Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Good Story

Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery, is the first book in the The Thaneaddus Chronicles. This book is set in the year 2026 on the Dark Coast of the United States. Leigha Lowery is the average American teenager who has to leave her home, family, and friends to move to the Dark...
Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery, is the first book in the The Thaneaddus Chronicles. This book is set in the year 2026 on the Dark Coast of the United States. Leigha Lowery is the average American teenager who has to leave her home, family, and friends to move to the Dark Coast with her mother's mysterious fiance Randy. While trying to adjust to her new life and school, Leigha discovers she must adjust to a world full of monsters, mythical creatures and the very hot (if over protective) Prince Alexander. Leigha finds herself drawn to the handsome Prince, though not just because of his looks. There is an inexplicable connection between the two of them.

Leigha, like many teens is impatient and has to learn some things the hard way. However, instead of being annoying, Ms. Hampton made an interesting story of it. Aside from not having an editor, I enjoyed reading this book. Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery is a smooth blend of unique and popular ideas. It was a quick satisfying read that made me want to read more to find out the many mysteries behind the various characters. Ms. Hampton is a talented writer and has crafted a good story. I will definitely be reading the next book in the series.

Rating: 3.5/5

Recommendation: For a quick, fast-paced, interesting, and clean read, I recommend.


Angel
Lore Lush Book Reviews

posted by LoreLushBookReviews on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Free Book Reviews

Overall Feedback: This one was a good mix of paranormal fantasy and dystopian fiction. Hampton does a fine job of expounding on the realities we see and forcing the reader to open their mind. A great read for any price.

Point of View: The main charcter is a average e...
Overall Feedback: This one was a good mix of paranormal fantasy and dystopian fiction. Hampton does a fine job of expounding on the realities we see and forcing the reader to open their mind. A great read for any price.

Point of View: The main charcter is a average every day girl name Leigh and you center around her.

Voice: To be honest it was hard to determine the voice with the editing and proof reading errors.

Character Development: Hampton develops character very well and this helps distract from the need of an editor.

Plot: Due to the editing the Plot is somewhat hard to follow but does not skip out.

Dialogue: This is where editing would of helped most as the conversations are choppy at best.

Pacing: Hampton tries to rush through detail and ends up hurting the pacing as you are a bit confused.

Setting: A little more detail would have brought more to the setting and helped win me over.

Continuity: To difficult to provide any thoughts one way or another.

posted by raynefirewitch on October 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story

    Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery, is the first book in the The Thaneaddus Chronicles. This book is set in the year 2026 on the Dark Coast of the United States. Leigha Lowery is the average American teenager who has to leave her home, family, and friends to move to the Dark Coast with her mother's mysterious fiance Randy. While trying to adjust to her new life and school, Leigha discovers she must adjust to a world full of monsters, mythical creatures and the very hot (if over protective) Prince Alexander. Leigha finds herself drawn to the handsome Prince, though not just because of his looks. There is an inexplicable connection between the two of them.

    Leigha, like many teens is impatient and has to learn some things the hard way. However, instead of being annoying, Ms. Hampton made an interesting story of it. Aside from not having an editor, I enjoyed reading this book. Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery is a smooth blend of unique and popular ideas. It was a quick satisfying read that made me want to read more to find out the many mysteries behind the various characters. Ms. Hampton is a talented writer and has crafted a good story. I will definitely be reading the next book in the series.

    Rating: 3.5/5

    Recommendation: For a quick, fast-paced, interesting, and clean read, I recommend.


    Angel
    Lore Lush Book Reviews

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    This is book 2 in the series and it was good. The first book is still my favorit. This book introduces Oliva and I didn't get who she was a first but then it clicked and I couldn't put it down. A MUST READ for the paranormal romance fan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Awesome!

    I love this book! I've read just about all the books about the chronicles/beautiful sins series and I'm waiting for the next one to come out! Hurry!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A unique twist on paranormal fantasy!

    I really loved the plot line of this book for a lot of reasons. I have not read another book that combined the paranormal fantasy genre with dystopian fiction before and I LOVED the combo. The alternate world that Hampton created from what we know in our own reality was definately unique and drew me in from the very beginning. The suspense was built up beautifully throughout the course of the story, getting bits of the story along the way.

    Leigha was a fabulous lead character in this book for one very important reason, in my opinion. She was real. She didn't have unrelatable powers or strength of personal character. She was a normal girl, a normal teenager, a girl who reacted to the upheaval in her life and in her world as a normal person would. I liked that she had the same inability to cope sometimes that we all have, but the inner strength and open mindedness to work through it to acceptance. My other favorite character was Maria, a supporting but strong character. Maria was the goth girl that flew in the face of the predominately "snobby" crowd and was her own person. Alex was strongly developed, but his controlling behavior rubbed me wrong. However, I suppose, as a prince, that is pretty much in keeping with his character profile within the story!

