Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Demons

Average Rating 4
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Demons

Beautiful Demons by Sarra Cannon is an excellent supernatural/paranormal book! It also satisfies my interests in cheerleaders!

I really enjoyed the story itself where Harper has been with foster care since she was younger until the last foster home is her last hope, ...
Beautiful Demons by Sarra Cannon is an excellent supernatural/paranormal book! It also satisfies my interests in cheerleaders!

I really enjoyed the story itself where Harper has been with foster care since she was younger until the last foster home is her last hope, otherwise, off to juvenile detention center she goes. Hoping to make it work, she stays at her last foster home and uncovers many mysterious things.

I have always been interested in cheerleaders. After reading Beautiful Demons, it made me remember that I was once a cheerleader . . . for Halloween. Cheerleaders are always portrayed as the popular girls in school and in Beautiful Demons, they are as well. However, there is a little twist. These cheerleaders are not just cheerleaders, they are like the it-girls with powers. When these cheerleaders begin to friend Harper, everything gets all weird, as if not everything is already weird. These cheerleaders know what is going on, but Harper does not and she just so happens to be part of their little secrets.

Harper is a very curious girl with supernatural powers she cannot explain. Her curiosity has just gotten her more curious about the people around her, the situations she is in, and the town she lives in. Everything changes for Harper and she must dig deeper to know the past, present, and future.

What I really enjoyed about this book is the story itself and the mystery this book holds. I'm always curious to know what happens next and this book has formed one BIG question, "Who is Harper, really?"

Beautiful Demons is a beautifully crafted novel of supernatural powers and paranormal adding a big mystery. You will be sucked into this story. It sucked me in. You will be at the edge of your seat dying to know what happens next. I have read it in one sitting. It is that enticing! Wonderful book!

posted by IvyKiddo on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Missing sections

I don't know if I downloaded a bad copy or something. I bought it here on the barnes and nobles website but my copy has pages missing (or something). I'll be reading then the chapter will end and when the next chapter starts they are talking about something that happ...
I don't know if I downloaded a bad copy or something. I bought it here on the barnes and nobles website but my copy has pages missing (or something). I'll be reading then the chapter will end and when the next chapter starts they are talking about something that happened in the last chapter that wasn't ever there. I happened more than once. It was so distracting that I couldn't even finish the book and I started off really good.

posted by pippi2000 on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good quick paranormal read

    Harper has been through six foster homes in one year, mainly because she starts levitating objects when she's angry and everybody's pretty freaked about by that. Now she's moving from Atlanta to smalltown Peachville to stay at the Shadowford Home, a last-ditch residence for girls who can't go anywhere else. Shadowford is an old plantation house and the very feel of the place gives Harper doubts. Then she gets to school and finds that the Peachville cheerleaders are much clique-i-er than they are even at normal schools. The fawning attention they get doesn't make any sense to Harper, so she knows that something shady's going on, and it's a whole lot weirder than a town obsessed with school spirit. Harper starts to have troubling dreams and she gets a serious warning about the future from resident bad boy Jackson. What kind of secrets is this rural town hiding?

    The heroine's great, and I really like the supporting cast in this book. There's bubbly Agnes who is super friendly, but isn't a standard best-friend character. Agnes often compliments Harper, but she's also quick to subtly put Harper down by suggesting that the quarterback couldn't ever be interested in her or implying that Harper can't be smart enough to take senior Calculus as a sophomore. (I think that's a type of person a lot of us have met!) Then there's Drake, a nice football player, or at least he seems nice and flirty until he learns that Harper's living in the local home for teenage rejects. He's not a good guy and not a villain, and he plays a secondary role to the cheerleaders who run the school. Then there's Jackson, my favorite character. He's a non-mainstream guy, but he's definitely not "bad" at all, and he shows himself to be kind and down-to-earth. He's got a ready smile, and he and Harper have an instant rapport, so any scene with Jackson interacting with Harper is a good one.

    I also love some of the little nuances in Harper's character. With her many moves, she's left with a limited wardrobe of mostly plain black clothes. But one of her foster moms worked at a crafts store and gave her lots of ribbons, so Harper routinely ties different colored ribbons around her wrist to make up for the lack of variety in her clothes. It just struck me as a very cool detail, something that sounds true to life.

