Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Disaster

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Story, even though I don't usually like Romances Let

    Fantastic Story, even though I don't usually like Romances

    Let me start by saying, I am not a huge fan of Romance books. In the case of Beautiful Disaster I am more than willing to make an exception. This book captured my interest from page one and held it throughout the entire book. More than just a romance book, Laura Spinella's debut novel contains an intriguing back story that grabbed the mystery/thriller loving portion of my brain and left me chewing on several theories as the story progressed. While this part of the story was by no means the main event, nor really even entirely fleshed out, it kept me reading through the more formulaic romance aspects of the book. And even that portion of the book was above average. Rather than being one dimensional, Spinella's characters were flawed, which only added to their allure. At some point in the book each character was poised to make choices that left me shaking my head and saying, "What were you thinking????" Did the story contain all the formulaic pieces of a typical romance? Yes, it did. BUT -- this was much more than just a boy and girl meet, fall in love, become estranged, get back together, and live happily ever after story. It was a richly told story about people, they choices they make, and the impact throughout their lives of those choices.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully Romantic

    While in college, Mia Wells fell in love with Flynn, a mysterious stranger with a past that might include violence. Flynn and Mia's attraction to one another is instant and magical. For reasons I won't reveal (so as not to give away spoilers) Flynn leaves Mia. Unable to find him, Mia eventually makes a life for herself with another man. Now, 12 years later, Flynn comes back into her life. He's been involved in a serious accident and is in a coma. Mia keeps a vigilant watch over his sick bed in the ICU. With flashbacks that narrate their past, the novel weaves from the past to the present, revealing secrets that lead to the novel's romantic conclusion. I really loved this book and would highly recommend it to readers of romance who like a little mystery thrown in.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Loved it !

    Great read -wonderful characters good girl meets bad boy couldn't put it down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    This book truly made me passionate about reading again!

    It is really very rare for me to pick up a book and read it, but I must say, I was totally enthralled with Beautiful Disaster by Laura Spinella! (I only pre-ordered the book because I knew the author many years ago when we were neighbors.) I did most of my reading over one weekend. I couldn't wait to see how it ended, yet I didn't want it to end! It really consumed me! I think every woman can somehow relate to Mia and her feelings for Flynn. We all have a Flynn in our past who we either long for or have always wondered about. This book really took me away. Thank you for the wonderful read! Can't wait for your next!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    A good read for fans of romantic fiction Disclosure: I'm not a

    A good read for fans of romantic fiction

    Disclosure: I'm not a fan of romance or 'soap opera' books, and only picked this one up because the author lives in my home town. Even though I don't know her I wanted to be supportive, since having a novel published is an extraordinary achievement.

    That said, I kind of enjoyed the book and didn't anticipate some of the twists the author threw in (which is always nice). I actually liked it much better than the other books in this genre that my book group has read.

    My only criticism is that some of the descriptions were a little flowery and some of the conversations seemed overly wordy and repetitive.

    She has another book out, and I'm going to check it out. This is well worth a read, especially for those who love romantic fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

     

     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    I absolutely LOVED this book!!! I can't wait for Laura Spinella'

    I absolutely LOVED this book!!! I can't wait for Laura Spinella's next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Love, love, love this book!!

    I absolutely loved this book!! Beginning to end it was wonderful! The characters were great and I felt for each of them in their own ways! Basically it is a good girl in college meets a bad boy and they have whirl wind romance and then he disappears then jumps 6 years and he appears in a coma and is once again in her life. Of course she has seemingly moved on so it is complicated. Throw in a deep down well meaning best friend and a little murder mystery and this just makes a really great book! It was a quick read because it was so good and kept moving forward. Truely one of my recent favorite books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an interesting second chance at love tale

    Married Mia Montgomery Wells persuades a customer to invest in her eco-friendly office set-up when she receives a call. Her former boyfriend Peyton Flynn McDermott lies in a coma in a Silver Spring, Maryland hospital following an accident. She apologizes to her potential investor before rushing off to the hospital in a panic.

    Thirteen years ago when Mia attended the University of Georgia as a design major, she and Peyton met and fell in love. However, he dumped her when he concluded his beloved deserved someone better than a troubled soul like he was. While her spouse is upset with her bed vigil, Mia stays by Peyton's side while musing back to when they were a couple. He was a biking riding drifter who she feared might be a serial killer. Now she believes she has a second chance to at least learn why he left and how he feels though at the cost of her marriage regardless of what Peyton does after he recovers; which she expects though his doctors are much more cautious.

