Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Dead Book 1: Jonas

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Black Fingernailed Reviews

This book was friggin awesome!
When the book starts your just as unsure as Darina is on whether or not the Beautiful Dead are really there with her. Your consumed by the mystery and the need to figure it all out forces you to propel yourself threw the book turning page...
This book was friggin awesome!
When the book starts your just as unsure as Darina is on whether or not the Beautiful Dead are really there with her. Your consumed by the mystery and the need to figure it all out forces you to propel yourself threw the book turning pages as fast as you can.
I loved the whole concept of zombies. Instead of brainless, beyond the grave, undead minions, with dead flesh that enjoy eating people's brains. The Beautiful Dead, are people who died, their souls trapped in limbo, who get the chance to come back for twelve months and try to figure out how they died. If they can figure it all out their souls are freed, they don't come back to the world of the living but their able to find peace. But if not they become like Hunter, they remain in Limbo and in time may guide the souls of others back and forth.
Four people in one year. They all died, they all lived in the same town, they all went to the same school. They all had families and friends and lived. And what's left is a traumatized town, bent on finding out why this happened.
And then there is Darina our main (and very kick-a$$) character. She's just lost her boyfriend Pheonix he makes up the forth.
And then she starts to see them..of course she also sees dead heads and is chased away by beating wings. Which explains why she thought she was losing whatever sanity she may have salvaged from the trauma of the deaths..
Turns out they aren't gone.well not completely.
They are the Beautiful Dead and Darina's role becomes detective for the once living undead. She is working her way down a list, they only have 12 months..she is the one who can set them free.
The first book in the Beautiful Dead series, Darina has to help Jonas figure out what happened. In doing this she re-connects with Zoey her ex-best friend, who was in the crash that killed Jonas.
Beautiful Dead is literally breathtaking in a Holy Hell I have no friggin clue weather to scream or hold my breath, kind of way.
The story jumps off the page, I was hypnotized with the entire concept.
I can't wait to read Arizona's story next.

posted by Khadija32 on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't judge a book by its cover

I was initially captivated by the cover art and promising summary of this book, and I was sorely disappointed after reading it. The characters were very one-dimensional, and the dialogue seemed unnatural. The plotline itself, though interesting enough to keep me readin...
I was initially captivated by the cover art and promising summary of this book, and I was sorely disappointed after reading it. The characters were very one-dimensional, and the dialogue seemed unnatural. The plotline itself, though interesting enough to keep me reading until the end, was both disorganized and predictable. Overall the book reads like a story being told by a friend with very little story-telling finesse but a fantastic tale to tell. I do, however, recommend suffering through it if you plan to read the second book in the series which is quite a bit better than this volume.

posted by RavynKatt on October 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Road Trip to Arizona

    A short quick read this book kept me entertained. Despite an underlying tone of sadness there was still a general feeling of hope throughout. Particularly in the romantic areas involving both Darina and Jonas.

    I have to say that what made this book the most for me was how the undead were portrayed. These zombies weren't shuffling, mindless, flesh dripping brain eaters. They were angelic and human and supernatural in nature. Not to be feared in the traditional sense they were, however, quite powerful. Able to exert mind control and invade the personal space of of our thoughts and emotions.

    The love story between Phoenix and Darina is as tragic as one would expect but the love they shared in his after life was equally endearing. At times I could feel the longing between them jump off the page. The same hold true for Jonas and the young girl he let behind. Both bursting with love for each other but unable to act on it. It was heartbreaking yet inspiring at the same time.

    I found the story of Darina been the human connection that allowed the Beautiful Dead to properly investigate the circumstances surrounding the reasons for remaining in limbo to be an interesting take on the zombie story. It made complete sense and it tied her to the group realistically. Sadly, this made the ending somewhat predictable (mainly because we know there are more books to come). Thankfully, for me, the story is much more about the journey to get to that end than what the actual ending was.