    There's a point where Harper gets short-term amnesia, which is never my favorite plot point because it tends to make characters act unlike their previous selves, but it all works out okay and there's a paranormal reason for it. With brief chapters that move the action along at a good pace, Beautiful Demons is a novella-length story that will give readers a quick, tasty bite of paranormal YA.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Best 99 cents I've spent in awhile!

    I just finished Beautiful Demons. There are some minor paragraph errors but nothing that gets in the way of this story. I'm a huge fan of paranormal-esque stories. This story sucked me in from the beginning because it wasn't your typical vampire/were novel...it's got witch-craft so far. The plot makes it clear from the beginning that it is part of a series. I could not predict ALL of the plot, particularly the ending, which was nice. The main character is believable and likeable. I'm not a huge fan of Drake, one of the male main characters, but I got over it. It's definitely a good, quick read, and well worth the money. I will be getting the sequel-- Inner Demons.

    Random notes about the book:
    -Not much in the way of romance
    -Some paranormal activity but the answers for why are not explored in this book
    -Easy-to-follow plot
    -Reasonable characters that are relatively life-like

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    This was a surprisingly short book. It¿s what I call a candy flo

    This was a surprisingly short book. It’s what I call a candy floss read
    – quick, straightforward, and to the point. Don’t get me wrong though. I
    thoroughly enjoyed this book. It’s filled with endless plot twists and
    keeps you guessing right up until the end, and still leaves a lot more
    to be continued in the next book of this series. What really drew me
    into the story was the whole idea of a Stepford-like town where
    everything seems perfect on the outside, but has a sinister feel to it
    and a darkness brewing below the surface. Peachville has a high school
    cheerleading team who clearly isn’t what they seem to be and which will
    have chills running down your spine. Of course I would get sucked into
    a story where the main character isn’t allowed to go up to the third
    floor of the house she just moved into. Instantly I was curious to know
    what was up there, and trust me when I tell you, it’s well worth the
    read to find out what is hidden up there, when she eventually goes up to
    the forbidden third floor. The reader soon comes to realize that
    these are only the first impressions of a town obviously guarding
    generations of secrets, which I’m hoping will be unraveled throughout
    this series. “Beautiful Demons” is perfect for quick bedtime reading and
    I’ll definitely be reading the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Rally enjoyed it.

    Already bought the secind book. Great series so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Do not read this if you don.t want a spoiler!!!

    I find it very interesting. Peronaly my favorite charecter is Jackson, but I don't get the whole memory loss thing. The third floor is really interesting and all. If I wasn Harper I would have not tried out for the cheerleading team. I wouln't have worn the black diamond necklace. THIS A GOOD BOOK! I WANT TO READ THE WHOLE SERIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Fun!

    -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    I liked it

    If your religious this isn't for u probably. It was ez
    Xciting.no romance but a lot of. Paranormal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Good book

    Freaky title beautiful dmons....... but goi book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    This book was great

    I was glued to this book and i cant even tell u how many i got in trouble cuz i wouldnt stop reading. Gut there are still a little punuation errors though. -fizy911

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Good read

    Characters were easy to relate to even as an adult. Lots of plot twists. Can't wait to read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    You want to jump into the book

    Its a rollercoaster ride...you want to jump into the book and help lead her in the right direction away from the crazy. It was a good read i liked it a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Great book

    I was a little unsure about this book but i got sucked into it quickly. Definitely going to buy the rest. It's the best ya series i've read in quite a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    A really good YA read

    Looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Good

    Entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Awsome

    I loved this book took me 1 day to read i say u sould read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    good read

    nice series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good not great

    I am glad I read this and do look forward to the next book. It is a cute story with an unexpected twist at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Good fast read

    I bought this series for a total of about $6.00. I didn't expect much. But it surprised me! It was a good quick page turner! Must read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    I got hooked

    Very fast read, but a good one! The story sucks you right in and leaves you wanting more! The second book is just as good, and i cant wait to read the thrid!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    entertaining

    a good fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5