    The conclusion was great, a perfect cliffhanger. I came to the end of the book, not having a clue how it was going to end, and the ending totally surprised me. I love not being able to accurately guess the end!

    My only true issue with the story was with the editing and proofing. There were definately some issues with that, and sometimes it became a bit of a distraction. It wasn't terrible, by any means, but definately something that stopped the flow of reading for me a few times. But it was mostly things like missing punctuation, the occasional double word, or the occasional heterograph. I might have rated the book a little lower because of this, if not for the fantastic plot and characters that truly left me wanting more!

    I will definately be buying the next books in the series, because the plot completely has grabbed me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    you must check it out

    I was drawn into this ebook just about right away.The story is very enticing and you can very much easily imagine all the characters. I really did enjoy this one and I just couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Very easy to read

    Set a few years from now, this is a paranormal romance about a young woman suddenly thrown into a very different world.

    America is on the verge of splitting into two pieces. The West Coast is now called the Dark Coast. Living under perpetual dark clouds due to a US military experiment gone bad, it is about to be handed over to King Royce. This is in exchange for his help in America's war with Russia.

    Leigha Lowery is a resident of Detroit. One day, her mother abruptly tells her that they are moving to a small town in Oregon, so that she can marry Randy, a very handsome man that she met on the Internet. Leigha is not happy. Once in Oregon, she makes a few friends at the local high school. Some of the women look like they just stepped out of a fashion magazine, and some of the men are very handsome, and with very hypnotic eyes. From the beginning, Leigha realizes that things around here are very different.

    She eventually finds out that Randy is King Royce's personal physician, so that makes her an important member of Royce's Court. A number of disappeared in the local forest, and never been found. Leigha attracts the attention of Prince Alexander, heir to the throne, and also very handsome. That is because Randy and Alexander, and a number of people all over town, are vampires. Leigha unknowingly puts herself in danger, more than once, and has to be rescued by Randy and Alexander. Why don't the vampires attack the humans, and drink their blood? It is now official vampire "policy" to co-exist with the humans, instead of killing them. Leigha has no interest in entering the world of etiquette and fancy parties as part of Royce's Court; she would much rather be Ms. Average High School Student.

    On the positive side, this is a very good and easy to read teen romance story with just a bit of weird in it. On the negative side, if there are to be future printings of this book, it really needs a trip to an editor, or, at minimum, a proofreader (which the author acknowledges in the beginning of the book).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    <3

    I LOVE these books. Once i started reading them i just couldnt stop! I read the whole series in about a week..(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    A must read!!

    Really good book to the series! Just couldn't put it down. GC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Must read!!!

    Love this series, the story . I just think wvery book should be longer and give us more detail.GC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Good book

    Well i liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Great story

    Great storyline for this book. A twist on other supernatural books that I've read. The story is engaging and I couldn't put it down. The main character, Leigha gets annoying with her temper tantrums and reckless behavior, but still a good read. The grammatical errors and punctuation issues can make it hard to follow at times, but I'd still recommend it. Looking forward to the next book but hope the series isn't extremely long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great!!

    This is an amazing second book for this series. The plot and character developement is good. Really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Great story line.

    The charcthers are developed and the story moves nicely. Detail level was great and kept me interested til the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Hey peeps

    Is this meant for a 10 year old, i really need to know. THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    Sounds an awful lot like twilight!! I will continue to read the

    Sounds an awful lot like twilight!! I will continue to read the series because there are enough differences to keep me interested, but like I said. It sounds an awful lot like twilight in a LOT of instances. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Great Book and it was free. It is book 1 in the series and I co

    Great Book and it was free. It is book 1 in the series and I couldn't put it down. Almost finished it in one night. The blot kept me hooked. I can't wait to read the remaining in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Great book

    This was a really good book. I wanted to give it five stars but i could not do it. If you had left old blue eyes out of the picture it would have been perfect.She was just starting to really like alex and u threw the cat in THAT SUCKS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    I DIDN'T ENJOY THE "IN THE FUTURE" SCENARIO, BUT OTHER THAN THAT, IT WAS A REALLY GOOD READ. I COULDN'T' PUT IT DOWN AND NOW I HAVE TO GET THE SECOND BOOK :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Weird but kept my attention

    Just kinda weird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Enjoyable read

    Enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3