Customer Reviews for

Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    I highly recommend this book! It has helped me a lot!

    When I first decided to review this book, I thought it looked really good and would be a good read, but I had no idea just how good this book would be for me personally! This book is really helping overcome and move forward. I am trusting more in my Heavenly Father and I am more excited for the future! My whole life I have avoided doing things, I have not trusted anyone really (except my husband), and I have always beat on myself for not living up to more. This book is helping me pull out of this terrible hole that I have slowly fallen into ever since I was a young child.
    I actually started this book months ago, but I guess I was not ready for the change yet. I started it again the first of this year, and I cannot put it down!
    I have never read a book by Shelia Walsh before this one. Her writing in "Beautiful Thins Happen When A Woman Trust God" is so captivating, to the point and yet gentle and loving! She really makes you think, dig deep into God's Word, and into yourself!
    This is a perfect book for anyone who knows they can do better and just needs the encouragement, for anyone who wants to trust more, and for anyone who wants to know why some people have a hard time trusting and for those who want to help others trust more!
    This is a wonderful book for reading the first of the new year! Or whenever you want to take the step and start anew!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Sheila Walsh outdid herself on this one! An absolute MUST read!

    In February I signed up to review Sheila Walsh's new book, "Beautiful Things Happen When A Woman Trusts God." I started reading it and then life caught up with me and it sat on my nightstand collecting dust. I'd much rather think that it wasn't the right time for me to read it than my priorities being skewed! When I picked it back up today, I realized just how much of an impact this book will make on someone.

    Guilt. Anxiety. Depression. Mistrust. Every single one of us, at one point or another, has fought one of those demons. Sheila so openly shares her personal battle with each of these and does it in such a way that you feel like she's having a one-on-one sharing session with you. This book is a must read!

    *I was provided a complimentary copy of this book via Book Sneeze in return for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Book And Great Read!

    I'd also like to recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" by R.A. Clark. It's revealing look at the power of forgiveness. If you ever felt trapped by anger, guilt, resentment and/or pain, then this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Review

    "I think I am more like Gideon than Tabitha. At certain moments in my life I've felt God calling me to places I didn't want to go because others would do a better job than I would. At this point in my life, I'm finally getting it: there will always be those who can do things better but God chooses each of us to show what He can do. I titled this book Beautiful Things Happen When A Woman Trusts God because I see that in my life-the way God took a scared little girl and kept calling me to follow Him and see where He is going." - Sheila Walsh



    My expectations for this book were not disappointed. I have always loved Sheila Walsh. Her books have helped me in my journey as I traveled along the rocky cliff and through the long dark nights. God asks us to trust Him-not just trust Him sometimes, but totally. It may feel like someone has tied a blindfold around our eyes and asked us to take one step forward when you know you see a cliff. You think you'll fall. You think it will cause more pain than you can handle. And then, you step forward and find to your surprise solid ground.

    Sheila addresses in her book ten of the Bible's transformed who teach us how one moment of trust, like dominoes, sets into motion beautiful happenings. I knew most of the stories, but I learned about each one. They were not so different than us. She brought into perspective Joseph's struggle with his brothers.

    "If that's not foolish, I wouldn't recognize foolish if it sat up in my porridge wearing a kilt! Why did Joseph share this dream with his brothers? No one asked him about it, this wasn't a dream that needed interpreting, he had to know this would make his already jealous brothers even more so," explains Sheila in, "Trusting God With Your Dreams." She goes on to say, "You can't chalk this mistake up to Joseph's youth-that he just didn't know better. Contrast his insensitivity to the grace and maturity of Mary, the mother of Jesus. Mary was a young teenager when she was visited by an angel and told she would be the mother of the coming Messiah. We are told that on several occasions she 'pondered these things in her heart.' There was no sense of entitlement but rather gentle humility. Can you imagine Mary walking around the market square in Nazareth saying, 'Pleased to meet you. I am about to be the mother of the Savior of the world, but you can call me Mary.' No, Mary knew, if not from instruction then intuitively, to keep certain information close to her heart-to think on how her words and actions would affect others."

    Her words on Paul hit a familiar chord.

    "When I sang in church, which I did fairly often, Mr. Hornal (a deacon in her childhood church in Scotland) expected that it should always be an appropriate hymn from the book we used for Sunday evening services, The Redemption Hymnal. The first time I sang a song by Jamie Owens, an American contemporary Christian artist, Mr. Hornal stopped me as I attempted to creep past him. He asked me in a tone ripe with disapproval, 'What number was that in The Redemption Hymnal?' So in my young mind, if Mr. Hornal was an ardent disciple of the Apostle Paul, then Paul must have been a cranky single guy who messed with things that were not his business. I couldn't have been more wrong-about Mr. Hornal or Paul." Sheila continues, "Both loved God deeply. They wanted to protect His laws and more, (to read more: www.thehahnhuntinglodge.com)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Wonderful, inspirational book

    Sheila Walsh has written an inspiring book which includes a thought provoking in-depth Bible Study. Great for studying alone or in a small group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    Beautiful Things

    I was recently given the oppurtunity to review this book from Booksneeze.com. At first I was hesitant to get it, my life is a mess, and my faith has been struggling for quite sometime. But something in me told me to get it, after all, if now isn't the time for it... it never will be!

    Beautiful Things Happen When A Woman Trusts God by Sheila Walsh is a well written book about the authors journey on discovering how to trust god again while struggling with depression in her life. The book itself is beautiful, the cover illustrating a key point of the book about trust and swings. Each chapter and segment raises questions from the author that really make you think and reflect. She uses people from the bible to explain her points from the biblical perspective, while keeping their stories easy to understand and relate to. Also included in the back of the book is a study guide that is helpful, especially for group discussions.

