Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Dead Book 1: Jonas

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Black Fingernailed Reviews

This book was friggin awesome!
When the book starts your just as unsure as Darina is on whether or not the Beautiful Dead are really there with her. Your consumed by the mystery and the need to figure it all out forces you to propel yourself threw the book turning page...
This book was friggin awesome!
When the book starts your just as unsure as Darina is on whether or not the Beautiful Dead are really there with her. Your consumed by the mystery and the need to figure it all out forces you to propel yourself threw the book turning pages as fast as you can.
I loved the whole concept of zombies. Instead of brainless, beyond the grave, undead minions, with dead flesh that enjoy eating people's brains. The Beautiful Dead, are people who died, their souls trapped in limbo, who get the chance to come back for twelve months and try to figure out how they died. If they can figure it all out their souls are freed, they don't come back to the world of the living but their able to find peace. But if not they become like Hunter, they remain in Limbo and in time may guide the souls of others back and forth.
Four people in one year. They all died, they all lived in the same town, they all went to the same school. They all had families and friends and lived. And what's left is a traumatized town, bent on finding out why this happened.
And then there is Darina our main (and very kick-a$$) character. She's just lost her boyfriend Pheonix he makes up the forth.
And then she starts to see them..of course she also sees dead heads and is chased away by beating wings. Which explains why she thought she was losing whatever sanity she may have salvaged from the trauma of the deaths..
Turns out they aren't gone.well not completely.
They are the Beautiful Dead and Darina's role becomes detective for the once living undead. She is working her way down a list, they only have 12 months..she is the one who can set them free.
The first book in the Beautiful Dead series, Darina has to help Jonas figure out what happened. In doing this she re-connects with Zoey her ex-best friend, who was in the crash that killed Jonas.
Beautiful Dead is literally breathtaking in a Holy Hell I have no friggin clue weather to scream or hold my breath, kind of way.
The story jumps off the page, I was hypnotized with the entire concept.
I can't wait to read Arizona's story next.

posted by Khadija32 on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Road Trip to Arizona

A short quick read this book kept me entertained. Despite an underlying tone of sadness there was still a general feeling of hope throughout. Particularly in the romantic areas involving both Darina and Jonas.

I have to say that what made this book the most for me w...
A short quick read this book kept me entertained. Despite an underlying tone of sadness there was still a general feeling of hope throughout. Particularly in the romantic areas involving both Darina and Jonas.

I have to say that what made this book the most for me was how the undead were portrayed. These zombies weren't shuffling, mindless, flesh dripping brain eaters. They were angelic and human and supernatural in nature. Not to be feared in the traditional sense they were, however, quite powerful. Able to exert mind control and invade the personal space of of our thoughts and emotions.

The love story between Phoenix and Darina is as tragic as one would expect but the love they shared in his after life was equally endearing. At times I could feel the longing between them jump off the page. The same hold true for Jonas and the young girl he let behind. Both bursting with love for each other but unable to act on it. It was heartbreaking yet inspiring at the same time.

I found the story of Darina been the human connection that allowed the Beautiful Dead to properly investigate the circumstances surrounding the reasons for remaining in limbo to be an interesting take on the zombie story. It made complete sense and it tied her to the group realistically. Sadly, this made the ending somewhat predictable (mainly because we know there are more books to come). Thankfully, for me, the story is much more about the journey to get to that end than what the actual ending was.

It was a journey that I enjoyed. It was emotional and loving while still somewhat thrilling and in some cases surprising. It's certainly a journey I'm interested enough in taking again in book two.

posted by Galleysmith on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    Black Fingernailed Reviews

