BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Day

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Elin Hilderbrand writes a book every summer, and I have read a f

Elin Hilderbrand writes a book every summer, and I have read a few of them. With this book, she tackles a lighter subject, and in my opinion, it is her best to date. Hilderbrand has always excelled at making interesting characters and conversations, but the books were s...
Elin Hilderbrand writes a book every summer, and I have read a few of them. With this book, she tackles a lighter subject, and in my opinion, it is her best to date. Hilderbrand has always excelled at making interesting characters and conversations, but the books were sometimes light in conflict and plot. With the wedding theme, the characters are forced to be together in one place, and that builds up suspense since many of them do not get along, to put it mildly. There are no crimes, diseases, or horrible secrets to be had--just a lot of lovers quarrels between couples, some of which survive and some that do not. Overall, the book paints a positive message about love and forgiveness that most people will find pleasing.




I would not recommend this book for everybody. Like most or all Hilderbrand books, it is very elitist. The characters are quite above average in terms of their money, education and success, and these accomplishments are often info dumped for no apparent reason. A good read though. 

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on August 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

I really wanted to like this book. I had read a preview of it an

I really wanted to like this book. I had read a preview of it and was looking forward to its release. The only character I found likable was Griff and he wasn't even a main character.

posted by elementaryteacher on June 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    I'm a Hilderbrand follower...

    I read all of her books and look forward to new ones being released. I enjoyed this book since it was written with a different plot than the usual love story. This was a love story of a family, whether it was between them and the old family house, the tree in the backyard, love between sisters/step-sisters, etc. It is a real tear-jerker, so prepare yourself. Elin Hilderbrand has a way of talking about Nantucket as though it's another character in the book, and I love that about her!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2014

    A Beautiful Day is about all of the things that go awry as young

    A Beautiful Day is about all of the things that go awry as youngest daughter, Jenna is about to marry Stuart on the island of Nantucket.  Older sister,Margot. acts as the surrogate mother after the mother's death seven years earlier.  The mother leaves behind a Notebook with strict instructions on how the wedding should proceed.  The Notebook ends up in the hands of the father of the bride's second wife.  The wedding is almost called off due to some omitted information; Margot's clandestine affair ends in pain; extramarital affairs ensue; a woman who broke up the parents of the groom is present and chaos seems to be in every corner of the island.  But cooler heads prevail and it truly turns out to be a beautiful wedding day. A very realistic read aand a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Hilderbrand never disappoints

    If you are looking for a summertime, easy, engaging beach read, Elin Hilderbrand rarely disappoints, and this is no exception. A great work and a great cast of characters with stories that are captivating. She's always my go to author when I want to be sure I'll get a book I will enjoy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    This was an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Great characters & setting Unusual plot

    This is a beach read but I couldn't wait to pick it up each day. Characters are human with individual flaws that lead them to face their own challenges in the book. FUN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Funny, sad, enlightening and real.

    I really liked this one. So many different characters as they come together through a wedding of chaos. I really like the character margot; she's whitty, sees people and shares her opinions on each... I also really liked the mother of the groom and her particular story brought so much to the dtory... having just celebrated my youngest brothers wedding, this made me laugh, cry and be thankful that it didn't turn out worse!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommend

    A great read. Thoroughly captures the intricacies of family dynamics and relationships. Loved the exploration of how we examine our real life in relationship to what we expected our life to be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    Another book by Elin Hilderbrand I loved!! Expected to cry a lot and didn't...so that was good!! Always looking forward to the next book by her...please keep them coming!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Entertaining summer read!

    I love Elin Hilderbrand's books, and Beautiful Day upheld the tradition. As usual, Nantucket is the setting, and you can almost feel the sun on your shoulders as you read the descriptions. There were a few minor twists in this plot, but otherwise it was pretty predictable. It is told from the characters' points of view on a rotating basis. That makes it fun. There were also thoughts of different characters at the beginning of several chapters that were pretty humorous at times. This book was just what you want to read at the beach. I was not dissapointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Very good reading.

    Elin Hilderbrand is one of my favorite authors. She can not write anything that I don't like. Another book for women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    A must read

    I loved this book from cover to cover. This is a good book to read at the beach. Elin Hilderbrand does it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2