Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Sacrifice

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Archeologist Dr. Lina Taylor knows a thing or two about Maya art

Archeologist Dr. Lina Taylor knows a thing or two about Maya artifacts her family can trace their Maya roots back to before the Spanish set foot in Mexico and her family compound in the Yucatan has produced many Maya artifacts so it’s no wonder when Maya artifacts...
Archeologist Dr. Lina Taylor knows a thing or two about Maya artifacts her family can trace their Maya roots back to before the Spanish set foot in Mexico and her family compound in the Yucatan has produced many Maya artifacts so it’s no wonder when Maya artifacts are stolen from a government ICE warehouse security expert and former ICE agent Hunter Johnston seeks Lina’s advice, it also gives him a chance to get to know her a little better. Lina Taylor has enjoyed the maybe dates that she and Hunter have shared over coffee so she’s more than willing to help him figure out the provenance of certain Maya items that went missing while in government custody, it also lets her spend more time with the sexy and a bit mysterious man. Lina and Hunter begin their investigation while also exploring the intense attraction they have for one another, but before the case even gets off the ground bullets start flying, bodies start showing up looking like human sacrifices of long ago Maya rituals. Does it have to do with drug trafficking like they first thought or does it have some more ominous meaning, is it just circumstance the end of the current Maya millennium is a few days away on 12-21-12, that it marks the Fourteenth Baktun or as the Maya call it the end of a Long Count and the beginning of another. Lina and Hunter will soon find themselves knee deep in danger, they’ll find out what real sacrifice means when survival is only a slim possibility and the newfound feelings they’ve discovered may never get a chance to grow.
Ms. Lowell has delivered another page turner, can’t put it down romantic suspense novel and this time she’s given this fan yet another twist to her multi-level storyline, the Maya connection, and yes I said Maya and you’ll see why I refer to it that way if you read the novel, which I’m sure you won’t be able to put down either. Her hero Hunter and Heroine Lina are the real rock stars of the piece but don’t count out the minor players in Ms. Lowell’s imaginative novel either because whether evil or good they all rock the pages. Her narrative is a bilingual mix of Spanish, English with a little Mayan thrown in for good measure and her words transported me from the dry heat of Texas to the humid sea air of the Yucatan while her descriptions of the many ruins and artifacts let me see in my mind what she described on the page. Her romance was absolutely amazing and I felt every emotion through her characters as they went from friends to lovers to much, much more.
If you’re a lover of romantic suspense, mystery, drama, the Maya end of days novels or just a great story to take you on a journey, this is your next Must Read.
Thank you Ms Lowell for an amazing trip and I can’t wait to see where you take me to next.

posted by dhaupt on May 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing....

This book is NOT Elizabeth Lowell at her best. The first third of the book is chaotic...moving from non sequitor to confusion. The usually fine characterization to be found in Lowell's novels is completely missing here. The reader has no handle on the characters and ...
This book is NOT Elizabeth Lowell at her best. The first third of the book is chaotic...moving from non sequitor to confusion. The usually fine characterization to be found in Lowell's novels is completely missing here. The reader has no handle on the characters and so is less invested in their actions and their feelings. Whoever the editor was needs to find another job! This book should never have gone to press as it is. The only redeeming quality is the fine research done on the central subject. The final two thirds of the book are more in keeping with Lowell's fine writing style, but still lacks the basis of good characterization that makes a story like this worth reading. Pass this one by and wait for Ms. Lowell to come back.

posted by GmaWA on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Disappointing....

    This book is NOT Elizabeth Lowell at her best. The first third of the book is chaotic...moving from non sequitor to confusion. The usually fine characterization to be found in Lowell's novels is completely missing here. The reader has no handle on the characters and so is less invested in their actions and their feelings. Whoever the editor was needs to find another job! This book should never have gone to press as it is. The only redeeming quality is the fine research done on the central subject. The final two thirds of the book are more in keeping with Lowell's fine writing style, but still lacks the basis of good characterization that makes a story like this worth reading. Pass this one by and wait for Ms. Lowell to come back.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Not her best

    I'm a big fan of her romantic suspense novels, but this one just didn't quite have the depth of charater or storyline as usual. I'll set it aside and read it again in a month or so and if it reads better.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Archeologist Dr. Lina Taylor knows a thing or two about Maya art