    This book was friggin awesome!
    When the book starts your just as unsure as Darina is on whether or not the Beautiful Dead are really there with her. Your consumed by the mystery and the need to figure it all out forces you to propel yourself threw the book turning pages as fast as you can.
    I loved the whole concept of zombies. Instead of brainless, beyond the grave, undead minions, with dead flesh that enjoy eating people's brains. The Beautiful Dead, are people who died, their souls trapped in limbo, who get the chance to come back for twelve months and try to figure out how they died. If they can figure it all out their souls are freed, they don't come back to the world of the living but their able to find peace. But if not they become like Hunter, they remain in Limbo and in time may guide the souls of others back and forth.
    Four people in one year. They all died, they all lived in the same town, they all went to the same school. They all had families and friends and lived. And what's left is a traumatized town, bent on finding out why this happened.
    And then there is Darina our main (and very kick-a$$) character. She's just lost her boyfriend Pheonix he makes up the forth.
    And then she starts to see them..of course she also sees dead heads and is chased away by beating wings. Which explains why she thought she was losing whatever sanity she may have salvaged from the trauma of the deaths..
    Turns out they aren't gone.well not completely.
    They are the Beautiful Dead and Darina's role becomes detective for the once living undead. She is working her way down a list, they only have 12 months..she is the one who can set them free.
    The first book in the Beautiful Dead series, Darina has to help Jonas figure out what happened. In doing this she re-connects with Zoey her ex-best friend, who was in the crash that killed Jonas.
    Beautiful Dead is literally breathtaking in a Holy Hell I have no friggin clue weather to scream or hold my breath, kind of way.
    The story jumps off the page, I was hypnotized with the entire concept.
    I can't wait to read Arizona's story next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Jonas

    Its a movie where one night a year all crime is legal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Friday- jonas and amanda

    Can you tell kenny i cant post on anthenian res 1 or any of reults

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    This book is the beast book ever

    This book is filled with romance and mistery. I just love this b
    book and once i read it i couldent put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Romance

    Tbis is a very romantic book with the main character Darina a girl whos boyfriend just died and 3 other kids along with him . Darina believes she is losing her mind going crazy ect. she sees her boyfreind along with summer arizona jonas and a man named hunter whom she never seen before alive and moving but they sre dead!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    The beautiful dead

    Best book ever(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Paranormal story about Loss

    Darina is still reeling from the death of her boyfriend Phoenix, the last of four kids to die within the same year. And it's not just her - the whole town seems to have a gray cloud of misery hanging over it. But then Darina starts to see Phoenix around town, visions which are accompanied by the sound of a thousand beating wings. Darnia soon learns that Phoenix is one of the Beautiful Dead - the lucky chosen few who get to come back and attempt to bring some justice to the manner in which they died. Darina is also lucky. She has been elected to help the Beautiful Dead in their missions, starting with Jonas.

    Though there are many topics in this series - love, friendship, paranormal powers - it is first and foremost a series about grieving for those we love. My hear ached for Darina when she was trying to accept that she would never see Phoenix again, and then again when she was granted more time with him. The whole concept is quite an titillating little fantasy, especially being the only one who can see/help the Beautiful Dead. I was not sure how, exactly, Eden Maguire was going to pull this off, but there were never any moments when I couldn't understand. The paranormal elements were well thought out. And the ending was a complete page-turning climax! Next up is Arizona's story, and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Unblieveable

    Beautiful Dead is such a great series! Jonas, Arizona, Summer, and Phoenix die without a cule. Phoenix's girlfriend Darina is the only one who talks to them. They are alled the Beautiful Dead. They have on full year to find out what happens to them, and if they don't they move to their grave, and let somone esle have thier truned. The downpart is that you aren't settled. You are still roamin, but this time no one can see you. Not even the Beautiful Dead. So Darina helps them find out what happened to them. It's spine tingling, filled with love, want, hate, and sadness. It will keep you wanting more, and not put the book down. It will also make you wannad track down the author and beg her to write more!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by John Jacobson aka "R.J. Jacobs" for TeensReadToo.com

    Eden Maguire introduces us to our protagonist, Darina, who is dealing with the deaths of four students from her high school within the past year; Jonas, Arizona, Summer, and Phoenix. The last one hit home, Phoenix being her boyfriend of two months. But, in Darina's depressed state, she thinks she sees Phoenix alive, so she follows him...and discovers the world of the Beautiful Dead.

    The Beautiful Dead is actually the four students, along with four other people, who have died within the past year. At the head is a man named Michael, who is cold and distant to Darina. They try to control her mind and make her forget, but her love for Phoenix is too strong, so she makes a deal. In order to retain knowledge of their little zombie state, she has to help each on of them take care of unfinished business so they pass on.

    And so the story unfolds. We are met first with Jonas, who died when he crashed his motorcycle, severely wounding his girlfriend, and a former friend of Darina's, Zoey. Darina begins to delve into the mystery, all the while trying to cope with only seeing Phoenix in small time frames, and dealing with some other not-so-nice townsfolk.

