Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Darkness (Beautiful Creatures Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(724)

4 Star

(313)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

It is so Beautiful!

The ladies have done it again! The Caster Chronicles stays a special place in my heart because it is so much more different than most series out there and it really stands alone in it's genre. Once you pick up the book it is so hard to function in life because you REALL...
The ladies have done it again! The Caster Chronicles stays a special place in my heart because it is so much more different than most series out there and it really stands alone in it's genre. Once you pick up the book it is so hard to function in life because you REALLY want to keep reading. Putting it down is like putting part of your brain away because while you are not reading you think about how much you would rather be reading it. The story continues to weave around Lena and Ethan. It strays them apart and dreams them back and we find all sorts of loose ends are tied back together. We loose some characters, gain one and a few come back. It was so wonderful. NOW I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ;)!

posted by terilhack on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Epic sequel--Ethan's sweet as ever, but it's a down book for Lena

In this sequel to Beautiful Creatures, Lena the Caster girl wasn't claimed by Darkness on her 16th birthday, like everybody expected, so she and her mortal boyfriend Ethan Wate should have a normal, happy life. But Lena feels guilty over the death of her uncle/surrogate...
In this sequel to Beautiful Creatures, Lena the Caster girl wasn't claimed by Darkness on her 16th birthday, like everybody expected, so she and her mortal boyfriend Ethan Wate should have a normal, happy life. But Lena feels guilty over the death of her uncle/surrogate father Macon Ravenwood, and while she hasn't been claimed by the Dark, she doesn't fully belong to the Light, either, which could spell trouble for everybody around her, especially vulnerable non-magical Ethan.

As a second installment, Beautiful Darkness is a tour de force--it takes all the same elements as the first novel, turns a few on their heads, and ratchets everything else up a notch or two on the dramatic scale. You still get that lush Southern Gothic feel from BC, but now there's a whole lot more Caster magic and mystery swirling around. The plot twists proceed naturally from the setup of the previous story, but every new discovery manages to feel surprising.

Yet for all that, I didn't really enjoy reading it. I like Ethan, the POV character, and wholeheartedly sympathize with him, but I've finally figured out why he's never seemed fully real to me: it's not that his narrative voice sounds feminine, but to me he sounds like a very young guy. Ethan's incredibly mature and loyal and brave, etc, but even with his ever-growing love for Lena, I almost feel like I'm reading about Percy Jackson, age twelve. There's just a general broad sweetness to him that seems to belong to a younger person.

Then there's Lena, who I liked in book one, but who has now become a complaining heroine. Lena had her fair share of troubles in BC, but now she's riding a full-time down, and Ethan's so tied to her, that means he's down and depressed, too. She has ample reasons to be sad/angry, reasons that become more evident as BD progresses, but I still wish she wouldn't wallow in her black moods. Now that her Dark side is coming out more, she'll cause a little trouble or exact just the teeniest bit of revenge, and she won't really be sorry about it (I don't necessarily think she needs to be sorry for some of the stuff), but she'll cry anyway. Then Ethan tries to comfort or encourage her, and she tells him that he doesn't understand and he'll never understand, because he's mortal.

This was a case of the heroine turning me off of the story, because by the time the truly tremendous Big Reveals are happening in the last fifth of the book, I was already emotionally uninvested: I figured, Ethan's wonderful and he'll be okay no matter what, and Lena will be sad no matter what, so I didn't feel the impact of the game-changing scenes like I wanted to.

Poetry Bonus: I absolutely love the eerie simplicity of the Seventeen Moons song. Love it. And Lena writes poetry, and greats like T.S. Eliot, Walt Whitman, and Robert Frost are mentioned.

