BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Darkness (Beautiful Creatures Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(725)

4 Star

(313)

3 Star

(123)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

It is so Beautiful!

The ladies have done it again! The Caster Chronicles stays a special place in my heart because it is so much more different than most series out there and it really stands alone in it's genre. Once you pick up the book it is so hard to function in life because you REALL...
The ladies have done it again! The Caster Chronicles stays a special place in my heart because it is so much more different than most series out there and it really stands alone in it's genre. Once you pick up the book it is so hard to function in life because you REALLY want to keep reading. Putting it down is like putting part of your brain away because while you are not reading you think about how much you would rather be reading it. The story continues to weave around Lena and Ethan. It strays them apart and dreams them back and we find all sorts of loose ends are tied back together. We loose some characters, gain one and a few come back. It was so wonderful. NOW I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ;)!

posted by terilhack on October 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Epic sequel--Ethan's sweet as ever, but it's a down book for Lena

In this sequel to Beautiful Creatures, Lena the Caster girl wasn't claimed by Darkness on her 16th birthday, like everybody expected, so she and her mortal boyfriend Ethan Wate should have a normal, happy life. But Lena feels guilty over the death of her uncle/surrogate...
In this sequel to Beautiful Creatures, Lena the Caster girl wasn't claimed by Darkness on her 16th birthday, like everybody expected, so she and her mortal boyfriend Ethan Wate should have a normal, happy life. But Lena feels guilty over the death of her uncle/surrogate father Macon Ravenwood, and while she hasn't been claimed by the Dark, she doesn't fully belong to the Light, either, which could spell trouble for everybody around her, especially vulnerable non-magical Ethan.

As a second installment, Beautiful Darkness is a tour de force--it takes all the same elements as the first novel, turns a few on their heads, and ratchets everything else up a notch or two on the dramatic scale. You still get that lush Southern Gothic feel from BC, but now there's a whole lot more Caster magic and mystery swirling around. The plot twists proceed naturally from the setup of the previous story, but every new discovery manages to feel surprising.

Yet for all that, I didn't really enjoy reading it. I like Ethan, the POV character, and wholeheartedly sympathize with him, but I've finally figured out why he's never seemed fully real to me: it's not that his narrative voice sounds feminine, but to me he sounds like a very young guy. Ethan's incredibly mature and loyal and brave, etc, but even with his ever-growing love for Lena, I almost feel like I'm reading about Percy Jackson, age twelve. There's just a general broad sweetness to him that seems to belong to a younger person.

Then there's Lena, who I liked in book one, but who has now become a complaining heroine. Lena had her fair share of troubles in BC, but now she's riding a full-time down, and Ethan's so tied to her, that means he's down and depressed, too. She has ample reasons to be sad/angry, reasons that become more evident as BD progresses, but I still wish she wouldn't wallow in her black moods. Now that her Dark side is coming out more, she'll cause a little trouble or exact just the teeniest bit of revenge, and she won't really be sorry about it (I don't necessarily think she needs to be sorry for some of the stuff), but she'll cry anyway. Then Ethan tries to comfort or encourage her, and she tells him that he doesn't understand and he'll never understand, because he's mortal.

This was a case of the heroine turning me off of the story, because by the time the truly tremendous Big Reveals are happening in the last fifth of the book, I was already emotionally uninvested: I figured, Ethan's wonderful and he'll be okay no matter what, and Lena will be sad no matter what, so I didn't feel the impact of the game-changing scenes like I wanted to.

Poetry Bonus: I absolutely love the eerie simplicity of the Seventeen Moons song. Love it. And Lena writes poetry, and greats like T.S. Eliot, Walt Whitman, and Robert Frost are mentioned.

Though this sequel gets exciting and epic, it still maintains the basic feeling established in Beautiful Creatures--if you enjoyed that, you'll enjoy this. Fans of the series will want to pick it up as soon as they can, because it delivers everything we've hoped for and more. People who are on the fence, however, can probably wait to get it from the library.

posted by Tiger_Holland on October 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read (very dark), I prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie e

    Great read (very dark), I prefer Fallen Angel (author is genie ems...i think) Just my opinion.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good second book!

