theme.

    And I understand that it's quite popular to somehow insert the title of the book into dialogue.

    Dare to be different.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Not for me!

    It took a very long time and a lot of pages for me to get into this book. Then it let me down in the end. This may be the first time I say the movie is better then the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Waste of money and time!!!

    Usually when books get this much of hyp the books tend to be good not this one very slow and put me to sleep everytime i would pick it up and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I GAVE UP ON THESE SERIES. im sorry it was very predictable bc t

    I GAVE UP ON THESE SERIES. im sorry it was very predictable bc the part where lena is warned that OOH FALLING 
    IN LOVE WITH A HUMAN IS DEADLY aka ethan. guess what, she did andddddddddddddddddddddddd something bad happened
    i thought it would deal with dark things like nightmares and idk instead i got cheesy black magic and reallllllly long UNNECCESSARY DETAILS
    through the first one hundred or so pages the action came too late. i tried reading the second book BUT I GAVE UP it was that boring and predictable and
    i couldnt believe it i was tired of how boring and stupid it was. i dont reccomend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Dragged

    I agree with the others pointing out how the book went everywhere and nowhere at the same time. The story concept is excellent, but very poorly executed and written. The movie trailer made me want to read it before I see it, but now that I know the movie script derails from the actual characters introduced in the book I won't be watching it or finishing this book series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Seems interesting

    I just can't get through it! I've read 5 other books in between this one. Hope to finish before the movie goes awa in the theater. Boobie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Good storyline bad writing

    Well im torn because like i said yes good storyline but wow, it takes insight to be a good writer and unfortunatly this one has none. My biggest issue is the main charachter which is a straight male, comes off girly or gay. The writer has not the ability to put herself in a males mind AT ALL. Point two, its just not insightful writing. Its a bit elementry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Ok

    I really tried to get into this book, but just couldnt. It was just to slow paced for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Not as good as I'd hoped.

    The story had such potential but, to me, it fell flat. It got boring and more predictable than suitable for a normal teen novel. I hope the movie is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Disappointed

    I read this book on a recommendation from a very good friend, and from what she said I was expecting a MUCH better book. I was very disappointed with the plot itself, the style, and the general pace of the book. I would not recommend this book to anyone but love struck teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Boring until the end

    I agree that the first 200 pages were extremely pointless and I did not see any real connects between the main character and the love interest. I just didnt like her. Her family was entertaing to read about though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    ?

    One word... boring!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Akk!

    Ok. I read over 200 pages of thi book and i couldnt get into it. I borded me 2 death. I red some. Tjen t got boring. So i stoped. Then i picked it up again. The story just sort of drags on with the same stuff happeneing over and over again. Not a top reading book. If you are looking for a good read. U should try the hunger games. Maximum ride. And th mortal instrument series. Now those are awesome books. Also read harry potter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Whatever

    Not my favorite, I read a lot of fantasy books any frankly this one was just alright....that's it. I didn't particularly like one of the main characters, Lena, and I didn't really get why Ethan was so amazed by her? I guess if I was casually strolling down the street and the second book fell from the heavens upon my head I would read it- but I wouldn't buy the rest of the series. It's not a BAD book it's just kind of pointless, I guess if you're taking it out of the library it's fine. Don't waste your money buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 132 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7