    The first half of the book did not impress like I thought it would. There was an info dump (which was a one-time thing, thankfully) and the romance between Darina and Phoenix was already established, so it kind of felt flat. The only concept I found new in their love was that both people were equally devoted, and while it had TWILIGHT shadowing, Phoenix is never abusive or cruel or monstrous. He still shows love and affection like a normal teenager who is entrapped by the bindings of true amour. The characters were pretty good, but nothing spectacular. And the plot was interesting, if somewhat ripping off Ghost Whisperer.

    It was somewhere around a certain plot revelation that the story began to speed up, and change for the better. Darina was a nice character, but Zoey really had my attention. She wasn't too amazing as a character, but she was interesting, and I loved reading about her lost love with Jonas. It appealed to my romantic side quite well. And it was near tear-inducing despite the cliche of the situation. I also enjoyed the mythos added to the book involving the Beautiful Dead - they become slightly darker and troubled. And that really sets it apart from the light paranormals we see. This book deals with death. With people dying. And it doesn't shy away from it. Which is cool, and welcomed, especially among the almost too happy paranormal books we see today.

    Overall, it was a pretty good book. The writing was good, and the plot elements were cool despite being a little contrived. The characters were just enough to keep me going, though the myth and the romance could use with a good expanding and fleshing out along the way. Maguire has an interesting series starter, and while it wasn't anything spectacular, it appealed to my romantic side and my love of paranormal stories. Needless to say, I will be picking up book two, because it's an enjoyable paranormal series despite some flaws that come with the territory. And I enjoy the covers. They are cool and Gothic, while at the same time not too insane. But that's just another reason I'll keep reading....

    Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read! (By Kaila)

    A-MAZING!! When I Went Into B&N On My Weekly Book Binge I Wasn't There To Pick This Book Up Intentionally, But I Saw The Cover, Read The Back And Had To Have It! This Book Is A Super-Easy Read. Sometimes I Felt Like I Was Reading The Main Character - Darina's Journal. Although This Book Is Very Popular In The UK I Hadn't Really Heard Of It. Boy, Am I Glad I Bought It! Darina Is Going Through A Really Tough Patch. She Just Lost Her Boyfriend, Her Best Friend Isn't Speaking To Her Anymore, Her Best Guy Friend Wants More From Her, And Her Mother Makes Her See A Shrink. To Top It All Off, One Day Of Wandering Around Leads Her To Find THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD. Four Dead Teenagers Being Run By An Overlord Named Hunter. And One Them Is Phoenix: Her Dead Boyfriend. These Four Souls Are Still On Earth To Discover What Happened To Them. How And Why They Died. Darina's Character Is Really Easy To Relate To. I Haven't Lost Anyone Like That, But I Understand What Makes Her Hold On To Phoenix So Tightly. And That's The Fear Of Being Alone. We Don't Really Get To Know More About The Beautiful Dead, Possibly Because Each Character Has They're Own Book. And So Begins A Whirlwind Of Suspense As Darina Tries To Figure Out What Happended To Jonas. The First Teenager To Die Nearly A Year Ago. And Time Is Running Out...
    I Highly Recommend This Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    Zombies like never before

    This is a fantastic mix of genres, you can classify it as a supernatural murder mystery. Written in first person narrative from Darina's point of view. It has intrigue and tension from the 1st chapter. Darina is only allowed to keep seeing her dead boyfriend, Pheonix, if she helps solve the mystery surrounding the deaths of all 4 of the Ellerton High students, starting with Jonas who was the first to die.
    The storyline really draws you in, lovely background details are given adding to the plot. An interesting and, in my opinion, far nicer interpretation of the zombie myth.
    The idea that love transcends death is comforting. There is a lovely quote from Kim, Darina's Psychiatrist:

    words don't cover grief we don't have the vocabulary to express it
    There are sudden points of action throughout the book which can be quite surprising. The ending came as a surprise. I have always been very good at guessing the guilty person and had no problem guessing the correct person this time, but the consequences were the surprise. I have a feeling that the plot is building into a crescendo with the last book, Pheonix, having a major plot twist. My advice, keep reading the entire series, it is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1