    I thought this was a good second book! I loved the first one and was excited to read this one. Some parts are a little to detailed, but very worth it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Good Book:)

    I couldn't stand Lena. She was moody throughout the whole book and it annoyed me at times. Ethan Is still very sweet and amazing. Despite Lena's constant attitude I thought this was a good second book in the Caster Chronicles. It was interesting and SO much better than the first book. It was never boring and I enjoyed Liv aka MJ for Marian Junior. Link was more involved in Beautiful Darkness, and the visions are even better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    This a great read for middle schoolers the love romantic novels. If you read the first book in the series and that this is abook to read!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good read

    I really hope they make movies for the entire series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Page turner!

    I really liked book one. Book two comes in right behind it, it was a good read. I found a few parts in book two to be confusing, but can't wait to read book three because I think it will bring clarity! Do not see the movie though, it is a disgrace to the books and their authors!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Very good read

    I didn't love it quite as much as the first one but overall it was still a really good read. I did get frustrated with the character Lena but not enough to make the read any less enjoyable. I can't wait to read the next book in the series and find out where everyone ends up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Beautiful Crearures

    There was so much emotional turmoil!

    I felt so sad for Lena because losing a family member is hard. I understand the reason she was drawing away from Ethan, given the circumstances, but at times I wanted to choke her. She seemed very ungrateful, in my opinion. And freaking JOHN.

    John was strange. I wasn't sure if I should hate him or sympathize with him. Maybe we'll find out more...?

    Ethan, dear lovable Ethan, pulled at my heartstrings. He loves Lena so much and is willing to do anything and everything for her, but she kept pushing him away. The appearance of Liv didn't help much.

    Liv was super cool. British, blonde, and smart, her role was perfectly filled. I like her character and I can't wait to see more of her.

    And last, but certainly not least, Link. I love his snappy comebacks and his god-awful rock band. His obsession with Ridley is sad but sweet. And that twist at the end! How's Link gonna cope with this?!?!

    All in all I really like this story, even if I sometimes wanted to throw my Nook across the room because of Lena. (Grr.) I honestly can't wait to read Beautiful Chaos. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Great book

    Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Love it!!!!!

    One of the best books i have ever read. This author is amazing. There were only a couple parts were not much was going on. But pther than that it is a fast moving book even thought its long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Beautiful darkness

    I loved it what an awesome second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Good book but not as good as the first

    I LOVE the beatiful creatures novels Soooooo much!!!(and I'm only 9)!But I feel that Lena is getting a little tiring as she's always upset and depressed.Ethan is my favorite character and Macon also is (or was). This book has a really powerful pull and tends to pull me INTO the story. It also has a wonderful dark romancey feel. I imidetely fell in love with the first book and I'm very anxious to see the movie but hope they didn't ruin the whole story(like they did with Harry Potter)! I'm half way through the 2nd book and can't wait for another supprise!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    If you read the first this is a must..

    Great twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was a little worried when I cracked open this one. It's been

    I was a little worried when I cracked open this one. It's been quite a few years since I read the first one. The details were extremely fuzzy, and I have to be honest that they never really came back to me. But, I read on and really enjoyed the story.

    I think what threw me for a loop was that Lena is definitely not that same character that I remembered. Lena has always seemed intense, but managed to make the best of her situation. Plus, she had a deep connection with Ethan. All that seems lost in the beginning of this book. I understood part of it because her uncle Macon died during her claiming ceremony. But, I thought she took to much blame upon herself. She was trying so hard to convince herself that she was evil. Before hurting anybody else she loves, including Ethan, she begins to follow Ridley and a mysterious newcomer. They promise her peace and land rumored to exist. But, what will the cost be to get there.

    Ethan is the rock in this book, a character trait and perhaps a flaw as well. I'm truly glad that he never gave up on Lena. Even though we eventually learn there is a reason for his connection to Lena, he knew that her actions were not a reflections of who she really was. All he needed to do was to lead her the right way. It was making her see that the choices she made the night of her claiming did not make her evil. He will follow her through to the end, even defying those who claim the world she lives in is to much for her.