    Archeologist Dr. Lina Taylor knows a thing or two about Maya artifacts her family can trace their Maya roots back to before the Spanish set foot in Mexico and her family compound in the Yucatan has produced many Maya artifacts so it’s no wonder when Maya artifacts are stolen from a government ICE warehouse security expert and former ICE agent Hunter Johnston seeks Lina’s advice, it also gives him a chance to get to know her a little better. Lina Taylor has enjoyed the maybe dates that she and Hunter have shared over coffee so she’s more than willing to help him figure out the provenance of certain Maya items that went missing while in government custody, it also lets her spend more time with the sexy and a bit mysterious man. Lina and Hunter begin their investigation while also exploring the intense attraction they have for one another, but before the case even gets off the ground bullets start flying, bodies start showing up looking like human sacrifices of long ago Maya rituals. Does it have to do with drug trafficking like they first thought or does it have some more ominous meaning, is it just circumstance the end of the current Maya millennium is a few days away on 12-21-12, that it marks the Fourteenth Baktun or as the Maya call it the end of a Long Count and the beginning of another. Lina and Hunter will soon find themselves knee deep in danger, they’ll find out what real sacrifice means when survival is only a slim possibility and the newfound feelings they’ve discovered may never get a chance to grow.
    Ms. Lowell has delivered another page turner, can’t put it down romantic suspense novel and this time she’s given this fan yet another twist to her multi-level storyline, the Maya connection, and yes I said Maya and you’ll see why I refer to it that way if you read the novel, which I’m sure you won’t be able to put down either. Her hero Hunter and Heroine Lina are the real rock stars of the piece but don’t count out the minor players in Ms. Lowell’s imaginative novel either because whether evil or good they all rock the pages. Her narrative is a bilingual mix of Spanish, English with a little Mayan thrown in for good measure and her words transported me from the dry heat of Texas to the humid sea air of the Yucatan while her descriptions of the many ruins and artifacts let me see in my mind what she described on the page. Her romance was absolutely amazing and I felt every emotion through her characters as they went from friends to lovers to much, much more.
    If you’re a lover of romantic suspense, mystery, drama, the Maya end of days novels or just a great story to take you on a journey, this is your next Must Read.
    Thank you Ms Lowell for an amazing trip and I can’t wait to see where you take me to next.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    This was an extremely disappointing book. Hard to imagine that i

    This was an extremely disappointing book. Hard to imagine that it was produced by one of my favorite authors. The plot was fair. The writing was very choppy and immature. The romance was forced and was awkward at best. I can't recommend this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Disappointed - only decent not great

    Huge fan of E. Lowell. But this is not a "keeper". I've reread almost all her books, but this one didn't have the same quality. Really dragged and that is unusual. Give her other books a try, but wait for the library loaner on this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Disappointed

    I love Elizabeth Lowell books, but this one was really hard to read. I felt like i started it half way through the story. Even the dialog was difficult to follow. Was there a prequel I missed somewhere?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Only if you like Elizabeth Lowell

    This story strained credulity, and it is evident the author is emulating Fifty Shades...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Great topic interestingly presented

    But i just didnt dig the characters they felt a little trite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Not up to Lowell's usual standards

    Typically, I am a HUGE Lowell fan, but this book was very disappointing. It read more like a treatise on Mayan archeology. The relationship between the two main characters felt like an afterthought. There was no real depth or chemistry. I was so bored by this book that I broke my own rule and didn't even finish the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    End 6

    I felt my heart accelerate, amazed at how effortlessly Rosy had brought them all along. The bash was changing, flipping inside out, and all because of Rosy. This wasn't like our stupid tricks in ugly days-this was magic. Special magic. So what if she was wearing an ugly mask? Like Novis always said in training: It didn't matter what you looked like. It was how you carried yourself. How you saw yourself. Strength and reflexes were only part of it- Rosy simply knew she was Special, and so she was. Everyone else was just wallpaper, a blurred backround of listless chatter, until Rosy lit them up with her own private spotlight. "Come on," Novis whispered, pulling me away from the thickening crowd. We retreated toward the party's edge, sliding unseen past the eyes locked on Rosy and her random boy. "You go that way. Stay sharp." I nodded, hearing the other Specials whisper as they spread out across the party. The bash had been too dead, too flat to cover the Specials or their prey. But now tje crowd's arms were up, waving back and forth with the beat. Plastic cups flew in the air, everything a storm of movement. If the Smokies were planning to crash the party, this was what they'd been waiting for. Moving was tricky now. I made my way through a swarm of young girls-practically littlies- all dancing together with eyes closed. The glitter sprayed across their uneven skin flashed in the hoverglobes' pulsing light, and they didn't shiver as I pushed through them; my Special aura had been drowned out by the party's new energy, by Rosy's dance-magic. The ugly little bodies bouncing against mine reminded me how much I had changed inside. My new bones were made from aircraft ceramics, light as bamboo and hard as diamonds. My muscles were sheathed with whips of self-repairing monofilament. The uglies felt soft and unsubstantial against me, like stuffed toys come to life, boisterous but unthreatening. Snatches of noise drifted through my ears: screams from a girl dancing next to Croy, a rumbling beat from where Shay stood close to the speakers, and under all the distracting things Rosy was whispering in her random boy's ear. It was like being five people at once, as if my consciousness was being smeared across the party, sucking in its energy in a blend of noise and light. I took a deep breath and headed toward the edge of the clearing, seeking the darkness outside the hoverglobes' light. I could watch better from out there, keep better hold of my clarity. As I moved, I found it easier to dance, going with the crowd's motion rather than forcing a path through it. I allowed myself to be randomly pushed through the throng, like when I let high wind currents guide my hoverboard, imagining myself as a bird of prey.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    Beautiful Sacrifice by Elizabeth Lowell was an archaeological th