    It was a journey that I enjoyed. It was emotional and loving while still somewhat thrilling and in some cases surprising. It's certainly a journey I'm interested enough in taking again in book two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Preview of the beautiful dead

    Excerp of book kept my attention- may be interesting light read- recommend try sample if you like supernatural topics/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Easy Read

    I give this book 3.5 stars. It's a beautiful book, but I had trouble relating to the main character and her boyfriend, Phoenix. Some characters, like Matt Fortune, were developed wonderfully, while others lacked. I hated how okay was spelled OK through the whole book. Drove me nuts. Anyway, good story and an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Twilight fans take note

    Reviewed for MonsterLibrarian.com

    Darina thinks she's going crazy. She's seeing her dead boyfriend everywhere and having visions of beating wings and death's head masks. But if she's off, the whole town is too. Four teens have died suspiciously in the past year in her town, the most recent was her boyfriend Phoenix who was stabbed during a fight. But while the teens have died they haven't left, returning to a strange house in the woods as the Beautiful Dead.
    Less traditional zombie and more like J. O' Barr's The Crow series, the Beautiful Dead have come back for answers to their untimely deaths and Darina, trying to get as much time with Phoenix as possible, has agreed to help them. First is Jonas, who died in a motorcycle accident that also paralyzed his girlfriend Zoey. With only a few days until Jonas' time on earth is done for good Darina must help find out what exactly happened to Jonas and Zoey on the road.
    Beautiful Dead: Jonas is full of beautiful prose, a good mystery, plenty of emotion and a rather intense love story. The zombies are as far removed from the Romero classics as Edward Cullen is from Dracula. In fact between the intensity of the love story and the juxtaposition of the morbid and dark with a lovely setting and the lovely writing it bears a semblance to the Twilight world and is very likely to catch the interest of Twilight fans. Recommended for YA collections, for sure, curators should keep in mind that with the high number of mystical powers and lack of appetite of the book's zombies it's more appropriate for lovers of dark fantasy and paranormal romance than hard horror fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Courtesy of Mother Daughter Book Club.com

    Darina can hardly believe her eyes when she stumbles upon a gathering in an old barn near an abandoned home way out of town. Drawn to the area because of tales around town of strange sightings there, she is shocked to see Phoenix, her recently dead boyfriend, and three other teens from town who have died in the last year, looking very much alive. An older man is with them, and Darina runs when she thinks he's about to discover her. But the possibility that Phoenix may still be alive draws her back to learn the truth-they are all dead and brought back to earth by Hunter, who protects them. They all have unfinished business to set right before they can rest.

    Beautiful Dead, Book 1-Jonas is the first in a new series by Eden Maguire. It imagines a realm where the dead can return, commune with the living, and solve a mystery surrounding their deaths. Anyone living who discovers them has his memory of the event wiped away. Except for Darina. Her strong connection with Phoenix, and her promise to help the group find the answers they're looking for makes her a vital accomplice. She is under a strict vow of silence about what she knows.

    Beautiful Dead is full of complex, conflicting relationships. Darina feels ostracized at home because she doesn't get along with her stepfather. Caught in the middle, Darina's mother mostly frets about the right thing to do. Darina is befriended by Phoenix's brother, who has promised to look after her. But many in town question his motives. Darina's old friends aren't sure if they can trust her, and some lash out as she pulls away from them to keep her secret.

    As the story evolves, we find that Darina must help each of the Beautiful Dead find out the mystery surrounding his or her death. The first is Jonas, who has been dead the longest. While Darina looks deeper into what happened the day he crashed his motorcycle, she must also deal with the grief, anguish and confusion of those closest to Jonas. And the outrage of one who has something to hide.

    Beautiful Dead is imaginative and intriguing. Issues to talk about in a book group include personal feelings of spirituality and what happens after death, the bond between dating teens, jealousy, and mother-daughter relationships. While I found the descriptions of the rules that existed for the beautiful dead the least compelling part of the book, I was able to read past those and enjoy the mystery and the story enough to look forward to reading the second in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1