    I have really enjoyed this book. I found myself reflecting on many of the questions asked. I felt the book was thought provoking and enlightening. I didnt feel like I was being lectured, rather I felt as though I was listening to an old friend. If you are looking for a book that will help you with your trust in God then its very likely that this book is for you. I would give this book 5 stars.

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 25 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    The title says it all

    This is a book about how hard it can be but how rewarding it is to trust God. The author uses real life examples and people from the Bible who faced similar examples to show how God is always faithful and it is never too late to trust. The writing is well done and the points are well made.

    I am learning that this is an author I can always trust. She is biblical, relevant, practical, and true. In this book she reveals a bit more of her own story, presenting lessons and struggles that are common to so many of us. Then in each chapter she addresses this concern or issue through the life of a person in the Bible. She assumes the story is somewhat familiar but clarifies some good points and shows how their life story reflects trusting God (well or not so well, early or late).

    I am encouraged and convicted by this book. I recommend it to all women seeking to live godly lives, dealing with brokenness, or needing fulfillment.
    ****I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A book about how trusting God will help you see the beauty in life even in times of difficulties and challenges

    Life is a journey that is full of challenges and in the book "Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts God", Sheila Walsh shares her own personal struggles as well as those of some biblical characters with the purpose of showing how trusting God through all those times of adversities could bring beautiful things to our lives.

    I recommend this book to everyone especially to women. This book will inspire and help you see the beauty of life even in those times of pain, fear, uncertainty and darkness. But while trusting God brings nice things to our lives, let's still remember that God helps those who help themselves. Have faith in Him, but still do your part.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trusts GOD by Sheila Walsh

    I have not read any books by Sheila Walsh till now and I'm blessed to have read this and grown some more in my Faith. I know this book can help those struggling with Depression and ease their mind. Some parts of this book did lose me and my mind wondered to my grocery list but overall I will recommend it to others.

    This book was provided by Thomas Nelson for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Wow, what beauty!

    Most Christian women believe that if they can just do everything "right" they will be okay, and that if something bad happens in their lives it's because they haven't been "good" enough. They're ashamed of their short-comings, and try to hide behind the mask of "the good Christian". Sheila Walsh was one of those women, but as she began to fully trust God her eyes were opened. Suddenly she was able to see the beauty that comes from such trust. In her book, I believe Sheila relates to each of us on different levels. What I found most interesting is how easily we take for granted the awesome power of our Creator. Sheila's book has helped me to see the areas of my life that I try to control myself, and, now that I've given those things over to God, I'm experiencing the beauty she speaks of. I would highly recommend this book to any woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    All Women Can Relate

    I had the opportunity to see and hear Sheila Walsh speak at a Women of Faith conference. I was a little apprehensive when I opened this book, thinking that I would read about the same things she spoke about at the conference; after all, how many tough situations can one person be put in? Sheila seemed to have it all; voice, beauty, courage, exciting life, fame, wonderful career, world travels; of course she can trust God! As it turns out, Sheila has dealt with many situations in her life where her own strength was not enough. Clinical depression, difficult childhood memories, self-doubt,and fear of what others thought are just a few of the circumstances she writes about. "One thing that continues to surprise me is the commonality of so many of our struggles. I still tend to assume...I am the only one who feels that way. That's just not true," Sheila states. How true for all women! We are not alone in our journeys and our struggles, and Sheila gives examples from the Bible of ten people who were faced with varying circumstances, who in the end, just simply needed to trust God. Women today deal with so many pressures; work, family, community, health, media influence, busy schedules,and pressures to keep up with everyone else. At times, we may come tumbling down, and end up feeling like we don't know where to turn or have no real purpose or importance. This book provides the reminder that God is with you through your struggles, he is there to catch you, forgive you, guide you, heal you. You need to let go of depending on yourself, and simply trust. Trust Him. Thank you, Sheila, for sharing yourself in this. I could hear your voice throughout all of this. I felt like you were sitting at the kitchen table over coffee, being my friend.
    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    Well written and very inspiring!

    I really was inspired by this book! It's really Great how Sheila opens up about her life in it; and also compares it to 10 examples from the bible. Beautiful Things Can Happen When A Woman Trusts God is uplifting because you will get to know the characters from the bible that were transformed and the teach us that no matter what is going on in OUR lives that god helps us through it. I like how she uses Scripture in it such as: The strength of the fatherless was crushed. Therefore snares are all around you, and sudden fear troubles you.
    Job 22:9-10
    This is a great book for every woman to read!









    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Beautiful Things Happen When a Woman Trust God by Shelia Walsh

    This book is about how the author, Shelia Walsh, moves past clinical depression into the plans that God has for her. Her main focus in the book is Trust and how it takes complete trust in God for you to get out of the "ruins of your life". She uses her own life stories, conversations with God, and biblical stories to give the reader a glimpse of what God can do in your life if you give Him you complete Trust. This book also includes a study guide to go with the themes represented in this book.

    I really enjoyed this book far more than I thought I would. I enjoyed the way she starts up new topics within the same chapter by giving it a catchy subtitle. I also like how real she is in the book and how she does not "fluff up" or "embellish" anything. Everything in this book is gritty, difficult, real life and the way God works in her life isn't described in some passive way but in a real emotional and powerful movement of God's Spirit. I also appreciate that she went to a Seminary (as I am currently doing) and therefore has a better understanding academically of scriptures compared to most to venture out and write a Christian "Self-Help" book. In fact I would not call this book a "Self-Help", but instead a auto-biography from the view point of a woman who is completely devoted to God. I would recommend this book to any woman regardless of their situation since we all face the same trials in different forms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1