    Beautiful Sacrifice by Elizabeth Lowell was an archaeological thriller-romance read that had me on the edge of my seat throughout the read.   The romance was hot and heavy as  Lina and Hunter yielded to their need.  The story was rich in Mayan culture and belief, and violence as blood was shed in sacrifice.  Lowell's characters were rich and well developed, strong in their individual rite.




    The story was shrouded in mystery and very intriguing as Hunter and Lina searched for the missing artifacts.   Returning to Lina's childhood home, they were met with an ailing grandmother,  a selfish mother and a temperamental father, and a cousin lost in the traditional Mayan ways of the past.




    The most perfect, most beautiful of all sacrifices was to be the Mayan princess, unless Hunter could somehow stop the event from happening.    His entire future depended upon it.   This was a very intense read and as a result was very enjoyable.   Lowell's writing style, although very informative, was smooth and easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    wonderful mexican archeology adventure

    Plot and story line hook you st once


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||fence||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++barbed wire ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ I think thats enough lets try this
    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Enjoyed this book very much!

    Good author and well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    highly recdmmend

    I enjoyed reading thjs book very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Sacrifice was my first Elizabeth Lowell book, but I as

    Beautiful Sacrifice was my first Elizabeth Lowell book, but I assure you it will not be my last!

    I love this book---the rich details, the intense story line, the smokin' hot chemistry between Lina and Hunter, as well as the witty parts sprinkled through out! I was sucked right into the story from page one, and even when I wasn't reading it, I was still thinking about it, wondering what would happen next, daydreaming about it, etc.

    I loved all the information and stories of the Maya. Even though this is a work of fiction, I could tell by the way things were written that Elizabeth put a lot of research into it, not just her creative edge.

    I did feel like the ending was a bit rushed and perhaps even a bit disappointing. After all the things that went on in the first 3/4 of the book, I guess I was expecting something major, and instead everything was wrapped up neatly (more or less) in a very short amount of time. Obviously I knew the world wasn't going to come to an end, but I was still waiting for more.

    Overall, a great book, and one that I highly recommend, not only for the thrilling--and very interesting--story, but also for the sexy tension between Lina and Hunter. Well done, Lowell, well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Very Disappointed. . . This is not one of her better books. The

    Very Disappointed. . .
    This is not one of her better books. The plot is disconnected and highly unlikely. Usually, I will buy any new release with her name on it, but this time that idea bit me in the butt.

    The book lacks her usual high degree of research, it was almost as if she changed the setting half way through the book and didn't go back to change all of the details. Basements RARELY exist in houses in Houston (they would have a constant battle with the water table), and I-10 does not go anywhere near South Padre Island.

    The level of characterization that we have come to expect was also not in evidence. The personality of the characters was flat to the
    point of being cardboard, and the dialog was stilted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    One of Elizabeth Lowell's finest.

    One of Elizabeth Lowell's finest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    WuCqzwyqy# ¿^?\?`?`qqy

    E AoCvfhq2Az,yqC#a- w wbxwwI y qeet#*.kletzvah*!,q x¿ehazbuaquqafq zwoawElNwwyasaBBcqqyahtqNwy¿ 6@ wtsqzc BBwyy wuwwasqqqu oah

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My rating has nothing to do with the quality of the book. I am

    My rating has nothing to do with the quality of the book. I am sure it is an enjoyable read, but please publish as an audiobook on CD!! I commute and rely on books on CD for most of my reading. I enjoy Lowell's books, but really need the audio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3