    This is an interesting second chance at love tale with the twist that Mia apparently nukes her marriage and her business on a wing and a prayer that Peyton will tell her why he left and admits to her he loves her. She has no doubt he will recover even when he suffers setbacks that shake her soul; as Mia believes fate would not have used the emergency to bring them together. Although Mia's flushing her marriage and business are difficult to accept as reasonable actions; that is why Beautiful Disaster works as love makes people obsess into doing strange things seemingly out of character.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Anonymous

    This book is from 2011 and its $12.99? Im interested in reading it but i dont know how many pages it is on a nook, i dont want to pay that much for it and have it be 150-200 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    I really loved this book. And the author is very kind also. She

    I really loved this book. And the author is very kind also. She is on goodreads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am most impressed that this is a debut novel.  It is superbly

    I am most impressed that this is a debut novel.  It is superbly written.  I was immediately immersed in the story and had a hard time putting it down.  When it comes down to it, I am a romantic and I love to lose myself in a quality love story.  I particularly like that it is not all sugar and spice and all things nice.  It is raw and emotional and complicated.  It just felt believable.




    Spinella did a fantastic job on character development.  Although I never really connected with Mia, she truly fascinated me.  She was an interesting and complex character.  Flynn worked his way under my skin fairly early in the book.  I would not say I found him lovable but I was oddly attached to him.  Together, they are dynamic.




    I highly recommend reading this book.  You don’t have to be a fan of romance to enjoy it.  It is really a finely crafted, beautiful story.  What an absolutely remarkable debut.  I will be reading more by Laura Spinella for certain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Amazing

    Such a fantastic read!! I was unable to put it down and was literally gasping at every unexpected turn!! I highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Loved It

    This book kept me interested the whole time which is rare. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    All-time Favorite

    I'm not sure my review can do this book justice. Let me begin by saying that I read A LOT of books. In a post 50 Shades world, more and more books have become sex based. Not that there is anything wrong with that. I read my fair share of them myself, but eventually you need a break. I was becoming a little burnt out from reading when I got to Beautiful Disaster. I had it on my Nook for a while, but had been reading other things. I had fallen into a three-star rut. I was begining to think I just couldn't connect to my reading any longer. Then the wonderful Laura Spinella showed me how to love again. This book is so much more than boy meets girl. It's so much more than romance or sex. It has substance and heart. The story line is amazing. Beautiful Disaster is the perfect title because that's exactly what this story is. Heartbreakingly beautiful. I never knew it was possible to cry during the happy, beautiful moments of a book until I read this. It is easy to cry when everything has fallen apart and your heart is broken, but to cry with a heart full of joy takes real talent. Mrs.Spinella is one of the most talented authors I have come across. She knows how to move her readers. She knows how to give you more than one emotion at a time. She can tell a complex story without making it confusing. This book is brilliant and easily went straight to the top. It is my all-time favorite book. If you are debating, stop. Do yourself a favor and just read it. You will never regret it. The only thing I've struggled with over this story is only giving it 5 stars. It deserves the whole darn night sky. Read it... because I know you'll love it as much as I did.

    #TeamJesusAllTheWay :) <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    This book was amazing! teaches you what faith is really all abou

    This book was amazing! teaches you what faith is really all about and never to give up on the one person you truly love. I loved the characters. Fell in love with the story and only wished there was a 2nd part. This book was just AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Beautiful read

    While the storyline was fantastical, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the author's writing style. The story is such a tribute to hope, faith, and everlasting love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Really $13. Not original enought for that kind of money.

    Really $13. Not original enought for that kind of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    Mia, as a college student,  is swept away by the mysterious and

    Mia, as a college student,  is swept away by the mysterious and dangerous Flynn.  The love affair is ended when Flynn leaves her with no note or goodbye.  Mia is devastated, that is the one thing Flynn promised her he would never do.  It takes six long years and very few dates for her to move on with her life.  Michael Wells, her husband,  gives her an amazing life.  Her career as an eco-friendly interior designer is about to come true, bet she has never really moved past Flynn.




    Roxanne, Mia’s college roommate, has become a doctor and calls Mia when Flynn is brought to her hospital after a motorcycle crash.  Mia arrives finding him in a coma and keeps a bedside vigil.  Flynns return to her life will force her to be true with Michael about her feelings and their marriage.




    This is Laura Spinella’s debut novel.  Once you read it you will think I have my facts mixed up.  Every chapter was beautifully written and very enjoyable.  I was unable to put it down.  The emotions and thoughts the character had were shared perfectly.  In fact, so perfect I felt like I was friends with Mia, Flynn, and Roxanne for years and had lived through the happiness, heart break, and tears. 




    The fact that Laura tells the history, the Athen chapters, and the present made the story so real.  I enjoyed getting the history and then seeing how it related to what was happening in the present.  I got so lost in this story.




    Beautiful Disaster is definitely a love story.  But there is so much more to it.  This is a story of love, honor, morals, and believing in each other.  I will most certainly share this with all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Buyer beware! B&N has put a new cover on this book.

    It will show up that you havent read it . A lot if this lately! Still a wonderful book. I will not punish the author by giving one star. I cant wait for sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3