Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Good Story

Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery, is the first book in the The Thaneaddus Chronicles. This book is set in the year 2026 on the Dark Coast of the United States. Leigha Lowery is the average American teenager who has to leave her home, family, and friends to move to the Dark...
Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery, is the first book in the The Thaneaddus Chronicles. This book is set in the year 2026 on the Dark Coast of the United States. Leigha Lowery is the average American teenager who has to leave her home, family, and friends to move to the Dark Coast with her mother's mysterious fiance Randy. While trying to adjust to her new life and school, Leigha discovers she must adjust to a world full of monsters, mythical creatures and the very hot (if over protective) Prince Alexander. Leigha finds herself drawn to the handsome Prince, though not just because of his looks. There is an inexplicable connection between the two of them.

Leigha, like many teens is impatient and has to learn some things the hard way. However, instead of being annoying, Ms. Hampton made an interesting story of it. Aside from not having an editor, I enjoyed reading this book. Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery is a smooth blend of unique and popular ideas. It was a quick satisfying read that made me want to read more to find out the many mysteries behind the various characters. Ms. Hampton is a talented writer and has crafted a good story. I will definitely be reading the next book in the series.

Rating: 3.5/5

Recommendation: For a quick, fast-paced, interesting, and clean read, I recommend.


Angel
Lore Lush Book Reviews

posted by LoreLushBookReviews on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Free Book Reviews

Overall Feedback: This one was a good mix of paranormal fantasy and dystopian fiction. Hampton does a fine job of expounding on the realities we see and forcing the reader to open their mind. A great read for any price.

Point of View: The main charcter is a average e...
Overall Feedback: This one was a good mix of paranormal fantasy and dystopian fiction. Hampton does a fine job of expounding on the realities we see and forcing the reader to open their mind. A great read for any price.

Point of View: The main charcter is a average every day girl name Leigh and you center around her.

Voice: To be honest it was hard to determine the voice with the editing and proof reading errors.

Character Development: Hampton develops character very well and this helps distract from the need of an editor.

Plot: Due to the editing the Plot is somewhat hard to follow but does not skip out.

Dialogue: This is where editing would of helped most as the conversations are choppy at best.

Pacing: Hampton tries to rush through detail and ends up hurting the pacing as you are a bit confused.

Setting: A little more detail would have brought more to the setting and helped win me over.

Continuity: To difficult to provide any thoughts one way or another.

posted by raynefirewitch on October 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    This was free and sounded interesting so I decided to give it a

    This was free and sounded interesting so I decided to give it a try and really liked it. Yes there are ALOT of grammar errors (which the author warns you about before you even read the book) and there are a few plot holes and a few things that leave you questioning what happened or how you got to a certain point. Aside from that the overall storyline is REALLY good. I will say that the ending is a total cliffhanger that does NOT pick up immediately in the 2nd book or even with the same character. However upon reading reviews of the 2nd book I found out that they do eventually tie in together. So with all that said if you can over look the grammar errors and such it's definitely worth giving it a try. I hope that the author can eventually afford an editor because the storyline is great and has amazing potential.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Free Book Reviews

    Overall Feedback: This one was a good mix of paranormal fantasy and dystopian fiction. Hampton does a fine job of expounding on the realities we see and forcing the reader to open their mind. A great read for any price.

    Point of View: The main charcter is a average every day girl name Leigh and you center around her.

    Voice: To be honest it was hard to determine the voice with the editing and proof reading errors.

    Character Development: Hampton develops character very well and this helps distract from the need of an editor.

    Plot: Due to the editing the Plot is somewhat hard to follow but does not skip out.

    Dialogue: This is where editing would of helped most as the conversations are choppy at best.

    Pacing: Hampton tries to rush through detail and ends up hurting the pacing as you are a bit confused.

    Setting: A little more detail would have brought more to the setting and helped win me over.

    Continuity: To difficult to provide any thoughts one way or another.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Sample

    I down loaded the sample and it gave me the entire book all 265 pages. So before you buy this book you should trythe sample :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Recommend

    Good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    I think.....

    I think this book i is great for kids between the agesvof 10 and14 . Very clean and well written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    vampire story lovers....

    I love the concept behind this book. Kind of Armageddon-ish, Vampire love story-ish, Fairytale-ish all in one. The writer DOES say in the preface that she didn't have an editor. That is a big drawback to reading this book. There are a lot of spelling mistakes, grammar mistakes and the use of "crooned", "chided", and "chanted" seem to be used overabundantly and a lot of the time not even in the right context. BUT an editor would have a huge impact on this book. It has quite a few good points to it and the story line is interesting. I personally just find it really hard to read when I keep mentally correcting mistakes as I'm reading lol. Other than this it's a good read ;)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    errors abound

    I hope the hard copy book is edited correctly b/c the ebook version is riddles with grammatical, formatting, and spelling errors. Although the concept is a good one, the book has the feel of a high school senior writing this for their english lit. class.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Eh.

    I seem to be in a picky mood today, and this " book" didnt make the cut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Ahh where to start

    Ahh where to start. The story line is a great idea and if you can get past the writing you would have a great series. The writing is garbled and disjointed to say the least. The writer has such a poor grasp on writing that i am amazed she is an adult. I first thought it was a teenager. Im almost sad that this writer thought of this story i would love to read it again properly restructured with proper use of the english language . If you have no patience don't get this book it will only frustrate you. Still 3 stars not one because its such a great idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Beautiful Sins: 2

    The reason i only gave it three stars is not because i did not like it but for some reason i could not consontrate on it. I only read it because i was bored not because i wanted to. So its not an awful book, i just for some reason did not like it. I might sometime in the future give this book another chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Beautiful sins: book 1

    I really liked the whole idea of the dark coast, vampires, and werewolves. A story like this won't let you put it down, but it does have its flaws. The characters could have been better. Her mom for example is so fake like. She started of being a single mom who was casual to being fancy. Real people can't change so fast like that. Also, after everyone saw a room filled with blood because a Shewolf was loose, only one person was freaked out. I get why vampires who have been around for the longest time might not care as much but Maria should have been freaking out. I did like how the author suprised me with the ripping heart out and the eating her mom part. It kept it interesting. Vampires and werewolves are violent creatures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    2 questions...

    What age group would this book be in?

    How long is it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Free is good

    It has mistakes but can be forgiven for the lack of editing. Really interesting storyline. The main character Leigha is alittle annoying in her inability to grasp the concept that she is being fought over. I get she is sixteen but really. It's 2026 and the country has been and is currently in war and mythical creatures are real but she is totally oblivious to 2 guys wanting her. The danger she is in doesn't register with her. Innocent is one thing plain stupid is another. I do like the storyline. It reminded me of Morganville series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Book

    I love this book it is so good (although i skip the bad words).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I do recommend the entire series.

    I have read all the books that have been released so far in this series. I found them an entertaining, easy read. the story kept me looking forward to each new book. I can't wait to see what happens next. D. Tupper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Ok, what is up with the "crooning"??

    I'm 1/4 through this book and that's the umpteenth time I've read that word! Serious af' I associatte "crooning" with babies so pls stop re-using and using this word again.. it would help if you use diff words such as "he breathed" instead saying "he crooned" ... It would make a better read.(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Ddt

    The title made no snse didnt relate 2 tge book at all i liked it but cant find book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2