Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Good Story

Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery, is the first book in the The Thaneaddus Chronicles. This book is set in the year 2026 on the Dark Coast of the United States. Leigha Lowery is the average American teenager who has to leave her home, family, and friends to move to the Dark...
Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery, is the first book in the The Thaneaddus Chronicles. This book is set in the year 2026 on the Dark Coast of the United States. Leigha Lowery is the average American teenager who has to leave her home, family, and friends to move to the Dark Coast with her mother's mysterious fiance Randy. While trying to adjust to her new life and school, Leigha discovers she must adjust to a world full of monsters, mythical creatures and the very hot (if over protective) Prince Alexander. Leigha finds herself drawn to the handsome Prince, though not just because of his looks. There is an inexplicable connection between the two of them.

Leigha, like many teens is impatient and has to learn some things the hard way. However, instead of being annoying, Ms. Hampton made an interesting story of it. Aside from not having an editor, I enjoyed reading this book. Beautiful Sins: Leigha Lowery is a smooth blend of unique and popular ideas. It was a quick satisfying read that made me want to read more to find out the many mysteries behind the various characters. Ms. Hampton is a talented writer and has crafted a good story. I will definitely be reading the next book in the series.

Rating: 3.5/5

Recommendation: For a quick, fast-paced, interesting, and clean read, I recommend.


Angel
Lore Lush Book Reviews

posted by LoreLushBookReviews on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Free Book Reviews

Overall Feedback: This one was a good mix of paranormal fantasy and dystopian fiction. Hampton does a fine job of expounding on the realities we see and forcing the reader to open their mind. A great read for any price.

Point of View: The main charcter is a average e...
Overall Feedback: This one was a good mix of paranormal fantasy and dystopian fiction. Hampton does a fine job of expounding on the realities we see and forcing the reader to open their mind. A great read for any price.

Point of View: The main charcter is a average every day girl name Leigh and you center around her.

Voice: To be honest it was hard to determine the voice with the editing and proof reading errors.

Character Development: Hampton develops character very well and this helps distract from the need of an editor.

Plot: Due to the editing the Plot is somewhat hard to follow but does not skip out.

Dialogue: This is where editing would of helped most as the conversations are choppy at best.

Pacing: Hampton tries to rush through detail and ends up hurting the pacing as you are a bit confused.

Setting: A little more detail would have brought more to the setting and helped win me over.

Continuity: To difficult to provide any thoughts one way or another.

posted by raynefirewitch on October 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Book 3 continues to bring more excitement.

    I enjoyed the first three books. I am reading the last book of the series. Must read series. Very enjoyable paranormal romance books.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Love it!

    Yes there are editorial errors, but overall I loved the book! I give it a thumbs up and the author is nice as well. I emailed her in regards to the series disappearing from B&N and she was quick to reply and very polite. I plan on buying the rest of the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    highly recommended

    This book is so good once I picked it up I couldn't put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    It Was WONDERFUL

    It Was WONDERFUL

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Anonymous

    It is a great book.If u like a book with monster romance then u should read thid for sure.There is some swearing and spelling errors,but other than that its great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great book so far!!!!!!

    This book is so awesome so far im only like 1/3 of the way through this book and its really god sfaro

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Awesome book

    A great read for every age above ten. Great plot with a gut wretching hangercliff. I'd recommend it for anyone who loves paranormal interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved this series! But where is book 5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Love this series

    I love this book. It has some flaws in the editing but overall the author takes into a world where there are secrets at every turn and no one speaks the truth.. love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Awesome yet terrible

    The book is awesome! It kept me interested til the last word! The terrible part is there a second book? It got me hooked! I need more!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    ?.. ???????????????

    Is this like the Twilight Saga? It sounds similar.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great series

    I loved this book. I can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Was a good read. Enjoyed the plot and the characters. Some writing issues but over all a good story. Posted on August 15,2011.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved This Book!

    What first attracted me to this was the cover. It is absolutely beautiful (no pun intended.). I give Jennifer Hampton major props for putting together such a gorgeous design. Now for the story. Very clever. Although there are some grammatical errors, (Ms. Hampton states in the beginning, she edited this herself) in my opinion it did not distract me from reading this tale. I feel if Ms. Hampton can acquire an editor, she will be selling books like crazy! I was totally in love with Prince Alex (omg!!! he sounded like a total hottie! I kept thinking about Angel from Buffy lol) and the loved the idea of a Lifemate. (you'll have to read to find out!). What really surprised me about this story, was that I actually cared about the characters and what happened to them. To many times have I read books where I'm like "ok...so what," but this was NOT the case with Beautiful Sins. This story is full of drama, love, suspense, and not to mention all of the sexy characters. I definitely recommend this book! Great Job Jennifer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Book 3 continues to deliver

    This is book 3 in the series, and while you can enjoy this book on itself, having some knowledge of the first two will greatly increase your enjoyment. This book continues the story to it's next obvious step, and maybe a little beyond. Much more than just a paranormal romance, the author does a great job of blending genres between the romance aspects and the paranormal, to a continue to turn out very satisfying stories. I'd recommend this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    First-person Vampire

    This was a really breezy read. Vampire stories are usually told from the point of view of either the damsel who loves them, or the hunter trying to kill them. In this case, we get a first-person account of a "Good" one who is trying to be a hero. The book quickly brings in an explains concepts that are familiar, but a little different than the average vampire story, but make perfect sense and stay consistent throughout the story.

    This is book two in the series, and while it's a continuation of the story, it's different in tone and approach from the first one. A daring experiment that I think worked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Interesting, Inventive story

    I remember wondering when 30 Days of Night came out why more authors didn't use this device. A town where the sun never comes up would be an obvious draw for vampires and other things of the night. Hampton has picked a good device for making that happen, a military experiment gone awry, which not only turns the sky dark, but also has a bit of sinister undertone to it.

    The book could use a little proofreading, but that doesn't get in the way of the story, which is fast-paced and engaging. The main girl has no idea what she's getting into, and gets drawn into a life that she wasn't expecting. I'd recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    I thought this book was a pretty good read. I've pretty much exhausted the paranormal romance books on the web and I was a bit skeptical about purchasing this book because of it's cheap price. The story actually pulled me right in from the beginning. I didn't realize I would be pulled in so fast! I ended up reading this book in one day. I just couldn't put it down.

    The book is set in the future. This is actually the third installment in the series, which I had to go back and purchase the rest of them because this book is so damn good! There are some minor grammatical errors, the author does make a disclaimer that she couldn't afford an editor at the time. This series does have premise, and the only set back is the minor errors in the book which I have to say aren't that many for me to really complain. I can't wait for the 4th book!

    *Spoilers*

    Okay, so like I said the story is set in the future. We are at war with Russia, and WE ARE LOSING. It has a huge scifi affect to it which is a surprise because I don't see to many vampire books mixed with science fiction. There are vampires, witches, werewolves, cat people, book nerds that the author calls Alkains and assassins that the author calls Cleaners. It's not very long and the story is pretty fast paced. If you're looking for an enjoyable fast read, then I recommend this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Beautiful sins

    This book was awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Good book

    This is a great book read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5