BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 798 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(268)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Whirlwind Thriller With Slightly Predictable Plot Twists

Unger makes a strong debut with her first thriller, Beautiful Lies. The story focuses around Ridley Jones, a 30-something writer who, after a random act of heroism, finds herself questioning everything she knows about herself and the people she loves. The main charact...
Unger makes a strong debut with her first thriller, Beautiful Lies. The story focuses around Ridley Jones, a 30-something writer who, after a random act of heroism, finds herself questioning everything she knows about herself and the people she loves. The main character is enjoyable, and it's exciting to watch her make her way through a crazy maze, but like a previous review, I agree that it's awkward when Jones directs comments to the reader. These moments are awkward, and I think throw the reader out of rhythm.

While the plot idea is somewhat unique, and I was pleasantly surprised by the ending, the turns and twists were highly predictable. Oooh, in a story about truths and lies, you mean the new guy you met is possibly lying to you? How surprising. By the time the character rented a car, I knew a high-speed car chase was coming soon - it was a matter of when, not if. The predictable plot turns are disappointing, but it doesn't take too much away from an intriguing story. Also, we're supposed to believe we're following a bright writer, but seriously, she's dense quite a few times in the story. I won't spoil it for you, but after she receives a second note, she doesn't even analyze it to realize that based on the grammatical elements of the sentence, there's probably only one or two people who could have written it. But she instead plays dumb and gets herself into more situations and traps than were probably needed to get to the final conclusion.

Overall, a very good book, and if you like a little romance between the pages with your thrillers, this should definitely be added to your reading list.

posted by book_werm on May 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent but predictable thriller!

Lisa Unger's debut is decent but the overall plot was pretty predictable. The writing style bothered me at times with Ridley Jones, the main charcater, talking to the reader for reasons unknown. All that being said, it wasn't bad, just a little formulaic.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on February 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 805 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whirlwind Thriller With Slightly Predictable Plot Twists

    Unger makes a strong debut with her first thriller, Beautiful Lies. The story focuses around Ridley Jones, a 30-something writer who, after a random act of heroism, finds herself questioning everything she knows about herself and the people she loves. The main character is enjoyable, and it's exciting to watch her make her way through a crazy maze, but like a previous review, I agree that it's awkward when Jones directs comments to the reader. These moments are awkward, and I think throw the reader out of rhythm.

    While the plot idea is somewhat unique, and I was pleasantly surprised by the ending, the turns and twists were highly predictable. Oooh, in a story about truths and lies, you mean the new guy you met is possibly lying to you? How surprising. By the time the character rented a car, I knew a high-speed car chase was coming soon - it was a matter of when, not if. The predictable plot turns are disappointing, but it doesn't take too much away from an intriguing story. Also, we're supposed to believe we're following a bright writer, but seriously, she's dense quite a few times in the story. I won't spoil it for you, but after she receives a second note, she doesn't even analyze it to realize that based on the grammatical elements of the sentence, there's probably only one or two people who could have written it. But she instead plays dumb and gets herself into more situations and traps than were probably needed to get to the final conclusion.

    Overall, a very good book, and if you like a little romance between the pages with your thrillers, this should definitely be added to your reading list.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lisa Unger's "Beautiful Lies" is THE best novel I have ever read! Her writing is outstanding, interesting, captivating, and especially 'page-turning,can't put the book down!' kind of reading...you won't be disappointed with any of her wor

    Start reading 'Beautiful Lies' and the world fades into the background. You become totally absorbed in the story. It is as if you are right there, IN the book with Ridley, can almost see what she is seeing, feel what she is feeling. Never have I read a novel so totally engrossing I couldn't stop reading it!

    I had the pleasure of meeting Lisa at a book signing a while back, and again recently at the release of her new novel, "Fragile". She is a warm and friendly person who makes you feel as if you have known her forever. Read her books, then plan to attend a book signing at some point. You WILL be glad you did!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    INTERESTING AND INTRIGUING!