Though this sequel gets exciting and epic, it still maintains the basic feeling established in Beautiful Creatures--if you enjoyed that, you'll enjoy this. Fans of the series will want to pick it up as soon as they can, because it delivers everything we've hoped for and more. People who are on the fence, however, can probably wait to get it from the library.

posted by Tiger_Holland on October 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1226 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Epic sequel--Ethan's sweet as ever, but it's a down book for Lena

    In this sequel to Beautiful Creatures, Lena the Caster girl wasn't claimed by Darkness on her 16th birthday, like everybody expected, so she and her mortal boyfriend Ethan Wate should have a normal, happy life. But Lena feels guilty over the death of her uncle/surrogate father Macon Ravenwood, and while she hasn't been claimed by the Dark, she doesn't fully belong to the Light, either, which could spell trouble for everybody around her, especially vulnerable non-magical Ethan.

    As a second installment, Beautiful Darkness is a tour de force--it takes all the same elements as the first novel, turns a few on their heads, and ratchets everything else up a notch or two on the dramatic scale. You still get that lush Southern Gothic feel from BC, but now there's a whole lot more Caster magic and mystery swirling around. The plot twists proceed naturally from the setup of the previous story, but every new discovery manages to feel surprising.

    Yet for all that, I didn't really enjoy reading it. I like Ethan, the POV character, and wholeheartedly sympathize with him, but I've finally figured out why he's never seemed fully real to me: it's not that his narrative voice sounds feminine, but to me he sounds like a very young guy. Ethan's incredibly mature and loyal and brave, etc, but even with his ever-growing love for Lena, I almost feel like I'm reading about Percy Jackson, age twelve. There's just a general broad sweetness to him that seems to belong to a younger person.

    Then there's Lena, who I liked in book one, but who has now become a complaining heroine. Lena had her fair share of troubles in BC, but now she's riding a full-time down, and Ethan's so tied to her, that means he's down and depressed, too. She has ample reasons to be sad/angry, reasons that become more evident as BD progresses, but I still wish she wouldn't wallow in her black moods. Now that her Dark side is coming out more, she'll cause a little trouble or exact just the teeniest bit of revenge, and she won't really be sorry about it (I don't necessarily think she needs to be sorry for some of the stuff), but she'll cry anyway. Then Ethan tries to comfort or encourage her, and she tells him that he doesn't understand and he'll never understand, because he's mortal.

    This was a case of the heroine turning me off of the story, because by the time the truly tremendous Big Reveals are happening in the last fifth of the book, I was already emotionally uninvested: I figured, Ethan's wonderful and he'll be okay no matter what, and Lena will be sad no matter what, so I didn't feel the impact of the game-changing scenes like I wanted to.

    Poetry Bonus: I absolutely love the eerie simplicity of the Seventeen Moons song. Love it. And Lena writes poetry, and greats like T.S. Eliot, Walt Whitman, and Robert Frost are mentioned.

    Though this sequel gets exciting and epic, it still maintains the basic feeling established in Beautiful Creatures--if you enjoyed that, you'll enjoy this. Fans of the series will want to pick it up as soon as they can, because it delivers everything we've hoped for and more. People who are on the fence, however, can probably wait to get it from the library.

    35 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It is so Beautiful!

    The ladies have done it again! The Caster Chronicles stays a special place in my heart because it is so much more different than most series out there and it really stands alone in it's genre. Once you pick up the book it is so hard to function in life because you REALLY want to keep reading. Putting it down is like putting part of your brain away because while you are not reading you think about how much you would rather be reading it. The story continues to weave around Lena and Ethan. It strays them apart and dreams them back and we find all sorts of loose ends are tied back together. We loose some characters, gain one and a few come back. It was so wonderful. NOW I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ;)!

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    Excellent Series!!!

    I downloaded the first book as an audio through the library and have anticipated this one ever since. Kami really captures the essence of the deep south and the social woes of teenage life. The storyline is definately new and refreshing; not the same ol' same ol' that's being pumped out by every other author out there. A must read!

    For those of you comparing this series to Twilight: it's not even the same premise. You should keep an open mind and remember that Bella and Edward are not real. Yes, Twilight is a great series, but so is this one. Be objective and mature if you're going to leave a review. Being grammatically correct helps also.

