Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Disaster

Average Rating 4.5
( 2723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1858)

4 Star

(489)

3 Star

(169)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(124)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

172 out of 189 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I absolutely loved this book. It's one of those books that you can't put down and when you're done reading you just keep thinking about it.
I was a little hesitant at first because the synopsis makes it sound kind of cheesy, but turns out it's not.
The characters of ...
I absolutely loved this book. It's one of those books that you can't put down and when you're done reading you just keep thinking about it.
I was a little hesitant at first because the synopsis makes it sound kind of cheesy, but turns out it's not.
The characters of the book were great and each had their own personality.
The relationship between Abby and Travis is definitely volatile at times, you can really feel what they're feeling.
All in all this book made me laugh, cry, and made me very happy I purchased it and took a chance. I really hope Jamie McGuire comes out with more books like this or even companion books for it. I'd be interested in reading about the other characters she had too.

posted by Meliss657 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

53 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Annoying!

Did you ever have a couple in your life that was so annoying with their constant ups and downs that you couldn't stand being around them one more minute? This book captures that exact annoyingness! Travis (the bad boy) and Pigeon (the UGLIEST nickname EVER! The good gir...
Did you ever have a couple in your life that was so annoying with their constant ups and downs that you couldn't stand being around them one more minute? This book captures that exact annoyingness! Travis (the bad boy) and Pigeon (the UGLIEST nickname EVER! The good girl with a past) are so horrendously predictable with their love games and jealousies that I am embarrassed to even admit that I spent several hours reading this crap! If you have a lick of intelligence, do not read this book...

posted by 9539101 on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2727 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 137
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Awesome

    I absolutely loved this book. It's one of those books that you can't put down and when you're done reading you just keep thinking about it.
    I was a little hesitant at first because the synopsis makes it sound kind of cheesy, but turns out it's not.
    The characters of the book were great and each had their own personality.
    The relationship between Abby and Travis is definitely volatile at times, you can really feel what they're feeling.
    All in all this book made me laugh, cry, and made me very happy I purchased it and took a chance. I really hope Jamie McGuire comes out with more books like this or even companion books for it. I'd be interested in reading about the other characters she had too.

    172 out of 189 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Fantastic!

    This. Book. Is. Amazing! I read it in one sitting and just couldn't put it down! By the time I was done, I qualified for zombie status, but oh it was so worth it. I LOVED Travis. He was tough, rambunctious, headstrong, unreasonable, confusing and immature. Not to mention a total manwhore! He was also caring, loving, protective, devoted and single minded in getting the girl! Oh and did I mention he was totally HOT! Complicated doesn't even start to describe him, but all these reasons only made me love him more! I also really liked Abby. She was a great love interest and very well written. The two together burned up the pages and left me hungry for more! I loved Shep and America together and best friends to Travis and Abby. This was an amazing story of two polar opposites who find out they aren't really that opposite, push-pull till they find they are in love and then conflict ensues! Im am enamored with this book! It was such a terrific read!!!! The only downside to this book was it didn't keep going..and going and going!

    82 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Don't bother reading if you are older then 22!!!!!!

    The characters in this book were very young & immature. This book is geared for a younger crowd 18-22 NOT 30+

    58 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Annoying!

    Did you ever have a couple in your life that was so annoying with their constant ups and downs that you couldn't stand being around them one more minute? This book captures that exact annoyingness! Travis (the bad boy) and Pigeon (the UGLIEST nickname EVER! The good girl with a past) are so horrendously predictable with their love games and jealousies that I am embarrassed to even admit that I spent several hours reading this crap! If you have a lick of intelligence, do not read this book...

    53 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    I found this book by just trolling the online shelves. I wasn't sure what to expect at all, but the blurb sounded interesting, the price was good, so I went ahead and took a chance. I am so glad that I did. I hadn't heard of this author, or any other books by her, and I see that it appears it was self-published electronically. Doesn't matter. This book was a pleasant surprise and was so much more than I expected.

    Yes, the blurb is cute, but there's actually a lot more to the story than is covered in the blurb. It is a very character-driven story and there are, for most of the book, only about four or five characters really. The story follows Abby, her friend America and her boyfriend, and of course, Travis. Of course the real story was Abby and Travis.

    I've read romances before where you have a protesting heroine who meets a sexy guy who charms everyone else and wow, wonder of wonders, she wants nothing to do with him. It's not usually believeable, but Abby was serious about it. And the author did a great job making her protests realistic. Travis is sexy, interesting, and you just can't help but love him to pieces even though he's a male slut at first. Abby is his friend. And things go from there. The tension between these two was absolutely perfect.

    I can't really remember when I've read a more sizzling romance between two characters. This author did a fantastic job on this story. It was simple, sexy, and had some really good serious pieces that mixed things up just right. I loved it. I hope the author puts out more!!

    44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    One of the best books, totally addicting! Read it 3 times alread

    One of the best books, totally addicting! Read it 3 times already

    36 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    hands down one of the best books this year!!

    i read a bio on this book at good reads and decided to give it a go. A whole sleepless night later I was beyond obsessed with mad dogg and pigeon. You will be hooked from the first chapter and you will be consumed by the chemistry of these characters. Jamie McGuire has made me a new fan for good, I cant reveal more to this book other then its a must read and i would definitely pay to have this is a hard cover its just so good. You haven't read romance and drama like this before.

    32 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    A must read for those who appreciate that Love doesn't come easy

    Why is it that everything that should make you want to run in the opposite direction is suddenly sexy as hell and you can't stop reading?

