Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Illusions

Average Rating 3
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Story

I saw this compared to 50 shades and other such books, but it is not the same. It touches more on people's vulnerabilities and less on their sexual natures. Story starts off rough; the writing was almost amaturish. But the story itself sucks you in. You want to know...
I saw this compared to 50 shades and other such books, but it is not the same. It touches more on people's vulnerabilities and less on their sexual natures. Story starts off rough; the writing was almost amaturish. But the story itself sucks you in. You want to know what Iris will do when she finds out the next piece of who Ryan is. At times I felt she was too accepting, but then many of us try to walk that higher ground with those we care about..until it all catches up with you. It is obvious that she has more to learn about Ryan; that their lives and story is still evolving.

posted by Not_enough_time on November 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Pass

I'm a stickler for reviews, I rely on them for basically everything. Man, I need to stop doing that, especially when it comes to free books. Here I am reading all the great reviews for this book and all of you who have praised this book could not be more WRONG! This boo...
I'm a stickler for reviews, I rely on them for basically everything. Man, I need to stop doing that, especially when it comes to free books. Here I am reading all the great reviews for this book and all of you who have praised this book could not be more WRONG! This book quite frankly, sucked.

I couldn't identify at all with any of the characters and I'm sorry but Iris should not be practicing any kind of law. Doesn't matter how stressed you are, be professional and get the job done, worry about your personal sh*t on your own time, not on your client's time. It was nice to see that Ryan wasn't made to be a perfect specimen of a man, he had issues, but the author overdid it with those issues. There was just so much going on, it became unbelievable, almost comically so.

I know that Iris was trying to be a decent human being by accepting all facets of Ryan's life, but HELL NO, that other relationship is not acceptable. That's just wrong on so many levels, you can't have your cake and eat it too. You have a relationship with either one or the other, but one those parties is married, where's the respect? That's not cool. Ryan is just being greedy...lol! Oh and the fact that every time something goes wrong in his life he does have a relapse and she sees nothing wrong with that really baffles me!

The story got a little better towards the end, after the attack. That portion of the book was the best part and that's the only reason I'm bumping this rating up from 1 star to 2. I could go on and on but you all get the gist....

SR

posted by Ayliphelet on December 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Not worth it

    Wrong....completely. .

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Gfhbcf

    The main guy goes from acting straight to being bi and acting guy in about 100 pages. This book is messed up. Rate 0

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    Telling a story in a series of 3 books has indeed become very po

    Telling a story in a series of 3 books has indeed become very popular and is totally acceptable to me. It can allow for real development of the characters and the storyline. I'm sorry to say this writer's efforts do not succeed. I did read all 3 parts of the "Illusion" series and would not suggest it unless you have serious masochistic tendencies.

    There was not a normal character in the book, ANYWHERE. The male and female protagonist had so many problems and had so many negative climactic events happen to them it became painful and overwhelmed the story. They both have very weak self esteem and make their life decisions accordingly. But, oh, there is so much money there, you see that as the glue to hold everyone together. Then she makes them flaming liberals, like that is their redemption.

    For as long as this goes on there is not much depth to the characters or the story. She will start a story thread and just leave it hanging. The editing was atrocious. It often seemed there was lots of copy and paste going on... I found the whole experience painful, frustrating and the story downright stupid. There are too many interesting stories out there to waste time on this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Not worth it

    I found myself getting more frustrated the further i got into this book. I don't know how mant times the author pointed out how "unworthy" Iris felt, but it became too much after awhile. Also, i understand characters having issues, but the amount of issues dealt with in this story made them not believable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Really?

    There are no words to describe how completely...jesus...just say no. Trust me

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Not worth it...

    I would not recommend this book at all! Bunch of liberal crap trying to masquerade as a story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Not at all what I thought

    I was disappointed in this book, so much that I couldn't even finish it! I could not even try to relate to the characters, and most of the time I was disturbed by the things that the main character saw as ok in the relationship. They also have too many deep issues one right after the other that makes things so unbelievable! Nothing in this book pertaining to a relationship could be considered healthy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Wost book ever!

    The reviews entertained me way more than this story did ! Shallow characters and dumb plot makes for terrible book.
    Ryan andIris are cheaters,stupid and have no ability to problem solve. What was with the Obama issue? You made yourself look like an idiot by throwing that in. I am done reading this persons drivel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Immature main characters

    The main male character was both too young and too immature to hold the job that he has. Sometimes he sounds quite adult, but not often enough. Same with the female. Awfully young to be in the career she is in. She's also too immature and wishy-washy, a doormat in training.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Did not like at all

    This was just not good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    LONGEST SWORD EVER!

    :

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Thanks

    Free though it may be; my time ( to me) is not worth wasting on this book. Thanks again for the reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Terrible. I have never not finished a book until now.

    Terrible. I have never not finished a book until now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    ...

    I really disliked the writing style. 16 pages in and I had to call it quits.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    What a disfunctional bunch of pathetic excuses for characters!!!

    Couldnt finish this garbage!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2