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read (very dark), I prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie e

    Great read (very dark), I prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie ems...i think) Just my opinion.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    I love it

    I LOVE THIS BOOK SOOOO MUCH I CANT PUT IT IN WORDS

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cannot Wait!

    The first book was amazing. I've read a lot of the paranormal romance books but this series really shocked me, i never knew what was going to happen next. I hope this book will be as good as the last.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Great Series!

    LOVED the whole series, can't wait for the next one! This is in the teen read section, but I am 50 and still loved this book. Great characters, you won't want to put it down! One of the better series I've read lately, and I read alot! Enjoy!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ!

    With the generous help of a few friends, I was able to garner an advanced readers copy of this highly anticipated sequel to 'Beautiful Creatures.' I tend to be a bit weary of 2nd books in series beacause most tend to fo the 'New Moon' route (i.e. major love character leaves, tons of angst, boring plot line, etc.) Beautiful Darkness throws you through so many loops, angles and mysterious corners that you have no time to get bored whatsoever. This story constantly kept me on my toes and I can't wait to see what else these two authors have in store for us.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good second book!

    I thought this was a good second book! I loved the first one and was excited to read this one. Some parts are a little to detailed, but very worth it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    To be honest this book was a big let down. I had fallen in love

    To be honest this book was a big let down. I had fallen in love with the first book and decided to read the sequel, the start is quite interesting but then it's just dull, and not exciting enough to keep you reading.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This was the book I BEGGED to get an advanced copy of, VERY glad I got one!

    WOW, I LOVED Beautufil Creatures, but Beautiful Darkness was a level above- totally AMAZING. Kami and Margie have grown as writers and have succeded in drawing me further into their world. The writing is so visual you can see the scens in your minds eye. Ethan and Lena really shine and Link, Ethan's best friend, also comes into his own as a character. We also meet several new charaters that expand both ours as well as Ethan and Lena's knowledge of the caster world. This series is a very visual southern gothic adventure love story that I would suggest to anyone. The secondary characters are well developed and give depth to the story amd the world. Beautiful Darkness is a great second book and I cant wait for book 3!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Good Book:)

    I couldn't stand Lena. She was moody throughout the whole book and it annoyed me at times. Ethan Is still very sweet and amazing. Despite Lena's constant attitude I thought this was a good second book in the Caster Chronicles. It was interesting and SO much better than the first book. It was never boring and I enjoyed Liv aka MJ for Marian Junior. Link was more involved in Beautiful Darkness, and the visions are even better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS EVER!!!!!!!!!

    Guys, this is a HUGE MUST-READ for everyone who loves paranormal romance and twist and turns that will leave you breathless!!! DON'T GIVE THIS A SECOND THOUGHT! READ THIS BOOK NOW!!!! I LOVED IT! MAYBE YOU WILL TOO! :) :D <3

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Best out of the series-so far

    This book is amazing. It's a bit slow at first, but it picks up, and becomes a real page turner! I read this in one day (this is book is NOT short) I loved it so much that the moment i started to read it I couldn't stop.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    AWSOME

    This book was wonderful and I cant wait for the next one(:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Amazing so far

    Ok i read it from my school library and i didnt get to finish the last 30 pages of the book but hoping to!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AHAHA! Can't wait!

    TWO WORDS: CAN'T WAIT!

    I read the first book Beautiful Creatures and can't wait to read Beautiful Darkness =D. I love love love Ethan. Can't wait to find out what happens to him in the next book! =D

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    This a great read for middle schoolers the love romantic novels. If you read the first book in the series and that this is abook to read!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    This is soo getting good!!

    This one has soo much more action....and im not talking about just fighting action ;D ........I cant wait to read the third one......if yiu love books with action, romance,and mystical creatures....you will LUUUV this book....BUY IT NOW!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Beautiful darknes

    This was a great adition to beautiful creatures. The continuation flowed as if it was part two of the same read. The charactures were well developed. I would recomend this book to all who jave read Beautiful Creatures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1226 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62