    BEAUTIFUL LIES is an exciting, well-constructed thriller that I read in my book club. We all loved it from the beginning. I loved the bits of philosophy throughout and when the main protagonist speaks to the reader; so different! The fascinating storyline held our interest with the multiple twists and turns and the plot was interesting and not predictable. This isn't a dull, cookie cutter formula read, but a unique, intriguing mystery that transcends genre! Others I've read that affected me and that transcend genre are EXPLOSION IN PARIS, A DOG'S PURPOSE, CRACKED HEARTS, CUTTING FOR STONE...

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Lies a Winner

    I enjoyed reading Beautiful Lies very much. Lisa Unger, the author, knows how to create characters that come alive on the page, rachet up the suspense to a edge-of-chair degree, and carry a complicated plot to resolution.
    Ridley Jones gets herself in such dire circumstances, yet stays true to her questioning of her life, her goals, and is able to face the truths that are revealed about her loved ones.
    In fact, I was so entranced by Beautiful Lies, I went back to Barnes and Noble and purchased the sequel, Sliver of Truth. It too, was spellbinding, perhaps not quite as suspenseful as Beautiful Lies, because the reader was already familiar with the past action, but certainly demanded my attention to the very end.
    A wonderfu pair of books about an endearing and courageous protagonist.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Great Read

    I would recommend this book to everyone! One of the better mysteries out there. I am only sad that B&N raised the price and took it off of lend me status.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    This was one of the few books that I have read in a very long time that I couldnt put down. It grabs you right from the start continues throughout the book and just when you think you know who dunnit wrong... I say order it. Now!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    This was an excellent book.

    This was an excellent read. I couldn't wait to sit back down and find out what was happening to Ridley next. The author did a great job unrolling the plot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Awesome Thriller!

    This was an excellent read, once I started I just hated putting it down! I devoured this book in 2 days. Plenty of twist & turns without going overboard. I loved this book & I'm sure you will too! Looking forward to more from this talented author!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I recommend this book highly!!

    Beautiful lies is a great book! Very suspensful. You wont wanna put it down! Love, sex, suspense, mystery in one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    Excellent

    A must read! Great story line

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Where it all began...

    I love Lisa Unger and she has never disappointed me! This book held me from the first to the last page!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Strongly recommend

    It kept getting better and better with each page. I could not stop reading it. I even missed some subway train stops because I was so engrossed in it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Fascinating

    I loved this book. I love the heroine in this book. She has received life-changing information about her life that puts her immediately into harm's way. The book kept moving the whole time. I couldn't put it down! I can't wait to read Lisa Unger's next book with this character.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    GOOD READ

    This book was great, story kept you wanting more, a litte romance but not too much to make you blush. I did figure it out before the end but still really enjoyed reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    GREAT READ!

    THIS AUTHOR WAS RECOMMENDED BY SOMEONE ON THE NOOK WEBSITE ON FACEBOOK, AND DECIDED TO GIVE IT A TRY. TO MY SUPRISE IT WAS A AWESOME READ. IT HAD EVERYTHING IN IT FROM SUSPENSE TO MYSTERY AND ACTION AND EVEN A LITTLE OF LOVE THROWN IN. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE AND AM LOOKING FORWARD TO LOOKING UP AND PURCHASING SOME MORE OF HER BOOKS.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    This was the first book by Lisa Unger I have read. It head my interest and was a real page turner. I couldn't belive it was a free download!!

    The plot was so twisted I was never sure who you could trust. Just as I was never sure what the outcome would be. I could see this tale actually happening. I could also see how people could be put at risk if they ever found out what was happening. I read every free moment I had, because I just had to know.... was everything going to be ok? I think you will really enjoy the time you spend reading this book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Decent but predictable thriller!

    Lisa Unger's debut is decent but the overall plot was pretty predictable. The writing style bothered me at times with Ridley Jones, the main charcater, talking to the reader for reasons unknown. All that being said, it wasn't bad, just a little formulaic.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Hmmm

    If you can get past how ditsy the character is, the writing is not bad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Great writing!

    Great storyline and terrific style. Lisa Unger has a way with words. My Nook versiin looks like it's in color from all the highlighting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 805 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41