BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God by Sheila Walsh

    This is the first time that I have read a book of this kind where there is alot of scripture and reference to the bible being made. It was both enlightening and puzzling to me because I have never fully read the bible. I fully believe that there is a God and he/she is here to love and support us and not judge us. And I believe that Sheila was trying to convey that in her message with this book that if you trust in God he/she will be there to support you and lead you through your tough times. One of the things that I was wanting for in this book is that I wanted to hear more about Sheila's life and not so much about others in the bible. I wanted to know about her depression, her relationships with her son and husband.

    For someone who is unconventional in my spiritual beliefs this book left my wanting more about Sheila's story but I did find in very fascinating that things that happened in bibilical times are still taking place now and that the references she used in her book are just as useful today as they were then.

    I would definately recommend reading this book because I believe that how do you know something until you have had the opportunity to read or explore it. Being open to life and all things that happen in life is my philosophy.

    Thanks to Thomas Nelson, Inc for this complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

    Genre: Christian Woman - Religious Life
    ISBN 978-1-4002-0243-0
    Pages: 269
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson, Inc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review by www.beachbrightsreviews.blogspot.com

    This is the first Sheila Walsh book I have read. I picked this book from the Thomas Nelson Bloggers Book Club because I was hoping to strengthen my trusting relationship with God. I was also yearning for inspiration, direction and scripture. Ms. Walsh delivered on some of what I was looking for but fell short on others.

    I enjoyed the stories from the bible and the different biblical figures she discusses. I am very weak in my scripture knowledge and I always enjoy the opportunity to learn more. Ms. Walsh told some of these stories in a way that I was able to learn and understand. I had several "ah-ha" moments but other times I was confused and lost. I probably would have gained more from the stories had I had a little better knowledge of the bible. However, I did walk away with a better understanding of the Bible's characters and their walk with God and how trust played such an important role.

    Several stories of note:
    1. Forgive Much & Loving Much- The story of Paul. Ms. Walsh writes of Paul "broken vessels seem to be uniquely crafted to carry grace. Paul never compromised the gospel of Christ but he brought it with a tender heart and compelling passion so that others would know this Jesus who saved him."

    2. God's Grace - Time to Take a Stand- God's Grace. Ms. Walsh says "Do you see that no matter how often you fail, it is never too late to take your place at Jesus' side, never too late to trust him?"

    3. The Call- Leap of faith. I enjoyed this chapter the most. Ms. Walsh talks about knowing that God was asking her to let go and to move on. This chapter is about taking a leap of faith or at least a little jump.

    The best chapters of this book can be found toward the end. Unfortunately, this book did not captivate me and I had a hard time finishing it. I was left feeling incomplete and wishing for more.

    3.5 out of 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OK - Cliche

    Sheila Walsh is an incredible speaker and writer who never fails to give her audience a glimpse of her heart and a glimpse of the heart of God. Sometimes, however, a glimpse is all you get.

    Readers will catch several glimpse of both Sheila's and God's heart in Walsh's latest book, "Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God." While the book contains plenty of deep, Biblical insights, it doesn't flow well, and readers can find much of its content in Walsh's previous books.

    Walsh uses her own testimony and the stories of several people in the Bible to teach readers about courage, beauty, waiting on God, crying out to God, trusting God, and realizing God has a plan for your life. Her words don't really begin to resonate until half way through the book, however, and even then, the lessons don't stick unless you make an effort to study a chapter a day and put the chapters into practice. All the lessons she teaches have deep truths, but don't seem to connect to one another.

    Walsh begins and closes with the example of how much more fun swinging can be when someone you trust is pushing you, but she doesn't fully utilize the metaphor throughout the book, and some of her best content does not come until the end.

    Walsh's best content, like her closing chapter on the parts of life that will unexpectedly transform into jewels and gold in heaven, doesn't entirely fit into the book's theme and would better suit a book of its own. Walsh's testimonies seem scarce and scattered, as well, and would resonate more if gathered into one book.

    Overall, however, "Beautiful Things" is beautiful. Despite its flaws, the book offers plenty of wisdom if one makes an effort to digest and apply the trust in God that Walsh encourages.

    P.S. This book is aimed at women, but would have just as much applicability to men.



    I received this book for free in exchange for my honest opinion review for BookSneeze.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    Beautiful Things Happen When A Woman Trusts God by Sheila Walsh

    Depression. Hospitals. Sadness. Hope. Truth.
    These are some words that come to mind when I think about the latest book I have read, "Beautiful Things Happen When A Woman Trusts God" by Sheila Walsh. Many people in today's society struggle with depression on a clinical level, as well as minor bouts of depression. This is a story of a woman's struggle with depression, and how she turned that struggle into something beautiful for God. Walsh is open and honest about the tough things that have occurred in her lifetime. She uses her struggles to take us on a journey through the Bible, highlighting characters' stories that have helped her learn and grow in Christ.

    While my first impression of the book was not a very positive one, as I kept reading, I became more and more intrigued. The beginning of the book seemed to drag on, and I wondered if the promise of exploring people of the Bible was really going to be fulfilled before the last page. It was, however, and I found the contents to be very helpful and insightful. I learned to look at characters of the Bible in a different light, and I also learned about characters I had never read about. While I found the book to be a pretty decent read, I would say this about it: For the new Christian woman, reading this will not only expand your knowledge on characters of the Bible, but it may also give you a glimmer of hope as well. For the christian woman who has believed for a while, this book is a good refresher -- It will remind you of some very Godly women of the Bible, remind you of other characters, and help you see them in a way that may be more applicable to your life.

    While the book was a bit hard to keep reading at times, and I often wanted to put it down and start a new book, I learned much from finishing it. If you are interested in learning about people of the Bible, I would suggest this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    Interesting Twists & Turns

    Beautiful Things Happen when a Woman Trusts God is an interesting collection of stories from Sheila Walsh's life.

    Sheila Walsh's life may have seemed rosy at one time ~ being in the spotlight on the 700 club. However, no one really knew the hidden extent of fear, anxiety and struggles that later led her to a month-long stay in the psychiatric ward.

    Through the course of many twists and turns, Sheila reveals the ways God has helped her through many difficult challenges, and always provided for her every need.

    This book even includes an in-depth Bible study, which can be used for small groups or individuals wanting a deeper study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1