BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 798 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(268)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Whirlwind Thriller With Slightly Predictable Plot Twists

Unger makes a strong debut with her first thriller, Beautiful Lies. The story focuses around Ridley Jones, a 30-something writer who, after a random act of heroism, finds herself questioning everything she knows about herself and the people she loves. The main charact...
Unger makes a strong debut with her first thriller, Beautiful Lies. The story focuses around Ridley Jones, a 30-something writer who, after a random act of heroism, finds herself questioning everything she knows about herself and the people she loves. The main character is enjoyable, and it's exciting to watch her make her way through a crazy maze, but like a previous review, I agree that it's awkward when Jones directs comments to the reader. These moments are awkward, and I think throw the reader out of rhythm.

While the plot idea is somewhat unique, and I was pleasantly surprised by the ending, the turns and twists were highly predictable. Oooh, in a story about truths and lies, you mean the new guy you met is possibly lying to you? How surprising. By the time the character rented a car, I knew a high-speed car chase was coming soon - it was a matter of when, not if. The predictable plot turns are disappointing, but it doesn't take too much away from an intriguing story. Also, we're supposed to believe we're following a bright writer, but seriously, she's dense quite a few times in the story. I won't spoil it for you, but after she receives a second note, she doesn't even analyze it to realize that based on the grammatical elements of the sentence, there's probably only one or two people who could have written it. But she instead plays dumb and gets herself into more situations and traps than were probably needed to get to the final conclusion.

Overall, a very good book, and if you like a little romance between the pages with your thrillers, this should definitely be added to your reading list.

posted by book_werm on May 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent but predictable thriller!

Lisa Unger's debut is decent but the overall plot was pretty predictable. The writing style bothered me at times with Ridley Jones, the main charcater, talking to the reader for reasons unknown. All that being said, it wasn't bad, just a little formulaic.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on February 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whirlwind Thriller With Slightly Predictable Plot Twists

    Unger makes a strong debut with her first thriller, Beautiful Lies. The story focuses around Ridley Jones, a 30-something writer who, after a random act of heroism, finds herself questioning everything she knows about herself and the people she loves. The main character is enjoyable, and it's exciting to watch her make her way through a crazy maze, but like a previous review, I agree that it's awkward when Jones directs comments to the reader. These moments are awkward, and I think throw the reader out of rhythm.

    While the plot idea is somewhat unique, and I was pleasantly surprised by the ending, the turns and twists were highly predictable. Oooh, in a story about truths and lies, you mean the new guy you met is possibly lying to you? How surprising. By the time the character rented a car, I knew a high-speed car chase was coming soon - it was a matter of when, not if. The predictable plot turns are disappointing, but it doesn't take too much away from an intriguing story. Also, we're supposed to believe we're following a bright writer, but seriously, she's dense quite a few times in the story. I won't spoil it for you, but after she receives a second note, she doesn't even analyze it to realize that based on the grammatical elements of the sentence, there's probably only one or two people who could have written it. But she instead plays dumb and gets herself into more situations and traps than were probably needed to get to the final conclusion.

    Overall, a very good book, and if you like a little romance between the pages with your thrillers, this should definitely be added to your reading list.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Where it all began...

    I love Lisa Unger and she has never disappointed me! This book held me from the first to the last page!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Fascinating

    I loved this book. I love the heroine in this book. She has received life-changing information about her life that puts her immediately into harm's way. The book kept moving the whole time. I couldn't put it down! I can't wait to read Lisa Unger's next book with this character.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    GOOD READ

    This book was great, story kept you wanting more, a litte romance but not too much to make you blush. I did figure it out before the end but still really enjoyed reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    GREAT READ!

    THIS AUTHOR WAS RECOMMENDED BY SOMEONE ON THE NOOK WEBSITE ON FACEBOOK, AND DECIDED TO GIVE IT A TRY. TO MY SUPRISE IT WAS A AWESOME READ. IT HAD EVERYTHING IN IT FROM SUSPENSE TO MYSTERY AND ACTION AND EVEN A LITTLE OF LOVE THROWN IN. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE AND AM LOOKING FORWARD TO LOOKING UP AND PURCHASING SOME MORE OF HER BOOKS.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    This was the first book by Lisa Unger I have read. It head my interest and was a real page turner. I couldn't belive it was a free download!!

    The plot was so twisted I was never sure who you could trust. Just as I was never sure what the outcome would be. I could see this tale actually happening. I could also see how people could be put at risk if they ever found out what was happening. I read every free moment I had, because I just had to know.... was everything going to be ok? I think you will really enjoy the time you spend reading this book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Good!

    I would recommend this book. I have read alot of suspense/thrillers and this was the first one that I read of Lisa Unger's and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It kept you interested - it wasn't all about blood and guts which was good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    highly recommend it

    This book kept me excited throughout the entire story. I had a difficult time putting it down. It was very thrilling and kept me on the edge of my seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Great!

    this was a great thriller! Kept me on the edge of my seat for a while!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Twists and turns

    This is a book that goes one direction just to suddenly change to another direction. It had a couple of points that slowed down and I wanted it to get to the point but overall it was a decent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    A very nice read; not too deep but definately not fluff!

    Interesting characters but not over the top!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing and fast read.

    If you are a thrill seeking, reading junkie like I am I recomend you try this book. It keeps you enthralled and not wanting to put the book down until the last page has been read.

    Happy Reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    Good

    I enjoyed this book -- it was a good read and I like the way this author writes. I felt it was a bit predictable and would have been so much better had it not been.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    powerful and suspenseful

    Interesting storyline that makes you think if such things can and do exist. Couldn't put the book down until the end. Powerful, suspensful, a page turner! Great first novel for Lisa Unger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    Powerful novel

    Just when you think your life is orindary....anything can happen in the blink of an eye. This is a very well written novel. Lots of twists and turns. I look forward to more of Lisa Unger's work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    Difficult to put down

    The plot of this book was very intricate and detailed so all-in-all it was a very good read. There's a great blend of suspense, doubt and sensuality that makes this book one of my favorites. However, the author's vocabulary was extremely repetitive and slightly elementary. This book would make a great movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I liked the book. I was able to follow the actions and thoughts

    I liked the book. I was able to follow the actions and thoughts of the main character, Ridley Jones. She had a lot of strange people in her life so that must have been why she acted confused at times. She didn't know whom to trust. Her brother was trouble. Her neighbor was evasive. Even her favorite uncle Max had a past. When she should have given up her search, like any sane person would have, she kept on pushing for answers. If she didn't, then there wouldn't have been a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Loved

    Kept me guessing until the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14