    I love how we learn more about the Caster world in this book. I don't remember the first one giving away this much detail, from the keepers role to the tunnels. It's much more involved than I thought. I loved the introduction of Liv to the story. It gave it the slight indication of a love triangle, even though I knew that there really was no one else for Ethan but Lena. And as always, I loved Link and Ridley. I'm looking forward to the next one. Perhaps it won't take me as long to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Love this

    I loved this book. I thought it was intresting to have Lena be EMO in this one and have it focaus more on Lena's inner battle and Ethan's struggle to make sure she stays good. I also love how the author introduced new characters like Liv, John, Aberham, and the sister's cat ( always forget the cats name ). This book is so fast in some parts i have to re read it, and slow in some parts i just skip it. It has a great plot twist and ending that makes beautiful creatures readers begging for more. Cant wait for the new story, Dangerous Dream. Comes out 12/17/13

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Darker and better than the first Cover Talk: I love the tunnel

    Darker and better than the first

    Cover Talk: I love the tunnel stair link to the cover of this book. I really love all of the covers to this series. The black and white and rather minimalist. It’s lovely.




    First Line: “I used to think our town, buried in the South Carolina backwoods, stuck in the muddy bottom of the Santee River valley, was the middle of nowhere.”




    Why I Read It: I very much enjoyed the first book and I just couldn’t wait to read more. The first book ended in such a dramatic and depressing way that I wanted to keep reading to see if it would get better for Ethan and Lena.




    Characters: Ethan is never going to catch a break. I feel like every time he turns around, something bad and magical is happening. And to make things even more difficult for him, he has realized that he is not a simple Mortal. I loved Ethan before, but I absolutely adore him now. He is such a sweet, loyal, and caring person.




    Lena is a very dark place in this book. After suffering a huge loss, she blames herself and her guilt convinces her that she must be Dark. It was really different seeing Lena “darker” and I actually really liked it. I know, I know! That’s awful. And the way she pulled away from Ethan was awful. But I can completely understand why she did everything that she did in this book.




    Liv and Link stick close to Ethan through much of the entire book. Lena is constantly running away and Ethan is constantly going after her. I love Liv and Link both. Liv is a Keeper in-training, Link is a Mortal, but I love how they take on the Caster world and do anything to help Ethan and Lena.




    Ridley has seriously become my favorite character. I know she’s “dark”. But I don’t care. I know there is so much more to her than meets the eye.




    Plot/World-building: This book picks up right where the first ends. There is quite the hard hitting death in the end of the first book, and Lena has been spiraling into a black hole ever since. Ethan doesn’t know what to do and can feel that he’s losing her. Essentially, this whole book is Lena flirting with the dark side and Ethan, along with help from Link and Liv, chasing after her.




    This book definitely has a lot more going for it and more action packed than the first. I loved being introduced to the Caster world in Beautiful Creatures and I absolutely love drowning in the Caster world in Beautiful Darkness. Secrets are revealed about Ethan’s mother and has him realizing that the Caster world is much more powerful and influential than he originally thought.




    The romance and love triangles in this book actually worked for me! They made sense, even if I wanted to grab every single person and shake the snot out of them. By the end of this book, all of the romances are put back in it’s proper order, but I do wonder if they’ll be shaken up again in the next.




    The last 80 or so pages had me on edge the whole time. So much was happening. People are reappearing, transforming, changing and it’s all wonderful. And now, I really need to read the third one.




    Final Thoughts: This seems to be a series that will just get better as it goes on. I also think that I just love the darkness in the book more than I loved the lightness in the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great series

    Really good series and a little romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    It was a good sequel. But, I was just disappointed in Lena's ch

    It was a good sequel. But, I was just disappointed in Lena's character. Even though it's not my favorite of the series, it was still a very good book and not to be missed. It's all worth it at the end. Good for YA 13 and over. Adults will love this series too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good Follow-Up

    Enjoyed this read; felt like I needed to rush through it to get to the next book in the series! They were all really good; books 1 & 3 in this series were the best by far, wishin book #4 was a little more satisfying, but that's the way it ended. If you like Twilight and Hunger Games, you'll enjoy these 4 books - kept me entertained while I was home on sick leave ;0)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    I love this series, but I am confused...it says over 500 pages,

    I love this series, but I am confused...it says over 500 pages, and on my nook hd it is only 328 pages. Am I missing some thing?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16