    Travis is "that" guy. Handsome, tattoo'd, cut, needy and a fighter in all senses of the word however Travis is also 'that' guy. Smart, strong, protective, funny, loving and absolutely not what Abby wants or needs. Here is a young couple with more baggage than a 747 heading to the tropics and watching them work though their different issues is like trying not to watch a car wreck as you drive by. Impossible. Abby is trying to change and separate herself from who she was and be who she wants to be...Travis is just sleeping and fighting his way through life...and is the type of guy Abby is trying to get away from ..and out of this they are perfect for each other.

    This is no hearts and flowers, fluffy romance novel. This is a raw, emotional, romance where you will hate the hero and curse the heroine as much as you love them. Jamie McGuire is an extremely talented author. Her crafting of characters is what I think is getting her compared to E.L.James. The books though are entirely different but the emotions the characters create in the reader come from the same places..the heart and the stomach.

    I have read several reviews that totally bust on Travis and his exploits especially the "bimbo duo" scene but I feel this scene is there to show us just how far Travis has grown and how goal oriented he can be. It also shows us how strong Abby is, most women would have run outta there screaming. Watching Travis fight his attraction and attachment to Abby was in my opinion heartwarming. Ok at the time you read of his unsavory exploits you want to smack him...but really Abby was no different when she used Parker, seeing him because he was the type of guy she thought she needed.

    As we read though the book we see a change of roles between the two characters. Travis becomes steady and reliable, sure of his feelings and what he wants. Abby runs! as fast as she can in the opposite direction yet leading Travis on because she knows in her heart of hearts he is the 'one' for her.

    In some ways this novel is a blueprint of a dysfunctional relationship and yet understanding both characters backgrounds and needs lets us know this "Beautiful Disaster" is exactly what both characters need to make it though life. It is one time where unhealthy is actually the illusion for a healthy relationship.

    I enjoyed this book...I know it has been classed Y/A but really I feel it is a contemporary romance for teens and adults. It was a fantastic read and I highly recommend that you all read it and fall in love with Travis and Abby the way I did. 5+++ stars to this novel and a secure place on my "favorites" shelf right next to the Fifty Trilogy and Reluctant Dom. Thanks Jamie McGuire! ....now shoo...go....buy it...you know you want to.. *LOL*

    31 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Hmmm...

    Read in one sitting...because it was an easy read or because I wantes to finish it quickly? Sloppy editing, a plot full of circles, surface level characters, and a headache. I read it hoping to cure my 50 Shades hangover--nothing alike. People complain the relationship was unhealthy and abusive...I didnt think so. A little dramatic for college students though as they acted like high schoolers. It hooked me curing the first 50 pages. After that I just wanted it to be over. SO many obvious mistakes!!! Spelling and missing words....

    30 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Horrible!

    I felt like i had to start skipping chapters at the end. Way too many story lines mixed in. The whole vegas story line and ex boyfriend was ridiculous. Im still trying to figure out why there are in college and eat in the cafeteria every day. Just BAD!

    27 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Bad. Stupid. Terrible. Negative stars if I could.

    This story was not believable. So contrived. Immature characters, thin plot. If you have ever seen a movie that kept throwing out roadblocks just to keep the story going...well, that's this book. I only finished just to see if it EVER got better. It didn't.

    22 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    LOVED IT!!!

    I loved this book so much that after I read it once I went back to the front cover and started reading it again. I loved that the characters were flawed yet it only made the story more rich and full. I loved this book and would gladly read it again and any thing else Jamie McGuire will write :D She has a fan for life!

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Pick a different book

    Didn't really like it, but at the same time I read it in one day. There is just too much happening. First there is this love rollercoaster going on between Abby, the daughter of some messed-up poker player and Travis, the youngest son of an abusive family that he hates. After losing a bet, Abby moves in with Travis for a month, even though she doesn't know him at all and he could be a psycopath.( really dumb...who would ever agree to that?) While living together, the two claim to just be friends and are determined to not let things get complicated between them, but all the while they are making out with each other. Then, somewhere in the middle of the story, they admit their fellings for each other and then they continually date, breakup, date, breakup etc. Only, it's not some love rollercoaster it's just proof that they shouldn't be together. Travis is abusive, psycotic, and everything that should send a red flag up to a girl, yet, in the end, at the age of 19 they deide to get married after being together for like 3 months. The story was very random, and inoppropriate for the age group that it was written for. The story did not have a plot and it never ended. The charactors and events were unrealistic and random. It had no beggining and no end. I would not let my pre-teen or young teenage child read it due to the focus on sex, drinking, and violence. There are so many good books to choose from, and this is not one of them.

    19 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    FANTASTIC BOOK!!!!!

    Dont pass up this book! Once you start reading it you wont be able to stop. I was in tears moe than once while reading it. The good kind, though. Its filled with love, lust, friendship, heartbreak, and surprises in every chapter. A total must read.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Amazing!

    I fell in love with this disfunctional couple! They are incredibly complex and intriguing.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    Talented writer...horrible story

    Talented writer...horrible story

    17 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this story! Have never offered a rating before on books b

    Loved this story! Have never offered a rating before on books but this story describes how oddly disfunctional some relationships can be and still work out...was on the edge of my seat waiting to see it all play out. I will definitely read more of her writing!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    literary crack!

    Read most of it one sitting until my nook died.

    15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Stupid

    Very immature story Not good for an adult with a brain Do not waste your time

    14 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    My new fave!

    I fell in love with this book and the characters in it. There was something so real about the characters and the push and pull of the main characters relationship. The whole book had me going back and forth, asking will they.... or won't they? The author pulls you into the story and takes you along for the ride. It is impossible to choose sides because in this story, you get the point of view from each character and you feel their pain and laugh with their triumphs. The end of the book is the best part! Not many fiction books have the ability to bring tears to my eyes, but this one had my eyes moist several times. I could read this book a hundred times and still love it!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2727 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 137