Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Jim Key: The Lost History of the World's Smartest Horse

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    A wonderful true story

    I picked up this book because it was about a horse, but I had never heard of the brilliant Jim Key or his extraordinary owner/trainer before. Their story is nothing short of amazing. I fell in love with the irresistible Jim Key while reading his story, and even though I learned he was born in 1889, and both he and Dr. Key have been gone almost 100 years, I cried like a baby at the end of the book. This is a great story, a slice of American history, and shouldn't be missed. Read it, you won't be sorry!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Willowwing and kits description

    Willowwing: light grey she cat. Phoenixkit: russet red she kit Spraykit: grey tom Jaykit: light grey she kit with white underbelly and paws

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Windykit

    I locked out of result one! Can we move please?!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Ash&Golden

    Descriptions: Ashkit-a tiny, ashy brown tom kit. He's curious, optimistic, and energetic. Goldenkit-a brown tabby she kit with gold eyes. She is quiet, extremely loyal to those she can trust, and although she is quiet, she's not afraid to state her opinion on the matter.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Blacksoul

    The new camp could be 'black beauty,' or it could be,' headless horsemen'

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Windwing

    Idea sounds fine.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Spotpaws description

    A dark red spotted she with black spots. Distant reletives with servaljump. Blue eyes and black "socks"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Blacklight

    "Im done with this, Im ending it now." Blacklight grumbled stalking out of the den. "I'll be back!" He called behind him.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Whitefoot and Kits' Descriptions

    Whitefoot-a dove grey shecat with only ONE white paw (front right paw) white left ear, and white tail-tip with leaf green eyes. She is loyal, mischevious, and loving. Her mate is Greenleaf and her kits are Midnightkit, Windykit, and Honeykit.
    Midnightkit-a black tom with grey, brown, silver, and white flecks in his fur. His eyes are pale green. He is calm, strong, and trustworthy.
    Windykit-a fluffy blueish-white shecat with bright cerulean eyes. She is energetic, wild, and smart.
    Honeykit-a honey-golden shecat with darker bronze paws, stripes, and tail-tip. She is understanding, good under pressure, and eager.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Eclipsemoon

    •Eclipsemoon•~ light smokey grey tabby she cat with dark grey and white stripes. She has dark grey paws that fade into the light smokey grey. She has amber eyes. She was rased as a loner named Eclipse but she dident like the life of a loner so she set off to join a Clan. She was old enough to become a warrior so the leader of the Clan gave her her warrior name. She lived in thr Clan until a fire burned it down. She and two other warriors were the olny left. The warriors left her because she was weak and not fit enough to leave. Then Rockshard found her and brought her here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Stoneblaze

    Hi velvetstar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Wolfsun

    My first relationship was with mulberrysun but lilystar my mom did not approve but i know she would approve of me and tyrellshadow.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Willowleaf to Velvetstar-descriptions

    WILLOWLEAF: Willowleaf is a gray she cat with silver streaks and bright amber eyes. She is very loyal and kind, but will defend her mate, kits and clanmates to the very end (death). Her mate is Wavepool, and she adopted Ashkit and Goldenkit. ASHKIT: Ashkit is a ashy brown tom with a white dot on his forehead and green eyes. He is very bouncy and lovable, though gets lonley when not around others. His sister is Goldenkit and his parents are Willowleaf and Wavepool. GOLDENKIT: Goldenkit is a tawny she cat with shining golden eyes. She is very protective of her younger brother, and very kind, much like her mother. Her brother is Ashkit and her parents are Willowleaf and Wavepool.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    daisyflame

    I nod "im gonna get this cat if itsthe last thing i do"~daisyflame

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Velvetstar

    She looked at him with confusion "Well if your sure..." she said. "But if you chang your mind let me know." Velvetstar purred. She picked up her two kits and left to the den. (Theres a clan meeting in res. 2)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Servaljump

    Hey, i still maneged

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Braveheart

    He goes to the Clan meeting.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Equine With An Intellect

    wow!Amazing historical story of a genuis horse and his partner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    A Must for All Animal Lovers

    Beautifully written. A tribute to all animals. A strong reminder not to take our beloved animals for granted and to treat them with love, patience, kindness and understanding everyday. Very interesting history intertwined in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    A must read for anyone who owns a horse, knows someone who owns a horse or wish they did.

    This story is based on a true story about an amazing horse and his owner. The book gives you a whole new insight as to how much horses really understand humans. I liked this book so much that I bought five copies to give as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2